View Poll Results: Who is the worst player in modern times to have played for Ireland?

Voters
88. You may not vote on this poll
  • Paul Butler

25 28.41%
  • Liam Daish

5 5.68%
  • Dominic Foley

9 10.23%
  • Jon Goodman

13 14.77%
  • Jim Goodwin

4 4.55%
  • Jonathan Macken

16 18.18%
  • Alan Mahon

4 4.55%
  • Terry Mancini

4 4.55%
  • Eddie McGoldrick

5 5.68%
  • Pierce O'Leary

3 3.41%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Worst ever Ireland Player ?

Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan
    While I am honoured that you would mention me in the same breath as Donna and Joe, surely my assist for Overmars' goal in '94 must count for something?!
    Sorry to remind you Tezza but it was Bergkamp who scored it after you headed it on for Overmars.

T-shirt at the time ;

Sack Jackie
    Drop Packie
    Shoot the Blackie

Seriously.

Worst player - Jeff Chandler, played for Leeds.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Nobody else remembers Ron Healy obviously. Stand in goalie against England in eraly 80s. Poor lad just wasn't any where near good enough.

What about Eamon Dunphy?
    Funny story Liam Touhy told Dunphy once.
    When Touhy took the Youth team to the World Cup in Russia in 1985 (i think) he played games with the players to stop them getting bored. The favourite game was to name the Worst Ever Ireland XI.

Dunphy said "I hope I was in it, Liam"

Touhy replied "In it Eamon, you were the fcuking captain".

Alan Kelly always struck me as a very limited player (bit of a cruel thread this ha?)

I'm sure he always did his best and I've heard it said he was a great talker and organiser on the pitch but he always seemed just a bit overweight and sluggish.

I'll never forget a goal he conceded against the North at lansdowne in spring 95. In fairness gillespie should never have been allowed put the cross in but up popped Iain 'the blonde adonis' Dowie with a decent header -not agreat header but on target -and our Alan looked like a hippo trying to fly going for it.

...oh and I suspect the only thing that's keeping Mark Kennedy so far down the pecking order was the wonder goal against Yugoslavia.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    T-shirt at the time ;

Sack Jackie
    Drop Packie
    Shoot the Blackie
    F*cking hell! Awful stuff. Never heard of Jeff Chandler,long before my time. In my experience, the worst would have to be Jon Macken. Comes on, does nothing, fades away. Maybe he really wants to play for us, who knows.

I remember O'Herlihy and the lads tearing into Kernaghan at half-time in the Spain match in 1993. I always thought the guy was grand, he wasn't Paul McGrath but he wasn't Paul Butler either. He got stung with a load of criticism.

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    disagree with a good few on that list
    It's my list on the poll Colin, and like I said, it's entirely arbitrary. Dontcha just love football?

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    liam miller is tripe
    I couldn't agree more, thecorner. He hasn't quite concluded his stunning career as yet, and so stands chance of redeeming himself (which is why he doesn't yet feature on the list). He'll need at least a few MOMs to do so, of course...

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 30/05/2005 at 8:37 PM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

3,263 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    Alan Kelly always struck me as a very limited player (bit of a cruel thread this ha?)
    Alan Kelly?! Quality keeper! Took about six or seven games before he conceded a goal, was an unbelievable shot-stopper (the home win against Yugoslavia springs to mind)...One of my favourite players! Very similar career to Graham Kavanagh in a way - never reached the heights he should have...

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    I remember O'Herlihy and the lads tearing into Kernaghan at half-time in the Spain match in 1993. I always thought the guy was grand, he wasn't Paul McGrath but he wasn't Paul Butler either. He got stung with a load of criticism.
    I think Kernaghan received the man of the match award against Denmark 1-1 at home ´93.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Mick Kearns. Goalkeeper for Oxford United in the old 3rd division or something.
    It was Walsall he played for as far as I remember.

Worst single performance by an Irish player was Alan Mahon in his one and only cap. It was unbelievable - literally every ball he passed went to the opposition. I still wouldn't believe it if I didn't see it with my own eyes. However, I think you have to judge someone who played a lot of games for Ireland and to me Chris Morris (he played for the Owls as well) was one of the worst players I've seen. He had a bit of pace but couldn't pass to a team mate no matter how hard he tried.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    I think Kernaghan received the man of the match award against Denmark 1-1 at home ´93.
    ...and scored the goal that killed off Lithuania the following september.

He had a bad game against Spain (but so did everyone else except John Sheridan) on "black Wednesday" (13.10.93) -a day we could've waltzed into the world cup if we'd just stayed upright.

Kernaghan was made take a disproportionate amount of blame for that defeat which was then compounded by another poor performance 5 weeks later in Belfast. At least he had the excuse that, at a time when the troubles were at their worst and life up there was extremely cheap to take, he had gob****es shouting his parents address at him. (I believe they live in Ballymena).
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    It was Walsall he played for as far as I remember.

Worst single performance by an Irish player was Alan Mahon in his one and only cap. It was unbelievable - literally every ball he passed went to the opposition. I still wouldn't believe it if I didn't see it with my own eyes. However, I think you have to judge someone who played a lot of games for Ireland and to me Chris Morris (he played for the Owls as well) was one of the worst players I've seen. He had a bit of pace but couldn't pass to a team mate no matter how hard he tried.
    I agree.
    The criteria for this discussion should be for someone who has approx 20 caps.
    Fellas like ;
    Chris Morris
    Mick McCarthy
    Mark Kennedy
    Mick Martin
    Paddy Mulligan
    Eddie McGoldrick
    Tommy Coyne
    Alan Kernaghan
    Gary Kelly (jimmy doyle)

Well, at least where the poll is concerned, I refer you to my answer in post 45 above.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

I agree.
    Fellas like ;
    Chris Morris
    Mick McCarthy
    Mark Kennedy
    Mick Martin
    Paddy Mulligan
    Eddie McGoldrick
    Tommy Coyne
    Alan Kernaghan
    Gary Kelly (jimmy doyle)
    What the hell was wrong with Tommy Coyne? Surely a legend of a man?

had a look at the fai site, and of players who have 20 caps or over, the following would make it onto my list:

Lee Carsley
    David Connolly
    Jeff Kenna
    Eamon Dunphy
    Gary Doherty

(in fairness to the bottom 3, at least you were always sure they gave their all when the played for ireland- not sure about the first two - so between them, i would choose lee carsley as my worst player of all time (who has 20 caps or more!)

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    What the hell was wrong with Tommy Coyne? Surely a legend of a man?
    What the hell was right about him ?
    How many goals did he score ?

Dont get me wrong, he worked his ****** off the USA94 but what else ?

David Connolly
    Lee Carsley

How could I forget those two imposters.

Originally Posted by stojkovic
    I agree.
    Fellas like ;
    Chris Morris
    Mick McCarthy
    Mark Kennedy
    Mick Martin
    Paddy Mulligan
    Eddie McGoldrick
    Tommy Coyne
    Alan Kernaghan
    Gary Kelly (jimmy doyle)
    Will you ever put down the gluebag!

He'd one bad game for us. The guys been a near ever present in a Leeds team that qualified for Europe three times out of four since he broke into the team in 93.

Morris, McCarthy and Martin are better than given credit for too.

...and scored the goal that killed off Lithuania the following september.

He had a bad game against Spain (but so did everyone else except John Sheridan) on "black Wednesday" (13.10.93) -a day we could've waltzed into the world cup if we'd just stayed upright.

Kernaghan was made take a disproportionate amount of blame for that defeat which was then compounded by another poor performance 5 weeks later in Belfast. At least he had the excuse that, at a time when the troubles were at their worst and life up there was extremely cheap to take, he had gob****es shouting his parents address at him. (I believe they live in Ballymena).
    Agreed. History has been unkind to Kernaghan mainly because Dunphy slated him after the Spanish game - in my humble opinion it was the then past it Kevin Moran who was more at fault for that disasterous first half but Eamo would never slag off one of his pals.
    Together with all our hearts.

Will you ever put down the gluebag!

He'd one bad game for us. The guys been a near ever present in a Leeds team that qualified for Europe three times out of four since he broke into the team in 93.

Morris, McCarthy and Martin are better than given credit for too.
    Do you think that Gary Kelly fulfilled his potential for Ireland ?
    I probably am being abit harsh though.

What the hell was right about him ?

David Connolly
    Lee Carsley

How could I forget those two imposters.
    How many games did he play? He played great against the Italians, scored against the Dutch in Tilburg, scored in a few other games, didn't he?

3,263 Posts
    22 games, I think 9 goals? Scored on his debut v. Switzerland, I think.

[QUOTE=stojkovic]What the hell was right about him ?

QUOTE]

According to the FAI, he scored 6 goals in 22 caps. That's not the worst record for a striker, surely? Sorry but I have fond memories of the chap scoring against the Dutch and holding things up against the Italians. He's one that really faded out of popular memory, when you think about it.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast