View Full Version : Careful who you text

30/09/2008, 9:53 PM
Just had my frightened 10 yr old come out of bed to tell me he had gotten a strange phone call followed by a text saying "How are you sexy? x"

I rang the person back and it was some guy who thought he had rang a girl and then text her.

So please people make sure you send your messages to the right number or you could be accused of being a perv!

Pike B
30/09/2008, 9:56 PM
Just had my frightened 10 yr old come out of bed to tell me he had gotten a strange phone call followed by a text saying "How are you sexy? x"

I rang the person back and it was some guy who thought he had rang a girl and then text her.

So please people make sure you send your messages to the right number or you could be accused of being a perv!
Bet it was Ruben Sosa!!

30/09/2008, 10:04 PM
well it wasn't me. I was busy checking out the bitterly disappointing "U-17 Girls" thread.

Giggidy Giggidy!!

30/09/2008, 10:06 PM
ha ha. Poor kid is still upset and has now decamped to my bed!

Pike B
30/09/2008, 10:08 PM
well it wasn't me. I was busy checking out the bitterly disappointing "U-17 Girls" thread.

Giggidy Giggidy!!
Very good!! :D Quagmire..

02/10/2008, 4:41 PM
The old flirt divert trick!! Good job the bloke didn't send pictures as well or he'd be in a cell right now!

inexile
02/10/2008, 4:49 PM
the poor fella must have got fake numbered!!

been there!

02/10/2008, 10:48 PM
A few years ago I was living with a few lads. For the purposes of this story we'll call them Lad A, Lad B and Lad C (though Lad C is not in this story anyway). Anyway Lad A's girlfriend was going to do some mission work somewhere in Africa I think (my lack of recollection says much about my view on chrisitian missions in the third world but that's another thread). Lad B, a dry, humourless, thinskinned, colourless sort of chap, had somehow managed to wrangle a place on the same trip. Lad A composed the following message on his phone to send to his girlfried:

"How are you going to handle 2 whole months with Lad B?"

Almost inevitably he sent it to Lad B. There was a strained atmosphere to say the least. Made me :) though.

03/10/2008, 12:48 AM
Was cooking for the ex one night many moons ago. She had to send her housemate a text to let her know she was having dinner with me instead of at home.
My phone goes off with the message "won't be home for dinner doll, will be back later if this next meal doesn't kill me".
I laughed at it, but she was mortified!

noby
03/10/2008, 7:21 AM
I wonder whatever came of Lad C?

03/10/2008, 7:44 AM
He died after going for a meal with tetsujin1979.

03/10/2008, 12:17 PM

One Sunday afternoon he drove Lad A, myself and my then lady to the shop. Nice of him. As we came back to the car he placed his shopping on the roof to get his keys. As we turned onto the roundabout outside the shopping centre his breakfast roll, twister, bottle of lucozade, mars bar and paper sailed majestically off the roof of the car and sprawled all over the road in a messy, messy heap. He did a lap of the roundabout while the other three of us in the car just :D. Lad C was :mad:.

Good times.

celticV3
03/10/2008, 7:38 PM

Wouldn't have happened if your 1oyr old son didnt ahve a mobile phone? :eek:

Paddyfield
03/10/2008, 10:30 PM
A friend of mine, Girl A, is a manager of a shoe shop. Girl B is hired by Girl A to work in the shop.

After a few weeks, Girl B starts arriving late for work and then pulled a few sickies.

Then one Saturday, B sends a text to A saying " not feeling well. Won't be in today. Sorry"

A is really pi$$ed off because she had plans to go away with her boyfriend but has to work because Girl C and Girl D are on holidays and Girl E can't work on her own (I'm drifting off topic here).

A sends a text to her boyfriend saying " I have to work today. B pulled a sickie. Stupid slut probably woke up in a strange bed again. LOL".

yeah, you guessed it, A sent it to B.

B never turned up for work again.

eamo1
04/10/2008, 12:01 AM
A female friend of mine who i worked with got to know this girl purely because the girl sent a text message to a wrong number,my friend.My friend replied to the text and they started chatting.They became friends and then actually became a couple(a long distance relationship,Waterford-Galway).Not still going out together but was so weird how they "met".

04/10/2008, 9:16 AM
Wouldn't have happened if your 1oyr old son didnt ahve a mobile phone? :eek:

True but then we would have so many logistic difficulities due to my irregular hours and being able to collect him from school some days and from the library on others at different times. I did struggle with the decision to get a phone but I have both him and his brother well trained to report any such incidents as the other night to me.

It happened my 13 yr old before too and I rang the person back with my cross mammy voice on and they didnt do it again!

04/10/2008, 9:19 AM
On the sending wrong message to wrong person thing.

A few months after my husband John I had split up and he was still desperately trying to woo me back, I was in the pub and sent him a message saying "Upstairs in the pig are you coming in? x" which was meant to the John I had started dating. Ex hubby text back all eager. I responded "Not you, you tool. Am seeing a different John" but sent it to the John I wanted to meet. Confusion reigned. Now the John I dated is gay and my ex is getting married again so I am the loser!

Paddyfield
04/10/2008, 7:54 PM
Now the John I dated is gay and my ex is getting married again so I am the loser!

Are they getting married to each other?

05/10/2008, 9:35 AM
God I wouldnt inflict that on my gbf!

05/10/2008, 1:16 PM
I did this last year.... Was out for my birthday. My girlfriend didnt bother coming as she said was too tired and started nagging me to come over and see her instead. Thought feck that and switched off my phone. Ended up in a club twisted and woke up at a friends house the next day. Texted my housemate who was ill that day and texted 'thanks so much for coming. At least you made an effort unlike some people..Regardng myself and herself, I think it's over.' I was in a heap that morning and texted........... my girlfriend. :eek:

05/10/2008, 7:11 PM
I did this last year.... Was out for my birthday. My girlfriend didnt bother coming as she said was too tired and started nagging me to come over and see her instead. Thought feck that and switched off my phone. Ended up in a club twisted and woke up at a friends house the next day. Texted my housemate who was ill that day and texted 'thanks so much for coming. At least you made an effort unlike some people..Regardng myself and herself, I think it's over.' I was in a heap that morning and texted........... my girlfriend. :eek:

And then what happened?

Wolfie
06/10/2008, 12:15 PM

Bit of a Cliffhanger there, Pauro.....................

jinxy lilywhite
06/10/2008, 12:31 PM
I got a text message from a mate one time asking "when will that clown be out of the house". This was 4 years ago and my employment status was a graveyard shift employee. Wound him up for two weeks that he had a bit on the side.
Turned sour when I coped that I was the clown. :eek:

Pike B
06/10/2008, 1:43 PM
I got a text message from a mate one time asking "when will that clown be out of the house". This was 4 years ago and my employment status was a graveyard shift employee. Wound him up for two weeks that he had a bit on the side.
Turned sour when I coped that I was the clown. :eek:
Some mate..

07/10/2008, 12:02 AM

...and....:eek:?

08/10/2008, 9:32 PM
Oh dear... so I'm online today and an old girlfriend of mine from Connecticut has added some new photos. Back in the day when we used to fool about on airbeds and what not she was insanely pretty and on that line between curvy and chubby. Was never an issue. Anyway she has lost an incredible amount of weight...

So I'm walking home from work there and I decide to share this news with my buddy and fellow foot poster GenerationXI. So I write the following text:

'By the by I saw some new pix of Katie B, she must have lost 80 pounds man. Smoking hot.'

It's no defence at all to say that I was walking, texting, tired and trying to sing along internally to Idlewild but almost inevitably rather than send it to Keith I send it to Katie B...

This will not end well...

Edit

It ended surprisingly well after I sent a second text saying that I'd obviously not meant that message for her.

'First of all that's hilarious. Second I did lose 80lbs, 85 to be exact! Thanks for noticing.'

Begs two questions. Firstly where did I develop this near perfect skill for guessing at weight loss. And second why did I feel the need to tidy up her grammer when typing her reply up here?

Anyway yes... be careful who you text!

10/10/2008, 12:29 PM
...and....:eek:?

Sorry for the dramatic week long pause there lads. And..... she somehow forgave me, we talked about it, and stayed together, and still together. Somehow. Thank feck she doesnt read foot.ie.

10/10/2008, 2:01 PM
I do and I have been posing as Neil McD for all this time. Its over Pauro and size does matter.:)

hula4
10/10/2008, 2:27 PM
Oh dear... so I'm online today and an old girlfriend of mine from Connecticut has added some new photos. Back in the day when we used to fool about on airbeds and what not she was insanely pretty and on that line between curvy and chubby. Was never an issue. Anyway she has lost an incredible amount of weight...

So I'm walking home from work there and I decide to share this news with my buddy and fellow foot poster GenerationXI. So I write the following text:

'By the by I saw some new pix of Katie B, she must have lost 80 pounds man. Smoking hot.'

It's no defence at all to say that I was walking, texting, tired and trying to sing along internally to Idlewild but almost inevitably rather than send it to Keith I send it to Katie B...

This will not end well...

Edit

It ended surprisingly well after I sent a second text saying that I'd obviously not meant that message for her.

'First of all that's hilarious. Second I did lose 80lbs, 85 to be exact! Thanks for noticing.'

Begs two questions. Firstly where did I develop this near perfect skill for guessing at weight loss. And second why did I feel the need to tidy up her grammer when typing her reply up here?

Anyway yes... be careful who you text!

maybe go there again?

10/10/2008, 3:20 PM
maybe go there again?

Should the current relationship bite the dust I'd be a fool not to. :p

10/10/2008, 3:22 PM
Phew SLK, you prove that not only women plan ahead for their next relationship!

10/10/2008, 3:37 PM
Phew SLK, you prove that not only women plan ahead for their next relationship!

It's that stereotypically male fear of commitment coming to the fore.

10/10/2008, 3:44 PM
It's that stereotypically male fear of commitment coming to the fore.

Wait a minute, GenerationXI is Keith?!?! :eek:

10/10/2008, 3:44 PM
Once more I think I am more male than female. I can barely commit to what am cooking for dinner never mind spend my life with someone. Bar my failed marriage longest I was with someone was your own sweet pal. Dam my (fe)male impetuousness (sp? or maybe its not even a word, if its not I lay dibbs to it)

10/10/2008, 3:49 PM
Wait a minute, GenerationXI is Keith?!?! :eek:

It is. Though what has to do with my fear of commitment is anybody's guess... :o

10/10/2008, 3:53 PM
It is. Though what has to do with my fear of commitment is anybody's guess... :o

Read between the lines man, he's loved you for years :)

10/10/2008, 3:55 PM
Read between the lines man, he's loved you for years :)

Sure that's a long, long line of people he's standing in then! :D

hula4
10/10/2008, 4:42 PM
Should the current relationship bite the dust I'd be a fool not to. :p

want to tell me where i can find her in the meantime?!?!?! :P

11/10/2008, 12:47 AM
i do and i have been posing as neil mcd for all this time. Its over pauro and size does matter.:)

lmao!

12/10/2008, 11:56 AM
want to tell me where i can find her in the meantime?!?!?! :P

Connecticut! :p

hula4
12/10/2008, 10:44 PM
Connecticut! :p

bit of a spin isnt it?

there is a recession on at the minute

DIFChick
15/10/2008, 1:06 PM
re. texts being sent to the wrong person, this guy was on rte not long ago. It made me smile and YES, damn that trigger finger syndrome! I'm an expert at sending emails/text to the wrong person(s) :o

NtSZKzHv5JU

15/10/2008, 1:08 PM
In the same vein;

Fiwl2V_lric