View Full Version : Whats left in our Season?
Inside Man
23/09/2008, 10:22 PM
What do ye think?
Pushing on is not behond question and with Cork and Shams lurking just above us and with them still to play we could catch them.
Surely that is now the aim of the squad. 5th place would be immense considering all thats happened this season.
Certainly with the fixtures that are ahead of us I am not being over optimistic in thinking that 5th is within grasp.
Remaining fixtures are;
Cobh (H)
Derry (A)
Galway (H)
Harps (A)
Shams (H)
Cork (A)
Bray (H)
Within those games i can see us getting more than 8 points. In achieving that we would have surpassed last years points tally of 41. And a 6th place finish is definatly on the cards. Should we achieve that, it would equal what we got last year and it would be a good end to a forgetable season.
redobit
24/09/2008, 8:29 AM
5th place would be great. And theres defo somthing to play with when you consider the money breakdown (2007 figures). Its not gona make a huge diff but every bit helps.
5th €15,000
6th €12,000
7th €9,500
8th €7,500
good end to a forgetable season.
I disagree that it has been a forgettable season. I cannot think of a season where we have been treated to so many exciting games at home played at an incredible tempo and with incredible skill and more importantly played with a commitment the like of which I have never witnessed by a smashing group of players who despite receiving so many set-backs over the course of the season just got on with playing for the bit-o-Red with no moaning or excuses coming from them.
I dread this season ending!!!
dublinred
24/09/2008, 11:04 AM
What do ye think?
Pushing on is not behond question and with Cork and Shams lurking just above us and with them still to play we could catch them.
Surely that is now the aim of the squad. 5th place would be immense considering all thats happened this season.
Certainly with the fixtures that are ahead of us I am not being over optimistic in thinking that 5th is within grasp.
Remaining fixtures are;
Cobh (H)
Derry (A)
Galway (H)
Harps (A)
Shams (H)
Cork (A)
Bray (H)
Within those games i can see us getting more than 8 points. In achieving that we would have surpassed last years points tally of 41. And a 6th place finish is definatly on the cards. Should we achieve that, it would equal what we got last year and it would be a good end to a forgetable season.
Apart from Derry and Cork away the rest of the games are winnable so could get a possible 15 points.
24/09/2008, 11:45 AM
I dread this season ending!!!
same here,
with all the talk of players/non-playing staff leaving, money problems, theres a possibility this could be our last season of resonable success,with the high standard of players we have. Enjoy it while its here lads.
today is a pessimsitic day :o
24/09/2008, 1:22 PM
It's been a successful season on the pitch IMO if you take into account the instability off the pitch and the depletion of the squad mid season.
sligofan4ever
24/09/2008, 4:11 PM
Apart from Derry and Cork away the rest of the games are winnable so could get a possible 15 points.
Thats very realistic and acheivable, hopefully another draw against Derry aswell and maybe get something this time when we play Cork, all in all we should win all our games except for the 2 london red said.
I read the Sligo Post today and in an interview, Cook said he's aiming for fourth place. As I said earlier, they can do it IF they make the most of their chances and should beat Cobh,Galway,Finn Harps, Shamrock Rovers & Bray, and hopefully draws at best with Derry & Cork. Anyone think Rovers can get those 17 points or is 4th place just out of their reach this season ?
It's been a successful season on the pitch IMO if you take into account the instability off the pitch and the depletion of the squad mid season.
What's the update on the financial situation? I live in London so am a bit out of the loop. Cant be that bad though, i sent an e-mail to the club asking if i could donate on line and i got no response. That was 3 weeks ago!
red_away
26/09/2008, 12:55 PM
Rocky - if what your saying is true then its a disgrace!!!!
Is there anyone from the club reading to answer this?
redobit
26/09/2008, 3:03 PM
Rocky - if what your saying is true then its a disgrace!!!!
Is there anyone from the club reading to answer this?
i wouldnt hold my breath. Ive sent letters to the committee in the past and got no reply what so ever.
26/09/2008, 3:16 PM
isnt it up to the secretary of the club to make sure all letters/calls etc. are replied to?
red arrow
26/09/2008, 9:37 PM
hi rocky read your post. if you wish to make any financial donation to the cause contact dermot branigan (rovers prO) at 087 6172295 and he will gladly assist you. i am involved with the club but am not a comittee member
but i will pass on your interst to dermot when i meet him at the cobh match tomorrow night. looking forward to hearing from you soon.
regards
red arrow
27/09/2008, 12:17 AM
We will be trying to finish in fourth place, which would give us Setanta Cup football. We’re not a ridiculous number of points away, we have four home games against teams we’re capable of beating and I think we can pick up points away as well.Win tomorrow night and we're in 6th, just 4 points behind Cork and 7 behind Drogheda. Cook's right, we're well capable of winning our four home games and 3 points away to Harps. Anything from Derry and Cork is a massive bonus.
Don't look down the table, keep looking up;)
Rocky
30/09/2008, 12:52 PM
[QUOTE=red arrow;1028456]hi rocky read your post. if you wish to make any financial donation to the cause contact dermot branigan (rovers prO) at 087 6172295 and he will gladly assist you. i am involved with the club but am not a comittee member
but i will pass on your interst to dermot when i meet him at the cobh match tomorrow night. looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Any update on this then? I would've though the club would have an account for donations. If so, would it be an idea to put the details on the website?
30/09/2008, 2:08 PM
Any update on this then? I would've though the club would have an account for donations. If so, would it be an idea to put the details on the website?http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/589/91/
red arrow
30/09/2008, 8:27 PM
thanks sligo man for posting details of website for rocky. as i am not a "techie geek" myself it was great to get the help. rocky i spoke to dermot about this so he will keep an eye out to make sure donation goes through. would you know of anybody else who would be willing to contribute. it would be great if you could organise a group of ex pats to assist the bit 'o red financially. are you ex sligo yourself. i;m sure there are quite a few over there who would be willing to help out. i believe if we can keep this squod togeather and paul cook we will do v. well next season but the club still needs up on k100. this would enable us to hold the players and start next season with a clean sheet financially. o nthe positive side a new car park is going to be developed at the showgrounds (paid for by sligo corpo) which the club can use on match nights to generate a few bob. this will further enhance the appearance of the ground. this is the 80th anniversary of rovers .we must do all possible to keep this side togeather because if we can there are good times ahead so any assistane rocky would be very helpful. as i said before contact dermot branigan his heart is in sligo rovers big time nad he would love to hear from you. he has done tremendous work for rovers this year along with a few others. its these people who are keeping the club alive with little thanks . with a big push financially to see out the season we can set ourselves up for next year. everybit helps. good luck and thanks
redrov2005
01/10/2008, 12:39 PM
thanks sligo man for posting details of website for rocky. as i am not a "techie geek" myself it was great to get the help. rocky i spoke to dermot about this so he will keep an eye out to make sure donation goes through. would you know of anybody else who would be willing to contribute. it would be great if you could organise a group of ex pats to assist the bit 'o red financially. are you ex sligo yourself. i;m sure there are quite a few over there who would be willing to help out. i believe if we can keep this squod togeather and paul cook we will do v. well next season but the club still needs up on k100. this would enable us to hold the players and start next season with a clean sheet financially. o nthe positive side a new car park is going to be developed at the showgrounds (paid for by sligo corpo) which the club can use on match nights to generate a few bob. this will further enhance the appearance of the ground. this is the 80th anniversary of rovers .we must do all possible to keep this side togeather because if we can there are good times ahead so any assistane rocky would be very helpful. as i said before contact dermot branigan his heart is in sligo rovers big time nad he would love to hear from you. he has done tremendous work for rovers this year along with a few others. its these people who are keeping the club alive with little thanks . with a big push financially to see out the season we can set ourselves up for next year. everybit helps. good luck and thanks
Does anyone know the terms of the deal on the car park. Will Rovers earn money from it apart from match nights ?
01/10/2008, 12:54 PM
Does anyone know the terms of the deal on the car park. Will Rovers earn money from it apart from match nights ?The corporation have a lease on it for a number of years, I think it's for 5years.
LondonRover
01/10/2008, 2:16 PM
thanks sligo man for posting details of website for rocky. as i am not a "techie geek" myself it was great to get the help. rocky i spoke to dermot about this so he will keep an eye out to make sure donation goes through. would you know of anybody else who would be willing to contribute.
Cheers - now that I know the a/c details i can bung a few quid over too. I was going to come home for the away game in Cork (the Cobh trip back in June was great craic) but I can't get out of work. Sure, I might as well donate the £££ I was gonna spend (flight, bed for the night, drink :rolleyes:) to the club.
Have to agree with Rocky that the club is not always great at getting back to me when I've emailed in the past. For e.g. I tried to find out if there was a way of subscribing to the match programme and getting it sent over to me every other week to keep vaguely abreast of things - it might only be an extra E100 a season (if that) for the club but it all counts and how hard would it be to stick a programme in the post every fortnight? You never know there could be a few other die hards who'd be interested in it too. Never heard back from the club. :(
Inside Man
01/10/2008, 9:48 PM
Does anyone know the terms of the deal on the car park. Will Rovers earn money from it apart from match nights ?
The Corporation are building the car park on the showgrounds site. Beside the Astro pitch.
The story is: they build it. Pay for everything: upkeep,etc and they recieve all profits, all this for first 5 years.
Then after this 5 years are up Rovers are handed over the car park and they then take over the running and recieve any profits made, etc.
Rovers will be recieving a minimal fee from the Corp.
srfc1928
07/10/2008, 9:13 PM
Another great result for us tonight.
Shams 2 - 2 Bray
Shams were 2 up aswell.
Their 2 games in hand over us are gone and have only picked up a point.
Redkenrover
07/10/2008, 9:45 PM
Not sure if this has been posted already but hypothetically speaking, if Bohs and Derry or Pats and Derry make FAI cup final, how will the european places pan out?
07/10/2008, 9:57 PM
1st= CL
2nd, 3rd & 4th= UEFA CUP
Redkenrover
07/10/2008, 10:50 PM
1st= CL
2nd, 3rd & 4th= UEFA CUP
What about cup winners? If they are in top four will 5th place team qualify for UEFA Cup?
08/10/2008, 8:19 AM
9 points from the next 3 games is definitely attainable and , we got 9 from the same 3 fixtures in the first round of games
08/10/2008, 12:54 PM
What about cup winners? If they are in top four will 5th place team qualify for UEFA Cup?
No, there's only four European places. 1 in the CL for the league winners. 1 in the UEFA Cup for league runners-up, 1 in the UEFA Cup for third place and one in the UEFA Cup for the cup winner.
As it stands, Bohs are in the CL as league winners, Pats are in the UEFA Cup as league runners-up, Derry are in the UEFA Cup as third in the league. If one of those three wins the cup, the final UEFA Cup place will go to fourth in the league which is Drogs at the moment.
I'm not sure what happens if Galway finish runner-up in the Cup but there are only two possibilities: Galway get the place as cup runners-up, or fourth place in the league gets the place (Drogs, atm).
The Setanta Cup could be a lot different but, afaik, there'll be, at most, FIVE (if an el team wins it) places in the Setanta Cup. I don't know who the qualifiers would be. Officially it's an invitational tournament so they can change the qualification criteria as they please.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2008, 8:29 PM
Did UEFA not say when they brought in the new UEFA Cup (whatever it's called) there a few weeks ago that cup runners up would no longer be able to take the spot in the competition?
08/10/2008, 8:31 PM
Did UEFA not say when they brought in the new UEFA Cup (whatever it's called) there a few weeks ago that cup runners up would no longer be able to take the spot in the competition?
Well then the fourth spot will go to fourth in the league.
srfc1928
08/10/2008, 8:35 PM
Unfortunatly that was just a proposal and wasnt implemented.
The cup runner up still qualifies if applicable.
srfc1928
08/10/2008, 8:58 PM
Source
http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/football/UEFA-Cup-revamped-and-rebranded.4535784.jp
10/10/2008, 8:42 PM
Great set of results tonight from our point of view
10/10/2008, 8:55 PM
Great set of results tonight from our point of view
Indeed.
Several stories floating around about Drogheda. One says they'll be relegated or just be eligible for a First Fivision license next season. Another, more appealing one, is that they will go into examinership and take a 10 point penalty. Then there is the notion of whether they'd be able to play in Europe next season. Fourth place could still be in sight if we win tomorrow night without even taking deductions or the like into the agenda. Drogs and Cork aren't in the best of form so we have a tremendous opportunity, if we win tomorrow. It would depend on Galway, losing in the semi-finals and losing to us! Will be an interesting few weeks!
10/10/2008, 8:57 PM
A win tomorrow is vital. 1 point behind Cork and 4 behind Drogs if it happens:D.
15/10/2008, 3:20 PM
Drogs granted examinershp. That'll hopefully see them get same punishment as Cork and move us up to 5th.
dublinred
17/10/2008, 11:38 AM
Drogs granted examinershp. That'll hopefully see them get same punishment as Cork and move us up to 5th.
Just heard that Drogs and Cork could be barred from Europe for 3 years if UEFA view examinership the same as its UK equivalent receivership which carries an automatic 3 year ban from europe.
red_away
17/10/2008, 11:59 AM
We need to get the points in the bag b4 concerning ourselves too much with other teams and placings!!!!
Although if the bohs property deal were to go south ....then there would be some commotion above us!
I am right in believing that the Setanta cup is still invitational??? and there your placing does not guarantee a berth in the competition?
17/10/2008, 1:18 PM
I am right in believing that the Setanta cup is still invitational??? and there your placing does not guarantee a berth in the competition?Officially yes but 4th place should see us get it.
Inside Man
20/10/2008, 3:11 PM
Interesting developments off the field will be the only way we can get Europe this year I rekon. Shams must win first of all, then to evade a defeat in Cork and that will set us up for a grande Finale against Bray in a packed Showgrounds.
Can anyone enlighten me on the story with Drogs? Are they getting 10pts deduction?
20/10/2008, 3:21 PM
Can anyone enlighten me on the story with Drogs? Are they getting 10pts deduction?
not even Drogs know id say?
sligored
20/10/2008, 3:24 PM
Interesting developments off the field will be the only way we can get Europe this year I rekon. Shams must win first of all, then to evade a defeat in Cork and that will set us up for a grande Finale against Bray in a packed Showgrounds.
Do you still think it has been a forgettable season as per your opening post in this thread inside man, because i for one have immensely enjoyed this year.
Drogs will be deducted points - no doubts(they still owe us half of fazs transfer fee and therefore have gained advantage from their immense wealth on the pitch).
26/10/2008, 3:39 PM
Galway 1-0 down. Come on:D
26/10/2008, 4:54 PM
Going on the basis that Drogheda get deducted 10 points, as it stands if we win our last 3 games we'll be guaranteed Europe :)
Candystripe
27/10/2008, 2:14 AM
Going on the basis that Drogheda get deducted 10 points, as it stands if we win our last 3 games we'll be guaranteed Europe :)
I think you's only need one more win to get a euro spot.
You's are 5 points clear of shams, I'm asumming that both Drogs and Cork can't qualify for 3 seasons.
Jeebus
27/10/2008, 2:49 AM
I think you's only need one more win to get a euro spot.
You's are 5 points clear of shams, I'm asumming that both Drogs and Cork can't qualify for 3 seasons.
No one seems to know the story with this, its the whole does examinership=administration. If so yes, Drogs and Cork cannot play in europe for 3 years. Id say the FAI dont even know the answer.
I would prefer we won our last 3 games to ensure tho.
PS Candystipe>> thanks for yer result today. :-)
27/10/2008, 2:18 PM
exciting times to be sure, to be sure
MMVIII
27/10/2008, 2:32 PM
Exciting times is right, think we all need to do our bit and get behind the team this weekend lads.
Rovers Maniac
29/10/2008, 9:17 AM
We won't know till Monday what punishment Drogs will get, more than likely they will get a 10 point deduction as the Licensing Committee will not be meeting till then.
03/11/2008, 7:52 PM
drogs deducted 10 points
03/11/2008, 7:57 PM
The FAI will lend their support to Cork City in their bid to get back into European football next year.
“When a club is in examiner ship they usually get a three year European ban, but if Cork do qualify and get a top four finish then that’s something we would have to explore,” said a leading FAI source.
More (http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/soccer/mhideyojsnsn/).
sligofan4ever
03/11/2008, 7:59 PM
drogs deducted 10 points
If this is true I tought they might say something about it on MNS tonight.