View Full Version : 10 titles = 1 star?

03/10/2008, 10:04 AM
I was just reading this (http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/features/honcoolihan1.htm) piece on the Bohs site about tonight's match and I was a puzzled when I came to this bit:

I would not be a great believer in tempting fate, mainly because there are more interesting things to tempt, but, if as expected Bohemians go on to clinch the 10th league title in their history they will have earned the right to adorn the famous red and black gansy with a gold star.

I've never noticed one on the Rovers or Shels jersey. Would they be allowed to wear one by the FAI?

I know this happens in other countries like Germany and Italy but I've never heard of it here before.

Can anyone clarify?

03/10/2008, 10:08 AM
Nothing to stop them. You'll find Wexford Youths have 3 stars above the crest representing Under 18 titles won.

03/10/2008, 10:10 AM
I was just reading this (http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/features/honcoolihan1.htm) piece on the Bohs site about tonight's match and I was a puzzled when I came to this bit:

I've never noticed one on the Rovers or Shels jersey. Would they be allowed to wear one by the FAI?

I know this happens in other countries like Germany and Italy but I've never heard of it here before.

Can anyone clarify?

Rovers definitely wear one, Shels did, not sure if they're still doing it.

03/10/2008, 10:11 AM
Its not an official FAI policy but both Rovers and Shels have had stars at various stages.

The Wexford Youths one is cringe worthy

03/10/2008, 10:13 AM
The Wexford Youths one is cringe worthy

I tend to agree, but those titles do mean an awful lot to Wallace and they represent where the Youths came from. I think he should have left it at the two, adding a third this year was really pointless.

spongebob
03/10/2008, 10:46 AM
Wexford, hold on to the stars on the logo - in years to come when you have moved on to bigger things, which you will surely do, it's good to remember where you came from.

Danny
03/10/2008, 10:59 AM
stars mean nothing
see here http://www.getminted.com/sports/sports/images/stories/man%20city%20crest.png

thought i'd post that before macy does ;)

oriel
03/10/2008, 11:00 AM
Will be a long time until we get ours, just missing the one mind !

03/10/2008, 11:12 AM
Aberdeen had two on it for their two european trophy wins. One being the fecking Super CUp...

oldyouth
03/10/2008, 11:33 AM
I tend to agree, but those titles do mean an awful lot to Wallace and they represent where the Youths came from. I think he should have left it at the two, adding a third this year was really pointless.
It's actually gone to 5 stars this year, adding the inter league and club titles this season. I don't belive in the stars at all and only one of the titles was won as a CLUB, the rest were representitive. The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.

A truly great achievement to win so many under age titles, but not for the senior jersey, IMO

03/10/2008, 11:38 AM
It's actually gone to 5 stars this year, adding the inter league and club titles this season. I don't belive in the stars at all and only one of the titles was won as a CLUB, the rest were representitive. The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.

A truly great achievement to win so many under age titles, but not for the senior jersey, IMO

Ya getting a bit mixed up there myself. Stars all over the place.

I think as a nod to the history of Wexford Youths the original stars are not a bad thing. I don't think more should have been added and I don't think it should change until the club wins a senior trophy.

03/10/2008, 12:28 PM
The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.

Fair play. It is a bit desperate putting them on the senior shirt alright.

KevB76
03/10/2008, 12:28 PM
Nothing to stop them. You'll find Wexford Youths have 3 stars above the crest representing Under 18 titles won.

The Limerick crest has two stars also - representing our two league titles. To be honest though I'm not too comfortable with it because a star is supposed to represent 10 titles, but its there so what ya gonna do! Would have to wait a very very very long time for us to genuinely earn two stars!

03/10/2008, 12:35 PM
The Limerick crest has two stars also - representing our two league titles. To be honest though I'm not too comfortable with it because a star is supposed to represent 10 titles, but its there so what ya gonna do! Would have to wait a very very very long time for us to genuinely earn two stars!

'Our' two league titles. :D A tiny bit spurious but sure what harm.

KevB76
03/10/2008, 12:36 PM
'Our' two league titles. :D A tiny bit spurious but sure what harm.

Maybe we get one for every year L37 stays in existence :D

03/10/2008, 12:39 PM
Maybe we get one for every year L37 stays in existence :D

Historically that would be almost as difficult for us as earning the stars in the traditional manner. Especially with the name change next season. Happily, in the short term at least, it looks like our days of annual demise are behind us and being enjoyed by most of the other clubs in the league instead.

03/10/2008, 12:44 PM
I'm thinking of suggesting we put one on any time we get ten wins in a season.

noby
03/10/2008, 1:11 PM
I thought ye did that already *narf*.

We were going to put a star for every manager, but the jersey ended up looking like the sky at night.

03/10/2008, 1:41 PM
One more * and we get a Star!

03/10/2008, 1:45 PM
That would a far more appropriate system for League of Ireland clubs to use. One star for every season you finished with an asterisk by your name on the league table.

03/10/2008, 1:47 PM
Some clubs would just look like they were called a censored word ****

03/10/2008, 2:33 PM
Some clubs would just look like they were called a censored word ****

I think some supporters already think the opposition called a censored word. :p

spongebob
03/10/2008, 2:41 PM
Does this apply to The Derry City Perpetual Trophy, or The League Cup as it was formerly known?:D

Candystripe
03/10/2008, 2:44 PM
Does this apply to The Derry City Perpetual Trophy, or The League Cup as it was formerly known?:D

If so, we only need one more to get a star :D

03/10/2008, 2:55 PM
That's blocked in work, but I assume it's about city having one for each title on their crest? And yes, you did me to an utterly obvious post about a star representing 10 titles, unless you're city. :)

03/10/2008, 3:05 PM
Blocked here too. Presume its about the fact the decided to have them on their crest "because it looks european"

WoodquayBoy
03/10/2008, 10:41 PM
stars mean nothing
see here http://www.getminted.com/sports/sports/images/stories/man%20city%20crest.png

A bit off topic as such, but that lot are more than entitled to their 3 stars - one for each decade since they last won anything meaningful!!

WoodquayBoy
03/10/2008, 10:43 PM
We will sport a star in the Showgrounds next week to signify finally winning a bloody home game!

03/10/2008, 11:18 PM
There is no accepted or official convention in world club football re stars (unlike at international level).

Hence the likes of Wexford Youths, Man City and Celtic all have stars for different reasons.

The Wexford stars are just embarassing ! EMFA (forerunners tio Kilkenny City) were the country's most successful junior set-up for quite a few years, yet they didn't sully their senior kit with U-18 etc references.

The reality is that it's usually those clubs for whom success has become rather elusive of late who resort to the use of stars to signiify domestic success. You don't see the likes of Man Utd, Real Madrid etc adding stars for titles.

Adding something suitable to signify winning a domestic senior treble would, of course, be both different and wholly appropriate.... :D

soccerc
03/10/2008, 11:24 PM
EMFA (forerunners tio Kilkenny City) were the country's most successful junior set-up for quite a few years, yet they didn't sully their senior kit with U-18 etc references.

Where did you dig that up from? EMFA were never close to being the country's most successful junior sides at any time :)

03/10/2008, 11:39 PM
Where did you dig that up from? EMFA were never close to being the country's most successful junior sides at any time :)

"Despite their humble beginnings, EMFA soon came to be the most respected team in the county. They quickly dominated the Kilkenny and District league - sweeping-up honours at schoolboy, youth and junior level. Their junior/youths teams proved to be particularly successful – winning every single major trophy available to them on several occasions. In one particular season the club came close to an historic clean sweep – winning the three major junior trophies, and two of the three youth honours. Every single official trophy in Kilkenny football was won by EMFA at some stage.

In 1984, prior to applying for entry to the League of Ireland, the club won the Junior league and cup, remaining undefeated throughout the entire season.

I was probably giving them too much credit on a national level, but they still didn't whack a load of stars on their shirt like Wexford.... :)

soccerc
04/10/2008, 12:04 AM
I was probably giving them too much credit on a national level, but they still didn't whack a load of stars on their shirt like Wexford.... :)

A misplaced r in county, Steve, perhaps:D

Not knocking EMFA's achievements but still maintain they were no where near being one of the country's top junior set ups.

04/10/2008, 2:28 PM
I think we should follow Wexford's lead and put a star on our jersey for each Collingwood Cup that we've won.

HarpoJoyce
04/10/2008, 2:31 PM
I think we should follow Wexford's lead and put a star on our jersey for each Collingwood Cup that we've won.

Totally!
A red Heino star..............obviously.

06/10/2008, 8:47 AM
There is no accepted or official convention in world club football re stars (unlike at international level).

There's no accepted star at international level. its just something adidas or nike brought out. Some have stars for Olympic titles. Germany had stars in their national flag colours, some have silver for european titles.

AFAIK the only "official" stars are those worn by German and Italian clubs

Heliodorus
06/10/2008, 11:05 AM

Can anyone clarify?

I remember I wrote to someone in the FAI suggesting this and he said they would look into it. Thats the last I ever heard of it.

Rovers Maniac
06/10/2008, 11:19 AM
Only Brazil should have a star above their crest nobody and i mean nobody else should.

Heliodorus
06/10/2008, 11:33 AM
Only Brazil should have a star above their crest nobody and i mean nobody else should.

What about a golden harp? (I'm serious)

HarpoJoyce
06/10/2008, 11:55 AM

By calling the club 'Star' gets around that piece of Protocol.
'Stella' 'Omonia' (gr.) and 'Zvezda' are just three. Sheriff YC don't do too bad either.