Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer Rumours

30 Posts
    Ah now, Alan Murphy worked out very well. We all thought he was a great player.

I'd say he'd still be at Derry if he hadn't turned down a full-time contract. SK only wanted full-time players at the time, so he was released.

I only heard the Derek O'Brien rumour for the first time on Friday. I have no idea how valid the rumour may be.

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Doubt Derek is heading anywhere. He seems to be settled well down here and in fairness any player ye have signed from us in the past havent exactly worked out! He has his critics but on the whole I think anyone would want to see him go, I certainly wouldn't.

Oh ya Santa Claus is bringing us two Premiership strikers in December

82 Posts
    I would imagine Derry, who have no sugar daddy, are at risk of going back to part time fairly soon.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    So by the sounds of things Shamrock Rovers will have a squad of 40 players... Jesus they can't sign every player lads.

All the top part time players mentioned also are all on top buck, Rovers simply can't afford to pay that type of money any more to a whole bunch of players.
    Exactly!

I really laugh at how all these players are 'rumoured' to be coming to Rovers, then again why let reality get in the way of a foot.ie thread.

The simple facts are that we have a tight budget & will continue to do so for the forseeable future, on that basis PS will release certain players & attempt to bring in a few to 'upgrade' the squad so to speak, from what i've heard this involves 3 established Premier Div players & a couple of decent 1st Div players, one of these (Stephen Rice) has been confirmed, 2 of the others will be from a group of 4 that PS is talking to, who they will not be revealed until they've signed, simple as!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

In all fairness a rumours thread is always going to be hit or miss. Pats are rumoured to be signing dozens of new players, letting go even more and every out of work manager in Ireland is being lined up as our new manager/head coach...

I couldn't believe Rovers announced his signing before the end of the season, but fair play to them for stopping the speculation

Quote Originally Posted by Kildare Lad View Post
    Rumours in Kildare that Stapleton & Brady to Rovers, 2 more quality players lost to them! Hope its not true
    Stapleton's attitude is crap, Rovers are welcome to him. If he was half as good as he thinks he is, he would still be in england.

I hope Brady doesn't go, i think he is too small to make an impact and I'd prefer to see him play week in week out than sit on Rovers' bench.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Rumours up here are that McGlynn, Higgins and Farren are going to Finn Harps, Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd, Ken Oman to a Dublin club and Gary Beckett retiring
    Any of them still in contract will be going nowhere. If Farren was to go he'll be away to a Dublin club, likely Bohs. He can't have become a bad player overnight. He is a confidence player, this time last year he was single handedly keeping our title aspirations alive with his goals.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Any of them still in contract will be going nowhere. If Farren was to go he'll be away to a Dublin club, likely Bohs. He can't have become a bad player overnight. He is a confidence player, this time last year he was single handedly keeping our title aspirations alive with his goals.
    Farren has missed Gary Beckett this year as has Ciaran Martyn, we havent been able to get the goals from Midfield with Beckett holding the ball up and bringing other players into the game, and relyed to heavily on McHugh to score the goals

Quote Originally Posted by KildareFan View Post
    Stapleton's attitude is crap, Rovers are welcome to him. If he was half as good as he thinks he is, he would still be in england.

I hope Brady doesn't go, i think he is too small to make an impact and I'd prefer to see him play week in week out than sit on Rovers' bench.
    Are they not a bit old to be playing Premier at this stage Wouldn't their TV commitments interfere with training as well?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

I couldn't believe Rovers announced his signing before the end of the season, but fair play to them for stopping the speculation
    Rovers season ended 5 weeks ago.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

5 you say?

Heard the Derek O'Brien for Derry possibility in Waterford on Friday night. But I'd be surprised if he went.

Also heard the Derry manager won't be there next season.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    would athlone really want him though??
    He hasnt done a bad job with ye for gods sake. Your not exactly brazil!!

Derek hasn't a notion of going anywhere.

He's one of UTD's most committed players and is fairly settles in Galway.

A fan's favourite and a player who has come on leaps and bounds in the last few years.

He also hates Sligo.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post

A fan's favourite and a player who has come on leaps and bounds in the last few years.

He also hates Sligo.
    and we hate him too
    i think he's a very good player though. one of galways best!
    sean connor was in the showgrounds on saturay night, possibly looking at some players to try and sign

Philip Reilly to Shligo. just a rumour.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

A fan's favourite.
    Sounds like Raf, we all know how that turned out.
    He also hates Sligo.
    and Sligo hates him so it's a good relationship really.
    Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    sean connor was in the showgrounds on saturay night, possibly looking at some players to try and sign
    He was there to watch Cork mainly, unless someone attracted his attention that was his only reason.

141 Posts
    Did he not see enough of them when they dumped his miserable backside out of the Cup?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Did he not see enough of them when they dumped his miserable backside out of the Cup?
    He was trying to learn from his mistakes

141 Posts
    So he isn't rubbing everyone up the wrong way like he apparently did up there in Ben Bulben land? And he still wears that crazy tracksuit so he obviously doesn't learn!
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    Ronaldinho is heading to Kildare!
    Would he get his game ahead of Eoghan Carew?!

And I dont think Stapletons attitude is that bad from what ive heard, he does love himself big time, but has probably been our best & most consistent player all year.
    Cmon County!

Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast