View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Cyprus - Wednesday, 15th October 2008 - World Cup 2010 Q

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

15/10/2008, 1:25 PM
I remember posting on a thread on this website a few months back (cant seem to find the thread now), but it was about potential up and coming Irish players playing in the English leagues.

I (as a big Man U fan) suggested that Darron Gibson (who was on loan at Wolves at the time) was indeed an International player in the making and I also suggested that he would be capped within the next 12months.

I was of course abused left, right and centre for suggesting same,

I have seen this lad play a good few times, and dare I say it, he reminds me of a Michael Carrick (tall, good engine and a fine passer of the ball (both long and short)).

I just hope it turns out well for him tonight, and I really hope he makes it at International level..........................Best of luck.

Ireland 2-0 Cyprus (Keane & Doyle)
One quick search later: http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=859489&highlight=gibson#post859489

The national team wont be too bad when they have a full squad to pick from, with Duff & Reid now back from injury, along with Morrisson in fine form for CPalace.

One I'd like to mention is Darron Gibson of Man Utd (currently on loan at Wolves) what a talent, and a good midfielder.

15/10/2008, 1:26 PM
One I'd like to mention is Darron Gibson of Man Utd (currently on loan at Wolves) what a talent, and a good midfielder.
Think he means this one (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=859660&highlight=gibson#post859660)

Duggie
15/10/2008, 1:29 PM
i find the defendant not guilty - ur free to go....:cool:

15/10/2008, 1:34 PM
He said he was abused left right and centre.
Stutts? :D

15/10/2008, 1:39 PM
Jesus if that is being abused, the word has been cheapened. In my day being abused was getting a hurl in the balls and a clatter across the head on a constant daily basis and that is not without the perverts getting involved. I was lucky as I was too ugly to be abused but come on, abused, now way were you abused (on this forum that is)

15/10/2008, 1:51 PM
at worst, people disagreed that Gibson should have been called into the squad at the time.

15/10/2008, 2:00 PM
Jesus if that is being abused, the word has been cheapened. In my day being abused was getting a hurl in the balls and a clatter across the head on a constant daily basis and that is not without the perverts getting involved. I was lucky as I was too ugly to be abused but come on, abused, now way were you abused (on this forum that is)

you were just jealous you weren't Neil :D

15/10/2008, 2:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyNHmskN-vo&feature=related

15/10/2008, 2:03 PM
He would not have survived a youngirish tirade.

The abuseometer has dropped a bit lately, hasn't it?:D

15/10/2008, 2:06 PM
the rantometer has gone down even further though I miss YI.

15/10/2008, 2:09 PM
Hey Neil Ive just seen a video of you in 10 years, btw is that a michael take the video below that following your look alike in 10 years? Btw I dont really think that video you posted is appropriate.

15/10/2008, 2:14 PM
He said he was abused left right and centre.
Stutts? :D

Didn't see the "sorreeee I was wrongggg" on the Limerickman picking you up on the DG bit. :D

Morbo
15/10/2008, 2:19 PM
I'm happy he is playing instead of Miller, its a gamble but its a gamble that is more likely to pay off than playing Miller, although it has to be a right kick in the nuts to A.Reid, seems Trap will never play him as a CM. I can see Trap's logic behind this, he is just trying to keep the same system and replace like for like and he probably considers replacing S.Reid with a similar(albeit inexperienced player) is less risky than replacing him with a very different player like Miller or A.Reid plus if we played A.Reid or Miller we might struggle physically and from corners with so many shortarses on the pitch

15/10/2008, 2:21 PM
Didn't see the "sorreeee I was wrongggg" on the Limerickman picking you up on the DG bit. :D
Shock smiley here

DG = Darron Gibson?

What's the rest about?

I get it now but i never said I was right or he was wrong.
I wrote very politely
"Could it have been some other board?"

cheifo
15/10/2008, 3:12 PM
My valuable contribution on Gibson is that I have not got a bloody clue how he will do.:)
Intrigued.

thepiedpiper
15/10/2008, 3:19 PM
The 26 country representative team?

FFS you're having a laugh.
don't think it was a serious comment to be honest.

Rambling Along
15/10/2008, 8:43 PM
4 reasons why Ireland struggled:

1. Paul McShane- Can't cross, can't pass and everytime a Cyprus player ran at him I was convinced he'd hack him down. Not even related to a footballer.

2. Glenn Whelan- Worst game in an Ireland shirt left Gibson with no support. Point proved with Whelan with his p!ss poor attempt at a first touch in the 90th minute in front of goal.

3. Aiden McGeady- Cross the ball for feck sake and stop trying to run through the man when you should go around him.

4. Trap's reluctancy to use his substitutes- Game was crying out for Stephen Hunt and Andy Reid.

A win's a win though!:)

Maroon 7
15/10/2008, 8:47 PM
Thought central midfield was pretty poor. McShane caught out of position a couple of times.

Thought McGeady played fairly well to be honest. Constantly took on the Cypriots despite some loose crosses.

Keane quiet apart from the goal. Doyle excellent.

Dunne fantastic.

15/10/2008, 8:49 PM
Dunphy summed it up well after, if that was Staunton or Kerr they'd be getting a lot of 'welly' after that performance.

theworm2345
15/10/2008, 8:50 PM
I was unable to watch the match (****ing Justin TV) but going on what the radio lads were saying if we play like this in Cyprus we're going to have deja vu

15/10/2008, 8:51 PM
1. Doyle
2. Dunne
3. Duff

Our top 3 players by a mile.

2nd half was how Trap wants it to be. It's his way. Very risky if you ask me. I'd rather have Reid in there and have about 5-10% more possession.

Anyway, delighted with the 3 points. Win our next 2 home games and we're 10 points ahead of Bulgaria with them having a game in hand.

Maroon 7
15/10/2008, 8:52 PM
I was unable to watch the match (****ing Justin TV) but going on what the radio lads were saying if we play like this in Cyprus we're going to have deja vu

Central midfield was non existant. Badly need the two Reid's in there.

Rambling Along
15/10/2008, 8:58 PM
Whelan shouldn't be a starter for Ireland and neither should Gibson when you consider he's 9th choice at centre-midfield for Man Utd. Gibson is one for the future but at this point in time he should be on the bench.

Tonight's midfield should have been made up of Andy Reid and Kevin Kilbane with Damien Delaney reverting to left-back.

Carrigaline
15/10/2008, 8:59 PM
Given 7 - Wasn't really troubled, did what he had to. Shouldn't have gotten that silly yellow card.
McShane 5 - He had two horrendous errors, you could maybe forgive one, but two is not good enough for one game
Kilbane 7 - Solid. I would have liked to have seen him get a little more forward to be honest.
Dunne 9 - Brilliant, totally bailed us out at the end.
O' Shea 8 - Solid, think that the influence of Dunne is a huge boon to him.
McGeady 7.5 - One of his best games for Ireland, did pick the right option, but was very lively and deserved a goal
Duff 8 - Worked tirelessly, back to his best.
Gibson 6 - Didn't look for the ball, didn't get stuck in, was totally bypassed. To be honest, he looks every bit the reserve player that he is.
Whelan 6.5 - Anonymous, but came into it a little towards the end.
Keane 7.5 - Ok, he scored, but I was a little disappointed with Keane. He seems to have lost the yard of pace that he once had. Very frustrating to watch him falling over all the time.
Doyle 9.5 - Magnificent.

irishbaz
15/10/2008, 9:00 PM
lads all I have to say is woooooooooooo 3 points lots of positives Given, Dunne, O Shea, Duff, Mc Geady, Keane, Doyle all had good games took people on when reid comes back and Finnan we will be ok! the issue was central mid very poor just shows how important S reid is but just shows what A Reid can bring a 2 reid partnership with this team could be a sight to behold!! Garven would be a fantastic third choice above Whelan and Gibson they are just not getting enough club football and it shows!!

irishfan86
15/10/2008, 9:01 PM
Ratings:

Given- Didn't have much to do, but if he did save that one then he's got to get a 10

McShane- 6- Did the basics but not a fullback in a million years. Exposed for pace at times, in addition to poor use of the ball when in possession.

O'Shea- 8- Made some vital clearances and is maintaining his good form in a green shirt.

Dunne- 10- An absolute rock at the back. He had to cover for both his fullbacks and even make a couple of goal-saving blocks. Probably man of the match.

Kilbane- 7- Keeping up the consistency at left-full.

McGeady- 7- Did a lot to create chances, but cancelled this out with some poor decision making and by fouling in dangerous areas.

Whelan- 6- His worst performance in an Irish jersey, he couldn't dictate play in the middle of the park.

Gibson- 7- Impressive debut- he kept things simple but was left to do more than his fair share by Whelan.

Duff- 9- He was our key outlet, and made that goal for us himself. Great performance that would have been a 10 if he could have taken his chance to score.

Keane- 8- Tonnes of off the ball running, and good instincts/positioning for the goal.

Doyle- 8- Fantastic off the ball running, the Cypriots had to foul him because they just couldn't deal with his guile and determination.

Folan- not on long enough to rate.

Overall: Our attacking players did well to create chances, but our finishing was horrible. Still not convinced that Doyle and Keane are a good partnership- didn't work together at all.

Our centre of midfield were inconsistent as you'd expect from a new partnership, especially an inexperienced one.

Wingers did well to create chances and get in good scoring positions. Starting to see the upside of having McGeady in the side, but should have taken his chance to really make it an easier final few minutes. Duff was fantastic as mentioned above.

At the back, everybody played well with the exception of McShane, but again I think it's down to the face that he was up against a pacy, tricky marker. I wouldn't really say McShane had a bad game so much as he was a square peg in a round hole. Did the job.

Given didn't have much to do, but possibly saved us the match (or was it Dunne?), with a fantastic save in the dying moments.

If we'd finished our chances everybody would be raving about a great performance, but we didn't and so people will talk of us as if we played worse than we did.

Carrigaline
15/10/2008, 9:01 PM
Whelan shouldn't be a starter for Ireland and neither should Gibson when you consider he's 9th choice at centre-midfield for Man Utd. Gibson is one for the future but at this point in time he should be on the bench.
He's 21 in two weeks. I don't think he's ever going to make it as a Premier League footballer at this stage.

danonion
15/10/2008, 9:02 PM
1. Given: Brilliant. Simply Magnificent. For me this man has far surpassed the heroic esteem in which his Donegal predecessor has been held in. A leader on and off the pitch and some outstanding saves.

2. McShane. He had one run up the right that had me optimistic, but his marking, tackling, distribution and position were rubbish. Absolutely not up to international football standard.

3. KK Not overly ambitious going forward, but a solid and capable performance from the Ireland legend (couldnt' resist). Played some good balls to Damien Duff.

4. Dunne: Maybe hyperbolic but this man has the stature and composure of a certain Mr. McGrath. Makes the clearances tackles and blocks of a world class centre half

5. O'Shea: Solid partner for Dunne, although clearly not the leader of the back 4. Can't really be blamed for the overall poorness of the performance, has a fair bit of pace surprisingly

6. Whelan. Invisible performance, no composure in attacking positions. Only contribution was plugging up holes to give Cyprus fewer passing options during Irelands better spells

7. McGeady: Can be proud of his performance. Involved in the buildup play for the goal, he was always full of movement, his distribution is poor enough most of the time

8. Gibson: Ditto for Whelan's description. Should be noted out central midfield partnership have played about only 4 or 5 club games between them this season.

9. Doyle Abused the Cyprus defence when given the chance. Should have scored, especially with stationary centre half Lambou on the field

10. Keane Took his goal well, tracked back efficiently but overall a quiet game

11. Duff: Magic Magic Magic when he got the ball. Welcome back !

Rambling Along
15/10/2008, 9:03 PM
Given 7 - Wasn't really troubled, did what he had to. Shouldn't have gotten that silly yellow card.
McShane 5 - He had two horrendous errors, you could maybe forgive one, but two is not good enough for one game
Kilbane 7 - Solid. I would have liked to have seen him get a little more forward to be honest.
Dunne 9 - Brilliant, totally bailed us out at the end.
O' Shea - Solid, think that the influence of Dunne is a huge boon to him.
McGeady 7.5 - One of his best games for Ireland, did pick the right option, but was very lively and deserved a goal
Duff 8 - Worked tirelessly, back to his best.
Gibson 6 - Didn't look for the ball, didn't get stuck in, was totally bypassed. To be honest, he looks every bit the reserve player that he is.
Whelan 6.5 - Anonymous, but came into it a little towards the end.
Keane 7.5 - Ok, he scored, but I was a little disappointed with Keane. He seems to have lost the yard of pace that he once had. Very frustrating to watch him falling over all the time.
Doyle 9.5 - Magnificent.

So solid he doesn't deserve a rating?:D

This no substitutes thing really annoy's me.
Subs are there to be used and they should be used. They are in the squad because they are good enough therefore there should be no excuse as to why they ain't being used!

irishbaz
15/10/2008, 9:07 PM
Fully agreed subs should have been used big time

Jinxy
15/10/2008, 9:20 PM
Anyone know what the name of the song RTE played at the end was? Not the apres match thing, the match highlights one.

Think it was MGMT. Dunno the name of the song though.

Rambling Along
15/10/2008, 9:25 PM
Whelan - 3
Gibson - 1

Harsh ratings there. I thought Gibson was better than Whelan.
Try this:
Whelan - 1
Gibson - 3

backstothewall
15/10/2008, 9:27 PM
Given - 7 Made 1 good save, but hadn't much to do, mainly because Dunne was getting there before he had to

McShane - 5.5 Remember saying under stan he wasn't a centre back because he is to short and doesn't read the game well, and that his future might be at right back. It isn't. He isn't up to this level and Joey O'Brien should of played

Dunne - 10 Give him the armband Trap. He is our leader. Captains performance. Man of the match without doubt.

O'Shea - 7 Him and Dunne go together like peas and carrots. Looks solid all of a sudden

Kilbane - 7 Quiet, but solid

McGready - 8 Always threatening, but still swapping flanks onto the left where he isn't as dangerous. No idea why.

Gibson - 7 A good perfomance in his first big game. did the simple things well, and Dunphy's post match comments about him were the only thing outragous

Whelan - 6 Not his best game, but again i didn't think he was as bad as Dunphy et al would have you believe. Missed Reid

Duff - 7.5 Worked hard, maybe getting back to his best. Excellent cross on his weak foot for the goal. Gave the ball away a lot though

Keane - 7.5 Right place at the right time for the goal, though went off the boil a bit in the second half. Possibly still carrying a knock after going over on his ankle. i was surprised when he came back

Doyle - 8 Brought his good club form with him. Deserved a goal

FarBeag
15/10/2008, 9:29 PM
We were very lucky to win that game and unless we improve 100% there is no chance of winning this group.How are we going to beat Cyprus at home for instance? They are the best team by a mile we have played so far. The only thing they are missing is a bit of creativity in the last third.

I think that some people are being a little hard on Gibson.It was his first full international game, a game he never thought he would play in.He did not set the world alight but did not do too much wrong either. McShane played as predicted by many but Dunne(superb) Doyle and Duffer were excellent.

15/10/2008, 9:30 PM
I might as well give my ratings.

Given - 7

McShane - 5
Kilbane - 5.5
O'Shea - 6
Dunne - 8.5

Whelan - 5
Gibson - 5
Duff - 8
McGeady - 7

Keane - 7
Doyle - 8.5

Really varied. Trap would given Whelan and Gibson a higher rating and say they did their job but they have to get out of the comfort zone and look at how much Steven Reid isn't afraid to risk disturbing the "system" by moving about constantly.

Fergie's Son
15/10/2008, 9:30 PM
A scrappy win.

In context though it's a great result because Bulgaria dropped points away to Georgia. We really are starting to control our own destiny.

Not too happy about the lack of subs but I don't think Reid would have made sense. He can't win the ball so he'd never get it to allegedly hold it. Sorry, but he's a luxury in a team as weak as this one.

A win is a win. Now we need to beat Georgia at home and we're really going where we need to.

RiffRaff
15/10/2008, 9:32 PM
Given 6 - not much to do
McShane 5 - looked hesitant and uncertain
Kilbane 6 - has surprised me by looking solid enough in the games so far
O'Shea 6 - not as convincing as last few matches
Dunne 8 - man if the match in a home game against Cyprus, says it all
McGeady 7 - if only he chose the right option at times people would be raving about him
Whelan 5 - does a job with a decent midfielder beside him, but not international standard otherwise
Gibson 5 - I think Trap was the only person who thought he was ready for this level. He isnt
Duff 7 - worked hard and looked hungry for the ball
Doyle 8 -inspirational display
Keane 6 - did what he's there for but didnt get much chance otherwise.

Overall I thought it was a pretty shocking performance and we were lucky. Had Cyprus got the goal they deserved, they would have gone on to win. Our defence got more and more jittery and we couldnt hold on to the ball, midfield was non existant although I did think Whelan came more into the game late on. I'm still unsure if Trap is tactical genius or just been lucky so far but if it continues I won't really care.

15/10/2008, 9:35 PM
Not too happy about the lack of subs but I don't think Reid would have made sense. He can't win the ball so he'd never get it to allegedly hold it. Sorry, but he's a luxury in a team as weak as this one.

That's a negative's man way of looking at it. :) If he was in our team Cyprus would have found it more difficult to get the ball off us. If Reid was in our team we would have had a lot more possession, no doubt about it.

Fergie's Son
15/10/2008, 9:39 PM
That's a negative's man way of looking at it. :) If he was in our team Cyprus would have found it more difficult to get the ball off us. If Reid was in our team we would have had a lot more possession, no doubt about it.

I have to disagree. He just doesn't win the ball and is a luxury in so far as he's best with 2 ball winners around him. Both Trapp and Keane seem to agree with me. I think Trapp wanted to put him in but thought better of it.

Hey, at least Folan is with us now....er.....at 25.

brianw82
15/10/2008, 9:42 PM
Dunphy pretty much summed it up.

Unfortunately, it's the Italian way to hang on to what you have. We got the goal and then didn't really try to get a second. The midfield was just crying out for a change, wasn't it?

Adrianovic
15/10/2008, 9:44 PM
We won the match, but there were so many questions to be asked about our performance in the second half, you wouldn't know it from the post I'm about to make.

Playing a central midfield pairing with less than ten caps in a qualifier is a massive risk. They both did OK in the first half, really profiting from some awful clearances by Cyprus, and sitting back to watch the wingers do the damage.

Second half, lads, where did you go? I loathe to criticise Gibson because it was his first top line fixture of any denomination, when you consider he's played less than half an hour for United and only a couple of subs for us, yet it has to be said he was watching the game unfold around him.

When you're at home and slightly under pressure you look to centre midfield to put their foot on the ball and play a pass. It didn't happen. Whelan is a blocker who gives the centre halves protection and that's fine when you're next to Steven Reid, when he was asked to do some distributing he was found wanting.

I too was screaming at the tele hoping for substitutes. Andy Reid should have come on, if not for one of the central pairing, for Robbie Keane, who was no longer required for link up play.

Finally on the negatives, we looked criminally naive at full back on both sides of the pitch at times. Kilbane I can accept because he isn't a natural full back and is still learning the trade. McShane, well you could say the same thing, what is for sure though is that Finnan was missed. We're lucky Aloneftis didn't play.

Positives: We got stuck in early on and looked to try and win the game. Duff had too much class for Cyprus, later McGeady would follow him as both men beat their man and the covering defender, causing chaos. It's refreshing to see us penentrate out wide after some shapeless performances under Stan.

When Ireland were good, it was when the ball was played into Doyle and he made it stick. And he gave the midfield every chance, because he ran all night and put in some very intelligent runs, constantly stealing a yard to the ball on his marker. No goals, but they will come. Keane's link up play in the first half was good and at the end of the day, he scored the winner.

Last word goes to Richard Dunne. I was a bit too young for the Paul McGrath era, however the spirit, strength and intelligence that Dunne uses in a green shirt must surely be somewhere out of McGrath's playbook. Dunne charged down what looked to be a certain goal. I'm sure he's done it once already this campaign, if not twice. It is no coincidence he gets in these goal saving positions - it's his anticipation and his desire.

Ade

Condex
15/10/2008, 9:47 PM
God what an awful match

McShane - Not a footballer
Gibson - Did little
Whelan - Did little
Keane - Very poor display

Duff - Very good
Doyle - Great
McGeady - Tried Hard
dunne - MoM

backstothewall
15/10/2008, 9:48 PM
Last word goes to Richard Dunne. I was a bit too young for the Paul McGrath era, however the spirit, strength and intelligence that Dunne uses in a green shirt must surely be somewhere out of McGrath's playbook. Dunne charged down what looked to be a certain goal. I'm sure he's done it once already this campaign, if not twice. It is no coincidence he gets in these goal saving positions - it's his anticipation and his desire.

God how i would love to have seen the two of them play together

15/10/2008, 9:48 PM
I have to disagree. He just doesn't win the ball and is a luxury in so far as he's best with 2 ball winners around him. Both Trapp and Keane seem to agree with me. I think Trapp wanted to put him in but thought better of it.

We kept losing possession because the ball was going from defence to one of the 4 attackers. Reid would have made a huge difference in our ability to keep possession. That's all I'm saying.

Maroon 7
15/10/2008, 9:49 PM
Dunphy pretty much summed it up.

Unfortunately, it's the Italian way to hang on to what you have. We got the goal and then didn't really try to get a second. The midfield was just crying out for a change, wasn't it?

The Cypriots were wobbling badly at the back any time we really went at them. There was definitely more goals there for us. Granted though Trap is never going to go all out unless we absolutely have to.

With Finnan and the two Reid's in there we have the makings of a very good team but will we ever see it out on the pitch?

irishfan86
15/10/2008, 9:58 PM
People keep saying that we were sitting back, but the fact of the matter is if Duff/Whelan, McGeady and Doyle finish those chances we're scoring 4 goals.

It came down to finishing, not a lack of creativity or offense.

Maroon 7
15/10/2008, 10:01 PM
People keep saying that we were sitting back, but the fact of the matter is if Duff/Whelan, McGeady and Doyle finish those chances we're scoring 4 goals.

It came down to finishing, not a lack of creativity or offense.

We had a few decent chances near the end with the Cypriots pouring forward but for most of the second half they controlled the ball and could easily have had one or two themselves.

Lamper.sffc
15/10/2008, 10:03 PM
Not great from our central midfield pairing. But some of the comments are a bit harsh. Out of three competitive games glen had one bad. I dont think its time to say he is not good enough(jury still out) Gibson should not have been there as said earlier, he is won for the future. O brien or andy reid instead maybe?
The difference is that if steve staunton was still there that would have been another 5 - 2 result for cyprus. While i thought a few things where wrong the manager has galvanised an average team. I would be more on the Giles side of the fence than eamon and his over the top ranting. We have made a great start and long may it continue.
I still get the impression Trap doesnt know our players well enough yet. He knows how to organise a team but i feel he hasnt been to see enough of our players in games thus doesnt know what they are fully capable of. (Some of them anyway)

Paddy Garcia
15/10/2008, 10:13 PM
Well we rode our luck tonight - not for the first time inthis campaign.

Agree on the D's - Dunne and Duff were frankly superb & Doyle had a great game too.

The CM was overun for long periods and against a better team we would have been punished. We will pay if we can't do better in future. Garvan must be given an opportunity.

Although there is something about McShane that is appealing - honesty, commitment etc, I don't think I have ever seen a worse player in an Irish shirt. I can't understand how Trapp has stuck with him, O'Brien or Foley or anyone else. I though Paul Butler had a bad game for us, but nothing like as bad as McShane tonight.

15/10/2008, 10:23 PM
Terrible performance. I expected it to be tight & predicted a draw but also expected Cyprus to be better. Even with Cyprus playing badly we were hanging in at the end.

With a few exceptions we lack intelligent footballers who can adapt quickly to new team mates & structures as well as making the correct decisions.

As an example McShane plays every week in the English Premier league but looks like a Sunday league player at International.