View Full Version : LTFC vs the Gah

09/10/2008, 12:35 PM
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=0ff0fecd-f79d-4577-abca-0a931ea3eba7

See this is on Monday night, anyone heading to it? Wont be going myself as with match on Saturday then theres a trust meeting Tuesday, driving to Longford three times in a few days is a non runner.

09/10/2008, 12:55 PM
I'd say I'll go alright hopefully a few people will come out for it, it's for a good cause.

09/10/2008, 12:57 PM
Aye I know it is for a good cause, would have liked to go but just aint able to do three 90 odd mile spins in a few days. The wheels may fall off my pony :)

09/10/2008, 1:00 PM
You should get yourself a bachelor pad in Longford. Marty could move in with you or something.

09/10/2008, 8:45 PM
You should get yourself a bachelor pad in Longford. Marty could move in with you or something.

now thats an idea! dont know wot ronnie would think of that???:D

09/10/2008, 9:16 PM
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau would have nothing on you lads. We could film it all for LTFCTV.

09/10/2008, 9:31 PM
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau would have nothing on you lads. We could film it all for LTFCTV.

salmon coloured will have to ave a role too!

09/10/2008, 9:35 PM
I'm sure Salmon Coloured's "unique" world view would be a ratings winner alright.

09/10/2008, 9:40 PM
hehe, brilliant. We would put "grumpy old men" to shame. A fly on the wall documentary featuring such moments as Ronnie attempts the Washing Machine and Marty burns the kitchen down.

could be a runner....

10/10/2008, 12:14 PM
It could be like 'Friends'. Only far funnier and John Joe's taking the place of Central Perk.

ltfc_2004
10/10/2008, 2:45 PM
seems to be a lack of women in this situation, Maz might get a starring role ........

I want to be the mad Roscommon relative who pops in uninvited now and then !!!!

10/10/2008, 3:06 PM
You could be the "Ugly Naked Guy" of this scenario.

10/10/2008, 4:18 PM
Should it not be GAAH? :)

10/10/2008, 6:23 PM
seems to be a lack of women in this situation, Maz might get a starring role ........

I want to be the mad Roscommon relative who pops in uninvited now and then !!!!
Did I hear my name in vain? What am I getting into?

Anything dodge and I'm out but think the game will be great craic

10/10/2008, 8:57 PM
You get to live with Marty/Ronnie for an unspecified period in a local bachelor pad. I'm sure the game will be a bit of fun and I'll be there, but I'd love to see those who don't regularly attend at the Flansiro coming out and dropping their hard earned subsidies in the collection box on the way in. I wouldn't be confident of it though.

Massop 10
10/10/2008, 11:00 PM
I can be the slightly crazy landlord :D and I'm sure that the rest of section O will be the neighbours.

hollocaine
12/10/2008, 10:12 AM
Some of the Gaaah heads are decent soccer players. Our lads will surely not want to fcuk up this game. I think our secret weapon (Mr. Freimanis) could run riot.

12/10/2008, 8:48 PM
i have seen paddy dowd play the time the sun had that soccer competion down at davis supermarket.. he hit the hole in the net more times than a c certain gary murphy....

12/10/2008, 8:56 PM
Yeah Paddy Dowd played for under 21s for a couple of years. He's an ok player. Declan Reilly also played for our underage teams as far as I know, another decent soccer player. Gary Murphy's playing with the GAA lads tomorrow. I think LTFC will be looking to win it well!.

sparkey
13/10/2008, 2:40 PM
I think LTFC will be looking to win it well!.

They would want to. Otherwise it will be another stick to beat the club and supporters with. About how we could be out supporting paid non local soccer players when a bunch of local gaa heads were able to hold them or worse still hammer them at there own game.

13/10/2008, 2:45 PM
I don't think the GAA lads are going to hammer the Town in fairness. They'll be physically competitive and fit no doubt but the superior skill levels and organisation of an EL team of whatever nature should be too much for them. But I do see your point that it'd give the mouths something else to be complaining about.

GenerationXI
14/10/2008, 8:11 AM
Well how'd it go???

sorbothegreek
14/10/2008, 8:41 AM
Well, i think that was definitely one of the more interesting visits out to Flancare in quite a while. For anyone who missed it, and that would be quite a few judging by the attendance, The Town won 3-1 against the GAA team. In fairness (and speaking primarily as an LTFC fan) I think 3-1 was harsh on the Gaelic lads.
A lot of the county players showed that they’d be at least as good if not better than some of the town squad if they had chosen to play soccer over Gaelic. It probably just points to the fact that all the best local talent will be directed towards the GAA and that soccer is still very much the poorer relation.
I suppose, at least the Town won the game and it won’t be as big a stick as was mentioned above for the detractors to beat LTFC with.
Final word on the attendance; there were plenty of local Longford footballers out in Flancare park last night at a match to raise money for charity. Attendance: maybe 200-300..

hollocaine
14/10/2008, 9:08 AM
Fair play to the Gaah lads, they were in the game to the 90th minute until Chucky scored. A distinct lack of organisation in our team's performance in the first hour but with an under 20 at centre half (Dean Clarke) and another in centre mid (Andrew Lynch) it's not too surprising.

Dismal turnout for the game. Quite a lot of kids boosted the attendance but as a fundraiser goes, I doubt either club nor charity earned much. There obviously were much more appealing things on in Longford on a Monday night to keep people away :confused:

GenerationXI
15/10/2008, 8:05 AM
Glad ye didn't lose anyway lads. Shame about the poor turnout. Fair play, it was a clever idea. We must see if we could get a MunsterXI together to play Limerick in their big new shiny stadium. . . .:rolleyes:

Salmon Coloured
15/10/2008, 11:32 AM
Did Vinny or Maccer play? What about Freimanis?

15/10/2008, 12:24 PM
Vinny played most of the game at centre back and Freimanis was playing on the wing, he played well he'd be a good addition to a Premier Divison side next season though if we could keep him so much the better.