View Full Version : Glentoran FC in Setanta Cup Final; All fans view please

HarpoJoyce
13/10/2008, 9:58 PM
Obviously Glentoran FC alone on a thread title may have caused a stir almost some posters. I included fans who may follow other teams.

I think it's great. But I'm only thinking of those punters with a Glentoran FC win. Or 0-1 90 min result.

13/10/2008, 10:11 PM
I had a big Draw No Bet punt on Drogheda at half time (13/8 or something), but covered it with a 1-0 Glentoran FT bet at 5/1, so only lost a minuscule amount.

Thought Drogs, though they were and are clearly a better team, showed a lack of respect by effectively fielding only three defensive outfield players (Gartland, Maher and Keegan) from the start.

13/10/2008, 10:57 PM
Good luck to them. Probably important for the competition too

14/10/2008, 8:55 AM
I had 10 grand on Drogheda, so I can't say I'm hugely please about this outcome.

14/10/2008, 9:44 AM
Disappointed for Drogheda. they really needed the boost (and the money). They have done our league proud this season and it will end in a big disappointment.

Only watched on tv but thought the Glens did very well, rode their luck at times but hats off to them.

Steve Bruce
14/10/2008, 11:33 AM
Funny how they celebrated after years of saying how little this competition means to them. You'd would have thought they won the Champions League

14/10/2008, 11:43 AM
Funny how they celebrated after years of saying how little this competition means to them. You'd would have thought they won the Champions League

Wow, thats bitter....

crc
14/10/2008, 12:07 PM
I think its good for the competition and (obviously) good for the Glens. Its not so good for Drogheda, but their woes were never going to be cured by the panacea of a Setanta Cup final.

SolitudeRed
14/10/2008, 12:48 PM
Well done to the Glens epecially hold on to win with only 9 men left! Hope they can go on and win it for the IL! and if they do it will put the blues supporters into a fit of rage and you can't beat that for entertainment value:)

I always got the impression that Glens fans valued the setanta cup more than the club and were angry that the club/management did not take the competition more seriously by fielding a stronger team.

Steve Bruce
14/10/2008, 1:55 PM
Wow, thats bitter....

No it's not, it is pretty accurate. The club and it's supporters played down this competition because they where flopping big time.

Don't really care who wins this tournement now all 3 clubs are of the same ilk to me.

14/10/2008, 4:28 PM

Funny how DJ started moaning about the Setanta Cup when it became apparent Linfield were heading out.

Graemerz
14/10/2008, 6:26 PM
Funny how DJ started moaning about the Setanta Cup when it became apparent Linfield were heading out.

Not quite, DJ has been moaning about the Setanta Cup's scheduling since the evening we won it.

rebelarmyexile
15/10/2008, 4:47 PM
Final confirmed at Turners Cross, with new stand compete. Capacity should be 8,000 All Seated.

Will the glens bring many? est 1500??

15/10/2008, 5:02 PM
Is the game on a Saturday?

15/10/2008, 5:17 PM

Yep. 1st Nov.

15/10/2008, 6:24 PM

evening

Graemerz
15/10/2008, 11:16 PM
Glens have spent the entire day complaining about the game being played in Cork. Really can't please them lot. Apparently they'll bring 500. Pathetic bunch of b*stards.

SolitudeRed
15/10/2008, 11:44 PM
Glens have spent the entire day complaining about the game being played in Cork. Really can't please them lot. Apparently they'll bring 500. Pathetic bunch of b*stards.

I'll take it you'll be rooting for Cork then:rolleyes: Its a final and should be played at a neutral venue! As for the distance well I think that most Linfield fans just like any other set of supporters would not be happy about having to travel such a distance for such a game, after all bluemen often complain about the unnecessary distance they are made to travel for games at Solitude due to the security arrangements.

Steve Bruce
16/10/2008, 11:03 AM
I'll take it you'll be rooting for Cork then:rolleyes: Its a final and should be played at a neutral venue! As for the distance well I think that most Linfield fans just like any other set of supporters would not be happy about having to travel such a distance for such a game, after all bluemen often complain about the unnecessary distance they are made to travel for games at Solitude due to the security arrangements.

The distance isn't an issue with Solitude and you know it. So if your going to post about something at least be factual instead of putting a dirty spin on it.

The security arrangements isn't even the real problem. The real problem is that we are treated completely different to EVERYONE else in the league.

If everyone had the same arrangement as us, a lot of people who don't go would go e.g. myself.

If Linfield could get to the match the same way as Glentoran then we would have no problems going and we would also pack out the stand as well.

Graemerz
16/10/2008, 8:31 PM
I'll take it you'll be rooting for Cork then:rolleyes:

UM, yeah, of course.

Its a final and should be played at a neutral venue!

Of course I hear ya, but apart from the Cork/Drogheda Setanta final there hasn't been a neutral venue for the final. Cork deserve the final, they have been probably the 2nd best team in this tournament overall since the competitions existance, and unlike Drogheda actually have a stadium worthy of a final.

As for the distance well I think that most Linfield fans just like any other set of supporters would not be happy about having to travel such a distance for such a game, after all bluemen often complain about the unnecessary distance they are made to travel for games at Solitude due to the security arrangements.

One, many Bluemen are desperate to have the opportunity to travel to Cork.

Two, How would you fancy getting a bus to Ballysillan Leisure Centre which is about half a mile away from Solitude at 18:15, for a match thats kicking off at 19:45. Basically sitting on a cold cramped stationary bus for well over an hour and pay more money than any other club for the pleasure of the experience?

mrtndvn
17/10/2008, 3:58 AM
The distance isn't an issue with Solitude and you know it. So if your going to post about something at least be factual instead of putting a dirty spin on it.

The security arrangements isn't even the real problem. The real problem is that we are treated completely different to EVERYONE else in the league.

If everyone had the same arrangement as us, a lot of people who don't go would go e.g. myself.

If Linfield could get to the match the same way as Glentoran then we would have no problems going and we would also pack out the stand as well.

Wonder why Glentoran get treated differently? Not really fair on innocent Linfield.

Steve Bruce
17/10/2008, 8:38 AM
Wonder why Glentoran get treated differently? Not really fair on innocent Linfield.

I detect some miss-placed sarcasm. Linfield have been involved in less incidents in the last 10 years than that of Glentoran. We have also NEVER been involved in any trouble at Solitude since we have come back.

mrtndvn
17/10/2008, 2:08 PM
I can only go on what I see. Glentoran fans can turn up for a game, realize they arent at an old firm game, and win lose or draw, leave the ground and behave them selves and make their way home peacefully.

Linfield, can not.

Steve Bruce
17/10/2008, 3:08 PM
I can only go on what I see. Glentoran fans can turn up for a game, realize they arent at an old firm game, and win lose or draw, leave the ground and behave them selves and make their way home peacefully.

Linfield, can not.

Smells like bullsh*t to me mate.

You obviously haven't got a clue have you? Give me a few examples

Lux Interior
17/10/2008, 9:24 PM
I detect some miss-placed sarcasm. Linfield have been involved in less incidents in the last 10 years than that of Glentoran. We have also NEVER been involved in any trouble at Solitude since we have come back.

Can you list all these incidents then, colombo?

Watching you and pancake on here is only slightly less amusing than a re-run of Benny Hills.

Lux Interior
17/10/2008, 9:26 PM

There'll be more than 500.

41 in Europe is class, right enough, tits out for the lads.

mrtndvn
17/10/2008, 10:16 PM
Smells like bullsh*t to me mate.

You obviously haven't got a clue have you? Give me a few examples

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0B4el3c4uuk

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/291634/

http://www.presseye.com/photolibrary/image_display.asp?cid=1667&im=36869

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK5Pw14EVKI

Also judging by the songs your fans sing, they are simply Rangers fans looking for something to do to pass the time, you I could probably throw in what happened in Manchester last year as well.

Behave yourselves and support your own team, take a leaf out of Glentoran's book.

Gather round
17/10/2008, 10:17 PM

41 in Europe is class, right enough, tits out for the lads

We managed 25, seven and one respectively to Silkeborg, Vilnius and Tbilisi, I believe. Might have been a few more to Geneva :)

I'm in the Dublin-would-be-better camp.

Graemerz
18/10/2008, 6:05 PM

41 in Europe is class, right enough, tits out for the lads.

Lets compare European attendences last season, when we both went to Sweden.

Glentoran: http://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=glentorangayboysgl0.jpg

Linfield: http://img147.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sweden07nn9.jpg

Oh dear moobsie, put yer tits away. It doesn’t look promising for you.

SolitudeRed
18/10/2008, 10:22 PM

I'm not outting a dirty spin on anything I think the security arrangements are over the top myself but well they aren't really anything to do with Cliftonville, the point I was making is that Linfield fans are getting screwed over by the powers that be on that one in the same way that Glens fans have been screwed over by the setanta cup organisers and I think a lot less of them will go to the final because of this! All in all though it could be worse maybe they could be made to play all their home games against Linfield at windsor for years:rolleyes:

Lux Interior
18/10/2008, 11:18 PM
Lets compare European attendences last season, when we both went to Sweden.

Glentoran: http://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=glentorangayboysgl0.jpg

Linfield: http://img147.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sweden07nn9.jpg

Oh dear moobsie, put yer tits away. It doesn’t look promising for you.

So, you've taken a panoramic shot of your support in Boras yet use one of our support taken from mid-section and showing the support down to the end of that section?

Don't be going to court with that as Exhibit A, panstick.:p

PS: "putting my tits away" might have been a problem if I was in Zagreb, ain't that so;)

Graemerz
18/10/2008, 11:26 PM
So, you've taken a panoramic shot of your support in Boras yet use one of our support taken from mid-section and showing the support down to the end of that section?

Don't be going to court with that as Exhibit A, panstick.:p

PS: "putting my tits away" might have been a problem if I was in Zagreb, ain't that so;)

Um, your picture was taken from the fence sectioning your support off moobs. :rolleyes:

Oh and if you want to compare pictures of the Richmond Park visits we had, give me a shout, I'd be happy to show you up, again.

citybone
19/10/2008, 8:34 PM
i can understand why yee would like a nuetral venue but there will be a bigger crowd at a final in cork than there would be at a final in dublin and gate receipts are split 40% each and 20% to the settanta cup committee.
also dublin is closer to belfast than cork.
we have travelled the most in this competition by a lot.
turners cross is also a better ground than any in dublin at this stage too.

Mr_Parker
19/10/2008, 11:15 PM

28 years. Welcome to our world. :rolleyes:

Graemerz
19/10/2008, 11:42 PM
28 years. Welcome to our world. :rolleyes:

Although a slight incovenience I'm sure your visit to windsor over those 28 years was pretty simple compared to the ****e we have to endure.

SolitudeRed
20/10/2008, 1:14 AM
Although a slight incovenience I'm sure your visit to windsor over those 28 years was pretty simple compared to the ****e we have to endure.

Well the measures imposed on Cliftonville were a major hinderence on them in terms of any competition they were involved in as it meant they would never have home advantage if they drew Linfield. Also at least you get a new stand to sit in with seats and a roof unlike Reds fans at windsor who for most of the time they went to windsor for 'home' games had to stand on the kop and bear the elements. Also I don't ever recall the Blues fans having a grenade thrown in at them while at Solitude!

Steve Bruce
20/10/2008, 2:53 PM
Well the measures imposed on Cliftonville were a major hinderence on them in terms of any competition they were involved in as it meant they would never have home advantage if they drew Linfield. Also at least you get a new stand to sit in with seats and a roof unlike Reds fans at windsor who for most of the time they went to windsor for 'home' games had to stand on the kop and bear the elements. Also I don't ever recall the Blues fans having a grenade thrown in at them while at Solitude!

Was that the same game where the Cliftonville supporters went buck mad in celebration because they thought ti was the provos who done it, only later to sh*t themselves when they found out it was loyalists.:rolleyes:

Steve Bruce
20/10/2008, 2:57 PM

Can you list all these incidents then, colombo?

Watching you and pancake on here is only slightly less amusing than a re-run of Benny Hills.

I can list a few just off the top of my head,

Tommy McDonald getting hit in the head by your support.

Again at the Oval our players having to run in at Half and Full-time through a shower of coins/bottles etc from your main stand

A referee needing a police escort from the Oval because your support.

Trouble down at Loughgall a few years back

The year fireworks where legalised and the Glentoran supporters thought it would be a good idea to fire rockets into the Kop Stand whilst dropping a firework on Paul Leemans/Stuart elliot (can’t remember which one) mrs.

Down and Omagh when your supporters tried to attack Roy McCreadie, spitting and trying to tear down the fense.

Should I go on?

Steve Bruce
20/10/2008, 2:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0B4el3c4uuk

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/291634/

http://www.presseye.com/photolibrary/image_display.asp?cid=1667&im=36869

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK5Pw14EVKI

Also judging by the songs your fans sing, they are simply Rangers fans looking for something to do to pass the time, you I could probably throw in what happened in Manchester last year as well.

Behave yourselves and support your own team, take a leaf out of Glentoran's book.

Your obviously a WUM. Clear off and try and annoy some one else little boy.

mrtndvn
20/10/2008, 3:44 PM
Your obviously a WUM. Clear off and try and annoy some one else little boy.

Wouldn't beat the oul video footage for evidence would you?

Truth hard to take?

Steve Bruce
20/10/2008, 3:49 PM
Wouldn't beat the oul video footage for evidence would you?

Truth hard to take?

I can't view them all in work, I viewed the picture of a burning tri-colour. Not exactly the damning evidence that, maybe not in the best taste, but hardly a good oul riot is it:rolleyes:

I'll view the rest later and I'll give you a verdict. Also I never claimed once that Bluemen where whiter than white. I claimed that we are not the most troublesome support.

EalingGreen
20/10/2008, 3:54 PM
Sorry, but I thought this thread was meant to discuss the Glens and the Setanta Final, not rehash old gripes about which of Glens/Bloos/Wee Reds fans have the worst history of crowd misbehaviour. (Note my use of the word "history", btw) :rolleyes:

Lux Interior
22/10/2008, 5:50 PM
Um, your picture was taken from the fence sectioning your support off moobs. :rolleyes:

Oh and if you want to compare pictures of the Richmond Park visits we had, give me a shout, I'd be happy to show you up, again.

Now, if that is our entire support in Stokholm, why can't I see myself in that picture? Possibly because I was in the seats up by the fence from which you claim this picture was taken. Now, if you find a panoramic shot, then we can talk turkey.

Otherwise, please post no more silliness on here you clueless batfreak.

23/10/2008, 11:31 PM
Any chance ye could take all yer ballix back to ILS........

Jersey Cow
30/10/2008, 11:25 AM
what a crowd travelling down from Belfast...I heard the Glens are taking 1000+ fans and wnated more tickets but couldn't get them!!!
Thats some commitment to travel the length of Ireland(unfairly I have to say!) for a final.........

aidz1
30/10/2008, 1:54 PM
The travel time from belfast to cork aint that much. you'd do it easily in 3-4 hours.

Lux Interior
30/10/2008, 3:33 PM
The travel time from belfast to cork aint that much. you'd do it easily in 3-4 hours.

Yip, arrive at airport, check-in, go to gate, in-flight safety, flight, wait around until everyone gets off, into arrivals, taxi, hotel.

EalingGreen
30/10/2008, 6:50 PM
what a crowd travelling down from Belfast...I heard the Glens are taking 1000+ fans and wnated more tickets but couldn't get them!!!
Thats some commitment to travel the length of Ireland(unfairly I have to say!) for a final.........

The Glens wanted 1,500 tickets, which the stadium should have been able to allow. But because building work on one stand wasn't finished as promised, they only got 1,100. Consequently, the club reckons at least 200 fans have already booked travel and accommodation etc, yet will not be able to get match tickets.

Take a look at the Setanta thread in the (Eircom) league section, to see how angry the club is at the shabby and disrespectful way they have been treated.

P.S. I don't know how many fans the Glens would take were the game to be in Dublin, but I've no doubt it would have been many more than 1,500. For one thing, NI Coach companies demand that trips as far as Cork must include an overnight stay, whereas Dublin can be done there and back on the night.

Late Edit: I'm since told that Coaches can do Belfast to Cork on a round trip basis (a bit of a trip, mind)

30/10/2008, 8:05 PM
Will the Glens programme editor be down for the game? I have a Glens pennant from a European game Germany (it was bought there) for someone who has an interest in Glens history.

Send a pm if you can

Buller
31/10/2008, 12:01 AM
Its terrible that St. Annes stand wont be finished in time - that will limit the capacity to circa 5,500? Not to mention looking worse on tv. They could have easily got 10,000+ for this game I would think...