View Full Version : England v Ireland Legends
Wolfie
10/10/2008, 12:21 PM
Kinsella found Kelly with a 30 yard slide rule pass at one stage. Absolute class ball.
Bring him back!!
Rambling Along
10/10/2008, 12:59 PM
McAteer's first goal was a cracker.
I was told Kenny Cunningham was running up and down the pitch like a young fella!:D
Wolfie
10/10/2008, 1:02 PM
McAteer's first goal was a cracker.
I was told Kenny Cunningham was running up and down the pitch like a young fella!:D
Yeah - Cunningham, McAteer, Kelly, Kinsella, Quinn, Fleming, Coyle - all showed some flashes of the old quality.
Cunningham was indeed running up and down the pitch like a young fella. With a bald patch.
lostinbrum
10/10/2008, 1:29 PM
Watched the second half of this. Wasn't a bad game. Thought Dennis Irwin looked steady too. He was never blessed with speed, but that wasn't a factor last night.
Funny watching Chris Woods being interviewed while game still on and the ball was up the field, and then an interview with Graeme LaSaux while he was walking up to take his peno.
10/10/2008, 1:59 PM
I hopped into my local last night for 1 pint and this guy was raving about the game .I was wearing an Ireland jersey and we chatted about the B match, but sure he did not want to know and was raving about Mc Ateer and how he should be in the Ireland sqaud and al this rubbish.
Its amazing and I see it all the time that people do not realise how hard it is to look class when you have very little time on the ball etc and how easy it is to spray passes about when you do. I have seen guys that looked class in the Clare league or on a 5 a side pitch but the minute they get closed down this goes out the window.
I think this point is something that should be taken on board when assessing Eircom league players and Championship players and SPL players. We have seen how good Stokes looked in the SPL but not at the races in a stronger league. Whereas someone like Fahey stepped up to the plate when playing Hertha Berlin.
Anyway my point is that its great to look good when you have time and space on the ball but trying doing it when you have a top class players closing you down.
spongebob
10/10/2008, 2:55 PM
Two ex-Derry City players on display - Blisset and David Kelly.
10/10/2008, 3:24 PM
Yeah - Cunningham, McAteer, Kelly, Kinsella, Quinn, Fleming, Coyle - all showed some flashes of the old quality.
Cunningham was indeed running up and down the pitch like a young fella. With a bald patch.
ya quinn did alright, his fall in on the keeper and defender and hope the ball hits his arse or some part of his body and trickles in. I never got to see quinn live in his prime, but I always suspected this on TV, seeing him yesterday proved what I thought, he just harries the defender and mounts them and causes general trouble for defenders, nothing spectacular though.
Mcateers was a peach, we a had a lot more younger players than they had in fairness though, they had more and better quality though.
Irwin was class he never relied on his pace, as he wasn't the quickest but his positional sense made up for this, he was brilliant yesterday. Made me realise how much mccarthy annoyed me at times, irwin should never have been treated like that.
10/10/2008, 5:33 PM
google maps ah come on i dont know how many times ive used that and ended up on the roundabout rather than round it
But seriouslly its a running joke on me that i said its a 10 min walk when it ended up being a little longer. It is definitely not 1.6 miles walking the back way though. But in fairness couldn't ye walk 1 mile in around 8 mins at a good pace?
Paul, the irony of you giving directions to Craven Cottage:D
After your last (lubricated) visit to CC for the Colombia game, taking that short cut :o
Scram
12/10/2008, 12:17 PM
This was on Setanta....why didn't anyone tell me?!!! :(
I heard it was a great event.
Paddy Garcia
13/10/2008, 9:47 PM
Did anyone see the Towsend interview the night before ? Great stuff.
He said that "we used to limp into the Irish games , whilst the English & Scottish limped out. We would pretend (on camera) to be fit so our team bosses would not pull us from the squad. We all just wanted to turn up, join the team and play for Ireland "
I know this is particularly true for Townsend himself who underwent many many injections to turn out for us.
A few could take a leaf out today.....
Fergie's Son
13/10/2008, 9:55 PM
Sounds like a great event. And for the last time, McGoldrick wasn't great but he was very good in Copenhagen when we needed the ball to be held. He did well enough for Ireland.
Wolfie
14/10/2008, 8:04 AM
Did anyone see the Towsend interview the night before ? Great stuff.
He said that "we used to limp into the Irish games , whilst the English & Scottish limped out. We would pretend (on camera) to be fit so our team bosses would not pull us from the squad. We all just wanted to turn up, join the team and play for Ireland "
I know this is particularly true for Townsend himself who underwent many many injections to turn out for us.
A few could take a leaf out today.....
Townsends cockney accent and his current analyists role make him an easy target for those who suggest he wasn't committed to the Irish team.
He was 100% committed and a great captain.
The ignorami have this one wrong.
FarBeag
14/10/2008, 8:22 AM
Townsends cockney accent and his current analyists role make him an easy target for those who suggest he wasn't committed to the Irish team.
Totally agree with you there. I have never heard Townsend referring to England as 'we' as long as i have seen him on tv.He was totally committed as an Irish player and i have nothing but respect for him.
14/10/2008, 11:46 AM
Totally agree with you there. I have never heard Townsend referring to England as 'we' as long as i have seen him on tv.He was totally committed as an Irish player and i have nothing but respect for him.
i have heard him say it, and i also remember a bemused and taken aback andy townsend looking at quinny on rte during france 98 when he quinn answered a phone in question from someone saying "we" love to see England lose. does anyone else remember this?
I really enjoyed the craig doyle and townsend interview, and for once I thought doyle sounded passionate about what he was reporting on. I always saw him as a rugger for some reason. Townsend showed that he seemed to get most enjoyment out of his career for playing for Ireland, even the smile and wave when he was introduced by jack after USA 94. It was a great hours TV. Still laugh at the thought of pagluica waving at the ball as it goes over his head. I still amn't sure about that goal, I'm pretty sure had he tried he could have saved it....
theworm2345
15/10/2008, 3:44 AM
Haha, how about the guy with his pants down who made it all the way to Quinny after his penalty before the stewards got to him
Polster
15/10/2008, 7:13 AM
I don't think any sane Irish fan would question Townsends commitment and contribution to the cause over the years.
I think its an opinion among many that he talks a lot of s**t on tv, which I wouldn't argue with.
Deckydee
15/10/2008, 10:48 AM
Did Cascarino play :D
Polster
16/10/2008, 7:17 AM
Did Cascarino play :D
No...