View Full Version : Maybe not the correct place, but....

irishultra
02/09/2008, 11:28 PM
Are you happy in Ireland?
(If you live in this god forsaken place of course)

I don't come across it that much in real life, but on Internet sites like Boards.ie, I notice people really have nothing good to say about Ireland.

Everyone is always complaining about 'the ****e weather' or something like this.....

Well I must say I love Ireland. I was walking to the gym today and while I walked in the rain, I just got this feeling of content...ment(add the 'ment' if its proper English).......

So yeah do you like living in Ireland and why....anybody posting negativy will die.............a little inside...

Blue Man
02/09/2008, 11:46 PM
Ive recently left Ireland to play football in the States and I have to say after a month here, Im dying to get home. Missing all the small things! Real rashers, batch bread and brown sauce. Also miss the banter that is uniquely Irish. You just dont get humour like it anywhere else in the world. plus nobody here understands me

irishultra
02/09/2008, 11:51 PM
well yeah i was born in usa.....parents, one of whom is russian decided to go to the states for a few years back in the 90's.....they couldn't wait to get back to Éire.

I was there for a couple of weeks last month, and while there is positive aspects..I found it very laid back, just something is missing.

03/09/2008, 12:02 AM
I'm proud to be Irish.

But I don't want to live here when I finish college. I'm off then.

There's many reasons why I can't stand living in Ireland, a lot's to do with the majority of Irish people. I could go on for hours and hours about why Irish people continuously **** me off, but I won't.

A brief summary of it would be that we are a nation of moaners who begrudge everybody. We moan but we never do anything about it. It drives me mad and I know that I'm afflicted by this mentality as well.

Anyway, I'll stop before I get going.

I can't stand living here (moaning, see?) and I can't wait to leave.

03/09/2008, 7:27 AM
Have to say I wasnt entirely happy when I was living there. The obsession with material things with the Celtic tiger being one of them, price of general living, being ripped off left right and centre, crap transportation system, lack of decent jobs and the sh!te weather. But I absolutely love coming back. I wasnt too mad on Dublin nightlife but the more I come back, the more I enjoy it. The talent seems a lot better than when i first left too. Luckily I've a few Irish friends in London so the banter's the same, but miss the smaller things like soda bread, Mikado biscuits and Chef brown sauce. Till I discovered they stock them in Asda over here. I've had a few thoughts of moving back to Ireland, but i know i'll end up wanting to go somewhere else again, but I do love coming back and hope that doesnt change.

03/09/2008, 7:52 AM
I'm happyish , But I want to get out of here to experience other cultures and a different way of life , I'm sure that will make me appreciate being here even more .

03/09/2008, 9:02 AM
8 more years, 8 more years, 8 more years. That's my mantra. In 8 years my youngest lad will be finished school and I am selling up and moving to France. I cant wait. I cant handle this bloody climate. It plays havoc with my asthma. One minute it is beautiful, next I am soaked and dying with a cold which gets into my chest and I end up in hospital with pneumonia! Cant wait to live in the lavender fields of Provence and be able to breathe for a change. Also to be able to buy live's necessities (chesse, wine, bread, wine, fresh veg, wine and did I mention wine?) for next to nothing.

Oh to live in a wine induced drunken bubble for the rest of my days.

03/09/2008, 9:15 AM
The vast majority of people who complain about Ireland have no experience of living in other countries. There's a massive difference between being on holiday somewhere and living and working somewhere.

ANother sizeable chuck of peope are those who literally complain about everything. These people will never be satisfied or happy. They're not unhappy with Ireland, but with their miserable poxy lives. The location is immaterial

Ireland has lots and lots of problems, but so does everywhere else. If you focus on the negative, you're doomed anyway.

Enjoy your live irishultra, and don't let the *******s grind you down

03/09/2008, 9:26 AM
Having lived in Canada as a child and again for 3 months as a teenager I have a slight experience of living abroad but I agree with you mostly Dodge.

03/09/2008, 9:28 AM
Oh and thats not to say that everyone should stay in Ireland either. Go away, experience life in other countries. See what suits you best

03/09/2008, 9:33 AM
You telling me to leave? Thanks Dodge!

03/09/2008, 9:47 AM
I was just back in Ireland for the past week. I'd a great time, got to catch up with some good people, caught a bit of football, was fortunate enough to have some good weather. It was an interesting case of being really happy to have an extended visit, but even happier to not be living there anymore.

I'm living in London now, having been keen on moving for years. It is not perfect, but I am happier here than I had been in Ireland.

03/09/2008, 9:51 AM
horses for coarses.

frank, what you dont understand is if Irish people weren't this way, they would be different in all the ways that make us good as well, so whilst irish people do like to moan and complain its what balances out the other lets have the craic, lets not get down, lets be irish mentality. To counterbalance one would have drastic effects on the irish psyche. We would end up somewhere between the brits, reserved and the yanks loud and annoying.

Anyway lads and lassies having grown up in a small town in the west of ireland(called ashascragh! NOT!) moved and lived in dublin with only returning home once every 2 months or whatever, spending 5 years in Dub-land and a year in boston home for a while and then in England the last 5 years, I can safely say I have experienced other cultures, and the only place I have really enjoyed is the states, ye miss lots of things from home but they have irish counters over there etc and what not. I do think that I might miss London though if I did leave it, but not the same way as I miss other places.

Moral of the story is, far away hills are not necessarily greener. But I would always recommend people to travel. I think its great when I go home-home and see lads that would generally never have left the shores -of the county- to spend a year travelling abroad or in Oz.

Also London is a pot full to the brim of other cultures, and I can safely say I still haven't meant one as genuine and fun and easy going as the Irish and I mean that. Same in America, the Irish are unbeleiveably unique.

03/09/2008, 10:02 AM
I'm liking London at the moment, I've a circle of friends from other countries, something that may not have happened in Ireland where people just come and go. London as a city can be frustrating, packed tubes in the morning, the work to live culture, extortoniate prices for beer, but there's always alternatives for cheap drinking here. (Sam Smith's pubs for instance, £1.75 for a bitter!) But there is a refreshing outlook from the Irish here, it's kind of like stop complaining and get down the pub and have the craic. Think English people like the attitude too. And I've found it far easier to meet people here too.

boovidge
03/09/2008, 11:58 AM
I moved to Ireland about 4 or 5 months ago after living in England all my life and the only things i dislike about the place is not being able to get a decent pint and the obsession over British pop culture, football etc

03/09/2008, 12:02 PM
I have lived in a good few places...............Holland (great), Scotland (nice), London (fine for a year), China (strange!) and Korea (ok)

I am itching to go on my travels again, really itching. But unfortunately I cant what with job and family commitments...damn it

Its not that I dont like living here, just i love experiencing other cultures. I would love to go to japan and/or Australia

I always missed Ireland when i was abroad. I missed the craic with your mates, and the craziness of it all. The dodgy pubs and the fry ups the next morning. Sure London had that too, but I found the English hard to stick after a while.

We do complain a lot too, and our humour definitely takes a while to get used to, and often got me in major trouble abroad, but you cant beat it

Oh I lived in Wales too!!!:)

03/09/2008, 12:25 PM
Are you happy in Ireland?
Yes. Enjoy travelling (never lived abroad), but always find something (usually several things) in foreign places to make me realise Ireland's better. Can't ever see myself moving abroad. Foreign places are just strange, with no cider, no pub culture, eating at 9pm, looking left instead of right first when crossing the road...

Ireland does have a damn large "Grass is always greener over there" faction though, which I think is why so many people moan about things here (prices, politicians, the weather, the eL, etc). I'm happy to dismiss them all as ignorant fools though. :)

03/09/2008, 1:18 PM
Also London is a pot full to the brim of other cultures, and I can safely say I still haven't meant one as genuine and fun and easy going as the Irish and I mean that. Same in America, the Irish are unbeleiveably unique.
Yes we are!:D After 22 years living here, I love going 'home' to get my 'fix'(Food etc...). Would I live in Ireland again? Can't say never, but at this point in time, no. Apart from the economic reasons for leaving in the first place, the weather was also a major part of my initial decision. It's amazing how good weather improves your outlook on life in general. Personally, I think it is the underlying reason that people living at home moan as much as they do.

Having said that, you just can't beat the craic and banter that goes along with living in Ireland.

03/09/2008, 2:01 PM
Well after years of living in Scandinavia, I'm not going to complain about the weather. But anytime I do go back to Ireland I just feel at "home" and that's probably what I miss the most. That and the Sunday papers.

03/09/2008, 2:17 PM
I miss the pubs. I know not short of them here, but they're not very authentic, anyone can open an 'Oirish bar' here. Also not liking the pub chains and the high streets all looking the same, and the chav culture. Mind you, Ireland is getting like that these days too.

03/09/2008, 2:24 PM
I miss the pubs. I know not short of them here, but they're not very authentic, anyone can open an 'Oirish bar' here. Also not liking the pub chains and the high streets all looking the same, and the chav culture. Mind you, Ireland is getting like that these days too.

yeah those "O' Neills" pubs are a joke, who are they trying to fool

03/09/2008, 2:47 PM
I think Ireland's a great oul spot.
As for the country itself, I like it the size of it. You can get from one end to the other in around 8 hours, an hour if you fly.
I actually don't mind the weather. Looking out of my office on the 11th floor now, there's something strangely calming about not being able to see further than 1.5km through the rain. :) And sure it's just a bit of water, never did anyone any harm. I'd rather have what we have now than a continental climate of extreme cold in winter and heat in summer.
The best thing about this country though is the openness of the people. I've not come across anywhere else in the world where the people are as friendly as we are. Yes, we complain a lot, but that's only just cos we enjoy it. We love whinging about things and even listening to others whinging. But at the end of the day we'll always have a few quid for a pint and bit of craic down the pub.

One annoyance though is our small population. It's benefitial in a lot of ways, but when it comes to things like transport links it would be helpful if there was a few more million of us.

03/09/2008, 3:07 PM
One annoyance though is our small population. It's benefitial in a lot of ways, but when it comes to things like transport links it would be helpful if there was a few more million of us.
There wouldn't be enough counthry though. (Extra "h" inculded for authenthicity)

03/09/2008, 3:18 PM
frank, what you dont understand is if Irish people weren't this way, they would be different in all the ways that make us good as well, so whilst irish people do like to moan and complain its what balances out the other lets have the craic, lets not get down, lets be irish mentality.
Unfortunately, the "Let's Be Irish" attitude has us flocking over to Glasgow to support an "Irish" team, saying we're all Catholics when few of us go to mass (however, that can be easily repented by giving out anytime a "Prod" is nearby) and hating every "Brit" over something the regular people in England had nothing to do with, while at the same time depending on the UK for the tabloids, Corrie and football.

Sorry paul, you haven't changed my mind. The Irish mentality wrecks my head.

We would end up somewhere between the brits, reserved and the yanks loud and annoying.
But...we are loud and annoying.

If it's not some D4 one going "Oh...My...Gawd", it's some scumbag from Dublin roaring over the phone at his "mott" about "Anto and Deco" or some lad from Cork going on a mile a minute about how Cork is the "real" capital. :rolleyes:

As for the English...I've never met a "reserved" English person before. That stereotype's a bit out-dated, paul.

03/09/2008, 3:20 PM
There wouldn't be enough counthry though. (Extra "h" inculded for authenthicity)

I dunno. Our population density is 59 people/sq km. Just looking at others, Greece is 84, Denmark (roughly same population as us) is 127, Britain is 246, Netherlands is 395. I reckon we could squeeze a few more people in here.

03/09/2008, 3:39 PM
I dunno. Our population density is 59 people/sq km. Just looking at others, Greece is 84, Denmark (roughly same population as us) is 127, Britain is 246, Netherlands is 395. I reckon we could squeeze a few more people in here.

There is room in my house for at least one more person, as long as he is tall, dark (skinned and hair) and has no desire to murder me. (He will eventually want to murder me though)

stann
03/09/2008, 5:50 PM
I love it here and doubt I'll be moving anywhere until retirement at least. Have a couple of spots earmarked for looking at again when (if :eek: ) that happens, but for the minute am more than happy to be here.
Bit concerned about the nannification of the state that seems to be getting more and more out of hand, and the fact we seem incapable as a nation of ridding ourselves of governmental gob****es of all hues, but life in this country is pretty damn good it seems to me.
My life on the other hand...
...but to paraphrase Dodge that could be said by anyone anywhere. :D

beautifulrock
03/09/2008, 7:14 PM
Unfortunately, the "Let's Be Irish" attitude has us flocking over to Glasgow to support an "Irish" team, saying we're all Catholics when few of us go to mass (however, that can be easily repented by giving out anytime a "Prod" is nearby) and hating every "Brit" over something the regular people in England had nothing to do with, while at the same time depending on the UK for the tabloids, Corrie and football.

Sorry paul, you haven't changed my mind. The Irish mentality wrecks my head.

But...we are loud and annoying.

If it's not some D4 one going "Oh...My...Gawd", it's some scumbag from Dublin roaring over the phone at his "mott" about "Anto and Deco" or some lad from Cork going on a mile a minute about how Cork is the "real" capital. :rolleyes:

As for the English...I've never met a "reserved" English person before. That stereotype's a bit out-dated, paul.

much as I hate to agree with POS I am on his side here :) Frank, most of what you have replied is pure rubbish and it is you that is stereotyping. You need to get out of Ireland it would seem. ") years in London and as has been said plenty of reasons to like it but it is not and never will be Ireland. The unique irish humour and personaility is well recognised no matter what country I have ever been to.

As for reserved English there are plenty, give me a shout sometime and I will introduce you to 30 or 40 all in my office alone.

irishultra
03/09/2008, 7:48 PM
just looking at where i was in usa and it was 29 degrees today:(....its freezing outside

even san francisco was hot today!!!!

ken foree
03/09/2008, 11:59 PM
Frank, most of what you have replied is pure rubbish and it is you that is stereotyping.

well i'm glad that we can all agree that all yanks are "loud and annoying" at least. phew

04/09/2008, 7:13 AM
Apart from the sh1t weather, the all-pervading "I'm alright Jack" attitude of the populace, the primitive, self-interested nature of the political class, the utter, utter cluelesssness of the media on every topic under the sun, the paucity of culture, the astounding lack of public infrastructure, the lionisation of crooks and oligarchs as national heroes and role models, the poverty of national healthcare or any desire to improve it, the least sophisticated sporting culture in Europe, the loud, vulgar, overweight and routinely alcoholic people (and that's just the women), the complete erosion of social conscience or intellectual aspiration and their replacement by materialism and crass nationalism, the proliferation of humbugs, Shane Ross, Michael O'Leary, Van Morrsion, Mary Harney, John Delaney, Denis O'Brien, Bill O'Herlihy, Ken Earley, Michael McDowell, Dion Fanning, the f***ing Shinners, the Gah, Independent Newspapers and Brian Kennedy, this is a great little country.

I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork. Boll0cks to yiz all.

04/09/2008, 7:19 AM
I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)... And the fact that the Luas (although great looking and very modern), the two lines dont join together. Try explaining that to the tourists.

04/09/2008, 8:25 AM
I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)...
Loads too. Absolutely loads

04/09/2008, 8:36 AM
Loads too. Absolutely loads

It's pure bullsh!t. With all this money we had during the Celtic Tiger, we could have upgraded the road system from there. It's an absolute joke. Missed flight to London last week because of the match at Croke Park, and was absolutely crawling through traffic. Plenty of people on the same aircoach as me missed their flights too, absolute utter shambles. Rail system would solve it and i reckon it's a national embarassment that there's no rail system from the airport. Also dislike the fact that Ryanair is an Irish company. It's a byword for shoddy.

04/09/2008, 10:10 AM
I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork.

While everyone else is happy to cavil and complain (typical f***ing Irish), this man has been proactive and come up with a real solution that is both workable and worthwhile.

Sheirdan for whatever title he wants in the new Ireland!

Calcio Jack
04/09/2008, 12:17 PM
Apart from the sh1t weather, the all-pervading "I'm alright Jack" attitude of the populace, the primitive, self-interested nature of the political class, the utter, utter cluelesssness of the media on every topic under the sun, the paucity of culture, the astounding lack of public infrastructure, the lionisation of crooks and oligarchs as national heroes and role models, the poverty of national healthcare or any desire to improve it, the least sophisticated sporting culture in Europe, the loud, vulgar, overweight and routinely alcoholic people (and that's just the women), the complete erosion of social conscience or intellectual aspiration and their replacement by materialism and crass nationalism, the proliferation of humbugs, Shane Ross, Michael O'Leary, Van Morrsion, Mary Harney, John Delaney, Denis O'Brien, Bill O'Herlihy, Ken Earley, Michael McDowell, Dion Fanning, the f***ing Shinners, the Gah, Independent Newspapers and Brian Kennedy, this is a great little country.

I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork. Boll0cks to yiz all.

Add in the Catholic Church not paying adequate compo to the redress board and their ongoing stanglehold of national schools, culchie developers being allowed to destroy Dublin via backhanders to politicians, Derry City being allowed to play in our country, public servants benchmarking, SUVs allowed on city streets, and Peruvians playing their pan pipes on Grafton Street(is there a more boring cheesy sound in the whole world)...excluding Van Morrison then I think you have the subject nailed... luckily for me I have Rovers to counterbalence all the aforementioned crap and make it a pleasure to live here.

04/09/2008, 12:29 PM
I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)... And the fact that the Luas (although great looking and very modern), the two lines dont join together. Try explaining that to the tourists.
Yep, there's a fair few alright, though that doesn't make it any the less annoying. I'd say it's certainly one of the largest airports in Europe without a train connection though.

I'd say you could say similar for quite a lot of countries though.