View Full Version : "Legends" come to Town

hollocaine
10/09/2008, 10:16 PM
http://ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=0986ba27-584e-4b3c-bd67-32acb3a9f865

Can't wait to see the great Steve Howey in action again!

10/09/2008, 10:38 PM
There's a few more names to be confirmed as well I hear. Gary Pallister and possibly a former Man Utd player and Irish international who's not Roy Keane!. Apparently the expenses aren't going to be too unreasonable so hopefully the meal and the game can raise a few quid for the club. Should be a bit of sport anyway.

Salmon Coloured
10/09/2008, 11:22 PM
There's a few more names to be confirmed as well I hear. Gary Pallister and possibly a former Man Utd player and Irish international who's not Roy Keane!. Apparently the expenses aren't going to be too unreasonable so hopefully the meal and the game can raise a few quid for the club. Should be a bit of sport anyway.

A former Man Utd & Irish International? Its hardly Captain Sensibiliteeeeeeeee, Physicaliteeeeeeeee, Tacticiteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, ferociteeeeeeeeeeeeeee, abiliteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Positiviteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee FRANK STAPLETON? If so then im there. I only have one request, theres gotta be decent spuds with the meal in PVs.

10/09/2008, 11:28 PM
A former Man Utd & Irish International? Its hardly Captain Sensibiliteeeeeeeee, Physicaliteeeeeeeee, Tacticiteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, ferociteeeeeeeeeeeeeee, abiliteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Positiviteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee FRANK STAPLETON? If so then im there. I only have one request, theres gotta be decent spuds with the meal in PVs.

Not so far as I'm aware but maybe his Killashee "nephews" can have a word! No it's a more recent player than that. He's "90% coming" but he's to confirm later in the month apparently so we'll see.

Salmon Coloured
10/09/2008, 11:30 PM
Killasheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeee, Marteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Tallanted
10/09/2008, 11:58 PM
Denis Irwin methinks??

11/09/2008, 12:02 AM
You might say that but I couldn't possibly comment :). As I said though he hasn't confirmed 100% yet.

deecay
11/09/2008, 1:59 AM
Are they playing a Longford team or each other?

Tallanted
11/09/2008, 2:43 AM
From website:

Premiership Legends come to Town
Yesterday, 10:56PM

Lee Sharpe, Craig Hignett, Mark Walters and Steve Howey are just some of a host of Premiership stars that will play for the Premiership Legends against Longford Town on October 4th next in Flancare Park. Former United, Liverpool, Leeds, Newcastle and Middlesboro legends will all feature. The game will kick off at 6.00pm and will be followed by a dinner in PV's. Full details will be announced on the website in the coming days, including the other guest players and ticket information.

11/09/2008, 7:08 AM
Is this the same crowd that Galway owe €17,000 to (or something to that effect)

11/09/2008, 7:13 AM
Uncle Frank's back in Town! Great stuff. That said I did get to speak to the great man when he was co-commentating for an Under 21 match for Sky. God he was miserable. He was no relation to me after that.

11/09/2008, 8:01 AM
possibly a former Man Utd player and Irish international who's not Roy Keane!
Ashley Grimes

11/09/2008, 8:03 AM
Meh, will bring in a few quid anyway. Bring the lovely loyal locals of Longford (it rolls off the tounge!) who cannot get off their arses to support us otherwise, but give them a big auld day out and sure they will be there in their droves.

Battery Rover
11/09/2008, 10:34 AM
Was in contact with a company about doing this in Lissywoollen as well and thought that with the economic slowdown the outlay compared to profit ratio wasn't worth the risk. I think they charge a lump sum and then a percentage of ticket sales on top of that.

Anyways best of luck with it and I hope it works out.

Massop 10
11/09/2008, 10:35 AM
I don't care who or how many turn up once the club don't think that us REAL fans in SECTION O are going to be moved to accomadate the sunshiners like the cup game a few years ago against Galway when we ended up in section P !!!!

11/09/2008, 11:01 AM
Was in contact with a company about doing this in Lissywoollen as well and thought that with the economic slowdown the outlay compared to profit ratio wasn't worth the risk. I think they charge a lump sum and then a percentage of ticket sales on top of that.

Anyways best of luck with it and I hope it works out.

This crowd aren't charging anything except flights and accomodation as far as I know. It's not a company who specialises in this so there's no percentage of ticket sales to them. Somebody (I'm not sure who) had connections to some of the players and they're organising a gang of them amongst themselves to come over for a weekend, playing golf the day after etc. Massop, I don't think you need have any fears on that score to be honest. And Macy, no and it ain't Brian Carey either!.

11/09/2008, 11:35 AM
Must talk to someone in the club saturday and offer to put up a few posters down my neck of the woods for it.

11/09/2008, 11:56 AM
And Macy, no and it ain't Brian Carey either!.
Liam O'Brien

11/09/2008, 12:06 PM
Liam O'Brien

No, you've worn me down, it is in fact Paddy 'the Cat' Roche.*

*statement may contain some element of untruth.

11/09/2008, 12:13 PM
I'm still not going unless Ralph Milne is playing.

11/09/2008, 12:17 PM
No Ralphie but Giuliano Maiorana is looking forward to it immensely by all accounts. I think all the players should be fairly recent so hopefully we'll get some of the Premiership fans to part with their hard earned cash.

Salmon Coloured
11/09/2008, 12:26 PM
Is it Kevin Moran? Is it Denis Irwin? Make sure Jan Molby isnt playing, I dont think we can afford to get the pitch steamrolled after him, or the half time snacks. He can have a chicken bucket before or after the game, his choice. And thats that.
Some other entertainment thoughts for apres game in the Clubhouse, how about celebrity Scrabble with Ray Wilkins commentating on a mike? We could have people like Peter Kelly up against Norman Whiteside.
Or howabout "Whose Urine is this anyway?" We could have young Councillor Flaherty go into the mens bogs after one of the celebs has taken a James Riddle & try & guess which one of them it was. First prize could be a weekend in Moate or something.

11/09/2008, 12:34 PM
Is it Kevin Moran? Is it Denis Irwin? Make sure Jan Molby isnt playing, I dont think we can afford to get the pitch steamrolled after him, or the half time snacks. He can have a chicken bucket before or after the game, his choice. And thats that.
Some other entertainment thoughts for apres game in the Clubhouse, how about celebrity Scrabble with Ray Wilkins commentating on a mike? We could have people like Peter Kelly up against Norman Whiteside.
Or howabout "Whose Urine is this anyway?" We could have young Councillor Flaherty go into the mens bogs after one of the celebs has taken a James Riddle & try & guess which one of them it was. First prize could be a weekend in Moate or something.

It's one of those aforementioned Irish internationals and it's not Kevin Moran. I don't think Jan Molby will make it, something to do with the weight restrictions on Ryanair flights. Celebrity scrabble with 'Butch' Wilkins could be a goer alright, bonus points for appropriate use of the words "terrific" and "Richard".

11/09/2008, 12:52 PM
I'd definitely make it if the Shankill Skinhead was playing, never mind to see him wipe the floor with Peter Kelly. He'd hammer him in scrabble too (might've been hard, but he's intelligent too).

Nipper
11/09/2008, 6:34 PM
This event is crying out for Matt le Tissier.

Not only is he a regular in PVs - he luncheons there en route to his secret lovenest on Croak Patrick - but he was baptised by Cathal Daly.

Mr Maroon
11/09/2008, 6:54 PM
Be careful with legends matches ;)

11/09/2008, 7:02 PM
Be careful with legends matches ;)

Wise words but this one is apparently a lot less expensive than the one currently causing ye bother!. They're doing it out of the love they have for LTFC ;) .

11/09/2008, 7:30 PM
Yep, Lee Sharpe is a huge fan of the Town apparantly. Is he still going out with Abi Titmuss? We could bring her to Section O. Or is Kym Ryder out of Corrie he's squiring now?

11/09/2008, 7:39 PM
Not a notion who Sharpey's shuffling these days but you can find out from the man himself on October 4th if it means that much to you Pauro ;).

11/09/2008, 8:03 PM
will Ian Wexler be lining out?

11/09/2008, 8:27 PM
will Ian Wexler be lining out?

Who knows? Trying to pin down a man such as Wexler is almost an impossibility in these turbulent times. His last reported station was behind enemy lines in Kandahar, fighting the good fight and leading the war on terror. I don't think any of us can ever know the truth.

11/09/2008, 8:38 PM
Not so far as I'm aware but maybe his Killashee "nephews" can have a word! No it's a more recent player than that. He's "90% coming" but he's to confirm later in the month apparently so we'll see.

myself and pauro 76 spoke to at the ireland under 21 match a few years ago that was televised on sky and he didnt want to know.. :( so i dont want to speak to him ever again..:mad:

11/09/2008, 8:39 PM
Killasheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeee, Marteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

salmon coloured and poetry in motion = beautiful serenation!

11/09/2008, 8:44 PM
myself and pauro 76 spoke to at the ireland under 21 match a few years ago that was televised on sky and he didnt want to know.. :( so i dont want to speak to him ever again..:mad:

His loss Marty! Ah he's supposed to be an awful misery guts alright. What was it Cascarino said?, "Frank is the sort of guy who smiles at himself in the mirror in the morning just to get it out of the way". That about sums him up, I believe he got absolutely p*ssed on that night, it wouldn't have improved his humour any.

11/09/2008, 8:44 PM
i am surprised that noone mentioned the great paul mcgrath isnt he now playin for some over 40s team now and out of his skin??

11/09/2008, 10:08 PM
Not a notion who Sharpey's shuffling these days but you can find out from the man himself on October 4th if it means that much to you Pauro ;).
Hello Lee Sharpe!!! Sounds good, was always a fan of Sharpe :D

11/09/2008, 10:41 PM
Who knows? Trying to pin down a man such as Wexler is almost an impossibility in these turbulent times. His last reported station was behind enemy lines in Kandahar, fighting the good fight and leading the war on terror. I don't think any of us can ever know the truth.

not a legends game without The Wex im afraid

call it off..call it off i say!!!!!!!!!:mad:

11/09/2008, 11:33 PM
Craig Hignett...Big name.

The Longfordianiteish will come in their droves to see him.

11/09/2008, 11:40 PM
Hignett isn't even the biggest name of the four announced to be honest but it's he who's organising the other players to come over. There will be bigger names present on the night hopefully.

12/09/2008, 12:25 AM
eh...I take it Sarcasm hasn't quite reached Longford yet then...

12/09/2008, 12:55 AM
"Eh.." I knew you didnt consider Hignett to be a big name, I was agreeing with you, just pointing out that there'll be others. Ok?. Anyhow if you're being sarcastic to us simple folk in future you just go :rolleyes: . It'll remove any doubt.

12/09/2008, 12:57 AM
I'd rather not "eye roll" people...No touch of class with it;)

12/09/2008, 7:16 AM

Feck this, Im going to be Sharpey's wingman. :)

12/09/2008, 8:03 AM
Get Neil Ruddock over, be good to go for a decent drink with him :)

12/09/2008, 8:31 AM
Get Neil Ruddock over, be good to go for a decent drink with him :)

I remember back in the day when Lee Sharpe was on the cover on Match magazine every single week. Then came along a young lad called Ryan.... Surely Eric Cantona would love to grace the Flansiro? Id love to see him do a kung fu job on Massop 10 if he gives him a bit of stick on the terraces. ;)

12/09/2008, 8:41 AM
Hignett isn't even the biggest name of the four announced to be honest but it's he who's organising the other players to come over. There will be bigger names present on the night hopefully.

Craig Hignett was always good for a few points in my Fantasy League team back in the day.

ltfc_2004
12/09/2008, 9:15 AM
Thinking back in the day meeting Gary Pallister and Keith O'Neill in the Turks Head with a few of the Maynooth boys and going on an all night session with them, some drinkers them boys ............. and complete dirtbags from the stories they told us !!!

anyway the legends will take one look around Blue and be off like a shot to a classier venue like Visions !!!!

Massop 10
12/09/2008, 9:34 AM
He wouldn't have the balls to kung-fu me :D I'd take him anyday !!

12/09/2008, 10:11 AM
He wouldn't have the balls to kung-fu me :D I'd take him anyday !!

I'd be surprised if Eric could jump these days never kind do a kung-fu kick. Im sure you're well able for him Massop 10. :)

12/09/2008, 10:27 AM
Yeah Eric is a little portlier these days alright. He'd still have the skills though.