View Full Version : Sunday's latest
28/09/2008, 1:45 PM
Monaghan V Dundalk: KO 3.00
Teams:
MONAGHAN UNITED: Danny woods, Paul Whelan, Barry Clancy, Conor McMahon, Aaron Mooney, Don Tierney, Cathal O'Connor, Stephen Mc Crossan, David Scully, Sean Brennan, Brian Gartland. Subs: Ian Malone, Keiran Reilly, Andy Haran, Daragh Hanaphy, Ronan McGann
DUNDALK: Chris Bennion, Paul Marney, Shane Grimes, Simon Kelly, Ben Whelahan, Paul Shiels, Jamie Duffy, David Cassidy, Robbie Farrell, Dessie Baker, Dave O' Connor. Subs: Paul Crowley,Tiernan Mullvenna, David Crowley, Derek Doyle, Aaron Shanahan.
Dundalk only name 3 subs?
28/09/2008, 2:00 PM
Dundalk only name 3 subs?
Sorry about that!! I've edited it now.
28/09/2008, 2:17 PM
Monaghan 0 - Dundalk 1
Scorer Robbie Farrell
28/09/2008, 2:46 PM
Monaghan 1 - Dundalk 1
Great free kick from sean brennan!
Half time 1-1
28/09/2008, 3:47 PM
Dundalk 2- Mons 1
Mess up by defence
Robbie Farrell has been sent off and mons have hit the post
3mins added
28/09/2008, 3:49 PM
Mons 2 - Dundalk 2
Full time
What an ending!
28/09/2008, 3:52 PM
Dundalk's second scorer was Robbie Farrell
Mons second goal was scored by Dave Scully
eelmonster
28/09/2008, 3:54 PM
Dundalk's second scorer was Robbie Farrell
Mons second goal was scored by Dave Scully
I heard it was an OG after a scramble in the 6 yard box?
28/09/2008, 3:58 PM
Well Scully was attributed it. It was impossible to get a clear view.
28/09/2008, 5:12 PM
Robbie Farrell sent off after being punched by a Monaghan player (that's right) - Dundalk weren't great, the pitch was worse and the referee was worse again.
28/09/2008, 6:48 PM
Delighted :) - well done Mons. Just make sure the second part of this goes to plan on Friday evening ;):cool:
Fabulous result, well done the mighty Magic Mons!
It's very much on now, though of course Dundalk are still huge favourites. :)
28/09/2008, 8:18 PM
Robbie Farrell sent off after being punched by a Monaghan player (that's right) - Dundalk weren't great, the pitch was worse and the referee was worse again.
Bennion was lucky the ref didnt see what myself and 2 of our security saw or he would have been off too. Dundalk werent great, the pitch was grand and real grass and the referee did an ok job but certainly didnt deserve the abuse that he recieved.
Oh and tell that Anto eejit that death threats to Woods are not big or clever.
El-Pietro
28/09/2008, 8:19 PM
disgusted with this result - two minutes away from a six team accum coming up
ARGHHHHH
mugs game
28/09/2008, 10:59 PM
In other news, a young limerick team beat a poor Kildare team 2 0 at station raod with two second half goals from Peter White and a penalty from Paul Walsh. Former Limerick player Austin O'Neill was sent off in conceading the pen.
29/09/2008, 11:31 AM
Bennion was lucky the ref didnt see what myself and 2 of our security saw or he would have been off too..
I didn't see that to honest, it was hard to make out exactly what was happening at the end of the game as there were a lot of bodies in the way but I definitely seen a Monaghan player raise his hand against Farrell, not the other way around. Did anyone see Farrell do anything that warranted a red card? And so I don't come across as blatently biased, I have been told that Paul Shiels hit out at a Monaghan player and should have been off but again I didn't see this myself.
Dundalk werent great, the pitch was grand and real grass and the referee did an ok job but certainly didnt deserve the abuse that he recieved.
The pitch wasn't 'grand'. It was uneven all over causing every ball to play along it to bobble, that doesn't happen in Oriel. Real grass doesn't equal a better pitch. The pitch in Wexford on Saturday night should be the standard that those with grass pitches aspire to.
Oh and tell that Anto eejit that death threats to Woods are not big or clever.
I can't say I know what this is about.
29/09/2008, 11:40 AM
From what I have been told Farrell kicked one of our players when he was on the ground, like you I didnt see it and thats why I didnt comment on it. It was happening at the same time as I was watching Bennion walk away unreprimanded. Maybe thats how the ref missed it coz of the Farrell incident. Its a local derby and was always gonna be dirty. Amazed no-one else (on either teams) had been booked or sent off earlier in the game.
As for the pitch, dam right Wexford is what should be aspired to. It was beautiful. But as league standards go, ours was grand. I think possibly your players do have a problem playing on grass though as they are used to the plastic now.
29/09/2008, 11:57 AM
From what I have been told Farrell kicked one of our players when he was on the ground, like you I didnt see it and thats why I didnt comment on it. It was happening at the same time as I was watching Bennion walk away unreprimanded. Maybe thats how the ref missed it coz of the Farrell incident. Its a local derby and was always gonna be dirty. Amazed no-one else (on either teams) had been booked or sent off earlier in the game.
There were definitely incidents in the game that deserved yellow cards previously and if the referee had taken appropriate action earlier in the game to nip the aggression in the bud then maybe the scenes at the end could have been avoided.
If the referee missed this Bennion incident then it was nothing to do with looking at Farrell as he sent Farrell off under advice from one of the linesmen, which begs the question: what exactly was he looking at?!
As for the pitch, dam right Wexford is what should be aspired to. It was beautiful. But as league standards go, ours was grand. I think possibly your players do have a problem playing on grass though as they are used to the plastic now.
I don't know if you've ever had the chance to kick a ball about or even walk on the pitch in Oriel but it plays perfectly, all of the time - rain, hail or shine. I don't know why you dismiss the artificial pitch in such a negative way all the time...
I think (as I stated on OrielWeb last night) that our players like a pitch where a passing game can be played (like Oriel, but not because it is artificial but because it is a good pitch). The pitch in Monaghan made this type of play impossible. In my opinion, that pitch cannot be described as 'grand'.
29/09/2008, 3:06 PM
That is your opinion. Personally have never kicked a ball in Oriel but have talked to some who have and dont like it much (and not just Mons fans either!). I only dismiss it coz am sore that we havent been able to win there since it went in but that is made less painful by the fact that you cant win here either since it went in! We will have to agree to disagree on this one.
I don't know if you've ever had the chance to kick a ball about or even walk on the pitch in Oriel but it plays perfectly, all of the time - rain, hail or shine. I don't know why you dismiss the artificial pitch in such a negative way all the time...
Don't want to put words into MM's mouth but for me, and for many others whose opinion I've seen or heard, we dismiss the artificial pitch in such a negative way because it gives ye a hugely unfair advantage.
The bounce of the ball is unpredictable for anyone not used to it, which could clearly be seen in the recent game between us where two out of every three frees we gave away were due to mistiming the flight and bounce of the ball.
29/09/2008, 7:10 PM
Don't want to put words into MM's mouth but for me, and for many others whose opinion I've seen or heard, we dismiss the artificial pitch in such a negative way because it gives ye a hugely unfair advantage.
The bounce of the ball is unpredictable for anyone not used to it, which could clearly be seen in the recent game between us where two out of every three frees we gave away were due to mistiming the flight and bounce of the ball.
There are different bounces on grass pitches at different times though depending on how wet the pitch is or the length of the grass. All home teams will have the advantage of being more used to their pitch than the away team. If we have an advantage in Oriel, it's not an unfair advantage - any club could install a similar pitch if they wanted...