View Full Version : Reading's Irish

16/09/2008, 9:12 PM
http://www.yorkshirepost.co.uk/football/Football-fulltimes-Sheffield-United-draw.4493334.jp

In the above somewhere, is that his second hatrick this season?

I do believe it it is, infact second in a 10 days which is more than some players get in a season although I expect Robbie will score soon.

16/09/2008, 9:14 PM
Not a bad night as O Toole scores and so does Noel Hunt twice and Jay Tabb and Andy Keogh.

16/09/2008, 9:32 PM
Yes an excellent night for the Irish lads, particularly at Reading, Stephen Hunt providing an assist as did Noel and Kevin Doyle, Shane Long hit the post too.
Somersault(s?) from Noel Hunt too!

irishultra
16/09/2008, 10:11 PM
Noel Hunt is really impressing. Doyle's third was a screamer. He's already top scorer, if he can start scoring away he will hit the 20 goal mark by Christmas.

Sligo Hornet
17/09/2008, 6:02 AM
Noel Hunt is really impressing. Doyle's third was a screamer. He's already top scorer, if he can start scoring away he will hit the 20 goal mark by Christmas.

Shouldn't be a problem this saturday.......Reading are Away to.........Watford:eek::(

17/09/2008, 6:33 AM
Yeah, really delighted for Doyle and Hunt :mad::mad:

Nice, however, to see Andy Keogh back on the scoresheet and Wolves leading the way in the Championship.

Claret Murph
17/09/2008, 6:40 AM
Shouldn't be a problem this saturday.......Reading are Away to.........Watford:eek::(

Big game for you then Hornet ?????????

smasher
17/09/2008, 8:19 AM
Any time he gets a chance at Reading, Noel Hunt is scoring goals. This guy is good and has ability. He is also very self confident if given the opportunity at international level will prove his worth. Mark my words.!

bwagner
17/09/2008, 9:47 AM
Great night for the Iirsh, Kelly came on to, Julian that is.
Any1 have the link to view the goals??

amjl
17/09/2008, 9:47 AM
Wasnt sure if he would carry his form in the SPL last season to the Championship this season but Noel Hunt seems to be doing really well at the moment and long may it last!

Brendan 82
17/09/2008, 12:32 PM
Doyle belongs in the Premiership, anyone who says differently has an agenda. Hopefully he keeps bangin em in and goes back to the Premiership in January.

Duggie
17/09/2008, 12:53 PM
Doyle belongs in the Premiership, anyone who says differently has an agenda. Hopefully he keeps bangin em in and goes back to the Premiership in January.

only if hes going to get regular games though, id rather he played all the games in the championship and scoring goals than spend half the time on the bench in the prem.

Brendan 82
17/09/2008, 1:04 PM
I hear ya, but I just think he is quality and as long he is not at a top six side he should get a lot of minutes

Billy-Green
17/09/2008, 1:14 PM
Any time he gets a chance at Reading, Noel Hunt is scoring goals. This guy is good and has ability. He is also very self confident if given the opportunity at international level will prove his worth. Mark my words.!

I've said this in past threads about the international squad selection. He should heve be ahead of the likes of Connoly, Scannel, Long in the last few squads. He has been hittin the 15 - 20 goal mark for the last 4 seasons in the SPL but was never looked at.

17/09/2008, 3:29 PM

So what Agenda did ALL the managers in the Premiership have who didn't sign him ?

17/09/2008, 3:39 PM
So what Agenda did ALL the managers in the Premiership have who didn't sign him ?
Yes, not signing a player is indeed identical to saying that he doesn't belong in the league. Congratulations, you fail English.

17/09/2008, 4:04 PM

didnt spurs want to sign him on the transfer deadline day but were unable to get in contact with anyone at reading?
villa were interested too

bwagner
17/09/2008, 4:10 PM

If Doyle was English he would be in one of the top 6 clubs!

17/09/2008, 4:40 PM
he scored 1 goal in about 6 months towards the end of last season (i know he played out wide a good lot) so i would say teams didnt want to risk it incase he was a one season wonder. If he proves himself to be consistent this season then he will be back in the Prem no bother. you could see where the managers were coming from though in not going mad for him.

7 goals in last 4 games (all included) is some going.....long may it continue and he bags another hat trick against them Cypriot fookers!!

Ross
17/09/2008, 7:37 PM
General feeling on the Reading supporters board is that Long's had his chance and Lita's form has vanished so that Noel Hunt is the one they want to see partnering Doyle.

Great for Noel, bad for Shane. Even if he did hit the post last night it appears that he's dropped down the pecking order yet again. I'd say he desperately needs a regular place at this stage.

I am a Reading season ticket holder and having watched Long since he came to the club I can say he has been consistently rubbish whenever he starts a game! However he has been consistently brilliant when used as a sub! I cant ever see him being good enough to start for Ireland but he would be useful as an impact sub.

Noel Hunt MUST be in the next Irish squad! Everytime I've watched him he's looked quality! I didn't see much of him at Dundee but if he played for them like he does for us I'm amazed he has never got a call up!

zenokelly
17/09/2008, 7:54 PM
I agree Noel Hunt should be in the next squad ahead of Long, and Keogh for that matter. He has looked like one of Reading's strongest players in the games where he has come on in the previous few games, and has some shot on him.

Long isn't good enough from what I've seen of him at Reading to merit a place in the squad. He does not score goals when given a start by Coppell, and doesn't have the physical strength of Noel Hunt.

Kevin doyle was unfortunately muck for the last 6 months of last season, and for the first couple of games of this season, which meant that there wasn't any premiership managers that really ear marked him as a major summer signing. Anyway, better he plays and scores week in week out for Reading, than be sitting on the bench for Villa or Everton.

By the way I know hat tricks are hat tricks, but from the highlights I've seen from last night, I've never seen such catastrophic defending in professional football as what the Sheffield Wed. lads were at last night. It was atrocious:eek:

17/09/2008, 7:55 PM
He played for Dundee Utd did he not rather than Dundee.

17/09/2008, 7:56 PM
Any link to these goals.

17/09/2008, 10:18 PM
He played for Dundee Utd did he not rather than Dundee.

what does it matter?? you knew what he meant...

18/09/2008, 9:16 AM
By the way I know hat tricks are hat tricks, but from the highlights I've seen from last night, I've never seen such catastrophic defending in professional football as what the Sheffield Wed. lads were at last night. It was atrocious:eek:

Welcome to my world :(

18/09/2008, 9:52 AM
what does it matter?? you knew what he meant...

Two different clubs thats why. Its not like saying Manchester, Dundee are the actual name of the other club in the city.

Sligo Hornet
18/09/2008, 9:56 AM
Welcome to my world :(

Don't you mean "Watford" world?!:(

back of the net
18/09/2008, 1:48 PM
he scored 1 goal in about 6 months towards the end of last season (i know he played out wide a good lot) so i would say teams didnt want to risk it incase he was a one season wonder. If he proves himself to be consistent this season then he will be back in the Prem no bother. you could see where the managers were coming from though in not going mad for him.

7 goals in last 4 games (all included) is some going.....long may it continue and he bags another hat trick against them Cypriot fookers!!

i do agree with you to a certain extent

but yet a premiership club signs that pile of sh*te andy johnson from everton for 12million sterling!!!!!!

doyle is a far better player - but as one of the posters said earlier - the problem is.....he aint english!!!

RiffRaff
19/09/2008, 10:40 AM
If Doyle was English he would be in one of the top 6 clubs!

How many English strikers are there at the top 6 clubs?

28/09/2008, 1:07 AM
Wow, an all Irish scoring feast at Reading 2 for Doyle and one each for the Hunts.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/7626922.stm

Robbie Keane played well today too, a crucual role in both goals. I expect he will bag a goal before Christmas too (but don't press me for the year ;))

Sligo Hornet
29/09/2008, 7:48 AM
Wow, an all Irish scoring feast at Reading 2 for Doyle and one each for the Hunts.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/7626922.stm

Robbie Keane played well today too, a crucual role in both goals. I expect he will bag a goal before Christmas too (but don't press me for the year ;))

Not forgetting "The Toole"....netted his FIFTH goal in SIX starts for Watford!:)

dr_peepee
29/09/2008, 7:50 AM
Not forgetting "The Toole"....netted his FIFTH goal in SIX starts for Watford!:)

Do we have to call him that.... It's a bit too Greco-Roman for my liking!! :D

Lenny82
29/09/2008, 1:20 PM
I think Doyle would be mad to go anywhere in January if Reading look set for a return to the Premiership. Himself and the Hunt brothers are on fire this season and if it they can carry this into their away games they will be operating in the Premier League together next season.

As someone said earlier, a kneejerk transfer is not a good idea. Imagine if Doyle had gone to Spurs on the last day of the transfer deadline? He could have ended up playing Championship football next season with Spurs (if their current form continues) while Reading return to the Premier!!!

John-Joe O'Toole looks the real deal alright. Might get the call up he deserves for the friendly against Poland.

29/09/2008, 2:15 PM
I think Doyle would be mad to go anywhere in January if Reading look set for a return to the Premiership. Himself and the Hunt brothers are on fire this season and if it they can carry this into their away games they will be operating in the Premier League together next season.

As someone said earlier, a kneejerk transfer is not a good idea. Imagine if Doyle had gone to Spurs on the last day of the transfer deadline? He could have ended up playing Championship football next season with Spurs (if their current form continues) while Reading return to the Premier!!!

John-Joe O'Toole looks the real deal alright. Might get the call up he deserves for the friendly against Poland.
So you argue against him joining a team thats already in the Premiership in favour of staying with a team on the basis that they could make it into that league next year ?

third policeman
29/09/2008, 3:43 PM

At least two weren't even "starts" as he scored after coming on as sub.

Lenny82
29/09/2008, 4:34 PM
So you argue against him joining a team thats already in the Premiership in favour of staying with a team on the basis that they could make it into that league next year ?

I think it is better for him to stay in the Championship this year if he is going to play regular football, score plenty of goals and more than likely get promoted anyway. If Reading do not get promoted this season however, I would be fully in favour of him making a move to the Premier next summer.

Reading were very loyal to him when he went through that long goal drought, I don't think a Premier League club come the business end of the season would be that patient and he could find himself playing reserve team football. 1 full season of Championship football won't kill him.

dr_peepee
30/09/2008, 10:49 AM
It wasn't as much a drought as people say... He spent alot of last season playing wide on the right.

Clipper
30/09/2008, 5:57 PM
The Championship is always a pretty tight division, so no guarantee that Reading will get promoted.

carloz
30/09/2008, 7:20 PM
Have to question why some team didnt purchase him for the price Reading were asking. He will be the same if not more expensive in January. If David Bentley and Darren Bent are each worth 18 million then Doyle is a steal at 9.5. Think he would really suit a good footballing side like Aston Villa. Would worry for him if he was at someone like Everton

04/10/2008, 3:34 PM
Do irish players only score for reading. 3 today!!

04/10/2008, 3:40 PM
To answer your question, no as Cisse scored the other week for them. Anymore questions. :)

04/10/2008, 3:47 PM
Aw come on!!!! The majority of readings goals this season have been scored by the 4 irish guys!

co. down green
04/10/2008, 3:49 PM
Chris McCann has pulled one back for Burnley

04/10/2008, 3:51 PM
Aw come on!!!! The majority of readings goals this season have been scored by the 4 irish guys!

That is true. You asked a question I answered it.

04/10/2008, 4:09 PM
17 of readings 26 league goals have been scored by 4 irsih players. 2 og's and the rest by other players! Mad ey! they are on fire!!

noddy102
04/10/2008, 4:22 PM
That is true. You asked a question I answered it.

In fairness, there was no question mark. :D

Long got his first goal today, so it would be unfair to include him with the trio of other Irish players who are on fire.

04/10/2008, 5:29 PM
All Irish scorers today in the 3-1 for Reading over Burnley. Long, the 2 Hunts and McCann. Good stuff. Doyle also made at least one of the Reading goals.

04/10/2008, 7:57 PM
Noel is surely worth a look? Assuming he isn't badly injured after scoring that first goal.

05/10/2008, 8:05 AM
Noel is surely worth a look? Assuming he isn't badly injured after scoring that first goal.

He certainly is scoring for fun at the moment.

Irish_Praha
05/10/2008, 10:13 AM

Yeah fair play to him, he's doing much better than I thought he would. I hope the two weeks off don't disrupt his form.

Keane and Doyle are without a doubth Ireland's best two strikers at the moment, if they are our best partnership is another argument. Anway there is not much quailty to replace either of these two if they are injured or if Trap wants to change things around up front at some stage of a game.
At the moment rather than a straight swap of a striker-for-a-striker it would need a change of system and brining on one of our attack-minded midfielders, if we really need to open a team up.

None of Stokes, Murphy, Keogh or Long have really impressed when given a chance, although Long has a decent goals-to-games ratio.
On current form, if he wasn't Injured, I would have no complaints if Hunt was to replace any of the substitute strikers in the squad. He has proven so far to be a good partner for Doyle.