View Full Version : Leagues Financial facts & Rumours thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

12/12/2008, 3:14 PM
I disagree dodge ,i sat in a pub in galway a week ago and heard some lads discussing the LOI and not once they mention football only the financial troubles that surrond clubs now while i take your point that it may not have a negative effect of supporters going to games it must make the clubs looks both stupid ans unsustainable

Do you think if we had 5,000 people going to every game in comfirt the same people would be talking about overspending?

passerrby
12/12/2008, 3:14 PM
No. Read the pages you won't regret it. (Pats, Rovers, Monaghan, UCD, Derry and Sligo probably are ok, everyone else is either in trouble about to be in trouble or just about out of trouble).

fantastic synopsus except i believe that pats rover ucd derry and sligo are in trouble

brianw82
12/12/2008, 3:16 PM
Could some one who knows summerise the financial situations of each club. Saves people (like myself lol) having to read through 13 pages to find out.

Thanks

This article from a week or two back probably sums up the Premier for 2008.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eircom-league/premier-division-ups-and-downs-of-turbulent-season-1552788.html

Basically, only UCD and Shams have either had no money trouble or don't look like potentially having troubles.

passerrby
12/12/2008, 3:18 PM
Do you think if we had 5,000 people going to every game in comfirt the same people would be talking about overspending?

drogs potential demise is bigger gossip than bohs titles

12/12/2008, 3:20 PM
Fairly good summary; didn't see that article.

Agree the best way to get an understanding of where the league is now is to look back over the whole thread though.

12/12/2008, 3:25 PM
It all makes baby Jesus cry :(

12/12/2008, 3:32 PM
just in case anybody gets the impression we are in the same boat as ourselves.. god forbid

How can you not be in your own boat? :confused:

They won't find 11 million, and even if they do, there's absolutely no guarentees that clubs won't just run up the debt again.

I think you could almost assume that most of them would run up the debts again.

12/12/2008, 3:38 PM
Thought this needed to be shared

now before i post this granted there is a sizeable amount of ****e talk posted on this forum but this must be the most potrageous and handicapped post ever taken from the Rvs MB, Derry seem to have two teams in the league too

WHo will be our main challengers for the league title next season?
Teams : Concern

SPA: Cutting their budget to under 2 million ( I think it will be well under that and Johnny Mc is staying on as coach it looks which is a massive neg vibe in my book as i think he is a thick.

LondonDerry City : Finacially in bits, seems to be all hush hush keep quiet nothing to see here move along "These are not the droids you're looking for" lines coming from them. Will have a lot of young fellas on the Books and Kenny is going to be under pressure from the off. Further cut backs come July maybe.

Gypos : Fcuked, next. These idiots may not even be in the league, they probably will but the gypo massives will not be celebrating a league title next season and will do well to finish in the top 4.

Cark Langers : Things are looking really bad for this crowd, something is not right down there. I really dislike Matthews but he seemed to get on with these roaring roasters ok. They may be on the brink of falling apart and could go either way, watching brief is advised. No Europe may help them if they can correct themselves.

Drogs : I am afraid bad days for the Drogs who are the only club to get their nickname from the bastion of class that is the Sun Newspaper. From making the back page headline of these rags after their champions league campaign to the Obituaries in only a few months, sad but only themselves to blame.

Culchie Rovers: Ah not a bad manager with this crowd but they will fall short, they will also go close to going bust like they do every year. Their chairman will blame winter football and they will sign some guy from a country like we have never heard of. This crowd could lso go either way but i can't see them having the legs of other teams and Europe and the Setanta will be a hinderence rather than a help with their squad size.

Galway, Bray, Dundalk : Can't see any of them doing anything but I can the relegation being fought out between Galway and Bray. Dundalk have got a chancer in blackie in by the sounds of things his budget won't be bad. I could see him finishing ahead of one or two teams. Galway will finish bottom although if Harps are in the divsion next year they will deffo be in the mix.

Prediction:

Shamrock Rovers
SPA
Derry
Sligo
Derry
Gypos
Cark
Dundalk
Bray
Galway
Drogs (if they are in, if not Galway bottom and Harps second bottom which is more than likely going to happen)

I can only see one winner raored on by 4 or 5 thousand each week in Tallaght.
Leave your predictions below and whoever at the end of the season is the closest we all buy a pint for them at teh end of the season.

12/12/2008, 3:41 PM
In fairness the fella who posted that is a laughing stock on the Rovers forum, most of the rest of the thread is people ridiculing him.

12/12/2008, 3:44 PM
I think he's leading the "Who should be banned?" poll.

There is an element of truth in some of it though.

12/12/2008, 3:48 PM
I think he's leading the "Who should be banned?" poll.

There's a poll?

12/12/2008, 3:49 PM
Somewhere. Great idea too. Once mods aren't allowed on. :p

12/12/2008, 3:50 PM
Somewhere. Great idea too. Once mods aren't allowed on. :p

There should be a seperate mods poll. :)

12/12/2008, 3:51 PM
And a yeah or nay poll for dahamsta. :)

12/12/2008, 3:56 PM
There is an element of truth in some of it though.

if you take the Rovers fans as gospel. ;)

As for voting people off here. I'm 100% behind it. Mods should be allowed on it too

12/12/2008, 4:14 PM
if you take the Rovers fans as gospel. ;)

As for voting people off here. I'm 100% behind it. Mods should be allowed on it too

Great idea. We could vote all week and then have the loser/winner on camera as they discover they've got the boot on the Friday night. Then they could give an interview to some z list celeb interviewer where they claim that they don't care and were only taking the **** anyway and that they will not miss foot.ie at all.

Then there could be a monkey knife fight.

passerrby
12/12/2008, 4:28 PM
great idea can i propose we call it the x foot factor

HarpoJoyce
12/12/2008, 4:36 PM
great idea can i propose we call it the x foot factor

That's good, maybe a supplementary thread called Big Footer Little Foot.

(Can I eat any of the Kangaroo 'eggs' that are left? Or what ever they are.)

The Lilywhites
12/12/2008, 5:15 PM
Drogheda United are happy to announce that the club has been granted a 30-day extension of their examinership from the High Court today.

This good news gives the club 30 days, from today, to continue its fundraising efforts, attract further investment and put in place a plan for the future of the club.

passerrby
12/12/2008, 5:33 PM
That's good, maybe a supplementary thread called Big Footer Little Foot.

(Can I eat any of the Kangaroo 'eggs' that are left? Or what ever they are.)

how about IM a footer get me out of here .. now thats just silly but ive just read the lillywhites post and am feeeling lightheaded

Inside Man
12/12/2008, 7:01 PM
Am i the only one who had sucha laugh reading that post by the Shams fan?:D:D Hilarious stuff!:D

12/12/2008, 11:34 PM
Although they are leading the "who can get a stadium built for them" league.

13/12/2008, 12:15 AM
Although they are leading the "who can get a stadium built for them" league.

And the "who can build a stand that resembles something a 3 year old would make out of Lego" league.

Candystripe
13/12/2008, 4:10 AM
If it's true that Derry let McGinn go for €250k then this league is fecked!

BTW That would mean Derry are in the black by a good amount.....€170k PLUS FOR THE YEAR ENDING 2008.

Our board wouldn't be so stupid .....would they?

Dassa
13/12/2008, 9:51 AM
Found it quite surprising that Derry would let him go for that. Especially with Fahey going for more.

What percentage of the fee will Dungannon get?

10 % at least I would say.

13/12/2008, 11:20 AM
But we are lacking behind in the "our club is run by idiots, even when we cheat and win we're still fcuked and we are in deep sh1t" league.

You've got me there.

13/12/2008, 2:16 PM
Found it quite surprising that Derry would let him go for that. Especially with Fahey going for more.

What percentage of the fee will Dungannon get?

10 % at least I would say.

20% afaik

14/12/2008, 4:52 PM
If it's true that Derry let McGinn go for €250k then this league is fecked!

BTW That would mean Derry are in the black by a good amount.....€170k PLUS FOR THE YEAR ENDING 2008.

Our board wouldn't be so stupid .....would they?
£80k was your loss in 2007.

For 2008, you can treble it, even after the McCourt deal.

But if McGinn goes, it does seem you'll break even this year. Though you'll either have to cut back your budget by half a million or find two more players like that next season.

15/12/2008, 8:03 PM
Schadenfreude - literally, shameful joy - thanks to LTID I will indulge in some next time Limerick go broke (shouldn't have too long to wait with their record)

Care to point out my shameful joy anywhere??

In fairness you're far more likely to get joy out of Limerick going bust than you are out of Monaghan winning something anytime soon so by all means go for it.

If it makes you happy it can't be that bad.

Plus there's a good chance we'll just reform and call ourselves something else so how bad.

Candystripe
16/12/2008, 1:59 AM

But if McGinn goes, it does seem you'll break even this year. Though you'll either have to cut back your budget by half a million or find two more players like that next season.

I was at our AGM last week and you are very far out on your quote.

Add maybe an extra £7,000 to our 2007 loss and that would be almost perfect.

Just because you're now an accountant, it doesn't mean you know everything about every company. ;)

P.S. Don't always listen to 3rd hand knowledge.

Derry's accounts for year ending nov '08will be officially realeased to shareholders in march 2009.

16/12/2008, 8:41 AM

But if McGinn goes, it does seem you'll break even this year. Though you'll either have to cut back your budget by half a million or find two more players like that next season.Whats you source or is it more guesswork?*

*I've no idea what the 2008 performance was other than purely anecdotal, but given the only people who know this figure are the Derry board and the FAI Licensing Department, I'm also pretty sure you've no idea and are just throwing figures out there.

16/12/2008, 9:19 AM
I'm also pretty sure you've no idea and are just throwing figures out there.
Taken to PM, but that's not the case.

P.S. Don't always listen to 3rd hand knowledge.
It's far from third hand knowledge.

Tenderloins
16/12/2008, 1:39 PM
http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sport/McGinn-deal-still-to-be.4796609.jp
according to this the budget at Derry will be slashed by 35 per cent.

"....Meanwhile, on the team front it's expected that Stephen Kenny will lose at least four members of his first team squad come Christmas. With McGinn expected to don the green and white hoops of Celtic and Sean Hargan having already left the Brandywell, both Darren Quigley and Billy Dennehy appear to be on their way to Dundalk.
Keeper Quigley, who found himself regularly resigned to the substitutes' bench last term, is understood to have agreed to join Sean Connor's club on loan for the 2009 season while the Dundalk boss has also been given permission to open talks with Dennehy on a more permanent deal.
But Kenny is also understood to be "disappointed" that last year's budget will be slashed by 35 per cent despite the sales of Paddy McCourt and Conor Sammon and the expected sale of McGinn.With his squad now reduced to 16 players from the 20 on the books, the Derry boss may also be asked to shed another few should he wish to bring in fresh blood.
McIlmoyle 'listed'
One thing is certain, he will require an immediate replacement on the left side of midfield and with that in mind, it will be interesting to see if the Dubliner makes any move for a former target, Limavady United's Ryan McIlmoyle who was been placed on the transfer list by the Rathmore Road club yesterday afternoon.
And while the hands of the Derry boss appear to be tied at the moment, other eircom League clubs have already made their intentions known with Drogheda United defender, Brian Shelley - who had also been associated with a move to the Brandywell - understood to have put pen to paper for Bohemians last weekend.
In fact, sources in Drogheda expect winger, Ollie Cahill, to follow the same path despite the fact that Bohemians' players refused to accept a 30 per cent cut in wages prior to the new season.
Drogheda striker, Eamonn Zayed, is believed to be in talks with St. Pat's while Cork City have actually re-signed the vast majority of the squad which represented the club last season but those players have accepted significant cuts in their salaries.
And with new Dundalk boss, Connor attempting to repeat the success he recorded at Sligo in Co. Louth next season, it's understood he has reached agreement to bring former staff Faz Kudovic, Adam Hughes, Chris Turner and Darren Mansaram with him to Oriel Park."

adamd164
20/12/2008, 12:05 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that Pats are going part-time (training sessions moved to evenings only), 30% wage cuts across the board and players told they can take up jobs outside football on the side if they wish.

Seems to be related to Special K's business not being in the best state financially.

Battery Rover
20/12/2008, 12:36 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that Pats are going part-time (training sessions moved to evenings only), 30% wage cuts across the board and players told they can take up jobs outside football on the side if they wish.

Heard yesterday about the meeting and the possible pay cut

20/12/2008, 12:46 PM
will the pats forum be blocked like the cork one now ?

21/12/2008, 10:21 AM
Harps need 150k before Jan 26th to get a 2009 license according to a club statement last night.

To be honest, our board is getting into Tom Coughlan levels of ineptitude at this stage.

LeixlipRed
21/12/2008, 12:00 PM
Another boy who cried wolf situation?

21/12/2008, 12:06 PM
There may be an element of it, but we certainly had a pretty disasterous year overall this year.

21/12/2008, 3:51 PM
Harps need 150k before Jan 26th to get a 2009 license according to a club statement last night.

Is this to get a premier licence or any licence at all? Cork and Drogheda both seem to think that worst case scenario if they don't have all the back wages paid that they'll get a first division one anyway..

21/12/2008, 4:21 PM
Pretty sure its a FD license.

Candystripe
21/12/2008, 5:18 PM
http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sport/McGinn-deal-still-to-be.4796609.jp
according to this the budget at Derry will be slashed by 35 per cent.

Our chairman has now said on BBC radio Foyle it will be a 20% drop in our budget compared to last season.

15 or 16 full-timers and 15 part-timers (A team squad).

22/12/2008, 9:47 AM
Pretty sure its a FD license.

how are you "pretty sure"?

harpskid
22/12/2008, 9:54 AM
how are you "pretty sure"?

It's a licence full stop, as confirmed by the club.

22/12/2008, 10:16 AM

Seems to be related to Special K's business not being in the best state financially.

Purple monkey dishwasher? Nothing whatsoever to do with his other business pursuits