View Full Version : v Cork City

corkboy360
26/09/2008, 11:40 PM
Coming up next week for my first time looking forward to seeing yer place.
Predicitons: City 3-1 United

SalvadorSanchez
29/09/2008, 10:09 AM
2-1 CITY more likely, we'll play 4-5-1 again so it'll be a real battle in midfield, can't see city scoring 3 to be honest, we haven't been conceeded lots of goals in many games (we've lost a lot of games by 1 goal)
should be an ok game actually. mind you neither of us have much to play for after last weekends results, I think Harps did enough to save themselves at Bray, they need maybe 3 more points to be sure... we're not going to pick up 10 points at this stage....

GUISAUltra
29/09/2008, 10:57 AM
we've had a lot of tight games with cork recently and i'm predicting a draw on friday. think it'll be 1-1 with russeller scoring

eamo1
29/09/2008, 11:30 AM
We owe someone a beating and it would be just like us to finally start winning when its too late.The lads in recent weeks have deserved a win for their efforts.Surely we wont go a full season without winning at home,thats brutal.
UTD 1-CORK 0.

corbyeire
29/09/2008, 3:32 PM
what is it nearly 10 years since we bet them in the league at home? a draw would be great yet - damn all use to us

Claret Murph
30/09/2008, 6:33 AM
I can't see us beating Cork but I would say another 1-1 draw for the Terryland faithful to watch .

GuisaSaigon
01/10/2008, 3:40 PM
what is it nearly 10 years since we bet them in the league at home? a draw would be great yet - damn all use to us

It's actually been nearly 13 years!:eek: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kThtFm6sBqM&feature=user

If only Mull could play on Friday!

corbyeire
02/10/2008, 10:28 AM
13 years - feck me i am getting old!

02/10/2008, 3:32 PM
We are down to the bare bare bones. 3 more players injured against Derry so as it stands weve only 2 players for the bench and a couple making their first starts of the year.

Great chance for ye to pick up points

Con-Con
02/10/2008, 4:01 PM
We are down to the bare bare bones. 3 more players injured against Derry so as it stands weve only 2 players for the bench and a couple making their first starts of the year.

Hopefully now, we need them too. I think it'll be a close game, we'll score early on and Cork will get a chance late on.... It's up to them weater they score it or not;)

Mr Maroon
02/10/2008, 4:02 PM

What would be your likely starting line up?

02/10/2008, 4:04 PM
What would be your likely starting line up?

Not much choice

Devine
Horgan Murray Sullivan Murphy
Kearney Murphy Gamble Woods
Dudfield Cambridge/kiely

Subs: McNulty, Cambridge/Kiely

WoodquayBoy
02/10/2008, 4:41 PM
Woods, Horgan, Murphy, Gamble, Kearney - still a pretty strong side

02/10/2008, 4:48 PM
Woods, Horgan, Murphy, Gamble, Kearney - still a pretty strong side

Only woods second start this year...he's pushing on.

No doubt we still have some quality players on show, but they are simply wrecked at teh moment from the looks of things. Weve basically had 13 players playing 2 games a week for about 2 months now and the injuries are piling up as a result.

The 120minutes in Derry and travelling Tuesday as well as the loss will take a lot out of them imo

Mr Maroon
02/10/2008, 5:29 PM
Surely there's A teamers/ U20s that could sit on the bench? Only 2 subs?

02/10/2008, 5:33 PM
Surely there's A teamers/ U20s that could sit on the bench? Only 2 subs?

Id imagine there'l be a few more on the bench I just honestly cant name them. Woods, Cambridge Kiely etc were our A team :D

We had 6 on the bench in Derry(allowed 7) McNulty, Kiely, Woods, Dudfield, Kelly,Lordan.

Both Lordan and Kelly are injured and Woods Dudfield and one of Kiely or Cambridge will have to start.

So I dunno

eamo1
02/10/2008, 8:03 PM
Cork down to the walking wounded,tired and not really in need of pts,us with a full strength squad for once,we are fresh and we desperatly need the win.So from all my years experiences with Utd its all set up so for us to lose 1-0 with them scoring early and us camped in their half for the rest of the game hitting plenty over the bar.We've seen it happen a thousand times before.Cant wait for it though,its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.

Mr Maroon
02/10/2008, 8:24 PM
its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.
third last in the league, there's the semi aswell ;)

SalvadorSanchez
03/10/2008, 9:40 AM
its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.

We're facing relegation not execution! we'll be in Terryland again next season... (god help us!)
On a brighter note, with the turmoil in the league and only one club coming up.... if we go down we might stand a good chance of holding onto our better players, I think we'll lose O' Shea because, let's face it, he's a great player and someone will pay proper money for him, as for the rest I think they'll be interest in McCullogh Glynn and Lester, I really hope we can keep those three, I'd release Fitzer, Rogers, Jorgenesen and maybe Murphy. We have a chance of keeping almost all the local lads which would pt us in a good position for next season..

corbyeire
03/10/2008, 11:38 AM
dunno id keep rogers if hes not too pricey - has come on a lot since his cic sa thoin!

GUISAUltra
03/10/2008, 12:35 PM
ya he has improved a lot in the later part of this season

Trainee
03/10/2008, 12:49 PM
we can win tonight if the players play like we have for last few games

GUFC are best price tonight 3/1 to win in Boylesports

SalvadorSanchez
03/10/2008, 4:00 PM
dunno id keep rogers if hes not too pricey - has come on a lot since his cic sa thoin!

ya he has improved a lot in the later part of this season

Reckon his wages will be too high, I reckon he's ok as a stopper but his distribution can be panicky, also he's not one for talking to his back 4,
I still reckon Banana is just as good and is a great man for helping the back 4 by keeping them on their toes, he would probably cost less on the wage bill. I accept that he had a 'mare against Derry but he's much better than that performance

Great yoke the old Cic sa Thoin! I could do with one meself!

03/10/2008, 9:10 PM
Rogers is contracted for next season, so I cant see us paying him off to get him of the books, plus, he is a great deal better than anything else that would be available to us. Anyway, onwards and upwards for the rest of the season.

Torn-Ado
03/10/2008, 9:52 PM
Great result tonight for United. The long wait is finally over.

Con-Con
03/10/2008, 10:18 PM
Great game, I'm just glad we got a home win!!

eamo1
03/10/2008, 10:27 PM
I had serious Deja Vu tonight.It wasnt just about us conceding a shi**y scrappy goal again.It was about Devine coming out to AGAIN clatter into Jesper and nail him without getting near the ball.Anyone remember earlier in the season in one of Jespers first game???The EXACT same incident but no peno given.
My Heart in those last few mins,i just KNEW we wouldnt hold out comfortably at 3-1,especially after Keane was sent off.UCD won tonight but main thing was Harps lost.WHY DID THE P.A ANNOUNCER GIVE THE HARPS RESULT WHILE OUR GAME WAS STILL GOING ON????????????Such bad form,the lads needed to concentrate and there he is blaring out a vital score with 2/3 mins remaining,POOR STUFF.I hope someone has a word with him about that.

Mr Maroon
04/10/2008, 1:32 AM
Highlights http://galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?showtopic=867&pid=16365&st=0&#entry16365

gordongekko
04/10/2008, 1:50 AM
Well done to all involved. However two of our worst players were the two that fell out the door of a so called super pub late last Sunday. Lads you know who you are, professional football and drink just don’t mix.

gg

04/10/2008, 8:35 AM
Give it a rest GG, dont go bringing this thread of topic and stick to the match, you've been warned.

geezer
04/10/2008, 9:14 AM
now that Jeff Kenna has created a "team" . They are high fiveing everyone going off the pitch and they all (including the kit man) seem to be as one.
This turnaround has been evident for a good number of games although their was some lapses. Credit where credit is due , Last night is no more than any gufc fan can ask for. I was absolutely delighted. I think even the corribside stand was like a twelfth man last night did you see the standing ovation for Jay oshea. Fully deserved i might add. The run by russler near the end was class pity the keeper got to it

GUISAUltra
04/10/2008, 9:29 AM
Well done to all involved. However two of our worst players were the two that fell out the door of a so called super pub late last Sunday. Lads you know who you are, professional football and drink just don’t mix.

gg

shut up and give it a rest will ya. great game and result last night and you have to go bringing stuff like that up. we have finally got the 3 points that gets us right back in the mix and you wanna whinge about players drinking. grow up or kindly take a long walk off a short pier

GUISAUltra
04/10/2008, 9:32 AM
Reckon his wages will be too high, I reckon he's ok as a stopper but his distribution can be panicky, also he's not one for talking to his back 4,
I still reckon Banana is just as good and is a great man for helping the back 4 by keeping them on their toes, he would probably cost less on the wage bill. I accept that he had a 'mare against Derry but he's much better than that performance

Great yoke the old Cic sa Thoin! I could do with one meself!

when banana is good he can be very good but he is always liable to mess up and cost us a very soft goal

04/10/2008, 9:40 AM
gg your a great man hiding behind your anonimity on here while slagging off players all the time. I would know 90% of the posters on here but it takes a spiteful coward to slate players after a tremendous performance like last night. If you havent anything positive to add why bother.

04/10/2008, 10:12 AM
lets not let him take the thread of topic lads.

Wasn't able to make the match last night due to the entire household suffering with a cold. Great to see that the home crowd was up with a result like that, guarantees another increase for our next home match. Any news on how devine is? Cork seem to have a habit of getting players injured on their trips to terryland.

With this grey cloud now gone from over terryland from not winning at home all season in the league, hopefully, we will see a continued performance from week to week till the end of november. Fair play to Jeff and all the team involved on the pitch, many people would have collapsed under the pressure, doom amd gloom over the past while but they have should great grit and determination to battle on the way they have.

eamo1
04/10/2008, 12:31 PM
I said it before,if we survive and have gotten to 2 cup semi finals then Jeff HAS to get Manager of the Year considering when he took charge and the players leaving etc.Yes Bohs walked the league but look at their squad and resources.Mc.Donnell has done well too but again has the squad and resources.I really hope he gets it.
How frustrating is Ciaran Foley??He can play so utterly bad like he did against UCD a few weeks ago and last night he was everyhwere and on numerous occasions had Kearney in his back pocket.The improvment in Mc.Cullough is unreal too.I hear,or read,Birmingham and Dundee Utd are in the hunt for O'Shea.we should a decent 6 figure sum for him,id say 300k.

04/10/2008, 3:23 PM
It is very doable now for United to stay up. Hopefully you can kick on from here now and do the business.

04/10/2008, 3:28 PM
.... and if ye fancy beating harps next weekend it would go a long way in helping us to stay up ! ;)

corkboy360
04/10/2008, 3:30 PM
Galway keeper was good last night.The ref and one of the linesmen were poor (for both sides).Few bad decisions from him and the linesman left us off light in the frst half early on there was a glaway player going through and the linesman was not even i line with him and waved him off when he was on.One of the nicer stadiums i have visited.

Monkfish
05/10/2008, 12:27 AM
GUFC are best price tonight 3/1 to win in Boylesports

Im sure someone out there cleaned up with those odds. :)

Claret Murph
05/10/2008, 4:41 AM
What a night , I was wondering how I would feel when we won are first game at home and I must say it nice to drive home with a smile on my face and few cold ones from the fridge just about made my night .
Not sure what happened in the old stand after half time but there must have been 4 times the amount of fans there then the first . As for the atmosphere well ,I do think at the Shams game the new stand was rocking and it was more low key for the Cork game , well lets face it two games in row to be singing and shouting is a bit much even for us lot over there .
Well done to all the team . I can't remember seeing so few Cork fans in Terryland but with the mid week trip it is understandable .
Shame about UCD and Cobh winning .

05/10/2008, 8:29 AM
a few lads from here had o'shea to score at anytime and united to win double. Not sure of the odds, but they were all collecting €260 each yesterday. So a special thanks from them out to JC gufc for the odds !!!!!!!!!

GUISAUltra
05/10/2008, 10:41 AM
Im sure someone out there cleaned up with those odds. :)

most of us had Jayo to score anytime and us to win. 12/1 was a cracking price. thats the 3rd time i've got that bet up this year

SalvadorSanchez
06/10/2008, 1:40 PM
gg your a great man hiding behind your anonimity on here while slagging off players all the time. I would know 90% of the posters on here but it takes a spiteful coward to slate players after a tremendous performance like last night. If you havent anything positive to add why bother.

Gotta go with GUFCT on this one, I see a marked improvement on the field and in the team spirit so if a few of the boys want a few jars on sunday night what harm? alcohol is not a big deal if taken several days before a game. If they play anything like that for the rest of the run in they'll stay up and I'll buy them all beers!!!

corkboy360
07/10/2008, 3:59 PM
I thought yer "old" stand wer'e we were even before ye scored.Considering wer'e ye are in the leauge the amount of people there was a credit to ye.Don't know the official attendance.If ye got more people into that stand it would be unbelievable.They are the best stands in the leauge for atmosphere as the roof is not as high as the new ones.If ye were in yer new stand ye would not have been that loud just goes to show that the roofs been putting on stands these days look better but don't sound better which is key.I got up fairly early rond same time as jeff kenna we wer'e parking up and was talking to some of yer lads on the way out of the car park.Don't know what players they were but 1 was yer keeper who got sent off att he cross and whoever he brought to the game in his car but they were nice charachters.Like to see platers like that who will chat to an ordinary fan of a away team.From my experience of my first time in Galway i would rather ye stay up than cobh or ucd as ye are defo better for the leauge.

foxx92
07/10/2008, 6:23 PM
There was 1471 there, our biggest crowd for a while...Alvin Rouse(sub keeper) is a gentleman was talkig to him before the ucdd match and he was one of the soundest people i met!

corkboy360
07/10/2008, 6:56 PM
There was 1471 there, our biggest crowd for a while...Alvin Rouse(sub keeper) is a gentleman was talkig to him before the ucdd match and he was one of the soundest people i met!
Ya thats him couldn't think of his name.The other guy was blonde i think he might have been the goalie on the night and the other had black hair they were all sound though and a credit to galway united.