View Full Version : College 2-0 Derry

dcnags
25/09/2003, 11:04 PM
Fair play on yer match tonight.good win, derry are tough enough to beat home or away, as proven by st pats!!:D

Theres hope for ye yet!!

Hey Derry:
"going down, going down, going down"

Come on the ucd fans, sing up!!!

ger121
25/09/2003, 11:27 PM
Good job tonight lads, Do I hear the theme song from the great escape on the way:D

25/09/2003, 11:38 PM
dcnags

Thanks for the vote of confidence. After this weeks results, I believe we can make the play-off spot. We have started to keep clean sheets , and we have started to win games and what's more win them away from home. You can't get much further away from home than the Brandywell. Derry's 2 back matches are against Bohs and Drogheda, 2 teams who need the points for different reasons. By the time they catch up with us in terms of games played we may well only be 2 points adrift of them. This was a big game for U.C.D. to win tonight a real 6 pointer and the new management team are making their presence felt.

Pete and Eddie feel they have points to prove. They will be allowed the time and space to prove them at Belfield. So will the players. If we continue this run we may yet overtake the Drogs and consign them to the play-off. Now as Alanis Morrisette might say " That would be ironic!"

Oh and the best of all would be for Bray to accompany Finn Harps back to the top flight. Which would mean ( assuming U.C.D avoid the play-off by finishing 8th) That a certain team from Louth would have derby games again. And U.C.D. would have our Derby with the Wanderers back too. Great games great gates great atmosphere. Heady stuff... a long way to go yet

:ball: :ball:

yur man
26/09/2003, 2:42 AM
game on!

26/09/2003, 4:40 PM
Originally posted by CollegeTillIDie
...Oh and the best of all would be for Bray to accompany Finn Harps back to the top flight. Which would mean ( assuming U.C.D avoid the play-off by finishing 8th) That ...U.C.D. would have our Derby with the Wanderers back too. Great games great gates great atmosphere....

Yeah, but Bray away games? :(

As Aberdonian Stu said today, if we beat Drogs twice, we only need to match their other results to stay ahead of them. Staying up is far from an unrealistic hope.

26/09/2003, 4:45 PM
Just back home from Derry hi!

A great win but Derry were really poor. Hoof, hoof, hoof and it didn’t work at all. I’m not surprised Keely left, the style of football they were playing was painful to watch.

The goals were well taken although I didn’t see the first one properly (I was hanging a flag at the time) but Bambi seemed to finish it well. The second was right in front of us, a good run by Bambi again down the right and I thought he’d held onto it too long but he timed it well to Johnny Martin who had an easy enough finish. Apparently Bambi looked offside for the second goal but I didn’t notice.

The Derry fans were pretty pi$$ed off but they seemed happier when they heard that Keely was gone.

A great away trip! :D

And CollegetillIdie, what are you smoking?! What great games or great atmosphere has there been at Bray games?!

26/09/2003, 4:47 PM
I think this deserves its own thread too, don't you think. :)

26/09/2003, 4:59 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
I think this deserves its own thread too, don't you think. :)

Absolutely.

Could you post a match report, with the teams and stuff. :)

I met Pat Burke again today. He seemed pleased about the win, but appears to be limping again (though he claims that he just waddles naturally!)

27/09/2003, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by ger121
Do I hear the theme song from the great escape on the way:D

2003 remix!:D :D

27/09/2003, 1:03 PM

I was getting nostalgic for the 1980's when the teams started playing one another first. We couldn't beat them for years, a real bogey team . Despite that fact we were promoted ahead of them in 1988/89 on goal difference. The teams used to kick lumps out of each other , while the supporters used to get along an awful lot better than that on the sidelines. Games between the two teams in the First Division regularly pulled in crowds in excess of 800.

The games were usually tight. Bray either held us to a draw or won by the odd goal. The first time we ever beat them in 1993-94 was a 2-0 win at the Carlisle Grounds. Two superb strikes by Darren O'Brien. The second game at Carlisle Grounds that season, they beat us 1-0 to deprive us of a promotion play-off spot. But the three points were not enough to prevent them coming second last and having to seek re-election.

Also in the 1990's the year Trinity(Scheidt) made it to the F.A.I. Cup Bray knocked us out in the First Round thus preventing us Meeting Trinners in Round 2 ( They{TCD} managed to beat Parkvilla 4-0 from the Leinster Senior League in their First Round tie ). Bray got them in Round 2 and for the only time in my life I supported Trinners ( it was against Bray in fairness) they bloody well lost 3-0. Trinners had 3 ex-UCD players in their ranks that day in Martin Mulligan (goalie) Defender Stephen Merriman and midfielder Ultan McCabe. I tell you we have a historical rivalry with that lot. Which is why I want them back in the Premier ( and another handy 12 points next season for U.C.D.):ball:

29/09/2003, 4:56 PM
Originally posted by John83
Could you post a match report, with the teams and stuff. :)

Try to put up what I remember...

Basically, we missed the start of the game because Ciarán and Schumi insisted on strolling from the chipper to the game despite me telling them repeatedly that we were going to be late. A big wander around the whole town by mistake meant that we weren't in the Oak Grove before the match and so had to buy our tickets from the slot conveniently located 50 yards away from the turnstiles, which meant more walking and more of the match missed.

The game really wasn't up to much. I think our first attack was our goal. We were hanging up flags at the time, and I just happened to look out from behind it to see the ball in the net, so I can't tell you what I thought of it. By all accounts, though, it was woeful defending from Derry but credit to Bambi for a good finish.

Derry nearly equalised a few minutes later when Jennings was very slow off his line to get to a header over the top from a corner and Holt scored, but apparently he'd punched the ball into the net and got booked. Didn't see it, even though it was right in front of me, but the ref was very quickly on the spot, so given him the benefit there.

For the first half, so Derry were doing their usual trick of hoofing theball and being as physical as a Six County GAA team. I think they picked up at least three bookings overall, although they had toned down from the last time we were there. The second half opened up a bit, and Bambi Gallen (apparently offside) put in a cross which Johnny Martin did exceptionally well to steer past Gough with two defenders on him. He then did the Chicken Tonight dance for some reason.

So Derry threw everything at us, but a combination of the defence (especially Micko) playing brilliantly and Derry being rubbish and hoofing too often saw them not threaten us that often, even though we sat back quite a bit. Derry hit the post when I could have sworn they'd scored - want to see tonight what happened, but apparently someone hit Jennings on the chin and then the rebound hit the bar! They hit the bar again, and later the post (although Jennings had it well covered - we initially thought it was a corner, but he'd let it go). We had the better chances though - Rooney and Gallen both found themselves clean through only for their touch to let them down and Gough came out to save. Rooney also skinned their right back for pace and Gough tipped his shot from a narrow angle wide.

By the end though, it was desperation stuff from Derry and, hoof as much as they like, they got nowhere and we held on comfortably enough in the end.

Ratings -

Jennings 6 (not much to do; dodgy for the goal disallowed though)
Ryan 7
McAuley 8 (very solid under the high ball; always composed as well)
McNally 7
Sullivan 7
O'Donnell 9 (headed clear on numerous occasions, tackled, harried, didn't give the ball away. Man of the match - from Derry fans!)
Cawley 8 (Sprayed the ball around well - still doesn't like getting back)
Martin 8
Griffin 7
Rooney 7 (Should have scored once, if not twice. Uses pace well, but hasn't adjusted to standard yet. Has good potential though)
Gallen 7 (As Rooney)

dcnags
16/11/2003, 9:14 PM
Originally posted by dcnags
Fair play on yer match tonight.good win, derry are tough enough to beat home or away, as proven by st pats!!:D

Theres hope for ye yet!!

Hey Derry:
"going down, going down, going down"

Come on the ucd fans, sing up!!!

Quoting myself might be a bit odd but how right i was, i know derry have a few in hand on ye but the pressures on them to perform and with ye beating drogs we thought we might do ye a little favour and beat derry. I think ye can make the play offs but it'll be tough so good luck. Who are your last few games against?
? How do ye think does your position look?

17/11/2003, 12:50 PM
Originally posted by dcnags
Who are your last few games against?
? How do ye think does your position look?

Pat's away and Longford at home.

Dwogs have the top three, with only Bohs at home.

Four points for us and none for the Drogs and we're eighth!:eek:

Six points for us and two for the Drogs and we stay up too!

Reckon it'll be another play-off though.