View Full Version : Aaron Callaghan steps down
Keen2win
30/08/2008, 10:29 PM
Aaron has stepped down according to LTFC website:eek:
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=9b386d85-7ebd-4983-bfe5-e5951cd3d1a2
I think its fair to say that it has just got worse
Massop 10
30/08/2008, 11:28 PM
Don't think it got worse, maybe now it will get better. As i said on a previous thread I felt his time had come ! Thought he is a sound bloke but our season is starting to become a mirror image of what happened to Athlone when he was there. Be prepared for lots of "I told you so" comments from the Athlone fans cos they warned us that this would happen. Great coach but not a good manager. I thought this in resent months myself by his actions and the reaction he was getting from the team like the lack of passion and alot of players didn't seem to want to play for him. That is just my humble opinion from what i could see and certain things that I have heard !! Maybe now the deadwood will be left in the stand or on the bench and the hungry players who want to play and WIN will get a chance. Heres to the future.
31/08/2008, 4:45 AM
Aaron's a good guy and if he feels this is the way to go then good luck to him. It hasn't been going well lately and maybe Vinny & co can spark a turnaround. We'll see by the end of the season.
31/08/2008, 2:35 PM
Just on RTÉ Radio 1
Vinny Perth and another of the coaching staff to take temporary charge
EDIT: Feel free to close this - as I see there's already a thread tucked down in the Club bits on here which I never go in
Rovers Maniac
31/08/2008, 2:51 PM
I am not surprised from what i heard, hopefully Longford can get a man to replace asap.
31/08/2008, 7:49 PM
Im not surprised its happened. Best to let someone else take the reins, Vinny has a tough job on his hands. Best of luck Aaron by the way. He served us well as assistant and we cant begrudge him that.
31/08/2008, 8:27 PM
i was a bit surprised by the news of aaron quittin,, but in other ways he probably has brought the club as much as he can forward.. it must bein awful tough on him the last few mths.. i wish him all the best in the future.. whats happened to him as manager wont sour the memories I have of him as coach...
Vinny has an awful tough job ahead over the next few mths...
Rocky77
31/08/2008, 8:54 PM
Very disappointed with this turn of events. I don't think it was as cut-and-dried as him simply stepping down as the Athlone fans will no doubt say.
It was a rebuilding process and had to get worse before it got better, I'm not convinced everone on the board was fully appreciative of this.
Battery Rover
31/08/2008, 8:55 PM
Be prepared for lots of "I told you so" comments from the Athlone fans cos they warned us that this would happen.
Don't think you will get anyone on here saying that as we all thought he was doing a great job with ye:D
fitzpatrick10
31/08/2008, 9:07 PM
so much fot what he said at the start of the season :confused:
"we have a long term plan"
31/08/2008, 10:02 PM
hope they get everything sorted down there ASAP, Ski McGee for Longford?...
Sligoman thinks so
31/08/2008, 10:08 PM
He applied last time. I'm sure he'll apply again now he's at a loose end. There won't be any decisions until the end of the season anyway.
Inside Man
31/08/2008, 10:36 PM
Ski Magee is the Word so far.
so much fot what he said at the start of the season :confused:
"we have a long term plan"
And his long term plan was to be well away from Flancare if things were going títs up ...
01/09/2008, 8:06 AM
Well at least we saw a goal this time! It is going to be a long few months...
01/09/2008, 9:24 AM
Was a pleasure seeing all the Section O heads on Saturday! Shame about the result and the subsequent managerial upheaval but ah well....
atfconline
01/09/2008, 9:26 AM
Must say, that was some admirable abuse dished out to Kevin Williamson, Mons No.3, by Section O throughout the first half. :)
Battery Rover
01/09/2008, 9:33 AM
Must say, that was some admirable abuse dished out to Kevin Williamson, Mons No.3, by Section O throughout the first half. :)
That could have got very dangerous if someone was let over to Section O :eek:
01/09/2008, 10:00 AM
That was a wonderful bit of abuse indeed. Take a bow, you know who you are. :)
Massop 10
01/09/2008, 10:12 AM
Why could it have got "very dangerous if someone was let over to section O"? I'm curious now !!! On a differant note I want to wish Vinny all the luck in the world for the rest of the season and due to his lack of experiance I hope the people around him work hard and help him for their and our sake !
01/09/2008, 10:15 AM
What was said to him??!
Battery Rover
01/09/2008, 10:24 AM
Why could it have got "very dangerous if someone was let over to section O"? I'm curious now !!!
Lets just say he has a very passionate supporter who can get very worked up:D
01/09/2008, 10:25 AM
Wonder who that was? ;)
01/09/2008, 10:45 AM
Not trolling here lads, but Ski McGee would be a giant step backwards for any club. He is a buffoon of the highest order. Matthews wasn't speaking to him at Cork City for the past couple of weeks cos of his acting the clown with the players, pulling faces behind Matthews back during team talks etc, and his behaviour at L37 was nothing short of a joke.
Ye'd do well to steer clear of him. I'd job Roddy Collins first ffs, thats how bad he is.
01/09/2008, 5:25 PM
i am just wonderin now do the committee have regrets over the roddy collins affair.. were they not very hasty over this???:confused: didnt realise massop was heard the other side!!:p
01/09/2008, 5:25 PM
What was said to him??!
ronnie if you were sober you would have heard!!!:)
01/09/2008, 5:36 PM
Bar Marty I dont think any of you lads could be considered sober!
01/09/2008, 5:38 PM
I was far from sober to be honest. Let's dance put on your red shoes and dance the blues........ ;)
01/09/2008, 5:41 PM
i am just wonderin now do the committee have regrets over the roddy collins affair.. were they not very hasty over this???:confused: didnt realise massop was heard the other side!!:p
FFS Marty. There was never an offer made to consider, including or excluding Roddy. It was just bull. Plain and simple.
01/09/2008, 5:42 PM
FFS Marty. There was never an offer made to consider, including or excluding Roddy. It was just bull. Plain and simple.
grand longfordian that is that clarified so...
01/09/2008, 5:43 PM
Bar Marty I dont think any of you lads could be considered sober!
you caught me on a good nite magicme! ;)normally i would be following the lads but due to my hols in iceland im badly broke!!!;)
Massop 10
01/09/2008, 9:54 PM
Marty I'm just an innocent bystander ;) Nobody could hear me as I said nothing. Ecpecially nothing about anyone having a weight problem !!!!!!
i am just wonderin now do the committee have regrets over the roddy collins affair.. were they not very hasty over this???
Seriously Marty, is anyone regretting it? ffs, if you think it's bad now, imagine a year or two after that chancer was in charge...
02/09/2008, 8:17 AM
Was good to finally meet ya MagicMe. And hope your boys appreciated the glory of Luigi's. Despite the defeat, great craic being in the Section O again, even went back on the Bucky. Let's Dance.
There was Buckfast!?!?! Now I'm really pee'd off I missed it. Games are always great when you're drinking Bucky...
02/09/2008, 9:08 AM
Indeed myself, Benson and Ronnie were on the Bucky. Think it numbed the pain. Everything is great when you're drinking Bucky.
Blueandproud
02/09/2008, 4:51 PM
Appart from Paul McGee, is there anyone else in the frame for the job.
02/09/2008, 5:04 PM
We're not looking for a manager until the end of the season so we nobody really knows who'll be in the frame by then.
Salmon Coloured
02/09/2008, 6:37 PM
Roddy Collins, FFS Marty. At this stage Section O should be in management. Can we have no more about peoples weight also. Now go to Difallonis post & watch the vid.
02/09/2008, 7:57 PM
Roddy Collins, FFS Marty. At this stage Section O should be in management. Can we have no more about peoples weight also. Now go to Difallonis post & watch the vid.
great to see that im unpopular on the thread!:eek: just guaging peoples opinion on this.. anyone read aaron callaghans interview in the longford news today? a few things were said by him that im not surprised at... i think personally he was very hard done by what he said and i know it is the truth... :(
by the way in tony ghees match interview we have signed the lithuanian that cork city were supposed to sign.. he played for riga against bohs in the uefa cup.. does anyone know more about this chap at all???
02/09/2008, 9:00 PM
the fellow we signed is gints freimainis he was on trial with cork city early in the season..
02/09/2008, 9:45 PM
Sean Connor for Longford....
ok, im sorry.....:(
03/09/2008, 8:56 AM
Was good to finally meet ya MagicMe. And hope your boys appreciated the glory of Luigi's.
Likewise Pauro. The boys enjoyed the food and the craic in John Joe's. They love going to Longford now as it is one of the few places they can go to the pub and have a laugh with the fans. Used to take them to Mother's in Drogheda and they loved that too.
03/09/2008, 3:07 PM
The boys enjoyed the food and the craic in John Joe's. .
what a spot....some say the spiritual home of the SRIWFC. Brings a tear to my eye thinking of John Joe's :(
03/09/2008, 3:19 PM
John Joe's, the only pub in town that doesn't want to make any money. It's 11.30, ten or twelve people in the pub, another hour's drinking would be just the job, but no, off with the lights and out ye go. Apart from that I hold it in high esteem. Section O HQ.
03/09/2008, 3:26 PM
I once won on a Gael Linn scratch card there...I came out of that pub with a profit:D
03/09/2008, 3:34 PM
I once won on a Gael Linn scratch card there...I came out of that pub with a profit:D
thats coz the only thing you bought in the place was the scratch card ya tight git! :p
03/09/2008, 3:34 PM
I love that the barman knows me by name (no, not magicme, my real name) and tells me not to be a stranger!
03/09/2008, 3:41 PM
I'm surprise Marty didn't introduce you as Magicme. The lines between internet and real life personae become blurred sometimes!.
Rocky77
03/09/2008, 3:43 PM
Are you sure? Cos I could have sworn my real name was Rocky and I'm 77 years old. I need to sit down...