Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Notes? are you a coach at the club? GC?
    I'm Paul Cook.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    How can you find that funny? We go out of a competition, and your laughing head off.
    Who said I laughed?

It was funny in the same way your 'Cause Keith Foy did comment was, I guess
    "Overwhelmed"

I'm Paul Cook.
    Oh hi Paul unlucky tonight, you are doing a great job, keep the head up.

Foy should never have been allowed take a penalty in the shoot-out after missing in the game, he was destined to miss again. As for Danny Ventre, don't know what he was at, he looked shattered after the game, must have been dreaming of his bed as he ran up to take that penalty.

The game itself, I thought we deserved to win. Galway are still very poor, although a bit more organised. That loss takes some of the fun from Cork game Friday

i dont think foy was right to take that penalty, after missing the first one it would have been nice for him to make ammends but another choice in the earlier penalties would have been better,

some good performances tonigh but an probably the most boring game ever, neither deserved to through and i'd say kildrum tigers are kicking themselves. would have been nice to have a good cup run but theres the fai cup for that and obviously the icing on the cake was the 6 galway fans celebrating like it was a cup final, i suppose celebrate all wins over the bigger teams as first division football is o it's way i suppose?

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    i dont think foy was right to take that penalty, after missing the first one it would have been nice for him to make ammends but another choice in the earlier penalties would have been better,

some good performances tonigh but an probably the most boring game ever, neither deserved to through and i'd say kildrum tigers are kicking themselves. would have been nice to have a good cup run but theres the fai cup for that and obviously the icing on the cake was the 6 galway fans celebrating like it was a cup final, i suppose celebrate all wins over the bigger teams as first division football is o it's way i suppose?
    6?
    What a pathetic post.UTD fans were celebrating a penatly shoot out win.We weren't the one's with the drums etc behind the goals.

As for the game.Awful boring.No team deserved to win.We'll take that though.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Penalties are always a lottery like that , very disappointed to go out, Foy shouldn't ahve taken the first penalty , no reason why a man who hasn't played all season should overtake Faz as the penalty taker ,Positives that can be taken are that I thought Murphy , Cash and McKenzie did well , Raf Mauro and Seamie were as good as usual , Hopefully everyone will be fit and ready for Turners Cross on Friday

really disapointed, seemed inevitable we would have penalties the longer the game went on, felt sorry for foyzer, regardless of whether he should have taken the peno or not at least he showed a bit of bottle in stepping up especially after missing the first, Hopefully Cookie can pick the lads up for the trip to cork, agree about anto, thought he picked it up a level last night, hopefully a sign of things to come,

Galway keeper shouldnt have been on the pitch to save any of Foys two penalties. Should of received straight red for taking down Raf as he was last man back.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    no reason why a man who hasn't played all season should overtake Faz as the penalty taker
    Faz didn't seem too interested in taking the penalty. It was Foy and Judge who were arguing about it.

141 Posts
    Anyways, back to the game.

Anto had a stormer of a game in the middle. What a player and I think he's the creative spark we need to replace Hughes/Turner. He was nearly involved in every chance we created tonight looking at my notes from the game. He's got to play centre midfield from now on.
    Are you for real? He is a great prospect because he NEARLY got involved in everything positive? Low expectations up there.
    As for the Rovers fan who complained about Utd fans celebrating, you're right, shameful scenes to celebrate a win in a cup competition. We duly note the criticism and offer sincere apologies
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Faz didn't seem too interested in taking the penalty. It was Foy and Judge who were arguing about it.
    Correct, to be fair that does not help you when that happens.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    6?
    What a pathetic post.UTD fans were celebrating a penatly shoot out win.We weren't the one's with the drums etc behind the goals.

As for the game.Awful boring.No team deserved to win.We'll take that though.
    thought i was being kind with 6 as i only seen the 4 of yee before the game? not having a go just calling it as i saw it. we were trying to put off the goalkeeper and yeer penalty takers but i guess that didn't work except for the first utd player. suppose it's natural to celebrat but believe me i was happier than any of yee just to be going home after that game!

woeful game... fair play Galway, and best of luck in the next round

why didnt the Galway fans sing during the game, when ye had 20+ with ye? i missed the usual banter!

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/377/

Match report up. Shameless plug and all that.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    woeful game... fair play Galway, and best of luck in the next round

why didnt the Galway fans sing during the game, when ye had 20+ with ye? i missed the usual banter!
    There wasn't many of the "singing crew" there really tbh.I didn't see you at all Rovers1?Thought you were in Dublin for some reason.
    Fair play to ye though decent amount of ye down that end.

Brewer-If you intend on becoming a sports journalist,a prerequisite is that you are impartial and unbiased in your report of the match.That match analysis was neither.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Brewer-If you intend on becoming a sports journalist,a prerequisite is that you are impartial and unbiased in your report of the match.That match analysis was neither.

Brewer i think it is a good report !

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    why didnt the Galway fans sing during the game, when ye had 20+ with ye?
    Probley because they are minnows
    RIP JOHNNY

Hi Deecay, your location is spelt wrong dude.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast