View Full Version : Latest 11/9 (2 matches)

11/09/2008, 7:16 PM
Dundalk and Athlone 1-1

St. Pats 0, Sporting Fingal..................................2 :eek::eek::eek:

HarpoJoyce
11/09/2008, 7:18 PM
Dundalk and Athlone 1-1

I'm a little shocked you put Sporting as the away team.

BillyG
11/09/2008, 7:38 PM
3-2 Pats now

11/09/2008, 7:42 PM
I'm a little shocked you put Sporting as the away team.

I did it deliberately to emphasis the scoreline. :)

BillyG
11/09/2008, 7:52 PM
Sporting 2 (Hynes 6, Hughes 18)
Pats 3 (Quigo 33, 42 Pen, Dempsey) HT

deecay
11/09/2008, 8:03 PM
Huge win for Sporting if they hold out. Pats seemed to have lost all sort of confidence - probably gonna be trashed in the uefa cup
Talk about jumping the gun

11/09/2008, 8:09 PM
Dundalk and Athlone 1-1

i know it doesn't matter to you premier division fans but its actually Dundalk -v- Kildare County......

bholg
11/09/2008, 8:14 PM
4-1 to dundalk now (Whelahan, Baker 2, Farrel)

finnpark
11/09/2008, 8:21 PM
St Pats are fairly leaking goals this weather.

Thats 5 in 2 matches and one of those matches against a 1st Division side.

How many will Hertha Berlin score? Are they better than Sporting Fingal?

11/09/2008, 8:28 PM
St Pats are fairly leaking goals this weather.

Thats 5 in 2 matches and one of those matches against a 1st Division side.
Getting a bit carried away there.

They were down to ten men before Bohs got the first the other night. Pretty sure they have a few first-teamers out at the moment as well.

11/09/2008, 8:46 PM
4-1 to dundalk now (Whelahan, Baker 2, Farrel)

nice to see that the aw baker boy is still doin the business. cant believe shams let him go...

BillyG
11/09/2008, 8:47 PM
Sporting 3
Pats 3

finnpark
11/09/2008, 8:49 PM
Another 1 :rolleyes: Harps would be a better option to send to Germany at this stage :D

Flexy
11/09/2008, 8:53 PM
Another 1 :rolleyes: Harps would be a better option to send to Germany at this stage :D
more to the point another xtra game for pats just what they didnt need at this time of the season

finnpark
11/09/2008, 8:58 PM
more to the point another xtra game for pats just what they didnt need at this time of the season

Yes, they are in crisis alright. Hertha Berlin won their first UEFA Cup game 8-1. :eek:

I think they may be a little better than Fingal but am not sure

It could be another potentially historic night for Irish football in ruins :mad:

11/09/2008, 9:01 PM
It could be another potentially historic night for Irish football in ruins :mad:

Atleast it won't be worse than the most embarassing ever - yourselves against Derby Co. :rolleyes:

11/09/2008, 9:13 PM
Looking at Pats web site it is hard to see when the replay can be played. Only open slot is the weekend before the semi final. Maybe a league game will be moved?

I don't think this will affect the Uefa Cup games as the players should be able to refocus with reasonable break.

11/09/2008, 9:14 PM
Have a look at the picture of Colm James celebrating the equaliser next to the RTE match report (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0911/fingal_stpats.html). It looks like he's eaten half the Pat's team and he's hungry for more!

11/09/2008, 9:18 PM
Replay Sept 26th according to the RTE report.

Battery Rover
11/09/2008, 9:35 PM
Replay Sept 26th according to the RTE report.

Which means we have to arrange another fixture for a week night.

As if it isn't hard enough to survive the last time we last played a game at home on a weekend was against Kildare on the 19th July and seeing as the Fingal one is going to be moved it will be the 11th October against Shelbourne before the next one.

the-blue-harp
11/09/2008, 9:36 PM
fair fecks to fingal!:)

11/09/2008, 9:44 PM
Which means we have to arrange another fixture for a week night.

As if it isn't hard enough to survive the last time we last played a game at home on a weekend was against Kildare on the 19th July and seeing as the Fingal one is going to be moved it will be the 11th October against Shelbourne before the next one.

That's harsh alright, it's hard to get people out at the best of times but especially midweek when there's little to play for. The Champions League will be starting soon too.

Battery Rover
11/09/2008, 9:50 PM
Just thought as well I have a match sponsor for that one and they specifically requested a Saturday night game:mad:

stamullendrog
11/09/2008, 10:05 PM
wouldnt be running down pats off the back of tonight.probably had one eye on next week thinking they would cruise it and i reckon that sporting side is decent enough by 1st division standards.anyone get the pats line up

11/09/2008, 11:23 PM
fair fecks to fingal!:)

why? a team with a big if not the biggest budget in the first division? a team almost made up entirely of prem div players? Id give them credit for motivating themselves to play week in week out with one of the worst supported clubs ever on a par with another one man solo run thing Dublin City.

12/09/2008, 8:35 AM
Sporting are rubbish too. Worst team we've played all season. Definitely no premier standard. we gifted them 3 goals (and not sure the equaliser was a penalty either). wait until you see the first goal on TV. As bad a goal defensively as you'll ever see. Joe O'Cearuillhad the single worst performance I've ever seen in a pats jersey. Harris was shocking too.

We put out probably as strong a team as we could but if all fit, a max of 4/5 players would be playing. If Fahey, Quigley and Gavin don't play in berlin its going to be a long night. Quigley was kicked in the air by Robbie Doyle inthe 90th minute. An absolute shocking attempt at a tackle. Dreadful stuff

Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 8:38 AM
Was at the game really enjoyed, if you were there you would not have been able to tell who was premier and who was first. Sporting got a deserved draw.

12/09/2008, 8:52 AM
Pats might be a bit depressed after last week, but that's no excuse to let down the whole league against this shower of chancers.

12/09/2008, 8:55 AM
Pats might be a bit depressed after last week, but that's no excuse to let down the whole league against this shower of chancers.

WTF? Strangest post on here in w long while. Which si saying something giving the amount of freaks and geeks we have here

boris
12/09/2008, 11:15 AM
good to see all the good will towards a football team with a serious team of investors behind it. and sure what would any thread be without some limerick negativity. support is above average for the first division. fingal operate on a budget lower than most premier clubs other than ucd maybe, so a good result against big club. looking forward to the replay.

12/09/2008, 11:31 AM
just blame fingal for everything!!!!!
That's not a bad default position.

While clearly it is difficult for shell-shocked Pats fans to digest, at a time when the LoI is on its knees, a club that is essentially some alderman's pet project and that represents a bizarre local administrative unit where no one actually lives is the last thing the game needs.

12/09/2008, 12:02 PM
While clearly it is difficult for shell-shocked Pats fans to digest, at a time when the LoI is on its knees, a club that is essentially some alderman's pet project and that represents a bizarre local administrative unit where no one actually lives is the last thing the game needs.

You're right. Pats drawing away to fingal is probably the worst atrocity ever committed to the league. We should all just kill ourselves now and put an end to this misery

Olander
12/09/2008, 12:54 PM
WTF? Strangest post on here in w long while. Which si saying something giving the amount of freaks and geeks we have here

Hey! leave the ucd lads out of this . they are just "different" ;)

12/09/2008, 1:09 PM
You're right. Pats drawing away to fingal is probably the worst atrocity ever committed to the league. We should all just kill ourselves now and put an end to this misery
It's about dignity, really.

the-blue-harp
14/09/2008, 12:13 AM
why? a team with a big if not the biggest budget in the first division? a team almost made up entirely of prem div players? Id give them credit for motivating themselves to play week in week out with one of the worst supported clubs ever on a par with another one man solo run thing Dublin City.

its their biggest result to date, so fair play to them! why not!:confused:

skitz3
14/09/2008, 1:49 AM

WTF? Most defensive post on here in a while which is saying something given (That G-I-V-E-N, Bill) the amount of Derry and Cork fans on here

stamullendrog
14/09/2008, 10:17 AM
good to see all the good will towards a football team with a serious team of investors behind it. and sure what would any thread be without some limerick negativity. support is above average for the first division. fingal operate on a budget lower than most premier clubs other than ucd maybe, so a good result against big club. looking forward to the replay.

why didnt the fingal county council take an exsisting team under there wing and help them out with a new ground(cough shels cough) than putting another team into the already over crowded dublin market

HarpoJoyce
14/09/2008, 11:38 AM
why didnt the fingal county council take an exsisting team under there wing and help them out with a new ground(cough shels cough) than putting another team into the already over crowded dublin market

The short answer to say, ask them. they have a number of avenues of communication you may try.

Just to be clear. It is agreed that a local municipality Fingal CC, is investing in Irish football. That a good place to start on common ground.

They are practising a healthy European model of investing and promoting sports in their local community.

Sporting Fingal FC are using an historical and important Dublin venue, regular. Good again, more agreement I hope.

Sporting Fingal's initial intention was to begin with an 'A' Division side. The Reserve/Support/Third tier Division, unfortunately through circumstances outside their control and juristiction a place in the eircom First Division was offered. Their ambition and confidence was a contributing factor in accepting that place.

UCD AFC have lost tangible assets to Sporting Fingal.

Fingal CC invest in their area and you cannot expect them to reach outside that.

(I will keep the '5 portions of fruit a day' and 'eat more fibre' arguments in reserve for later)

wexfordned
14/09/2008, 4:12 PM
Wayside 1 Bohs 6

Fair play to Wayside for actually scoring a goal against bohs. When is the draw for semi finals

14/09/2008, 4:28 PM
Bohs demolished Wayside today. It could've been more than six.

Bohemian1890
14/09/2008, 6:45 PM
Wayside were terrible Bohs should have got a lot more than 6 and Wayside should have had only 9 men by full time they were very dirty.

14/09/2008, 9:56 PM
Wayside should have had only 9 men by full time they were very dirty.

Something we experienced big time too.

14/09/2008, 9:59 PM
Well, McGuiness was lucky to stay on the pitch for Bohs as well.

I was shocked that their player wasn't at least booked for the clash with Joxer late in the second half.

14/09/2008, 10:11 PM
Just out of interest who was the ref in the Wayside Bohs game?

14/09/2008, 11:24 PM
Ian Stokes. Not a popular man with the Bohs fans.

dublinwanderer
15/09/2008, 10:34 AM
Well, McGuiness was lucky to stay on the pitch for Bohs as well.

I was shocked that their player wasn't at least booked for the clash with Joxer late in the second half.

mcguinness should have gotta red card, wayside player was clear on goal and taken out of it, didnt even get booked for it... as the other late incident involving joxer the wayside player should have got sent off... think the ref knew the match was over and didnt want the hassle of extra paper work!!!

Youths4Ever
15/09/2008, 7:40 PM
Wexford 2 - 1 Fingal at half time

Youths4Ever
15/09/2008, 8:15 PM
2-2 now doyle with equaliser for fingal