Thread: How much worse can it get?

Angry How much worse can it get?

After watching last nights "performance" from The Town can it realy get any worse ? No passion and no fight. Nobody wanting to throw a body in front of a ball to stop a shot and then letting players shoot (and score) from 30 yards out. Schoolboys know that if you afford a player space like that they will shoot but our strikers WON'T follow that lead and want to beat half the team first and then walk the ball in. Time for a reality check lads or next season we'll be in the 'A' championship and we would struggle there at the moment with the way it is going. I am not been harsh here this is fact and i wish it wasn't.
    De groot nummer 10

72 Posts
    We need a new manager for next season

245 Posts
    Very bleak performance,the ironic thing was Town were having their best spell in the game at 0-0 in the last fifteen minutes of the first half when out of nowhere a shot from about 35 yds and then a defensive disaster and your going in with your head and 2-0 down at halftime.

Fair play to the lads who keep travelling to these away games.

1,081 Posts
    Something's going drastically wrong somewhere. I don't think we'll end up in the A League but that might be through luck rather than anything else the way things are going. I missed last night's match but from what I've seen lately there's a distinct lack of passion about them. Luckily enough I suppose, most of them aren't under contract for next year as far as I know. They're not doing much to earn new ones either. Depressing stuff really.

47 Posts
    Is it any wonder I drink?
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

539 Posts
    its the worst town team in well over ten years since mickey o connors days... as 12th man said they had a good spell just before shels first goal.. this game reminded me of carmarthen...

1,081 Posts
    Not quite as catastrophic as C********n considering the quality of the team we had then and the one we have now. Still it's not fun. It's certainly the worst run we've been on in 10+ years. Not a lot we can do about it now though. If we manage to avoid being relegated somehow then next year really has to be significantly better. That in no way implies that this year is great by the way.

At this moment in time Kildare is only 4 points YES FOUR POINTS behind and they are starting to get a buzz going in the squad as we could see when they were in the Flansiro and won. It is OK talking about a new manager but who will want the job to be honest !! In my opinion the players now need to look at themselfs and question if they want to play or not. If not just bog off and give someone the place who will play with a bit of passion. I don't mind a team losing once they show PRIDE and PASSION in how they play. It is us paying our money to watch this passionless CRAP week in week out and to be honest I can understand why the crowds are staying at home. Ufortunatly I can't afford to get to many away games and last night I WASTED money that i could have spent on something I need to support players that don't seem to give two S#%@S about what they do and how we feel about it !!! I will still do my best to support the club as much as i can and go to the games at home but if i can't afford it i won't be missing out on important things to watch that PASSIONLESS COULDN'T CARELESS CRAP again. Come on players show some PRIDE, PASSION and FIGHT from now until the end of the season.
    De groot nummer 10

47 Posts
    Victory at all costs, victory in spite of all terror, victory however long and hard the road may be; for without victory, there is no survival.

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Is it any wonder I drink?
    I think everything is just great

Im afraid to go to Wexford on Friday night.

47 Posts
    You will be by yourself salmon we play monaghan on Saturday night in flancare

111 Posts
    Im home this Saturday. Ive got a 100% record with Town games this season. Watched 1 game, won 1 game. Leave it with me.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

105 Posts
    Pauro, our saviour!!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Pauro, our saviour!!
    Must stop Pauro getting home ....

From what I've heard, Aaron and Vinny have lost the dressing room and the players reckon they are bluffers

186 Posts
    From what I heard (from a relative of one of the players), Aaron went into the dressing room about 2 months ago and told the whole squad that they were pure ****e and that none of them will be playing for him next season.

Few observations from that:

1. Yes they are ****e, but as a manager half way through the season, you cant be telling all your players that they are ****e.

2. Why would the players be arsed to try if thats what their manager has told them?

3. Will Aaron be here next season himself the way things are going?

1,081 Posts
    If true that's not exactly encouraging for the rest of the season I must say. It all started off so promisingly too.

47 Posts
    Quite the genius stroke telling the players they are ****e and none of them will be playing for him next season. As already stated by De Town, why would you bother after been pretty much told yer out the door anyway.

Then again I know of players not being told they are in the squad then getting told 20 minutes before kickoff they are.

137 Posts
    Callaghan a bluffer, who'da thunk it!

I wonder did he give ye the same great big long term plan for the club that he gave us.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Pauro, our saviour!!
    Guys, I expect the Freedom of the Town if LTFC win this weekend!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'