The Coral - Dreaming Of You - The Coral
KRy8N1P1EUI
Badly Drawn Boy - Silent Sigh - About A Boy
NY-oQEy1KFU
The Streets - Don't Mug Yourself - Original Pirate Material
HYl6tLpF6TM
The Libertines - Time For Heroes - Up The Bracket
VwhHdeHJ1Yk
Odd choice for me this year, bar Queens of the Stone Age I own every album on that list, and I like them all, but I don't love a single one, so not sure what I'll go for here. At the time it would have been a toss up between Badly Drawn Boy, Sigur Ros and the Flaming Lips, but looking back I think I might prefer the offerings by the Libertines, Interpol and the Coral nowadays. I do think the Street's put out probably the most significant album of the year, it really did change and re-energise the UK garage scene, plus the whole cockney rapping thing has entered society to a degree that most of us would like to pretend it hasn't. (Seriously look over at the F365 forum and you'll see what sort of influence Mike Skinner has had on British, and to an extent Irish, society). Might need to think about this one
15/09/2008, 4:29 PM
My vote is Other: Mic Christopher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mic_Christopher) - Skylarkin' (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skylarkin%27)
I like the QOTSA and Sigur Rós albums from this year, as well as 'Riot Act' by Pearl Jam but Skylarkin' is one of my favourite albums. The title track 'Skylarking' being my favourite song on the album. 'Heyday' will be the song most of you know from it.
15/09/2008, 4:31 PM
I'll say A Rush of Blood to the head by Coldplay , probably my favourite album of theirs.
Honorable mention to albums by the Vines and the Hives
15/09/2008, 4:33 PM
I'll go with QOTSA :cool:
I'll say A Rush of Blood to the head by Coldplay , probably my favourite album of theirs.
Also a good shout.
15/09/2008, 4:46 PM
Scarface - The Fix. An instant hip hop classic.
Honourable mentions to Jurassic 5, Missy Elliott, Nappy Roots and Snoop Dogg.
15/09/2008, 4:47 PM
Other:
Though not as heralded as some of his albums, David Bowie's Heathen is possibly his strongest work since the Berlin albums.
15/09/2008, 4:51 PM
By The Way - Red Hot Chili Peppers, a great return to form for them.
15/09/2008, 4:53 PM
Other:
Though not as heralded as some of his albums, David Bowie's Heathen is possibly his strongest work since the Berlin albums.
Scary Monsters...
Pike B
15/09/2008, 5:23 PM
Odd choice for me this year, bar Queens of the Stone Age I own every album on that list, and I like them all, but I don't love a single one, so not sure what I'll go for here. At the time it would have been a toss up between Badly Drawn Boy, Sigur Ros and the Flaming Lips, but looking back I think I might prefer the offerings by the Libertines, Interpol and the Coral nowadays. I do think the Street's put out probably the most significant album of the year, it really did change and re-energise the UK garage scene, plus the whole cockney rapping thing has entered society to a degree that most of us would like to pretend it hasn't. (Seriously look over at the F365 forum and you'll see what sort of influence Mike Skinner has had on British, and to an extent Irish, society). Might need to think about this one
Your taste in music is seriously crap. All of the last three years polls I've voted other, and by the looks of it, so have most people. Put up some decent albums would you.
I mean how can you not have By The Way in there? Come on man.
Your taste in music is seriously crap. All of the last three years polls I've voted other, and by the looks of it, so have most people. Put up some decent albums would you.
I mean how can you not have By The Way in there? Come on man.
Because the Red Hot Chilli Peppers are liked by people who don't like music
Are you for real? If this is your arguement then what is Music genius? I bet your one of these clowns who was in a band, or tried to be in a band and knows all about real music and spends his evenings in Dolan's with the real music people ya? Shower of Monkey's, worse than the yuppies in this town. Spare me. You and your poll are pointless.
Jesus fellah, you realise there's nothing at stake here, its only a bit of craic? does it really matter who wins?
Pike B
15/09/2008, 7:23 PM
Jesus fellah, you realise there's nothing at stake here, its only a bit of craic? does it really matter who wins?
Of course I realise. I just think that simply forcing your opinions on others is wrong. Red Hot Chili Peppers have a huge following in this country and yet according to the Gospel of Jebus they aren't real musicians!! A bit stong I thought.
Forcing my opinions on people? Jesus Christ would you grow up
15/09/2008, 7:35 PM
Thats rubbish Jebus. You dont get to decide that.
I don't get to decide my own opinion? How odd
15/09/2008, 7:40 PM
Qualify the statment then with "IMO" or some such.
Why? If I'm saying it then it's obviously my opinion, or was I voted the mouthpiece for Foot.ie (maybe even Ireland with how worked up some of you are getting) while I was away?
You're right about the Chilli Peppers too Jebus. But even if I disagreed with you, its only an internet poll lads. It doesn't matter...
Pike B
15/09/2008, 8:22 PM
You're right about the Chilli Peppers too Jebus. But even if I disagreed with you, its only an internet poll lads. It doesn't matter...
What's your favourite band Dodge?
Don't have any bands I'm that attached to. My favourite artist would be Otis Redding.
I know that that Skinner style is all over pop culture in the UK and here now, but had to go for Original Pirate Material. Easy to forget quite how fresh and original it was, how very different, and how much it pointed up how creatively bankrupt most US HipHop had become. It also laid the groundwork for next year's album of the year. :)
Plus it's a feckin' brilliant record! :D
Also in the running:
DJ Shadow - The Private Press (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=_5OGk9N8Y5s) (very, very close 2nd place for me)
The Datsuns - The Datsuns (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=_EED8F7P_q4) (fantastic return of proper heavy rock after a near 30 year absence)
Doves - The Last Broadcast (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=IJ7fK_weO90) (best Doves album for me)
Groove Armada - Lovebox (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=dlMRut7gcoo) (bit of a mixed bag but I love this one)
Lemon Jelly - Lost Horizons (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=e8yx4k4tzqE) (All the ducks are swimming in the water, fol-de-rol-de-rol-dah...)
Was also going to mention the Hives but I see that Your New Favourite Band was 2001, and Veni Vidi Vicious actually 2000.
Pike B
15/09/2008, 9:14 PM
Don't have any bands I'm that attached to. My favourite artist would be Otis Redding.
Aw now that's not music... ;)
Other: Lemon Jelly - Lost Horizons
Pike B
15/09/2008, 10:10 PM
Other: Lemon Jelly - Lost Horizons
Who did who with the what now???
15/09/2008, 10:12 PM
On an aside I've stayed well away from all these polls because I think that 90% of you listen to almost exclusively rubbish. Likewise my music, mostly american, mostly guitar based with an alternativeish spin, would probably disgust most of you. Music is subjective. Sadly. Though I'd like to think we can all sneer at the yuppies and other assorted posers who flocked to The Electric Picnic cos, 'like, the sex pistols are so relevant man and I like, totally want to get in touch with my punk side before I head into the office monday'. :o
Edit:By the by Jebus old man how about 'Most over-rated band/artist ever' as a poll? I mean The Beatles obviously but in the name of science...
Edit 2: While Pike B is correct about Musos being the most tedious and expendable cross section of our society I can clarify that Jebus has never been in a band to the best of my knowledge though he was sorta like an unoffical photographer for criminally under-rated Limerick garage rockers My Pet Giraffe. ;)
Pike B
15/09/2008, 10:13 PM
On an aside I've stayed well away from all these polls because I think that 90% of you listen to almost exclusively rubbish. Likewise my music, mostly american, mostly guitar based with an alternativeish spin, would probably disgust most of you. Music is subjective. Sadly. Though I'd like to think we can all sneer at the yuppies and other assorted posers who flocked to The Electric Picnic cos, 'like, the sex pistols are so relevant man and I like, totally want to get in touch with my punk side before I head into the office monday'. :o
By the by Jebus old man how about 'Most over-rated band/artist ever' as a poll? I mean The Beatles obviously but in the name of science...
You rock... :)
15/09/2008, 10:23 PM
some other notable absentees
Goo Goo Dolls - Gutterflower
Eminem - The Eminem Show
Papa Roach - lovehatetragedy
Maroon5 - Songs About Jane
Soulfly - 3
Counting Crows - Hard Candy
The Music - The Music
Underworld - Two Months Off
Good Charlotte - The Young and The Hopeless
Foo Fighters - One By One
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Machine
Audioslave - Audioslave
I'm voting for other - Foo Fighters - One By One
Billsthoughts
15/09/2008, 10:32 PM
Agreed. this music forum suffers from a tendancy towards "lists" of any description. these best of polls being the worst example. only worth visiting to giggle at jebus constantly protesting that its "all a bit of fun" but then arguing with everyone if they question his choice of albums.:D:D..snigger..
be nice to get turned on to some music I havent heard of before.
on that note check out - Ramsay Midwood - "shoot out at the ok chinese restaurant". if ya like old american blues or folk its a kinda of modern take on it and well worth checking out. great title as well. released in 2002 as well
Pike B
15/09/2008, 10:32 PM
Eminem - The Eminem Show
Soulfly - 3
The Music - The Music
Audioslave - Audioslave
Great album..
The revolt against Jebus' taste in music grows...... ;)
15/09/2008, 10:37 PM
Eminem - The Eminem Show
Soulfly - 3
The Music - The Music
Audioslave - Audioslave
I have about half those. Really like both The Goo Goo Dolls one and the Good Charlotte one. More than I have on the average shortlist here anyway.
And when I met Jebus back in 1999 he listened to all sorts of stuff that would surprise you all. :)
15/09/2008, 11:52 PM
you all have terrible taste in music (bar you Kingdom Hoop) :)
be nice to get turned on to some music I havent heard of before.
on that note check out - Ramsay Midwood - "shoot out at the ok chinese restaurant". if ya like old american blues or folk its a kinda of modern take on it and well worth checking out. great title as well. released in 2002 as well
So why don't you vote for it? It's only supposed to be a bit of fun, or so I was led to believe. Does it really matter what albums Jebus puts on the list? I just go home and look up the albums from that year, and pick my favourite. Besides the Stone Roses I think I've voted other every week.
It is a tendency of a music forum that lists and polls get used quite a lot, but if something on that list can spark a discussion, then where's the harm?
16/09/2008, 7:28 AM
A very close call between QOTSA 'Songs for the Deaf' and Doves 'Last Broadcast'. Went for the QOTSA, the drumming in that album is amazing. Superb album. Doves album mightily close, one of the singles of the decade (There Goes The Fear) for me in there. Audioslave for bronze, but Streets album is a definite milestone. Was Ash 'Free All Angels' 2002? If so, an outside shot too.
Wolfie
16/09/2008, 7:46 AM
A little bit harsh on Jebus, lads.
The "Best Of" polls must have been of some interest if dissenting voices are only appearing at 2002 having started at 1988!!!.
I think the "prescribed" list lends itself to debate and its been continually stressed that the "other" option is readily available and posters are more than welcome to choose it.
Now, all that sounds a bit licky - but I must make a stand for the good of the Music Forum!! :rolleyes: ;)
Oh yeah - I went for "Other" (:D) - Doves, The Last Broadcast.
16/09/2008, 10:44 AM
1) QOTSA
2) Libertines
3) Coral
16/09/2008, 12:11 PM
Scary Monsters...
And Superfranks?
Nope, I do rate Heathen a better album than SMSC. Great depth, more even and Slip Away being an older man's take on Ashes to Ashes (not as good though): though it doesn't have quite the peaks, its weaker songs are much stronger.
Think of it like the Norwich City team of 1992/3 in comparison to the Liverpool side of the same year - one was composed of supposed stars, and had some genuinely talented players, but finished 6th. Norwich's biggest name was Rob Newman, because he'd the same name as a comedian - they finished 3rd!
All hail the influx of reasonable people this morning. Gold star for all of you :)
This must be the most open poll yet (read into that what you want). If all us Others formed a coalition we would have ran away with it.
True, but that's been a devolping trend as we came into this decade and I expect it to continue. I'm struggling to think of one year this decade that an album fully caught the zeitgeist in the way an album like Stone Roses or What's The Story did. The Strokes Is This It? probably came closest, and that looks like winning in 2001, but not by the margin the others won by. As it stands I think the winner for this year will come from either the Libertines or QOTSA as a pattern has emerged on these polls whereby an album takes a day or two to shift into gear and pull away from everyone else.
Plus no 'Other' album has won one of these polls yet, and I thought this might be the year, given the omissions of Coldplay and Foo Fighters from the main list
16/09/2008, 1:43 PM
I think around this time, the Pop Star/Pop Stars/X-Factor/Fame Academy winners/rejects were ruling the charts with the same sound on every album, so it was harder for anything remotely unique to get a break.
It took a few years for the backlash to begin, and people started realising there was more to music than what Simon Cowell and Sharon Osbourne decide we should listen to.
16/09/2008, 3:49 PM
Bruce Springsteen - The Rising is a big omission and grabs my vote
GuisaSaigon
17/09/2008, 9:23 AM
Other - Felix Da Housecat - Kittenz And Thee Glitz
17/09/2008, 10:01 PM
other - Joey Ramone -Don't Worry About Me.
Camell Laird Social Club by Half Man Half Biscuit is also a very fine record.
Beavis
18/09/2008, 10:33 AM
Brilliant, I've been saying this for years :D
As mentioned, music is subjective so who am I to say what should be liked.
My problem is in my experience, most people following perfunctory, generic pop-rock are completely musically close-minded, and dismiss anything different at will.
18/09/2008, 11:15 AM
perfunctory, generic pop-rock
Like say... everything the Red Hot Chilli Peppers have done since 'Mother's Milk'? :)
Green_Hoop
22/09/2008, 11:47 AM
Gotta include "A Rush of Blood to the Head" from Colplay IMO, head and shoulders above the nominated Albums for 2002. And I wouldn't consider myself a coldplay "fan" by any means but compared to the above, miles apart..
Burny89
23/09/2008, 2:13 AM
So who won?