View Full Version : "Legends" come to Town
and complete dirtbags from the stories they told us !!!
You or them?
16/09/2008, 4:07 PM
A couple more names confirmed including Gary Kelly.
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=f233d951-07af-4a68-8688-7bbc0e28969b
01/10/2008, 8:17 AM
So then, many heading to this? Shall make the treck up have my team of huskies and my sled at the ready.. is it 20euro in?
01/10/2008, 9:17 AM
Read in a dodgy gossip mag (belonging to my sister before you ask, there was nothing else to read....) that Lee Sharpe has broken up with his 'squeeze' Emma Gardener. So that means Sharpey is holding out for a Longford lass. You heard it here first.
hollocaine
01/10/2008, 10:25 AM
Admission is the same as normal (15 euro for adults) *. The cause isn't helped by the fact that a Liverpool Legends team are playing a Finn Harps Legends team in Ballybofey on Saturday as well. The after match dinner in PV's is sold out however.
* Btw I hope the club are planning on reducing admission charges for next season. 10 euro is enough for adult prices to have to watch/endure what we've seen this season.
Salmon Coloured
01/10/2008, 11:42 AM
Yup ill be there. Im morbidly looking forward to the amount of Longford locals who will turn up in Man Utd & Liverpool gear with their young families dressed the same. I tell ya it could be a sickening sight. If they do then they are monkeys.
Will there be any bunting set up for the occasion outside or inside the ground?
01/10/2008, 12:10 PM
Yup ill be there. Im morbidly looking forward to the amount of Longford locals who will turn up in Man Utd & Liverpool gear with their young families dressed the same. I tell ya it could be a sickening sight. If they do then they are monkeys.
Will there be any bunting set up for the occasion outside or inside the ground?
Not sure about bunting but apparently there will a statue of Lee Sharp carved entirely out of teak on offer...
01/10/2008, 12:22 PM
Admission is the same as normal (15 euro for adults) *. The cause isn't helped by the fact that a Liverpool Legends team are playing a Finn Harps Legends team in Ballybofey on Saturday as well. The after match dinner in PV's is sold out however.
Not sure how much that'll affect it to be honest. I dont think they're banking on an absolutely huge crowd turning up. The dinner has covered all costs already so whatever kind of crowd turns up is profit. Apparently Shannonside and the club are running/going to run a competition allowing the winner or their nominee to play with the Legends for 30 minutes. So if you've always wanted to show up Lee Sharpe or Craig Hignett now's your chance!. A few old school Town players coming down as well apparently.
a statue of Lee Sharp
Lee Sharpe and dropped e's - those where the days....
01/10/2008, 12:44 PM
I'm absolutely gutted I'm missing out on this. Chants for the occasion?
To Lee Sharpe:
Tune: Glory, Glory Halleluia
'We all slept with Abi Titmuss, we all slept with Abi Titmuss'
Salmon Coloured
01/10/2008, 3:11 PM
Not sure about bunting but apparently there will a statue of Lee Sharp carved entirely out of teak on offer...
Absolute quality! I knew Teak would get involved. Thats it, the way I want to die is in a teak crafted type of Wicker man scenario, except its not a Wicker Man its a Teak Marty Stapo. You can have me blazing away in it in the centre circle of the Flansiro the day the Town win the League.
01/10/2008, 3:21 PM
Is that Premier League only or...?. We could make a Town remake of The Wicker Man. Not sure who'll play the landlord's daughter mind you, but it could be fun finding out.
01/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Absolute quality! I knew Teak would get involved. Thats it, the way I want to die is in a teak crafted type of Wicker man scenario, except its not a Wicker Man its a Teak Marty Stapo. You can have me blazing away in it in the centre circle of the Flansiro the day the Town win the League.
nice to see my name used in vain salmon coloured...;)
Salmon Coloured
02/10/2008, 7:59 AM
Not only that Marty but you are being crafted in Teak & i will be burned alive inside of you. Dana will be performing the initial blaze.
02/10/2008, 8:09 AM
Maybe we could have Pascal playing 'Yippee I O' for the umpteenth time as background music.
02/10/2008, 11:52 PM
More names added. Lee Martin is a blast from the past and watch out for David May (Superstar, got more medals than Shearer) trying to get into every photograph like he did in Barcelona. Looking forward to this now after the win tonight.
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=f369d127-a2d3-4170-b59e-3a2d653fffb3
Edit: Seems David May is no longer mentioned.
03/10/2008, 1:00 PM
I'm still hoping they manage to drag Neil Ruddock over :)
03/10/2008, 1:04 PM
The Ryanair charges might be prohibitive. We'd have to ship him over.
03/10/2008, 4:08 PM
Line up confirmed for Legends Game
Today, 4:54PM
The team consist of former Irish Intrnationals Gary Kelly, Curtis Fleming and Liam O'Brien. O'Briens former teammate at Newcastle Kevin Scott looks to be a first choice central defender.
Man Utd FA Cup hero from 1990 Lee Martin is also in the travelling squad, Martin is best remembered for his winning goal for Utd. in the 1990 Cup Final versus Crystal Palace.After leaving Man Utd he moved to Celtic. Paul Dalton is a Utd player from the same era, from Utd he moved to Hartlepool to build a very sucessful career.
Northern Ireland and Middlesborough are represented by Terry Cochrane, Terry will long be remember for his goal against England which help Northern Ireland win the Home Nations Championship.
John Hendrie had a long career in top flight football and is still held in high esteem from his playing days with Leeds, Newcastle and 'Boro.
And finally the man who helped assemble the squad is Middlesboro and Blackburn star Craig Hignett.
So there is 9 of them?! No lee sharpe?! wtf are we gona do with the 20 foot high teak statue?!
03/10/2008, 4:15 PM
There must be a couple more coming I'd say, they're not going to play with nine surely?. Sharpe must have got word of the "tribute" to him and gotten scared.
03/10/2008, 4:19 PM
I see no mention of David May, I was using him as a major selling point to drag a few along ;)
03/10/2008, 4:31 PM
Somebody must have jumped the gun on that one, it was up last night that he and Martin were coming. I'm sure his legions of adoring fans will be crushed. Looks like a few who had promised Hignett they'd do it have pulled out. Obviously not enough money in it for them. Still at least there's a few names people will know. Some Town legends to make guest appearances too I think.
Salmon Coloured
03/10/2008, 7:47 PM
Where did Steve bloody Howie go? Thought he was coming? This isnt the Premiership Legends its Mid Life crisis Athletic over for a couple of days of golf. I see some tickets have been "Returned" for the dinner. Could we get some clarification if the dinner has been moved to Luigis?
03/10/2008, 8:46 PM
I'd say there's not many tickets remaining. It was actually sold out during the week. Obviously some "stars" decided it wasn't worth their while for the small beans they were getting. Oh well should be a bit of craic anyway.
Salmon Coloured
04/10/2008, 12:08 AM
I hope theres a big fight at the game.Would make for an interesting few minutes when the soups being served. Any sign of Dennis Irwin or Gary Pallister?
04/10/2008, 2:20 AM
No they got caught in a wife swapping sting operation by the News Of The World so understandably have more things on their mind.*
*The above sentence has absolutely no basis in fact and is in no way intended to sully the reputations of Messrs. Pallister & Irwin or their wives.
In all seriousness, Pallister's wife is ill I believe and Irwin probably doesn't love Craig Hignett enough.
04/10/2008, 8:12 PM
it was a very competitive game tonight and the town won 4-2 after going 2-0 down.. Douglas with two. darren mckenna and a andy bermingham screamer.. very disappointin crowd.. the highlight of the nite was sectionoite and foot.ies own massop 10 coming on as sub .. he had two chances to score and didnt score.. that will shut u up for a while eh??;)
great to see maccer play for us again with vinny perth again -a bit like old times!! counted only seven-eight of the premiership legends were premiership legends.. wot happened to the rest???:confused:
04/10/2008, 8:15 PM
what were the teams?
Massop 10
04/10/2008, 8:34 PM
Before I defend myself (make excuses) I want to thank the club for giving me the great oppertunity to play tonight because anyone who is close to me knows how hard the last 18 months has been for me so to be able to walk out at an event like that with them 2 teams of legends was realy something that i will never forget and i want to thank the Legends for been so good to me before and after the game.
Now I have to say that the first was a BAD miss although it didn't miss by much but i couldn't score the second chance cos it would be cheating. Ah crap ok i fluffed my shot :( Marty I'll still be the same don't worry :D
04/10/2008, 9:33 PM
Before I defend myself (make excuses) I want to thank the club for giving me the great oppertunity to play tonight because anyone who is close to me knows how hard the last 18 months has been for me so to be able to walk out at an event like that with them 2 teams of legends was realy something that i will never forget and i want to thank the Legends for been so good to me before and after the game.
Now I have to say that the first was a BAD miss although it didn't miss by much but i couldn't score the second chance cos it would be cheating. Ah crap ok i fluffed my shot :( Marty I'll still be the same don't worry :D
We were only having a slaggin, would have been the same if any of us had got out there. I personally would have had a minor stroke, running! Was a shame the turn out. The legengds still have that vital touch, I think they just got tired in the end!
TBH as a non Longford person I grow more and more in hate of the area, the same c Unts who will bitch about everything would not get off their arses to goto the game. I'm sure a cup final they would be out. It is a nationwide problem but really annoys me. A TELL tale sign after every game the majority o the cars drive away from the Town itself. To some ******* going a mile out of their way is too much. Yet these same people will bitch about how bad everything is with us.
05/10/2008, 12:35 AM
What was the attendance?
Massop 10
05/10/2008, 10:13 AM
I think maybe 500 were there which is shocking for a game like that, when i played in the Connaught senior league there were bigger crowds at some games !!!
Just want to thank the Section O lads as well cos the ribbing and the songs from them ment i found out what it is like to play against the FAMOUS SECTION O and it is fantastic so thanks lads :D
05/10/2008, 10:40 AM
I think maybe 500 were there which is shocking for a game like that, when i played in the Connaught senior league there were bigger crowds at some games !!!
Just want to thank the Section O lads as well cos the ribbing and the songs from them ment i found out what it is like to play against the FAMOUS SECTION O and it is fantastic so thanks lads :D
I would say there was no way near 500. The stand was deserted. :o
05/10/2008, 11:54 AM
Only 500, hope this game doesn't end up costing ye money. Did the dinner afterwards sell out?
05/10/2008, 5:41 PM
There was only about 200 there. The weather put a lot of people off I'd say. Dinner was more or less sold out so we didn't lose any money but we didn't make very much either. The dinner was good craic afterwards, the 'Legends' were sound lads. I think they're going to try and come over again in the future and bring some different players over.
05/10/2008, 6:47 PM
**** the weather we have a stand in general the local "sporting" public were probably more worried about Man Utd playing Blackburn.
05/10/2008, 8:18 PM
Yeah I guess so but those that were half thinking of coming out would have had their minds made up for them by the weather.
05/10/2008, 8:26 PM
tbh longfordian there was very little publicity about the game .. there was very little posters around the place.. there wasnt much mention of it in the longford press the only way you would have known is if you read the sports pages..
I also think the clubs decision to charge one hundred euro for the dinner was not on.. a lot of ordinary supporters couldnt afford that amount of money... the more time that passes the more im convinced that the club dont give a damn about the ordinary supporter.. and i know the majority of the posters that post on this agree with me wholeheartedly on this..:mad:
05/10/2008, 8:31 PM
adriano, only rising you btw.. how did you find out by the way? because I had heard no word from you at half four so i was goin to bring the togs.. then i got a text from the club cpo...
05/10/2008, 9:24 PM
Just to say Fremanis looked great when he was playing. Excellent first touch etc. Shame we couldnt have managed to sign him properly. Those pesky deadlines... oh we hate the paperwork we do.
Massop 10
05/10/2008, 11:19 PM
I went straight out after doing an hours sprinting and jogging :( (our game was called off) damn refs !!!! So i still had my gear with me when Pat told me.
Have to agree with you marty it's not easy for someone like me that is out of work ill to pay e100 for a ticket, thats 2 or 3 weeks food for me now !!!!!!! There is no excuse though that more people didn't go to the game as it was the same price as all games this season, they would be there for cup finals though - rain, hail or gale force wind !
06/10/2008, 12:50 AM
tbh longfordian there was very little publicity about the game .. there was very little posters around the place.. there wasnt much mention of it in the longford press the only way you would have known is if you read the sports pages..
I also think the clubs decision to charge one hundred euro for the dinner was not on.. a lot of ordinary supporters couldnt afford that amount of money... the more time that passes the more im convinced that the club dont give a damn about the ordinary supporter.. and i know the majority of the posters that post on this agree with me wholeheartedly on this..:mad:
It was on Shannonside all week as well though Marty. The dinner was meant as a fundraiser and if they hadn't charged that amount they'd be a significant amount out of pocket. The dinner itself was a five course meal with wine and cost about €40 or €50 at cost price to the club I believe. I agree it's a fair bit of money but nobody was forced to go or anything, the price was set out well in advance and it more or less sold out so I don't see the problem. I paid it and that was my choice and the same applied to everyone else. If you remember the prices of the ordinary club dinner dances in the last couple of years were only €20 or €25. The club committee aren't exactly a bunch of fat cats burning €50 notes in the boardroom. They're just members who went forward for election the same as you or I could do. To differentiate between them and the "ordinary fan" is a bit silly in my opinion.
06/10/2008, 8:55 PM
It was on Shannonside all week as well though Marty. The dinner was meant as a fundraiser and if they hadn't charged that amount they'd be a significant amount out of pocket. The dinner itself was a five course meal with wine and cost about €40 or €50 at cost price to the club I believe. I agree it's a fair bit of money but nobody was forced to go or anything, the price was set out well in advance and it more or less sold out so I don't see the problem. I paid it and that was my choice and the same applied to everyone else. If you remember the prices of the ordinary club dinner dances in the last couple of years were only €20 or €25. The club committee aren't exactly a bunch of fat cats burning €50 notes in the boardroom. They're just members who went forward for election the same as you or I could do. To differentiate between them and the "ordinary fan" is a bit silly in my opinion.
fair enough point longfordian but these are not just my points of view but from other town supporters were at the match that nite.. so long as the club made some money out of the occasion i can accept that.. wot would I know anyway?
can we be friends again?
07/10/2008, 12:54 AM
Unfortunately the club made very little out of the occasion but I just don't understand the argument about people beng excluded. For starters it was a limited capacity venue then you have the fact that it also included your match admission fee of €15 plus free programme (woohoo). Then there's the cost of the dinner. Anyhow, it's not worth a debate, and don't worry Martinho it's never personal on here!.
I was laid up sick all weekend, but my brother was there as proxy (he went the stand the judas). Anyway, I'd say the turn out was to do with weather and the not so legendary status of the premier league legends (if that leaked on the day). Still it could've been worse given the outcome some other clubs have had with these ventures...
07/10/2008, 10:44 AM
TBH the 100 for the fundraiser dinner was grand imho. The idea was the fundraise...
10/10/2008, 12:07 PM
Just back from NY. Poor Massop. Now he knows what its like when someone from Section O shouts abuse at him! ;-)