View Full Version : Gary Kelly Quits

NigeSausagepump
25/09/2003, 7:46 AM
He retired yesterday from international football.

Doubt he would have got a look in at right back again anyway, but may have been a useful option on the right side of midfield. Not a staggering loss though, I would venture.

25/09/2003, 8:57 AM
Always funny to see a player retire when he not even getting called up to the irish squad.

Still think Kelly would have been a handy squad player but obviously he'd have trouble getting in ahead of Carr & Finnan.

opplock
25/09/2003, 1:01 PM
How about first of all you two ungrateful fans thank Gary for his 52 caps of trying, sweating for the cause and no little skill. Thanks Gary good luck with the rest of your career.

Ozymandias
25/09/2003, 1:05 PM
ya just got in before me...well done Gary thanks for the memories......Germany in hanover and that stupid wig in usa 94....

best of luck to him..he never let us down

NorthoftheLee
25/09/2003, 1:39 PM
the boy did always try his hardest for the team.......and as mentioned, left some very fond memories...........

best of luck to him with the rest of his career...........

johnmac
25/09/2003, 2:29 PM
First of all can I join with those who wish Gary the very best of luck in the future.

Gary gave brilliant service to Ireland, and in my opinion would still be a very useful squad member, covering both fullback positions and midfield.

Yes it is true that during the last couple of seasons we have not seen him at his best, but he has alway given club and country 100%.

Let us not forget also (like Niall Quinn) his tremendously generous gesture in ggving all the proceeds of his testimonial game to charity.

Thanks for the memories Gary.

25/09/2003, 3:11 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
...I'm extremely disappointed and surprised with his decision. It should be a singular honour to play for your country, not something to cast off for the sake of squeezing in a few more games in the Carling Cup against Nationwide opposition...Kelly had a great season at club level last year, he should be looking to get back into the Irish set up and not walking out...

Have to agree totally. He's only 29 for God's sake!

liamon
25/09/2003, 3:30 PM
Has he given a reason for retiring?
He's young (ish) and doesn't have any major injury AFAIK.
So what gives?
A little over 12 months ago he was playing in the World Cup.
He's good enough and young enough. Why quit?:confused:

25/09/2003, 4:23 PM
Not to go against everyones opinion here but yet again the old "He's never let Ireland down" comes out.

Holland at home anyone?

Lets face it, since his injuries he's not the player he was and as a right back he'd be behind Finnan and Carr. On top of that, if those two were out, I'd argue we'd more likely see O''Shea there then Kelly, and to be honest looking at him right now, not being the player he was, there's not alot between him and Kenna either.

He hasn't been in a squad since McCarthy left and, being frank, he wouldn't have played as much during the world cup if McCarthy wasn't there to begin with, and I'd imagine he knows that. McCarthy stuck loyal to his favourites, often at the expence of superior players, and Kelly was one of those McCarthy favourites. Starting him and leaving Finnan on the bench against Cameroon was something that should have had the men in white coats coming after Mick right there.

Still, don't take this the wrong way, in his prime he was an excellent right back but I find it hard to wish him well since we all know the sole reason he's retireing is he'll never get a look in now that McCarthys gone and that seems a bit childish to me, he's only 29! but still, I'll not forget the good memories of him playing for us back in his prime.

25/09/2003, 4:34 PM
Originally posted by opplock
How about first of all you two ungrateful fans thank.

Where was i ungrateful towards Kelly?

I thought he did a good job for Ireland but was just saying players often retire when not not been in the squad for a while & possibly never would be again.

NigeSausagepump
25/09/2003, 4:53 PM
Originally posted by opplock
How about first of all you two ungrateful fans thank Gary for his 52 caps of trying, sweating for the cause and no little skill. Thanks Gary good luck with the rest of your career.

If you can prove to me that Gary is a sometime browser of this board, I will be only too happy to articulate my feelings towards his contribution to the cause. Until I am furnished with such evidence, I will restrict my comments to how his retirement will affect the team and the 50-odd players who do still want to play for Ireland and are up to the requisite standard.

nlgbbbblth
25/09/2003, 5:34 PM
never rated Gary Kelly

hate the way he looks like Jimmy in Fair City

anyone who retires that early from International football is a traitor - and should be forced out of the game for good

you could always "make yourself available for selection " - like Kenna

The Blue Oyster
25/09/2003, 7:01 PM
he is no major loss. hopefully gary breen will be next.

Greenbod
26/09/2003, 8:27 AM
Originally posted by Slash/ED
Not to go against everyones opinion here but yet again the old "He's never let Ireland down" comes out.

Holland at home anyone?

This "letting Ireland down" business really gets on my wick. Having a bad game or making mistakes during a game is NOT letting Ireland down. Most of the players accused of letting Ireland down (Breen, Kilbane, Harte, now Kelly) have always given 100% while wearing the green despite their limitations. This is not letting anyone down.

Letting Ireland down is quitting while still having something to offer. There have been quite a few of these lately. Kelly now falls into this category. The biggest culprit being Roy Keane however, who did it on the eve of the World Cup causing hugh disruption.

Ozymandias
26/09/2003, 9:05 AM
Jaysus..let that chestnut ly will ya greenbod..there is another thread for that.....
Lads we all know he hasn't been in the squad we all know he wasn't the greatest defender..but he did have some good times in the green and was at times our best full back... Being called a traitor is excessive...the guy knows his goose is cooked and has left thats his choice....rather than be ommitted from the squad for Portugal (if we qualify)... he did paly over fifty times in the green that deserves to be recognised no matter who you are and respected

26/09/2003, 4:45 PM
Originally posted by THE BLUE OYSTER
he is no major loss. hopefully gary breen will be next.

Now that's uncalled for. Breen may be inconsistant at times, and he's hardly the best defender on the planet, but his performances for Ireland have always been to the best of his ability, and he doesn't deserve that. His recent form for Ireland has been particularly good.

carnstein
26/09/2003, 5:00 PM
I think Gary Kelly is a traitor who has walked out on his country.

See how stupid that sounds all Roy Keane haters?

26/09/2003, 8:54 PM
I was surprised when I heard the news but players like Kelly who aren't playing, and Kiely are right not to waste their time travelling to sit on the bench for 90 minutes. Kelly has served his country well and leave it be. So did Roy Keane. And so does Breen, to the best he is able.

Condex
27/09/2003, 7:50 AM
Playing for Ireland is not only about doing your best.
On that basis I would play for Ireland.

You need ability and some our squad have are limited in this department.

29/09/2003, 8:29 AM
Gary Kelly - Traitor, should never be allowed to set foot in Ireland again....

btw Gary Kelly has not been in the Ireland squads because he chose not too. He chose to rest his shin splints for club games during the international breaks - I mean what difference does 6 games a year make?

Greenbod
29/09/2003, 9:22 AM
Originally posted by Condex
Playing for Ireland is not only about doing your best.
On that basis I would play for Ireland.

You need ability and some our squad have are limited in this department.

Condex, yes on that basis you could play for Ireland. However, I think you're forgetting one small factor. You need to be selected.

If you were selected and turned out to be as ****e as I suspect (nothing personal;) , I would still not blame you for letting Ireland down (provided you gave 100% of course). No, the blame would lie with the idiot who selected you in the first place.

That's why it annoys me when people accuse some of our players of letting us down when they are obviously doing their best.

29/09/2003, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by Macy
Gary Kelly - Traitor, should never be allowed to set foot in Ireland again....

btw Gary Kelly has not been in the Ireland squads because he chose not too. He chose to rest his shin splints for club games during the international breaks - I mean what difference does 6 games a year make?

So McCarthy let us down by being thick enough to pick him, a Leeds reserve, and leave out the best right back in the premiership against Cameroon?

29/09/2003, 11:31 AM
I see that Gary Kelly has retired, probably owing to me finally declaring for Ireland as a right sided midfielder. Now is a good time to re-state my claim for the right of midfield berth.

I'm still waiting Brian.

As far as I know, Terry Phelan was dying to play for the country just before the World Cup, at the age of 35. Is he still playing for Charleston in the States? I reckon he would be glad to play left full for us if Brian called him up, though that might leave Finnan on the bench if I'm on the right of midfield.

BLUEBEARD FOR IRELAND

29/09/2003, 11:33 AM
This trend of players retiring from international duty is bloody ridiculous in my eyes. For a lot of them it's basically a way of showing their manager that they're good boys who are putting their clubs first. Whatever. If that's how they feel good luck to them. But Kelly (and Keane and Kiely before him) could and should all still be Ireland squad members. They have chosen not to make themselves available to represent their country and that staggers me.

Likewise I don't buy this line about not wanting to risk their health. All these guys are established pros who bring new meaning to the word wealthy. If they're that worried about their health they can easily afford to retire completely from the game and spend time with the wife and kids/the dog/down the bookies or whatever. I know that the three amigos mentioned above gave their all every time they played for Ireland and I admire and respect that. However their decision to ditch international football is not one I can understand.

01/10/2003, 10:20 PM
Agreed. Although I respect the decision that they made, quitting on your country by saying you need the rest is a bit odd. I don't think they are referring to the 6 matches a year though, I think they are more put out by the tournaments during the summer which gives them very little time to recover for the new season.

03/10/2003, 2:50 AM
F*UCKING JUDAS B'STARD
TRAITOR

KELLY IS A TRAITOR
HE WEARS A TRAITORS HAT.............................

:D :D :D :D

03/10/2003, 8:19 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
This trend of players retiring from international duty is bloody ridiculous in my eyes etc
Personally I think it's up to them, and even if you don't except the injury line, if they think it'll extend their club careers who can blame them really (on at least 15k a week for the other two, 50k a week for keano).....

btw Kiely retired because he was getting picked and basically said there was no point of him turning up.

Originally posted by Slash/ED
So McCarthy let us down by being thick enough to pick him, a Leeds reserve, and leave out the best right back in the premiership against Cameroon?
Not sure what your getting at, but I was refering to the fact that he hadn't made himself available for Kerr......