View Full Version : England v Ireland Legends

wooman
17/09/2008, 4:09 PM
Many plan on going to this?

http://www.ticketswitch.com/tickets/slink.buy/londoniete/e.REQ/magazine-londoniete/london/craven-cottage/england-legends-v-ireland-legends.html

25/09/2008, 10:42 AM
Just got this email from Fulham!

Republic of Ireland Legends take on England!

Having attended the Republic of Ireland v Columbia in May this year, we are
delighted to once again invite you to support the Republic of Ireland team as
their legends take on England at Craven Cottage on Thursday October 9th at
7:45pm.

The Republic of Ireland ’s 16-man squad will include Celtic’s legendary keeper
Packie Bonner, Leeds’ Gary Kelly, Liverpool ’s Phil Babb, Steve Staunton,
Jason McAteer and Ray Houghton, Marseille striker Tony Cascarino,
Manchester United full back Dennis Irwin, and Manchester United and Arsenal
frontman Frank Stapleton. The manager of this Irish legends squad is yet to
be announced.

For England , former Captain David Platt, Liverpool striker Stan Collymore,
Premiership winner Graham Le Saux, and FA Cup winning goalkeeper Dave
Beasant have joined Arsenal trio Paul Merson, Ray Parlour and Nigel
Winterburn alongside Manchester United duo Bryan Robson and Lee Sharpe.
World Cup Italia ’90 hero Des Walker, World Cup ’86 World Cup quarter
finalists Steve Hodge, European Cup winner Chris Woods are also included in
the England squad.

So be sure you come out and support the boys in what is going to be a great
night of Legends football.

Juniors can buy tickets for just £1, adults £14, and over 65’s and under 21’s
just £8. Tickets can be booked online at fulhamfc.com or by calling 0870 442 1234 (option 1).

Sligo Hornet
25/09/2008, 10:53 AM
Just got this email from Fulham!

Republic of Ireland Legends take on England!

Having attended the Republic of Ireland v Columbia in May this year, we are
delighted to once again invite you to support the Republic of Ireland team as
their legends take on England at Craven Cottage on Thursday October 9th at
7:45pm.

The Republic of Ireland ’s 16-man squad will include Celtic’s legendary keeper
Packie Bonner, Leeds’ Gary Kelly, Liverpool ’s Phil Babb, Steve Staunton,
Jason McAteer and Ray Houghton, Marseille striker Tony Cascarino,
Manchester United full back Dennis Irwin, and Manchester United and Arsenal
frontman Frank Stapleton. The manager of this Irish legends squad is yet to
be announced.

For England , former Captain David Platt, Liverpool striker Stan Collymore,
Premiership winner Graham Le Saux, and FA Cup winning goalkeeper Dave
Beasant have joined Arsenal trio Paul Merson, Ray Parlour and Nigel
Winterburn alongside Manchester United duo Bryan Robson and Lee Sharpe.
World Cup Italia ’90 hero Des Walker, World Cup ’86 World Cup quarter
finalists Steve Hodge, European Cup winner Chris Woods are also included in
the England squad.

So be sure you come out and support the boys in what is going to be a great
night of Legends football.

Juniors can buy tickets for just £1, adults £14, and over 65’s and under 21’s
just £8. Tickets can be booked online at fulhamfc.com or by calling 0870 442 1234 (option 1).

Are you thinking of going?....might do myself...especially as there is a good pub only 10 MINUTES walk from the stadium;)

Duggie
25/09/2008, 11:10 AM
Playing 8 times for England qualifies Sharpe as a "legend" does it? :rolleyes:

from a footballer to a sad reality tv freak. get off the fckin tv you ****.

25/09/2008, 11:11 AM
Are you thinking of going?....might do myself...especially as there is a good pub only 10 MINUTES walk from the stadium;)

Afraid not ... no more annual leave left :(

humpmeister7
26/09/2008, 1:38 PM

Wouldn't mind heading to that.

third policeman
26/09/2008, 2:23 PM
Phil Babb a legend?

I once won a signed Phil Babb Liverpool shirt in a charity raffle. They were supposed to auction it but were worried that they wouldn'g get any bids.

EastTerracer
09/10/2008, 2:34 AM
From the Fulham website: looks like a pretty strong line-up for us tomorrow night..... and Eddie McGoldrick!

"No less than 18 former international have added their names to the 16-man squads that will take the pitch live on ITV4 on Thursday October 9th at 7.45pm.

For England, former Captain David Platt, Liverpool striker Stan Collymore, Premiership winner Graham Le Saux, FA Cup winning goalkeeper Dave Beasant, Forest midfielder Steve Stone and QPR’s Andy Sinton have joined Arsenal trio Paul Merson, Ray Parlour and Nigel Winterburn alongside Manchester United duo Bryan Robson and Lee Sharpe. World Cup Italia ’90 hero Des Walker, World Cup ’86 World Cup quarter finalists Steve Hodge, European Cup winner Chris Woods and League Championship winner Paul Walsh complete Peter Reid’s 16-man squad.

The Republic of Ireland’s 16-man squad will include Celtic’s Legendary keeper Packie Bonner, Leeds’ Gary Kelly and John Sheridan, Liverpool’s Phil Babb, Steve Staunton, Jason McAteer and Ray Houghton, Marseille striker Tony Cascarino, Manchester United and Arsenal frontman Frank Stapleton, Everton’s Kevin Sheedy and Sheffield United’s Alan Kelly. The new additions join Manchester United full back Dennis Irwin, Arsenal and Crystal Palace midfielder Eddie McGoldrick, Charlton midfielder Mark Kinsella, Middlesbrough defender Alan Kernaghan and West Ham, Newcastle and Sunderland striker David Kelly.

The Republic Manager is to be announced."

as_i_say
09/10/2008, 8:31 AM
its gotta be jack charlton surely! Would love to see this. Our team seems to have genuine legends on it but the english team-andy sinton and dave beasant? we should give them a right pummeling

09/10/2008, 9:04 AM

im going and im walking faster this time! will you be there?

09/10/2008, 9:06 AM
quinie is the manager according to the show on tuesday on itv4. anyone else see it?

Polster
09/10/2008, 9:30 AM
quinie is the manager according to the show on tuesday on itv4. anyone else see it?

Saw the second half off it. Pity he couldn't pursuade Roy to come down. Anyone recommend a good pub around the stadium?

Anyone else think 9/2 looks a bit big for Ireland.

09/10/2008, 10:04 AM
Saw the second half off it. Pity he couldn't pursuade Roy to come down. Anyone recommend a good pub around the stadium?

Anyone else think 9/2 looks a bit big for Ireland.

Where does the money go for this stuff? ya brogans is only a 10 min walk from the stadium - but you have to walk fast.

republicofwhite
09/10/2008, 11:47 AM
Outrageously Fast, more like 25 minutes to half an hour...

wooman
09/10/2008, 12:52 PM
4 of us going tonight

cant see there being much of a crowd at it though

Scram
09/10/2008, 1:08 PM
The lack of advertising for this match is well, well it's... FAI, enough said. Would have been hugely popular if properly marketed and the teams announced more than a few weeks in advance.

Polster
09/10/2008, 3:28 PM
Where does the money go for this stuff? ya brogans is only a 10 min walk from the stadium - but you have to walk fast.

In fairness, I have checked it on google maps, 1.6 miles, ronny delaney in his prime would be doing well to do that in 10 minutes

09/10/2008, 3:38 PM
google maps ah come on i dont know how many times ive used that and ended up on the roundabout rather than round it :D

But seriouslly its a running joke on me that i said its a 10 min walk when it ended up being a little longer. It is definitely not 1.6 miles walking the back way though. But in fairness couldn't ye walk 1 mile in around 8 mins at a good pace?! :)

09/10/2008, 3:47 PM
The lack of advertising for this match is well, well it's... FAI, enough said. Would have been hugely popular if properly marketed and the teams announced more than a few weeks in advance.

are you sure its the FAI organising it.

Polster
09/10/2008, 4:11 PM
We are heading up from work in Hammersmith at half 5, going to walk around, find a pub along the way down the fulham palace road. Ready to blast out some of the old classics....

Who put the ball in the english net...Houghton Houghton

Niall Quinns Disco Pants

Should be a good night, get on that 9/2, reckon we are a fitter team.

Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2008, 4:36 PM
are you sure its the FAI organising it.

FAI have sweet FA to do with it as far as I know.....

Scram
09/10/2008, 4:50 PM
FAI have sweet FA to do with it as far as I know.....

Fcekin blame them anyway!

Still a pity it's not advertised by somebody. If this was in Dublin I'd definitely be up for it (to watch that is, but hey, if they asked me to play......)

I've only heard about this on here.

Noelys Guitar
09/10/2008, 5:32 PM
Here is the link for the match.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=20705&part=sports

theworm2345
09/10/2008, 5:52 PM
Here is the link for the match.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=20705&part=sports
When I looked there half an hour ago they weren't working, hopefully they will soon

Dublin12
09/10/2008, 8:22 PM
Whos the Irish goalkeeper?, did they pick him up from the Cricklewood Arms or something :)

Noelys Guitar
09/10/2008, 8:49 PM
3-3. England won on peno's.

Paddy Garcia
09/10/2008, 9:11 PM
Think it is worth getting McAteer and Kernaghan back in the team for the Cyprus game.

Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2008, 9:15 PM
Whos the Irish goalkeeper?, did they pick him up from the Cricklewood Arms or something :)

Played the same day Ned Kelly made his debut in the 5-0 against Israel in 87 if I recall correctly! Only cap he got.

Should have beaten them, Chris Woods kept them in it. Anyone else know McGoldrick was gonna miss? Exact same run up and result, row ****ing Z! :D

Good game actually, shame we didn't beat them though. Trigger scored an absolute peach in the first half and had a finish reminiscent of his Lansdowne Holland goal to make it 3 all. Best player on the park, looked like he could still do a job in the lower leagues if he wanted.

Noelys Guitar
09/10/2008, 9:23 PM
Played the same day Ned Kelly made his debut in the 5-0 against Israel in 87 if I recall correctly! Only cap he got.

Should have beaten them, Chris Woods kept them in it. Anyone else know McGoldrick was gonna miss? Exact same run up and result, row ****ing Z! :D

Good game actually, shame we didn't beat them though. Trigger scored an absolute peach in the first half and had a finish reminiscent of his Lansdowne Holland goal to make it 3 all. Best player on the park, looked like he could still do a job in the lower leagues if he wanted.

I think Eddie's peno just passed me in Piccadilly Circus.

FarBeag
09/10/2008, 9:27 PM
That was a joy to watch. Jason ran his socks off and I thought Mark Kinsella in particular had a decent game.These guys still show how proud they are to wear the green, every single one of them irrespective of where they were born.

Rambling Along
09/10/2008, 10:11 PM
I only saw the shoot-out but regardless I enjoyed it. Denis Irwin's penalty was an absolute peach!
Also just like Dublin12 I was baffled by the Irish keeper who plays for the Dog and Duck on a Sunday morning. Kelum O'Hanlon is what they were calling him I think.
My Dad greeted the sight of Eddie McGoldrick coming up to take the peno with the appropriate words......"Oh Jesus, Donkey!, he'll miss":D

EastTerracer
09/10/2008, 11:43 PM

Absolutely correct - Kelham O'Hanlon of Rotherham United played his only game for Ireland in that 5-0 win against Israel on a Tuesday night in November. There were 9,500 there and I remember the game well for a number of reasons:

1) David Kelly scored a hat-trick on his debut
2) Niall Quinn and John Byrne scored their first senior goals
3) Chris Morris made his debut
4) Mark Lawrenson captained Ireland on his 39th appearance but it turned out to be his last game for Ireland due to injury and

5) the next afternoon Gary Mackay scored for Scotland against Bulgaria and things were never the same again......

Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2008, 11:57 PM
I think Eddie's peno just passed me in Piccadilly Circus.

I meant to say did anyone remember the penalty Eddie missed in 1994 for Arsenal in the shoot out in the Cup Winners Cup final? They went on to win but it was identical to his one earlier, knew he'd sky it!

Rambling Along
09/10/2008, 11:58 PM
5) the next afternoon Gary Mackay scored for Scotland against Bulgaria and things were never the same again......

Ah Gary Mackay an Irishman playing for Scotland!:rolleyes:

cobra
10/10/2008, 12:15 AM
That was a joy to watch. Jason ran his socks off and I thought Mark Kinsella in particular had a decent game.These guys still show how proud they are to wear the green, every single one of them irrespective of where they were born.

Fair play to Jason, got his priorities right anyhow, as he done fook all last saturday against Harps legends. I did not know at the game(pool v harps) that he was playing Engurland later in the week. Did Aldo play tonight as he was crap last Saturday too

10/10/2008, 6:37 AM
Aldridge pulled out. Ireland were excellent in the first half but ran out of steam in the second. Poor old Stapleton will take a month to recover!

Polster
10/10/2008, 8:00 AM
Finest game I've seen Kernagan play in an Ireland Jersey. Kinsella and Trigger very good to. Definitely the better team. Sure how can you have all English officials.

Seriously though, Cunningham was brilliant.

10/10/2008, 8:13 AM
Finest game I've seen Kernagan play in an Ireland Jersey. Kinsella and Trigger very good to. Definitely the better team. Sure how can you have all English officials.

Didn't see it last night but Kernaghan had some great games in a green jersey. Copenhagen 92 springs to mind. He had one shocker v Spain and unfortunately is remembered by many for that.

Polster
10/10/2008, 8:29 AM
Didn't see it last night but Kernaghan had some great games in a green jersey. Copenhagen 92 springs to mind. He had one shocker v Spain and unfortunately is remembered by many for that.

I was more tongue in cheek there, I remember Copenhagen well. It was probably unfortunate for Kernagen that he was coming into the squad on the back of a lond list of legendary centre backs for Ireland, McGrath, McCarthy, Moran, O'Leary.

Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 8:42 AM

Was the referee not Ringsend native and regular attendee on Ireland away trips Mr. Dermot Gallagher?

Thought we dipped a bit second half alright but regained the initiative when Trigger came back on.

Anyone see Stapleton moaning that he couldn't get Quinn to come off during the second half so he could get back on? :D Some things never change!

as_i_say
10/10/2008, 9:27 AM

Dermot Gallagher was the ref. He is Irish! Was spotted by eagle eyed Match of the day pundits in the stands with other irish fans during the 2002 world cup. Never a penalty but they had a good goal disallowed before that where the english bloke was 2 yards onside.

10/10/2008, 10:39 AM
I only saw the shoot-out but regardless I enjoyed it. Denis Irwin's penalty was an absolute peach!
Also just like Dublin12 I was baffled by the Irish keeper who plays for the Dog and Duck on a Sunday morning. Kelum O'Hanlon is what they were calling him I think.
My Dad greeted the sight of Eddie McGoldrick coming up to take the peno with the appropriate words......"Oh Jesus, Donkey!, he'll miss":D

funny quinn was in oneills after , and the dog and duck used to be his local when playing for arsenal:D
thought quinn took it fairly serious and did actually want to win. trigger had a good game, pity we didnt win. o'hanlon was crap. didnt even know who he was!

Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 11:11 AM
funny quinn was in oneills after , and the dog and duck used to be his local when playing for arsenal:D
thought quinn took it fairly serious and did actually want to win. trigger had a good game, pity we didnt win. o'hanlon was crap. didnt even know who he was!

Did Quinn bring Merson out on the p1ss for old times sake?

I can picture it now....'Ah come on Paul, sure one won't hurt. I'm buying! And maybe a trip to the casino later?'

10/10/2008, 11:17 AM
no but john soloko(fella who played for CP and coventry, commentates on the championship) - was sound actually - or however you spell his name was there with him. He was out with one of the ol boys from the dog and duck he knows well. In fairness to quinny he was up chatting to everyone and chatted throughout the night to them particularly two auld boys.

Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 11:23 AM
no but john soloko(fella who played for CP and coventry, commentates on the championship) - was sound actually - or however you spell his name was there with him. He was out with one of the ol boys from the dog and duck he knows well. In fairness to quinny he was up chatting to everyone and chatted throughout the night to them particularly two auld boys.

John Salako, good player in his day.

I know it's a cliche but Quinn is one of the nicest people in the public eye I've ever met, why he criticised by some for that trait (Mother Thressa :rolleyes:) is utterly beyond me. He has time for everyone he meets, he's a credit to himself and the country.

10/10/2008, 11:44 AM
well what i enjoyed was that he didnt want to come off and wanted to win as was said during hte match "its still England".

69er, some people do say he isn't as polished that he makes out though....

noby
10/10/2008, 11:51 AM
The commentators, and Andy Townsend were going into a lot of detail.
I was just after my tea when I was informed that Chris Woods spent all of half time on the loo with the scutters, and was playing the second half with his cheeks clenched.

Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 11:53 AM
well what i enjoyed was that he didnt want to come off and wanted to win as was said during hte match "its still England".

69er, some people do say he isn't as polished that he makes out though....

I'm sure he has his flaws, he's very decent to people when he's in the public eye though. It may only be common courtesy but there's a lot of players who couldn't be arsed with that. Gary Kelly was similar in that and I'm sure he has his flaws too. I don't think he makes out that he's all that anyway, he's just a gergarious sort.

10/10/2008, 11:55 AM
Fcekin blame them anyway!

Still a pity it's not advertised by somebody. If this was in Dublin I'd definitely be up for it (to watch that is, but hey, if they asked me to play......)

I've only heard about this on here.

Ah would you shut it, you are blaming the FAI for something they have nothing to do with and you still do not have the decency to admit you were wrong. Nothing to do with the FAI and you made a stupid statement about them.

10/10/2008, 11:58 AM
Neil are the manpons hurting?