View Full Version : County looking to go top

Estar
23/09/2003, 9:31 AM
Kildare County can go top of the eircom First Division with a victory over Monaghan United at Century Homes Park on Tuesday evening while at the Showgrounds, Sligo Rovers and Galway United will both be hoping to maintain their play-off hopes.

With a game in hand, Kildare have the perfect opportunity to go top of the table with a victory over bottom club Monaghan United (Kick off 8:00).

“It’s all about getting a win, hopefully we’re looking down at everyone from the top of the table on Tuesday night,” manager Eric Hannigan said.

Hannigan is hoping for a better performance from his players after a lacklustre performance in Saturday’s 1-1 home draw against Limerick and may shuffle his pack with Marc Kenny (knee) and Shay Zeller (ankle) facing late fitness tests.

Monaghan’s season has been disappointing as they have slipped to the bottom of the table and new manager Mick Cooke is hoping to breath life into the fight to avoid re-election.

“There are plenty of games to go to avoid re-election and it’s also great that we can have a say in the title. We must play all the top teams in the last series of games and hopefully we can take points off them,” he said.

With just 15 fit players to choose from, Monaghan’s side will lack experience as Cooke was forced to draft in a number of Under 21 players for his first game in charge – a 1-0 defeat to Athlone.

David Nicholl is suspended for the game while Vladimir Munteanu will start in goal and Rory O’Connor in midfield.

23/09/2003, 9:53 AM
Monaghan 0 Kildare County 2.
Yet another soapy special!!!

Estar
23/09/2003, 12:08 PM
Hope your correct with the socre.

It would be nice to put pressure on the other three:D

Krusty The Mon
23/09/2003, 5:50 PM
mick cooke to lead us to victory tonite.

Ringo
24/09/2003, 7:33 AM
Ye, can look all yeh want boy's, its not going to happen:p

Countyman
24/09/2003, 10:20 AM
2 chances to go top and we blew it.

we have not been playing well but at least we are avoiding defeat and have come from behind a lot recently which speaks volumes about the character in the team.

Im not too despondant. 1 point between the top 4 with 11 games to go and a guaranteed 3 points against Dublin Home Farm Everton Fingal City. ;)

Being top on the last day is all that matters.

Its certainly exciting.

Estar
24/09/2003, 12:28 PM
Just shows how much Shay Zellor and Marc Kenny are being missed:(

Are they back for the Galway match?

Countyman
24/09/2003, 2:21 PM
Wasn't at the monaghan game so dont know if the 2 lads played or not but I know they were facing late fitness tests. If that was the case then more than likely they could be in the squad for the galway game.

Having said that I heard Kenny's injury could be worse than first thought so we'll probably just have to wait until saturday.

I think we are missing that little bit of guile that Kenny posseses.

If Hughes gets injured though we are FUBAR :rolleyes:

Estar
24/09/2003, 2:38 PM
Originally posted by Countyman

If Hughes gets injured though we are FUBAR :rolleyes:

Without a doubt.

Barry O'Connor has had two great games against Galway this season, lets hope he can bang a few in on Saturday. Hope he starts to hit form soon and dosen't do a Keith O'Connor on us.:D

Magic Mon
26/09/2003, 10:36 AM
Neither of thm played vMUFC
And if yous think you can do anything in the premier playing like that, forget it. Monaghan were the better team and only for Stevie Wonder the lino we would have won. (The goal was a MILE offside)

Gus03
27/09/2003, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by Magic Mon
Neither of thm played vMUFC
And if yous think you can do anything in the premier playing like that, forget it. Monaghan were the better team and only for Stevie Wonder the lino we would have won. (The goal was a MILE offside)

If we do get to the premier Division, you can count on us doing better than Monaghan have done in the past. As for the goal do you want me to play the violin for you. Kildare for the league.