View Full Version : Squad named for Nottm Forest "challenge match"

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26/09/2008, 1:00 AM
R seamus coleman from sligoThank feck, he has a more important job to do on the Saturday.

the doc
26/09/2008, 7:05 AM
Sean St Ledger must feel left out , or is he injured and No Mc Cann either or John Joe O' Toole.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3627

St Ledger has been outstanding again for Preston this season, hang your head in shame DG!

26/09/2008, 8:14 AM
We must have a terrible scouting team if they haven't been able to recognise how well James McCarthy and John-Joe O'Toole have been playing of late...Don "Job 4 Life" Givens? Say no more.

26/09/2008, 8:18 AM
Don "Job 4 Life" Givens? Say no more.

Hence no McCann in the squad.

26/09/2008, 8:24 AM
Isn't Westwood the "good catholic lad"? Just remembered that now...

26/09/2008, 10:27 AM
In fairness, I'd say most of those we should be looking at are in the squad. You can't look at everyone at the same time.

I have long had grave doubts that we're looking at all the right players and these doubts remain but I still think it'll be a good chance for Trap to see these players up close and hopefully they'll impress.

irishfan86
26/09/2008, 10:46 AM
I like a lot of what Trap has done in terms of players chosen.

There are a few notable omissions- would have liked to have seen St. Ledger and McCann for sure, but overall I'm glad to see the likes of Lawrence, Folan, and Andrews get a look in after their moves to the Premiership.

On the goalkeeping front, I think this would have been a good opportunity to give Kiely some match practice in case anything happens to Shay, but I can appreciate Trap's desire to watch other goalkeepers in action.

I'm not going to lie and say I know enough about the players in the Eircom League, but there are a couple of players who would seem possibles for this sort of squad. Having a look at the likes of Fahey, Gavin, or Murphy wouldn't have harmed anybody, and would at least show players in the Eircom League that they are on the radar if they're good enough.

More positives than negatives though- overall I think it will be a good exercise. Wonder if it'll get picked up for TV?

26/09/2008, 10:58 AM
Jonny Douglas could have been worth a shout in it?

Been Leeds' engine this year so far.

Granted I know they're League One side, but as a team they'd be more than able to cut it in the Championship, with the players they have.

noby
26/09/2008, 11:35 AM
Having a look at the likes of Fahey, Gavin, or Murphy wouldn't have harmed anybody

As has been mentioned, it would have harmed their respective clubs.

Bohemian1890
27/09/2008, 2:45 PM
As has been mentioned, it would have harmed their respective clubs.
:rolleyes:As has been mentioned,they could have played the game on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Anyway,i am sure Trapattoni will know about Brian Murphy after this game;)

Razors left peg
30/09/2008, 12:26 PM

Granted I know they're League One side, but as a team they'd be more than able to cut it in the Championship, with the players they have.

Hes had too many call ups already, a nothing player

30/09/2008, 1:06 PM
Anyway,i am sure Trapattoni will know about Brian Murphy after this game;)

Why did you tell him to pick him or are you hoping he saw the flag at the Rovers game???:confused:

Anyway Liam Lawrence is out................he fell over his dog!:D

Sligo Hornet
30/09/2008, 1:10 PM
Why did you tell him to pick him or are you hoping he saw the flag at the Rovers game???:confused:

Anyway Liam Lawrence is out................he fell over his dog!:D

....and Rob Stiles immediately pointed to the spot!!;)

30/09/2008, 1:12 PM
....and Rob Stiles immediately pointed to the spot!!;)

..............and then Mike Riley sent-off the dog for dangerous play!:D

DeNiro
05/10/2008, 8:09 PM
Many foot.ie(rs) going to this? Can tickets be bought at the ground?

irishultra
05/10/2008, 8:11 PM
i'll be there. wow so much money needed lately, in a way thank god i was sick for the bohs game on friday..... it was going to be some month ireland u-23 match, B match, vs cyprus(hopefully) as well as loi matches.

got lucky though, the lads at bohs were good to me.

06/10/2008, 10:05 AM
Many foot.ie(rs) going to this? Can tickets be bought at the ground?

Should be, although work's been busy lately so I won't know for definite until Thursday

06/10/2008, 10:20 AM
Hes had too many call ups already, a nothing player

********. He shouldn't be in our senior squad until he's playing at a high enough level, which he will likely be doing next season. Nothing to be learned from bringing him in for this game.

06/10/2008, 8:58 PM
I will be there.

Razors left peg
06/10/2008, 9:00 PM
********. He shouldn't be in our senior squad until he's playing at a high enough level, which he will likely be doing next season. Nothing to be learned from bringing him in for this game.

Hes had his chance playing at International level and wasnt anywhere near good enough. Doesnt matter what level he is playing at next season

06/10/2008, 10:25 PM
Hes had his chance playing at International level and wasnt anywhere near good enough. Doesnt matter what level he is playing at next season
Ah learn a new tune. You could say the very same thing about at least half a dozen of the lads in and around the squad and it alters not a jot the fact that we don't have either the depth or variety of talent in our pool to disregard their claims or Douglas'. He's been consistently doing the business at club level in the English league AND Championship.

This reminds me of the vilification of the likes of Carsley that was de riguer at one stage. Couple of years later the sky would have fallen in if we'd taken to the field without him.

gally
07/10/2008, 5:56 AM
injuries it seems....does that mean Noel will play, i was looking forward to seeing him play, but after saturdays concussion, thought it was just a matter of time before he withdrew.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3670w...

Mad Moose
07/10/2008, 12:27 PM

Well you could say the same of Keith Andrews actually.He was League 2 last season and only for Paul Ince moved to Blackburn Rovers and took his captain with him from MK Dons he wouldn't get a look in.He's not exactly getting much play time with Blackburn. Had he been at MK Dons still he wouldn't be picked.Thats not to say he's not a good player.I've seen him at MK Dons and he was pretty decent.Works very very hard and gets amongst the goals.

How much football is Anthony Stokes getting either?

Ack same aul story with selection.

Brendan

Razors left peg
07/10/2008, 4:11 PM
Ah learn a new tune. You could say the very same thing about at least half a dozen of the lads in and around the squad and it alters not a jot the fact that we don't have either the depth or variety of talent in our pool to disregard their claims or Douglas'. He's been consistently doing the business at club level in the English league AND Championship.

This reminds me of the vilification of the likes of Carsley that was de riguer at one stage. Couple of years later the sky would have fallen in if we'd taken to the field without him.

What has Doulgas ever done in an Irish shirt that makes u think he is up to the standard of International football?
In my opinion he will never be a regular in a Premiership team let alone good enough for international football. He have found his level and fair play to him he is making a decent career for himself. There are other Irish lads playing the the lower divisions of English football that while they are decent pros the arent all good enough to make the step up to the national team... Im my opinion Douglas is one of those

08/10/2008, 9:52 AM
What has Doulgas ever done in an Irish shirt that makes u think he is up to the standard of International football?
:confused: He has what? eight caps? the bulk of those earned under Stan. Shay, Killer and Carsley maybe aside I can scarcely think of an Irish player involved who came out of that tenure without a blotted copybook.

In my opinion he will never be a regular in a Premiership team let alone good enough for international football. Hmmm ...you seem to be of the opinion that international football is a step up from top flight club football. Now in the ideal world it probably would be ...but day to day, I have my doubts.

He have found his level have to disagree there again. He's a least a division below his ability and most Leeds suppporters will tell you, I reckon, that but for him relegation would've been signed and sealed some time earlier than it came to pass. No coincidence either he wasn't available for much of the slump that derailed Leeds attempt to get promoted first time of asking.

hunt4the
08/10/2008, 9:53 AM
Is the match on the box?

08/10/2008, 10:12 AM
Setanta are showing the Ireland Legends VS England Legends from Craven Cottage
Doesn't look like it's on TV3 or TG4

Drumcondra 69er
08/10/2008, 10:21 AM
:confused: He has what? eight caps? the bulk of those earned under Stan. Shay, Killer and Carsley maybe aside I can scarcely think of an Irish player involved who came out of that tenure without a blotted copybook.

Hmmm ...you seem to be of the opinion that international football is a step up from top flight club football. Now in the ideal world it probably would be ...but day to day, I have my doubts.

have to disagree there again. He's a least a division below his ability and most Leeds suppporters will tell you, I reckon, that but for him relegation would've been signed and sealed some time earlier than it came to pass. No coincidence either he wasn't available for much of the slump that derailed Leeds attempt to get promoted first time of asking.

That's all true. However, while he's plying his trade in League one I wouldn't have him in the squad, if and when Leeds go up to the Championship and if he plays as well at that level then he should be considered.

There is a proportion of the Leeds support that don't rate him as he does the unspectacular donkey work. The Carsley comparison is fair albeit he'd be a poor mans Carsley at this stage. But players like that are needed to let other more creative players play, look at how Everton have struggled in Carsley's absence this season. Douglas was left out of the Leeds team at the start of the season and had teh captaincy taken off him which led many to believe he was to be sold to Burnley who've been after him for a while. But he knuckled down, got his place back and has won over a lot of those at Leeds who reckoned he was crap. He's been superb since getting back in and is, once again, the first name on the team sheet every week. He was never in contention for this game though as Leeds have a game tonight and once on Saturday so no way would he have been released.

For the record, I don't think he was that bad when he's played for Ireland, he was solid against the Czechs and Wales (although playing himself and Carsley together was another bizarre selection by Stan) and never should have been brought on against the Slovaks. He certainly didn't look any worse then the rest of those involved in that dreadful campaign.

08/10/2008, 10:32 AM
That's all true. However, while he's plying his trade in League one I wouldn't have him in the squad, if and when Leeds go up to the Championship and if he plays as well at that level then he should be considered.

I said that in my first post on the issue. The rest of your post was sensible and fair to the guy too.

Drumcondra 69er
08/10/2008, 10:41 AM
I said that in my first post on the issue. The rest of your post was sensible and fair to the guy too.

Wasn't contradicting you, just stating that as my opinion. ;)

08/10/2008, 12:18 PM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/bruce-to-captain-ireland-for-notts-forest-friendly-1492894.html

08/10/2008, 12:30 PM
not a bad looking side

Joe Murphy
Kevin Foley Darren O'Dea Alex Bruce(c) Stephen Ward
Andy Keogh Darren Potter Keith Andrews Wes Hoolahan
Caleb Folan Shane LongSeems to be playing the same tactics as the senior team, 2 defensive midfielders with wingers supplying the strikers. I'd say Andrews is playing the Steven Reid role, and Potter the Glen Whelan. I'd still have my doubts about Keogh on the right though

08/10/2008, 12:33 PM
Yep - looks like the same formation the seniors play with. Two wingers + two defensive midfielders.

08/10/2008, 1:34 PM
I'm not convinced that Keogh playing wide is a good idea either, though Trap obviously likes him. Foley gets forward well though.

I thought Hoolahan was playing more centrally at club level these days, no?

Ward seems to have reinvented himself as a left back these days.

08/10/2008, 2:28 PM
Not sure where Wes has been lining out for Norwich, but Roeder isn't happy with his work ethic lately.

Ward seems to have gone the Ashley Cole route of positioning, started out up front, then in midfield and finally at left full. The more options the better, IMO

the doc
08/10/2008, 4:50 PM
not a bad looking side
[code] Joe Murphy
Kevin Foley Darren O'Dea Alex Bruce(c) Stephen Ward
Andy Keogh Darren Potter Keith Andrews Wes Hoolahan
Caleb Folan Shane Long

Oh dear is this what we have come to? How St Ledger is not in the squad is beyond me!

McShane, Bruce, O'Dear seem to keep getting picked irrespective of if they are playing well or in their clubs 1st team.......

Poor selection policy if you ask me.

dr_peepee
08/10/2008, 7:54 PM
McShane is playing in the first team at in form Hull and playing OK by all accounts. (Still not convinced of him at right full)

looking forward to readin/hearing about how Ward and Foley get on.. Disapointed at most of the midfield selection. Wouldn't have picked Houlahan on the left meself but given the strength in depth we have there in the senior squad I'm not too pushed. Not happy at seeing Potter and Keogh start (though I doubt Keogh would have started has Lawrence been fit)

I can't make the game.

08/10/2008, 10:36 PM
How much are tickets for this and can you pay on the gate?

08/10/2008, 10:45 PM
Did anyone see any betting on this game anywhere?

09/10/2008, 7:17 AM
is this on tv?

third policeman
09/10/2008, 7:33 AM
Potter and Andrews?????? is that the best we can come up with for midfield cover? Something is going wrong with squad selection and development when we have Miller and Whelan likely to start against Cyprus and these two bench warmers lined up as potential cover. McCann, O'Toole, Garvan, Stephen Quinn even McPhail would surely offer something more. Not to mention the fact that we have relegated Andy Reid to the role of non-playing squad mascot, and dont seem able / willing to make a serious effort to resolve the Stephen Ireland "situation".

The sad thing is it will take a beating from Italy or Bulgaria or God-forbid Cyprus before we wake up to the fact that our best and most promising midfield players aren't even in the squad. How is this happening? By what extraordinary form of distorted perception can Trap, Tardelli, Brady and their mentor Givens come to the judgement that Miller, Andrews, Potter, Whelan(and while we are on the subject Bruce!!!) are international footballers.

DeNiro
09/10/2008, 8:58 AM
How much are tickets for this and can you pay on the gate?

I don't think so. I think they are only on sale during the day from Dalyer or ticketmaster.

09/10/2008, 9:09 AM
According to today's Independent - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trap-gives-new-boys-a-chance-1493084.html - Gibson will replace Potter at half time, Stokes will come on for Long, Keogh and Hoolahan will be replaced by Treacy and Scannell, and only Foley will complete the 90 minutes in defence.
Does that mean Scannell will be playing on the right wing? I thought he was an out and out striker?

09/10/2008, 9:38 AM
I don't think so. I think they are only on sale during the day from Dalyer or ticketmaster.

I'd be amazed if you can't get a ticket at the stiles, that's what I'll be doing anyway. Well that or going home disappointed!

09/10/2008, 4:35 PM
I thought he was an out and out striker?
More of a support striker or wide man in a 4-3-3.

Razors left peg
09/10/2008, 4:40 PM
Any chance this game is being streamed on the FAI or RTE websites?

09/10/2008, 5:01 PM
I'm about to leave work and head straight for Dalymount, is there any kind of a meet up before hand?

09/10/2008, 6:46 PM
Is this on the radio or anything like that?

Baker
09/10/2008, 6:55 PM
Is this on the radio or anything like that?

Cant find it anywhere:(

Still no score according to aertel

09/10/2008, 7:08 PM
Probably still nil nil then :)