27/09/2008, 6:30 PM
nah..

I'm waiting for the Gah to start again.

dublinred
27/09/2008, 8:21 PM
1up peers

srfc19
27/09/2008, 9:15 PM
poor performance in the first half apart from ryan, bit better in the second half.
great result in the end though,savage goals from boco and mcdaid
if we can get results like that with performances like that we'l be grand

showgies
27/09/2008, 9:34 PM
Cracking goals from Boco and McDaid (especially the cross from Seamus). It could have ended 4-2 as Cobh had two decent chances that they should have put away. In Kavanagh Cobh had one of the livelist players on the pitch.

Great to see Conor get a goal, his workrate game in game out deserved some reward.

Great credit to those behind the Get Well Soon Butler flag and the new Rovers - Shining Star flag - they really looked brilliant.

What odds would you have got for predicting our goal scorers tonight!

marty
27/09/2008, 9:36 PM
Great result for Rovers 2nite unfortunatly Cobh look very close to the first div now,Harps will have to really fcuk up to let that lead go....Anybody at the game know how we played 0-0 at half time so you must have really up"d de tempo second half to win by four,BTW i really hope ye can keep P.Cook on as manager the only threat is if Harps or Shamrock Rovers come calling cant see him getting any other offers as it stands,without doubt the best manager in the league.

27/09/2008, 9:41 PM
Cobh were very unlucky, not that they were particularly good either. We weren't great at all, looked like we were struggling to hold on to the 1-0 and we end up with 4:D. We'll need to play better in the Brandywell next week or else I can't see us getting anything up there. Still, a win is a win and pushes us on...Boco's goal was brilliant, about time he got one!

Rovers fan
27/09/2008, 9:47 PM
Great result but that doesn't hide the fact that we were muck. Ah well,who cares!!

When we were 1 up we were awful and cobh looked like they could equalise. They had one great chance when(Kavanagh?) pulled it across the goals. Had they scored that they could have gone on to win it.

Once we went 2 up their heads dropped and we are very good at exposing teams who are chasing a game.

Seamie was superb tonight as was boco. His goal was quality and it came when he was playing at right back. He is not a striker.

Anyone know how many points we have got against the bottom 5 temas?

Inside Man
27/09/2008, 10:47 PM
We were outplayed for alot of the game. Second half Cobh even started the brighter but we scored a corner. Then struggled to hold the 1-0 lead and Cobh deserved an equaliser. A goal from them there when they looked threatening and I tell you we would not be sitting on 36pts like we are now.
I felt sorry for Cobh when we stuck that last one in, they didn't deserve that. But thats football and they'll have to learn from their mistakes.
Reminded me of the way Bohs have been playing this year. Not convincing but still managing to run out 4-0 winners.

They had one great chance when(Kavanagh?) pulled it across the goals. Had they scored that they could have gone on to win it.

No that was Ross Gaynor.

srfc1928
27/09/2008, 11:05 PM
We were outplayed for alot of the game. Second half Cobh even started the brighter but we scored a corner. Then struggled to hold the 1-0 lead and Cobh deserved an equaliser. A goal from them there when they looked threatening and I tell you we would not be sitting on 36pts like we are now.
I felt sorry for Cobh when we stuck that last one in, they didn't deserve that. But thats football and they'll have to learn from their mistakes.
Reminded me of the way Bohs have been playing this year. Not convincing but still managing to run out 4-0 winners.

No that was Ross Gaynor.
I dont feel sorry for Cobh.
How many times have we played well but lost.
We took our chances when they came,
we played patient football and i think people are under estimating our performance tonight.

27/09/2008, 11:32 PM
Great credit to those behind the Get Well Soon Butler flag and the new Rovers - Shining Star flag - they really looked brilliant.
That'd be Forza Rovers...absolutely brilliant!
http://file041b.bebo.com/11/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994975360l.jpg

http://file041b.bebo.com/13/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994898086l.jpg

http://file041b.bebo.com/11/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994975453l.jpg

27/09/2008, 11:33 PM
Great result for Rovers 2nite unfortunatly Cobh look very close to the first div now,Harps will have to really fcuk up to let that lead go....Anybody at the game know how we played 0-0 at half time so you must have really up"d de tempo second half to win by four,BTW i really hope ye can keep P.Cook on as manager the only threat is if Harps or Shamrock Rovers come calling cant see him getting any other offers as it stands,without doubt the best manager in the league.

What in the name of God would Paul Cook be doing going to Finn Harps?

srfc1928
27/09/2008, 11:44 PM
Are you for real?

showgies
28/09/2008, 1:46 AM
That'd be Forza Rovers...absolutely brilliant!
http://file041b.bebo.com/11/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994975360l.jpg

http://file041b.bebo.com/13/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994898086l.jpg

http://file041b.bebo.com/11/large/2008/09/27/22/411086670a8994975453l.jpg

Superb...love the shine forever banner.........says it all really

Red Star
28/09/2008, 2:07 AM
Not a member myself but I know a few of the lads involved in Forza Rovers. Well done just saw this on the UT site

Shine forever comes from a poem about our club written by the late Johnny Chadda

“…..the name Sligo Rover will shine and shine forever like the morning glittering star in the sky”

Last week was the 80th anniversary of our club

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3571/frvscobhzy2.png
One of our players was seriously injured in a car crash last week end. So we made a get will soon banner for him

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/8748/frvscobh2uw1.png

Lads well done :cool:

brianw82
28/09/2008, 10:54 AM
When we were 1 up we were awful and cobh looked like they could equalise. They had one great chance when(Kavanagh?) pulled it across the goals. Had they scored that they could have gone on to win it.

Once we went 2 up their heads dropped and we are very good at exposing teams who are chasing a game.

And that's what happened. Except replace the 'could' with 'would.'

I do feel a bit sorry for Cobh, they put in an almighty effort and really didn't deserve to lose 4-0. Having said that, we've had so many of those types of games ourselves, where we've put in huge effort for no reward, that I wouldn't begrudge the lads this win. O'Grady getting a goal was the icing on the cake. Boco for Goal Of The Month?

Again, well done to the lads for the Get Well banner. Anyone know if Chris was at the game? I hope someone sends him a pic of it at least.

sligofan4ever
28/09/2008, 2:58 PM
From match report.

"first goals of the season from Gavin Peers and David McDaid"

Did he not already get his first against Finn Harps when we beat them 4-1 earlier this season ?.

28/09/2008, 3:08 PM
From match report.

"first goals of the season from Gavin Peers and David McDaid"

Did he not already get his first against Finn Harps when we beat them 4-1 earlier this season ?.It's RTE, they're not expected to know things.

brianw82
30/09/2008, 10:09 PM
What did people think of Danny Keohane?

He seemed to do alright with the few touches he had, and didn't give the ball away.

Is he generally a left-sided player?

01/10/2008, 12:33 AM
Danny's always a solid player for the A team anyway imo.

red bellied
01/10/2008, 11:33 AM
Keohane will start at left full against Derry. There is injuries to players for this one.

MMVIII
01/10/2008, 8:26 PM
Again, well done to the lads for the Get Well banner. Anyone know if Chris was at the game? I hope someone sends him a pic of it at least.

I think were presenting it to him.

srfc1928
01/10/2008, 9:35 PM
Keohane will start at left full against Derry. There is injuries to players for this one.
Good to see a younger player come through.
Good luck to the lad
Does anyone know Where keohan is from?
Who did he play for? etc

Its a big ask to make your full debut in the brandywell
remember the last left full to make his debut for Rovers
up there, didnt go too well, the poor lad was never seen again:eek:

Inside Man
01/10/2008, 9:53 PM
remember the last left full to make his debut for Rovers
up there, didnt go too well, the poor lad was never seen again:eek:
I surely remember that. Poor fella. Disappeared off the face of the earth after that.
Hope this Koehane fella is another Coleman.:ball: Could do with one.

01/10/2008, 11:10 PM
Does anyone know Where keohan is from?He's a Mayo or Donegal man, not fully sure which.

brianw82
01/10/2008, 11:56 PM

It sure is. You wouldn't want to be up against Gareth McGlynn on a good day.