View Full Version : Sean Prunty Testimonial
hollocaine
13/10/2008, 9:09 AM
http://ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=c0415a31-520f-41af-b5c5-fcf1cb6effce
Friday, November 21st: A Stephen Kenny / Alan Mathews managed Longford Town Legends XI vs Longford Town XI.
If we don't get a really good crowd for this, then the Longford general public are all just c.unts
13/10/2008, 9:45 AM
Agreed, I will be in attendance I would not miss this for the world. Sean was great for us and a real tragedy that his career was cut so short.
We still all dream of a team of Sean Pruntys.
I hope to see a good crowd.
13/10/2008, 11:58 AM
Absolutely agree we should have a big crowd or they're a disgrace. Hopefully we can push ticket sales in advance so he's guaranteed a proper send off. Should be a good night.
13/10/2008, 12:08 PM
If anyone has any pictures of sean in action for us (large images pref) kindly drop me a pm.
Nipper
13/10/2008, 12:13 PM
Hopefully we can push ticket sales in advance so he's guaranteed a proper send off. Should be a good night.
Good idea. I might not be able to attend but would be ****ed off if I couldn't support this.
Nipper
13/10/2008, 12:13 PM
Urined off, then.
13/10/2008, 12:15 PM
If anyone has any pictures of sean in action for us (large images pref) kindly drop me a pm.
Good one here, there could be more on there too.
http://www.raydonlon.com/2007a/8052/game.htm
I'm sure if you drop him a line or ask him at the next game, he'll let you use it!.
Hopefully we can push ticket sales in advance so he's guaranteed a proper send off.
Too far from Holles Street for me to make it down at that date, but would like contribute, so ticket sales in advance of the day would be a great idea.
13/10/2008, 12:23 PM
I'm pretty sure it's something the organising committee have thought of so we'll await news as to when they go on sale.
13/10/2008, 12:45 PM
Thanks Longfordian, came across a good one as well. Will give them a ring about getting the original. Hopefully it will work out well for what I am planning :)
17/10/2008, 12:25 PM
Tickets for this are now on sale through Ticketmaster
http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/1800414FA5C95871?artistid=973630&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=10004
I'm sure they'll be available elsewhere closer to the date but if anyone can't make it to Longford at any stage that may be of assistance.
17/10/2008, 3:47 PM
Hopefully they will be available from the club as well, ticketmasters 6:35 handling charge on tickets is a lot.
17/10/2008, 4:01 PM
I'm sure they will, didn't actually notice that there was a handling charge. I see other EL games advertised there, do they all have handling charges? Who'd be bothered paying that?. I don't intend purchasing off ticketmaster if I can avoid it but just in case some people had no other means of getting a ticket and wanted to buy one I said I'd put it up.
Edit: Just checked that out, there's a €2.95 service charge for tickets.
17/10/2008, 4:04 PM
Oh aye it is very handy for those who cannot make the event but would like to contribute. I know they charge 6:35 on tickets for gigs maybe it is less for games hopefully.
17/10/2008, 4:14 PM
Yep, it says €2.95 service charge for this, I presume it's the same for all games. Better than €6.35 anyhow.
25/10/2008, 3:58 PM
How'd it go? Much of a turnout?
25/10/2008, 4:32 PM
How'd it go? Much of a turnout?November 21st;)
27/10/2008, 5:48 AM
November 21st;)
Completely out of the loop these days. :)
28/10/2008, 1:29 AM
Obviously all that time you've spent in the UK has affected your literary proficiency Pauro since the first post clearly states 21st November!
28/10/2008, 11:21 AM
Obviously all that time you've spent in the UK has affected your literary proficiency Pauro since the first post clearly states 21st November!
I dunno. Innit.
28/10/2008, 12:45 PM
Marco Tadelli will also be playing!
28/10/2008, 1:39 PM
Yep, that and other news here
http://www.seanpruntytestimonial.com/news_22793.html
Should be a great night. Hope the people come out.
28/10/2008, 6:31 PM
just looked at the website.. very good job what a squad of 44! lads im doin a piece on sean prunty for the match program can ye all send me a pm of what is your favourite memory of seanie is so that i can collate the best of them... thanks
A great array of great songs can get an airing looking at that list...
ltfc_2004
29/10/2008, 11:34 AM
have to agree with Macy looking at that List, has someone collated every town player in the last 10 years and stuck them on a list ....
funny was just thinking Darragh Sheridan would do a fine job in the 1st Division
Battery Rover
29/10/2008, 11:35 AM
I will try and find space in out next two match programmes to promote it as well
I will use the Tardelli piece of the link above as the article or is their another piece that someone has that could be used. Would need it for today at 4pm at the latest. Also a pic of Sean would be useful
email info@athlonetownfc.ie
29/10/2008, 11:47 AM
I will try and find space in out next two match programmes to promote it as well
I will use the Tardelli piece of the link above as the article or is their another piece that someone has that could be used. Would need it for today at 4pm at the latest. Also a pic of Sean would be useful
email info@athlonetownfc.ie
If you contact Ray Donlon he should have some. www.raydonlon.com
have to agree with Macy looking at that List, has someone collated every town player in the last 10 years and stuck them on a list ....
funny was just thinking Darragh Sheridan would do a fine job in the 1st Division
They've all been contacted over the last few weeks AFAIK and have said they'll turn up if they can. I'd imagine some of them will have games such as Mooney, Dillon, and Deegan I guess with the Cup Final. Yeah Darragh would have done a job in his day but his knee is gone I think and he retired when he left us.
29/10/2008, 11:55 AM
requested an image a few weeks back now, still nout. Ah well will have to get one from somewhere else as time be a running out.
29/10/2008, 11:57 AM
There's a few in the gallery on the ltfc.ie site after a quick look. I'm sure if you credit the source, Ray Donlon, you could use them.
29/10/2008, 1:37 PM
Just thought I'd put up this interview with Sean which shows how much he needs the testimonial to be supported as it should be. He doesn't have much to say that's complimentary about Drogheda either.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eircom-league/seething-prunty-still-cant-forgive-drogheda-1511988.html
Keen2win
29/10/2008, 4:18 PM
just looked at the website.. very good job what a squad of 44! lads im doin a piece on sean prunty for the match program can ye all send me a pm of what is your favourite memory of seanie is so that i can collate the best of them... thanks
Any chance of a "One F in Longford" special edition? Or maybe one put together with old ones all regarding Prunty?
29/10/2008, 8:42 PM
Just thought I'd put up this interview with Sean which shows how much he needs the testimonial to be supported as it should be. He doesn't have much to say that's complimentary about Drogheda either.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eircom-league/seething-prunty-still-cant-forgive-drogheda-1511988.html
there was an excellent piece in todays mirror plus the mail.. hopefully a lot of neutrals will come out to support as the mans a legend!
29/10/2008, 8:43 PM
Any chance of a "One F in Longford" special edition? Or maybe one put together with old ones all regarding Prunty?
tbh i think its too late to do one its up to the editor of course.. but i believe the match program will be top drawer and hopefully a good collectiors item for years to come...
29/10/2008, 8:46 PM
A great array of great songs can get an airing looking at that list...
just wonderin will we have time to sing all the songs???:D
29/10/2008, 9:05 PM
A nice little medley of all the terrace classics of years gone by shall be sung no doubt. From "dedicated town player with passion" to the bald truck driving man song, if He plays!
29/10/2008, 10:44 PM
I am absolutely gutted I cant make it. That will be a legendary moment in the life of any LTFC fan. I hope all the old favourites get an airing. And cant believe Tardelli is playing at the Flansiro! I hope the mad fella scores!
Hadn't realised that Drogheda were being absolute tossers about it. Like he says, what goes around comes around. My initial reaction after reading that is to hope they're the first club not to come out of examinership.
30/10/2008, 5:16 PM
Printable poster available here if anyone can think of good places to put them up :
http://www.seanpruntytestimonial.com/news_23001.html
05/11/2008, 4:19 PM
Swedish internationals Johan Mjallby and Pontus Kamark (I'd forgotten about him, class name!) are lining out for The Town in this one. Fair play to them for coming over.
http://www.seanpruntytestimonial.com/news_23177.html
05/11/2008, 7:08 PM
Johan Mjallby, what a player!
Should be a good game I'd say.
05/11/2008, 7:37 PM
This is absolutely briliant!
08/11/2008, 1:21 PM
I was just chattin to someone on the executive committee yesterday afternoon.. we have only sixty tickets sold so far which is not what the club expected.. tickets are on sale tonight at the game in the shoppin centre over the weekend and on sean pruntys website... I was asked on behalf of the committee to appeal to current town fans ex town fans to come out and support the man. and go to the match. the man himself was easily one of my most profile players ever and deserves such a good sent off.. we have so many famous town legends, ireland assistant boss,marco tardelli and ex celtic player johan majalllby playin .. any other supporters of the eircom league are also welcome to attend and if you cant attend you can buy a virtual ticket on www.seanpruntytestimonial.com..
so come on you do want to come dont you??::)
08/11/2008, 1:46 PM
I hope it is a case of people waiting till the day. It is the irish way to leave it until the last moment. I know I have to get my tickets yet and there are few coming along with me. Hope there is a decent turnout as their deserves to be for a great event like this.
08/11/2008, 2:23 PM
Ah I'd say it's people haven't got around to buying them yet. I haven't got mine yet and I'm definitely going. I know a few others in the same position. Any time the Town had a big game at home (God be with the days!) tickets would never be selling too quickly in advance. There's still two weeks to go almost and there'll be no shortage of seats really. I hope to see a decent crowd out there but it's hard to know what to expect any more. Having them on sale in the shopping centre and at the match is a good move however, it keeps up the profile of the game for the public.
08/11/2008, 2:26 PM
i assume that if there is a torrential downpour that they will have to play the match considering all the dignitiries that will be there!!:confused:
08/11/2008, 2:56 PM
Well I'd assume it'd get a little more latitude than an ordinary game but if the pitch is not playable it's not playable. I think we're due a bit of luck weather wise so hopefully it'll be a decent night.
Alot of us going here and none of us have tickets yet. I'd say its the same case for most people
RockofGibraltar
09/11/2008, 2:22 PM
i know loads going and nobody has tickets yet, every1 will get tickets on the night
Rocky77
09/11/2008, 2:35 PM
What's the point of that? I'm breaking my silence on this because it's getting too bloody frustrating.
For the love of God, DO NOT wait til the day of the game to buy tickets. By doing so you're causing a f**k load of headaches for the people organising the event. You have no idea the effort involved in getting this up and running and the logisitics on the day are going to be massive, having to handle a load of cash at the time is not what anyone wants to do.
The sooner you buy your tickets, the easier and cleaner it is for everyone. Then there's the whole aspect of having a better idea in advance of who's going to be there so we have a better idea of how many programmes to print, for example.
By leaving it late YOU ARE HINDERING THE SUCCESS OF THIS EVENT. If you're going to the game, buy early.
Thats is all...
I personally will do it when I'm good and ready to do it and when I know how many I have to buy for. If people are willing to come out and support on the night so be it. Its support Sean wants. Fair enough it takes organising and fair play to ye but that attitude is what will turn people off..."we dont have tickets we wont bother"