View Full Version : World Cup Qualifying Group 8
08/07/2009, 1:44 PM
So we've the exact same run in as Bulgaria, except we're home to Italy and they're away, and they've the game in hand at home against Georgia?
Worked out nicely.
Brendan 82
08/07/2009, 2:29 PM
Its a good thing that at least Cyprus will be missing Michalis Constantinou when we play them (suspended). Their recent slump to Montenegro after leading by two goals shows that their defense is still fairly error prone. They also seem to have had some poorish friendly results at home lately too. Maybe they were a bit of a better side a couple years ago. If we can keep it tight and get a goal I hope we can scrape the three points out of there.
Got to expect Bulgaria will beat Monty at home on that same day; then we can sit back and enjoy Italy vs Bulgaria a couple days later. I'm interested to hear what result people are hoping for in that game...? I'd love it if Bulgaria got their tails up just enough to get a draw for themselves in Italy. With Petrov and Bozhinov in better shape it is possible. It would leave them precariuosly still in the hunt, but we need Italy to drop 2 points and that looks the best chance. If we win our last three in that situation, we would top the group. It would be so nice to avoid the playoffs, wishfull thinking but Italy did look bad at that Confederations Cup.
I think its fair to say that the fixture in Cyprus is winnable, and the last game, at home to Monty, should be entirely winnable if we were to actually beat Italy. You think we would beat Montenegro at home if the group was up for grabs.
If Ireland and Steven Reid are back fit and playing, we look a pretty good side in my opinion.
Gather round
08/07/2009, 2:45 PM
Three wins: you'll probably win the group.
Two wins (Cyprus and Montenegro): likely comfortable second and a play-off
Only one win: should still make second place, but touch and go as 16-17 points might miss out on the last play off place.
lionelhutz
09/07/2009, 2:35 PM
Team MP W D L GF GA Pts
Italy 6 4 2 0 9 3 14
Republic of Ireland 7 3 4 0 8 5 13
Bulgaria 6 1 5 0 6 4 8
Cyprus 6 1 2 3 6 9 5
Montenegro 6 0 4 2 5 8 4
Georgia 7 0 3 4 4 9 3
Wolfie
27/08/2009, 3:06 PM
Anyone aware of any channel screening the Italy v Bulgaria game on Wednesday 9th September?
27/08/2009, 3:24 PM
Anyone aware of any channel screening the Italy v Bulgaria game on Wednesday 9th September?
so far only RAI Uno which is free to air on Astra so most pubs that regularly show football will have it. If you have a motorised dish you should be able to pick it up.
If you can convince RTE that there will be Man Utd and Liverpool players playing they might show it.
A draw would be great but a Bulgarian win (unliekly I know) would be a total disaster.
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 3:46 PM
If you can convince RTE that there will be Man Utd and Liverpool players playing they might show it
RTE have been good for showing these type of games over the year when they were relevant in a big way to us. Denmark 1 Spain 0 / Denmark 1 N.Ireland 0 from 94 campaign and Cyprus 1 Portugal 3 from 02 campaign are 3 that spring to mind straight away. Oh and Bulgaria 0 Scotland 1, that was a big one to forget but it was before my time really!! Setanta showed the first game between Bulgaria and Italy but I don't think that means much now. It'll be on something anyway I'd say.
A draw would be great but a Bulgarian win (unliekly I know) would be a total disaster.
A Bulgarian win could be a dream result for us if we do our own stuff!! won't happen anyway.
Greenbod
27/08/2009, 4:03 PM
?? A bulgarian win would be the best possible result for us...giving us a real chance to win the group and qualify.
27/08/2009, 4:06 PM
An Italian win would consolidate second spot for us though, reducing the chances of missing out on the play-offs. Glass half-full/half-empty.
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 4:07 PM
?? A bulgarian win would be the best possible result for us...giving us a real chance to win the group and qualify.
To be fair it would also be the riskiest result for us as we could miss out completely. It would mean that we could very well have to win all 3 games which we're not very likely to do.
Greenbod
27/08/2009, 4:16 PM
An Italian win would consolidate second spot for us though, reducing the chances of missing out on the play-offs. Glass half-full/half-empty.
Well if Bulgaria win my glass is definitely half-full.......
The play-off is full of risk. At least we know what's facing us for the remainder of the group....we can win and qualify, but only if Italy drop as many points as possible.
Lenny82
27/08/2009, 5:18 PM
If Bulgaria beat Italy, Italy will definitely beat us as they will really have to up their game.
If Bulgaria win their last 4 games, and we get a draw against Italy and win our other 2 games, assuming Italy win their other 2 games aswell then we would finish 3rd on goal difference (most likely) despite a fantastic campaign. Again, too many draws would cost us dearly.
An Italy v Bulgaria draw is by far the best result for us. If I can't have a draw, I would definitely take an Italian win and settle for a play-off!!!
newrynyuk
28/08/2009, 10:54 AM
so far only RAI Uno which is free to air on Astra so most pubs that regularly show football will have it. If you have a motorised dish you should be able to pick it up.
RAI Uno is indeed usually free to air, but isn't it encrypted for football and other sporting events?
frog-gufc
28/08/2009, 11:22 AM
Ranking of second-placed teams
group Pld pts
4 Russia 5 12
7 France 5 10
5 Bosnia 5 9
6 Croatia 5 8
1 Hungary 4 7
2 Switz 4 7
8 R-Ireland 5 7
3 N-Ireland 5 7
9 Macedonia 6 7
heres the league currently , im not confident at all about eveing getting a playoff place looking at this table .
28/08/2009, 11:53 AM
Macedonia, N.Ireland, Croatia and others probably won't even get 2nd. That table is pretty useless imo.
28/08/2009, 12:58 PM
If Bulgaria beat Italy and assuming Italy and Bulgaria win their other games we will need to beat Italy to win the group. Failing that we'll be 3rd. I'd take my chances in a playoff rather than having to beat Italy at home. A draw in Turin is the perfect result as 3 wins then gives us the group but 2 wins gives us a playoff.
If we get at least 6 points (7 guarantees it) and finish 2nd we will get a playoff. To miss out with another 6 points would require Macedonia to win in Scotland and Norway and take us on goal difference or even more unlikely Scotland to beat Macedonia and then Holland and make up a massive goal differance. I can't see Macedonia having any chance of winning in Oslo and probably at best drawing in Scotland.
Even still I think 13 points will be enough for a playoff. In reality Norway will be a runner up on 12 points and may well sneak in ahead of Portugal/Sweden or the runner up in Northern Ireland's group
Greenforever
28/08/2009, 7:39 PM
Ranking of second-placed teams
group Pld pts
4 Russia 5 12
7 France 5 10
5 Bosnia 5 9
6 Croatia 5 8
1 Hungary 4 7
2 Switz 4 7
8 R-Ireland 5 7
3 N-Ireland 5 7
9 Macedonia 6 7
heres the league currently , im not confident at all about eveing getting a playoff place looking at this table .
Macedonia are unlikely to come 2nd and no matter which team comes 2nd in that group they will most likely have a max of 10 points, which if we draw with Cypprus and beat Montenegro we will have 11. Off course if Georgia pass Montenegro then we would have 13.
28/08/2009, 8:27 PM
Lads ye think the play-off is the promise land, id rather get to one obviouslly but id much prefer the option of having to beat italy at home, than to play a 2 leg play-off against some of the possible opponents. We would be no good in that situation, and id even say we have a better chance of beating Italy at home. In fact i could see us beating italy, drawing with montenegro and ending up losing a play-off
28/08/2009, 10:35 PM
Are you still in denial about the dire extent of your pessimism, Paul?
SuperDave
29/08/2009, 3:44 AM
I can see it now.... we draw the ****ing swiss in the play offs...
stiffler
29/08/2009, 6:56 AM
Well we should have enough motivatiion to beat them!
29/08/2009, 8:47 AM
Macedonia are unlikely to come 2nd and no matter which team comes 2nd in that group they will most likely have a max of 10 points, which if we draw with Cypprus and beat Montenegro we will have 11. Off course if Georgia pass Montenegro then we would have 13.
Norway need to beat Iceland A and Macedonia H to get to 12 points.
A draw in Cyprus might do but probably not. It might not even do for 2nd place. At this stage we need to win.
DeLorean
04/09/2009, 4:38 PM
I'd take it. They lost 2-1 at home to Luxembourg in this campaign and were awful in the Euros.
04/09/2009, 7:18 PM
RTÉ will be showing the Italy vs. Bulgaria game on Wednesday night by the way.
Got this feeling that Georgia will get a result..
04/09/2009, 8:07 PM
Got this feeling that Georgia will get a result..
Italy are missing De Rossi, Aquilani and Gattuso so Pirlo won't have his usual cover which he needs. Tblisi isn't an easy place to play and they're unbeaten there in their 3 games so far in this group.
SuperDave
05/09/2009, 5:43 PM
1-0 montenegro!! get in!!
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 5:44 PM
1-0 montenegro!! get in!!
Yesssssssss. Come on the Monty's
Eirambler
05/09/2009, 5:49 PM
Great stuff. 3 games on at once in our group and a whole load more in other groups that affect the 2nd place table. It's going to be a nightmare trying to keep up with everything and watch the Ireland match as well.
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 5:50 PM
Great stuff. 3 games on at once in our group and a whole load more in other groups that affect the 2nd place table. It's going to be a nightmare trying to keep up with everything and watch the Ireland match as well.
Stephen hawking turned down the gig
05/09/2009, 5:52 PM
I'm always working out permutations. My mates think I'm a bit weird like that but I honestly think that any Irish fan of my vintage cut his mathematical teeth working out what needs to happen for Ireland to qualify. I'm sure Noely & others are the same.
I can see ourselves, Italy & Bulgaria having serious difficulty earning points in the remaining games.
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 5:55 PM
I'm always working out permutations. My mates think I'm a bit weird like that but I honestly think that any Irish fan of my vintage cut his mathematical teeth working out what needs to happen for Ireland to qualify. I'm sure Noely & others are the same.
Worse than that Stuttgart. I remember hoping somehow inexplicably countries like New Zealand and China would go to war against one another so we could take their places after they got kicked out. Have been doing the perms and it is doing my head in. A win today would help no end.
Eirambler
05/09/2009, 5:56 PM
This could prove useful.
http://www.fifa.com/Live/Competitions/worldcup/preliminaries/matchday=8/index.html
Crosby87
05/09/2009, 6:00 PM
Good stuff.
Looking forward to the next couple of hours even if i have to pay 20 bucks for the priviledge of watching setanta before even getting ripped off on drinks...
05/09/2009, 6:03 PM
That Georgian crowd are sure fired up.
A win for Montnegro would put them on 7, still 6 points behind us no matter what happens for us tonight. so good scoreline so far really, only disadvantage is that it may give Italy an easy game next wed. Lets do our own stuff first, then consider the latest permutations. Seriously fecking nervous now.
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 6:06 PM
That Georgian crowd are sure fired up.
Good man Geysir. Can you keep us posted on the Georgia match. I'm afraid to change this channel (England v Slovenia) as the Ireland match is on directly after.
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 6:07 PM
This could prove useful.
http://www.fifa.com/Live/Competitions/worldcup/preliminaries/matchday=8/index.html
Excellent Eirambler
05/09/2009, 6:13 PM
stonewall hand ball, penalty denied for italy.
Georgia running on adrenalin, having most of the early action
05/09/2009, 6:14 PM
Camorenesi header just over.
Crowd go oooohhhhhh
Noelys Guitar
05/09/2009, 6:16 PM
Camorenesi header just over.
Crowd go oooohhhhhh
haha. What colour is the refs hair? Do Georgia look like the can spring a surprise?
05/09/2009, 6:18 PM
Jaquinta nearly in there one on one.
Don't hold out much hope for Georgia.
05/09/2009, 6:25 PM
Italy stroking the ball around confidently as the follically challenged, yellow shirted ref saunters about the pitch.
Georgian crowd are easily excited. I wonder what would happen if they did score.
Eirambler
05/09/2009, 6:26 PM
BBC saying its now 1-1 in Sofia.
Crosby87
05/09/2009, 6:27 PM
Kitchichev in injury time
Montenegrin
05/09/2009, 6:30 PM
Same thing every time.45th or 90th minute,referee gives foul to our opponents(whether it was or not) and they score.Every god damn time:mad:.
05/09/2009, 6:48 PM
Welcome to the world of European international football
No one loves the Bulgarians
05/09/2009, 6:51 PM
nil nil at ht in georgia
From the georgians I didn't see much more than a 50m grass cutter from the nr5 villi
SuperDave
05/09/2009, 6:54 PM
anyone know the story with our suspensions? who is one yellow away?
cudsy1
05/09/2009, 7:00 PM
eoin hand just mentioned whelan and one other player...maybe iven?
****, 1-1