Page 18 of 38 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish Wolves and Opposition Irish

3,334 Posts
    Delighted for big mick and the rest of the Irish contingent at wolves. With any luck Wigan staying up will help them hang on to McCarthy for another season, and give Sammon more game time up front.

60 Posts
    I think as it turns out from an irish perspective the 'best' teams got relegated. Granted i would have preferred blackburn but they were the least likely. As it is, only Coling Doyle and Fahey are going down. Doyle may become no.1 because there is no way Foster will stay with B.ham. And considering Fahey never really held down a starting berth all season, it might be good for him to get a full starting run in the c.ship.

Uber goal from Hunt, got complained for shouting my head off in the hotel (it's 1am in China!!). Congrats to all the Wolves boys

2,712 Posts
    Told you it'd be a last minute goal that kept them up!

Fahey in the Championship isn't a disaster. He may become a more senior player for them, though bar Foster and maybe their CBs I'm not sure they have any players that'll be in demand in the PL.

130 Posts
    Delighted for Mick and the Irish contingent, some rollercoaster of a day but what a goal from Hunt, glad they did it off their own bat and didn't need the Spurs winner in the end.

Carr, Reid and Billy Clarke also relegated.

Am now hearing rumours that Blackpool will be in Europe next season via fair play.

60 Posts
    Carr doesnt matter from an international perspective. Reid needs the championship to reboot his career and Clarke is young yet, and unfortunately never got tested in the PL. So still all positive!

192 Posts
    Delighted for all the lads at Wolves and for Mick McCarthy. Hunt made up for an injury-hit season with the crucial goal. Hopefully Mick will be given some money to consolidate for next season.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Mick looks completely drained. Get Long, Dunne and Shay Given in Mick and its top ten next season.

I am not surprised, you don't get many tougher days for a manager, at half time he must have been preparing to face the press after being relegated!!
    Then they were safe, and then they were back in it again, then safe again!!

161 Posts
    Dennis Irwin coming out onto the pitch at Old Trafford. Getting a great reception.

2,284 Posts
    Great to see Wolves stay up considering the Irish presence at the club.

621 Posts
    What do all the Hunt knockers think about his technique for the goal?

161 Posts
    Dunne and Given would be worth an extra 10 points to Wolves and I can see Mick trying to buy both as well as Long. Not sure Long will leave Reading (who I expect to win the play off) but Given and Dunne might both move.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    What do all the Hunt knockers think about his technique for the goal?
    Not just the goal but the free kick as well (which he also won).

60 Posts
    Looks very much like Houllier will be forced to quit so I'd expect Dunne to stay at Villa. Himself and Collins closed out the season pretty well. Considering how good their partnership was under O'Neill i would expect an incoming manager to want to keep them both

621 Posts
    Funny reading the Wolves forum!!

One of the worst performances I´ve ever seen.

Utter disappointment.They should be ashamed..I´m gutted!

Utter, utter garbage. We deserve relegation with a performance like this. The players have been a total and utter disgrace today. They've been made to look awful by Blackburn FFS, not $#@!ing Man Utd...
    Dear God, this is sick.
    I feel sick
    http://www.wolvesforum.co.uk/showthr...h-Thread/page4

Need. More. Alcohol.

$#@!ing hell, I'm dying.
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 22/05/2011 at 5:33 PM.

2,712 Posts
    They've got a point. Avoid losing by 2 goals and you're 99% certain to stay up.

What do they do? Go 3-0 down at HT!

Mick got lucky.

1,915 Posts
    Paul got it totally wrong again.

And the tide has turned full circle, Wolves stayed up with a last minute goal to spare

41 Posts
    Glad Wolves have stayed up but I read somewhere that the chairman might be looking to replace Mick regardless of the seasons outcome. Being 3-0 at home at half time in the biggest game of the season won't fill anyone with confidence for next season. If he does stay he needs to replace most of his defence.

2,284 Posts
    What's the situation with Stearman declaring for us? Is he up to it really? I can tell from the stats that Wolves' defence has been shocking all season and, although I haven't seen them really other than the odd game or highlights reel, they have looked poorly organised any time I've seen them. One memory I have of Stearman is of him racing down the field with the ball Joe Lapira-style before his haste caused him to trip over himself and fall flat on his face, the ball rolling onward and out of play.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    Glad Wolves have stayed up but I read somewhere that the chairman might be looking to replace Mick regardless of the seasons outcome. Being 3-0 at home at half time in the biggest game of the season won't fill anyone with confidence for next season. If he does stay he needs to replace most of his defence.
    Dunno where you're getting your info from....

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...t-2652918.html

"Yet, on Sunday, McCarthy is buoyed by the devotion of his players and the respect of his chairman and owner Steve Morgan, a man who takes advantage of free access to the Wolves dressing-room to make periodic rallying cries -- but never at cost to his manager's rapport with his players.

"From time to time, a club gets into difficulties on the field and has to fight for survival, but I've never doubted Mick McCarthy's ability to inspire his players," says the owner who once tried to gain control of his home town club Liverpool. "He has their respect -- and their determination to get out of this situation."

Wolves' owner Morgan could hardly have offered more reassurance on the approach to the Blackburn game, saying, "Mick has been here five years and I don't believe you get any progress by chopping and changing. That's happened in other clubs and what good has it done? There are times when things don't go right, but you have to stick together and make sure you get it right next time.

"I think that's what we've done. Mick has made progress every year since I came here four years ago. If you go to the dressing-room before the game and see the rapport between Mick and the players, you will see theirs is a proper spirit between the manager and the players.

"In my first year we missed the play-offs by a goal, the next we won the championships and, in the third, year we established ourselves in the Premier League. This time we are two points ahead of last season, despite being in a relegation battle.""

Page 18 of 38 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast