View Full Version : Sligo Rovers Away 11/10/08
08/10/2008, 6:35 PM
Many travelling up? What seater bus is GUST running for it?
Paddyfield
08/10/2008, 6:39 PM
I'm driving plus a two passengers.
It's a must win game for us but have always found it difficult to pick up three points in the Showgrounds.
45 seater full taking names for a second bus.Loads heading by cars.
Rovers Maniac
08/10/2008, 7:31 PM
45 seater full taking names for a second bus.Loads heading by cars.
Wow lads you know the grounds just holds 5,500 now?:confused:
GUISAUltra
08/10/2008, 7:56 PM
we should have in and around 150 people in sligo
Going by car with the family.Not leaving till i get out of work at 6 though then its straight up,should make it easily in 2 hours.As Paddyfield said it is a must win.I hope we play the current system every game now either home and away,we should then pick up a few points,will it be enough though??
My prediction:2-1.
Paddyfield
08/10/2008, 8:38 PM
Going by car with the family.Not leaving till i get out of work at 6 though then its straight up,should make it easily in 2 hours.As Paddyfield said it is a must win.I hope we play the current system every game now either home and away,we should then pick up a few points,will it be enough though??
My prediction:2-1.
Jeepers Eamo1, why are you bothering your ar$e, seen as you are predicting a Sligo win.
Paddyfield
08/10/2008, 8:40 PM
Wow lads you know the grounds just holds 5,500 now?:confused:
5,500! What's the story? Are ye expecting 4,000 more than ye normally get?
Demoshield
08/10/2008, 10:32 PM
I hope we play the current system every game now either home and away,we should then pick up a few points,will it be enough though?.
Well we won't be playing the football we have for the past five games on that excuse for a bog that is the showgrounds. Which will make it a lot harder to get anything out of the game.
5,500! What's the story? Are ye expecting 4,000 more than ye normally get?
well we are a big draw for the culchies. That's if there not all at the beach with their mammies, because that's their favourite passtime at eight o'clock on a Sat night, allegedly!:D
08/10/2008, 10:47 PM
with the half decent weather as of late I doubt the farmers will be showing so the 5500 wont happen I should think ?
Patrick Dunne
08/10/2008, 11:33 PM
I would expect 200 United fans to make the journey.
Thanks to BORST for the invitation to Mooneys beforehand.
eamo1
09/10/2008, 11:20 AM
I meant 2-1 to us Paddyfield,which i should have typed as 1-2,doh.I forgot how bad Sligo's pitch is,that will be a big problem.
09/10/2008, 2:54 PM
The pitch is playable on, otherwise we wouldn't be allowed use it so stop using excuses before the game has even started...poor workmen blame their tools;)
gufc4life
09/10/2008, 8:59 PM
two buses defo going now still taken more names for the second 200+ united fans will travel id say
gufcfan
09/10/2008, 11:25 PM
Many travelling up? What seater bus is GUST running for it?
Plenty of banter around the game to be found here (http://galwayunitedfc.net/).
10/10/2008, 12:28 PM
Plenty of banter around the game to be found here (http://galwayunitedfc.net/).Seems to be more a lot of discussion about segregation than anything else.
Seems to be more a lot of discussion about segregation than anything else.
And whos fault is that??Not trying to stir it or anything:rolleyes:.J/K.
10/10/2008, 2:20 PM
Prediction : 3-0 Rovers
Jeebus
10/10/2008, 2:31 PM
well we are a big draw for the culchies.
It's a pity ye aren't a big draw for your own fans for your home games.
GuisaSaigon
10/10/2008, 2:48 PM
It's a pity ye aren't a big draw for your own fans for your home games.
Summer Football, mammies going to beach:o
gufcfan
12/10/2008, 2:56 AM
Highlights - http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=nRRYcrPLhzA&fmt=18
I hear there is more reports of dodgy stewarding from sligo again, with one steward flicking a cigarette butt at one of the galway supporters and then made a swing at another galway supporter before the other stewards had him removed !
Another hefty fine for the sligwegians on the way ?
Tir Oilean
12/10/2008, 8:05 PM
I saw the incident. He flicked a cigarette into the Galway fans and then shadowed a headbutt at the supporters standing at the wall. In fairness it was like having the Burbury Muppet stewarding in Terryland. There was one steward in a black jacket who seemed to be private security and he was well on top of things straight away and informed the event controller. Twas a nothing incident but it didnt need to happened and was the only nasty incident during a great trip.
ShamTalk
13/10/2008, 12:10 PM
Was in Sligo on Saturday evening and would a few observations;
Overall, could not be disappointed with a draw.
Team effort and fighting spirit was excellent.
Pitch very average. Ball seemed to move very slowly and players were taking huge divots in the tackle which could have led to injuries.
Supporters made plenty of noise and got well behind the team.
Seamus Coleman.....What a player... As good an opposition as I have seen play against Galway...surely bigger and brighter things await this 19 year old...
John Russell is having an excellent patch at the moment.
Jay O'Shea seemed a bit isolated in the first half.
At the moment, (as was the case on Saturday) we are playing with four central midfielders in midfield and it showed on Saturday evening with Foley tending to pull inside from the left and Coleman bombing on from right full.
Would leave O'Shea on the right of midfield and go two up front.....and in my opinion that would be Glynn and Faherty or Glynn and Russell....Our Danish friend, for all his efforts, comes up a bit short..
Davoren is a good option on the left...
Rogers played really well and his handling was superb
Alan Keane centre-half.....????????????????
John Lester typifying team spirit and playing really well and bursting a gut for the cause..
Great finish from Cretaro though way defense opened up was like a scene from the gospel and the parting of the waves.
Stewards handling of misbehaving steward was good though think Sligo need to investigate and act accordingly.
If we fail to stay up, think the likes of Russell and O'Shea and Lester wil be snapped up..and more luck to them...
Will be watching tomorrow on Aertel and hoping for the right result
GuisaSaigon
13/10/2008, 1:15 PM
John Russell is having an excellent patch at the moment.
Meant to say that myself, Russell was immense the other night. He seems to have toughened up recently too. I spotted him down the prom running last week, putting in extra fitness work. He is up for the fight.
I thought Rogers and Lester were excellent the last night and wouldnt knock Fitzy too much thought it was one of his better games.
Paddyfield
13/10/2008, 3:45 PM
Will be watching tomorrow on Aertel and hoping for the right result
[/LIST]
It's live on GBFM, Sham.
Agree about Rogers. He's playing to his potential at the moment. Rustler is a superb player too. Murphy has had his day in the sun too.
I watched the first half in the new stand; the Sligo folk are very welcoming and were, to a man, hoping that we don't get relegated.
The steward who flicked his fag butt in to the stand was a complete tit. He should be banned from the Showgrounds. All of the other stewards went about their business in a professional manner.
sligored
17/10/2008, 10:30 PM
It's live on GBFM, Sham.
Agree about Rogers. He's playing to his potential at the moment. Rustler is a superb player too. Murphy has had his day in the sun too.
I watched the first half in the new stand; the Sligo folk are very welcoming and were, to a man, hoping that we don't get relegated.
The steward who flicked his fag butt in to the stand was a complete tit. He should be banned from the Showgrounds. All of the other stewards went about their business in a professional manner.
we done ye a favour tonight lads.
well done v bray
hope ye pull off the great escape - harps are hopeless
17/10/2008, 10:43 PM
hopefully now sligored, looks like it will go down to the last game of the season. Our last 2 games are harps (h) and UCD (a). Im hopeful of winning both of those games anyway. The other 2 games are both away against Pats and Derry.