View Full Version : Tickets for tonights U-23's game

21/10/2008, 10:56 AM
apologies if this is in wrong forum.

I have 3 or 4 spare tickets to tonights game, may as well get rid of them, if anyone is interested in them, please contact me at 087-2186351 after 4pm, there free of charge BTW.

Straightstory
21/10/2008, 11:49 AM
Good luck with that. Madness to have the game competing with the Barstoolers' ultimate wet dream: Man U v Celtic in the Champions' League.

21/10/2008, 12:07 PM
Good luck with that. Madness to have the game competing with the Barstoolers' ultimate wet dream: Man U v Celtic in the Champions' League.

The half-and-half scarf brigade will be out in full force, trying to decide which one of "their" teams to cheer for*....

*note to first poster who tries to suggest this is typical EL fan arrogance that drives him/herself and other genuine football fans away......save yourself the bother.

Getting back to your point, the barstool brigade wouldn't come out to watch an EL XI anyway regardless of what was on the box. They'd be in watching Plymouth v Doncaster in the Warm Sloppy Ale Cup or some overweight hasbeens pathetically trudging around a pitch ("Legends" I believe they call it)..

21/10/2008, 9:16 PM
Lost 2-1, Belgians scored in the last minute.

I reckon over 1000 at this one. Bizarre "Kids attacking mascots" antics a feature.

21/10/2008, 9:19 PM
Good goal for Belgium for the winner. A LOAD of kids at the game.

21/10/2008, 9:26 PM
Good goal for Belgium for the winner. A LOAD of kids at the game.

Aye,

To be fair, it at least felt like a crowd. The game in Mournview had about 200 at it. Can you make more than three subs in a competitive game like that?

Ireland battered them first half, Belgians were better in the second. They scored first, we equalised and then they blasted on in from about 25 yards for the winner.

Kenna got sent off with about 7 minutes to go.

21/10/2008, 9:31 PM
Bizarre "Kids attacking mascots" antics a feature.

Oh dear I hope our mascot is ok?? and I mean the costume not the person altho I hope he is ok too!

21/10/2008, 9:32 PM
Was Benny the bull there? I heard he was asked to attend.

21/10/2008, 9:34 PM
I didn't actually see the Sligo one but it was announced at half time that mascots were there from Sligo, Bohemians and Monaghan Utd..

What is it with that Monaghan mascot and conceding goals in the last minute of injury time?! :mad:

Ceirtlis
21/10/2008, 9:36 PM
Oh dear I hope our mascot is ok?? and I mean the costume not the person altho I hope he is ok too!

Most entertaining part of the evening for me was seeing that costume, holy god where did ye get it. The Bohs fella had his Denis the Menace head taken off but i think football head survived.

21/10/2008, 10:21 PM
How many mascots were there?

21/10/2008, 10:35 PM
Most entertaining part of the evening for me was seeing that costume, holy god where did ye get it. The Bohs fella had his Denis the Menace head taken off but i think football head survived.

We got it made especially for us. What did you think of it??

21/10/2008, 10:58 PM
Was Benny the bull there? I heard he was asked to attend.I got a text that he was in the thick of the action.

22/10/2008, 12:08 AM
Bizarre "Kids attacking mascots" antics a feature.

Wouldn't have happened if the FAI hadn't banned Leo the Lion.

Now there was a tough mush of a mascot :)

Runner Man
22/10/2008, 1:26 PM
Was Benny the bull there? I heard he was asked to attend.

I was sitting just behind where he was standing in the second half. It was probably the funniest thing I've seen this year. There he was, in his fun getup, one hand on the barrier,one hand behind his back watching the game quite intently I might add.. Not really cheering, not getting the crows or kids involved, just standing, observing if you will. Every now and again he folded his arms but it was mainly the one hand on barrier, one and behind his back pose.

Brilliant.

22/10/2008, 1:49 PM
I was sitting just behind where he was standing in the second half. It was probably the funniest thing I've seen this year. There he was, in his fun getup, one hand on the barrier,one hand behind his back watching the game quite intently I might add.. Not really cheering, not getting the crows or kids involved, just standing, observing if you will. Every now and again he folded his arms but it was mainly the one hand on barrier, one and behind his back pose.

Brilliant.

and thats why we love him!

we were egging him on to fight the Bohs mascot....would have been more entertaining than the game itself :(

22/10/2008, 1:59 PM
Just off the phone with our mascot and he loved it! Apart from the Dundalk game here he hadnt done it before and now feels a lot more confident and enjoyed the craic with the other 2 mascots.

22/10/2008, 2:14 PM
Just off the phone with our mascot and he loved it! Apart from the Dundalk game here he hadnt done it before and now feels a lot more confident and enjoyed the craic with the other 2 mascots.

As long as he doesn't get a big head..

:o

22/10/2008, 2:19 PM
As long as he doesn't get a big head..

:o

:D Brilliant, dont usually laugh with Dundalk fans so this might be a first!!!