Thread: Buckfast Army...

Buckfast Army...

Sinead and I brought a friend to the Rovers match and he was well impressed... Couldn't believe Bucko played and UEFA cup semi... anyway I was talking to a house mate of this guy and he has on occasion travelled to Richmond Road to see Pat's, originally English and a supporter of Spurs he was missing the live football and had to get his fix... He loves it but doesn't go regularly...

Thing is he asked if it was true Longford had the Buckfast Army... thought the whole thing was ledgendary... How I miss those days...

Ale Done, Ale Won...

The spirit of the army lives on - the various shenanigans at the Buckfast Christmas Social is proof of that!!!!!

Mores the pity that the days of a few pints and then a bottle at the match, followed by more pints, a hople and then Blazer's, have gone....

But I suppose we're all maturing now

Thank God

And I'm sure Longford is thankful for that...
    I have found men who didn't know how to kiss.
    I've always found time to teach them.

Red face Praise a Vengeful God!

Is there not a commandment in some big book about not taking the name of the holy tonic in vain, Longford doesn't know what it's missing.
    We were born to hum.... hum god damn you!!!!

@ndy

Re: Buckfast Army...

Originally posted by Xlex
    he has on occasion travelled to Richmond Road to see Pat's
    He doesn't like the home games so?

@ndy

Re: Buckfast Army...

Originally posted by Xlex
    he asked if it was true Longford had the Buckfast Army... thought the whole thing was ledgendary... How I miss those days...
    I'm sorry lads, but i have to post about this. Apologies if i offend anyone, but whats the real score with the 'Buckfast Army'?

While working with one Mr Trevor Burke over a year ago, i was made well aware of the Buckfast army and their fantastic football supporting antics all in the name of de town fc. The thing is, to me it seems that this whole Buckfast army just basked in the warmth of the LTFC premier honeymoon and that now they have forsaken their support for the team. Surely this is abit of a major cop out for this 'legendary' group and they should be scorned in Longford or even all footballing circles. (ps, that last bit is just for dramatic purposes )

The thing that really got me was the organising of the xmas social the night of a home game...??? That baffled me. I can understand lads not being able to act like kids anymore and living away and 'maturing', but surely if ye are all meeting up for a xmas gathering then seeing your beloved town would be paramount to the evening, rather than getting sloshed at a chinese down the road while a game is on in flancare? What am i missing?

Explanations welcome,

Yours sceptically,

Andy.

Re: Re: Buckfast Army...

Actually most of the Bucky Army lost heart after the promotion season, feeling that the craic just wasn't the same in the premier and the demise of the legendary Buckfast terrace along what is now the section O side of the ground.....

It was only a few, rare but notable games that the Army was out in full drinking strength (down in waterford for the Cup semi - c0cktails at noon anyone????) For some there was a merging with the Quick Nip Faction, other's drifted away thinking that the enjoyment just wouldn't be the same watching football not high on the bucky....

It's also worth mentioning that at it's height the Buckfast Army numbered well over 40 people, but that only 10-12 were regulars at Mullologher....

I would contend that rather than it being a football thing, the maturity actually effected the drinking of buckfast - more disposable income, meant less need for nacker drinking, and key members settling down with mulls (even if for some that was a short term issue)......

As for the Social - well we p!ssed on the pitch enough to get the game called off - what more do you want!!!! Actually the original plan was to have the meal later (9.30), but the only way the restaurant could accomodate all 35 of us was early!!!

The Buckfast Army is dead - RIP.... The mantal has passed on to the youth section to continue our good work.....

So, The Buckfast Army matured Into what The Campari Crew
    I walked through the rain and I walked through the mud,
    'Till I came to a bar called the BUCKET OF BLOOD

Originally posted by Drogrough
    So, The Buckfast Army matured Into what The Campari Crew
    I've just gone back to my beloved Boddingtons....

Originally posted by Macy
    I've just gone back to my beloved Boddingtons....
    I'm a Smiths man me Both the drink and the band
    I walked through the rain and I walked through the mud,
    'Till I came to a bar called the BUCKET OF BLOOD

Originally posted by Drogrough
    I'm a Smiths man me Both the drink and the band
    Drink - muck, rather have Holts.....

Band - okay, but nothing compared to the Roses...