Thread: GUFC Galway races fundraiser

55 Posts

GUFC Galway races fundraiser

some fundraising idea at the galway races tonight in the spanking brand new "Killanin stand" by gufc, must have been 50 tables at 3k a pop. Ian rush, Half sunderland,Stan, Pat Devlin, hector, Charlie hurley, Martin Keown to mention a few. Must have raised 100k for the club. How times have changed GUFC are operating at a different level than the majority of clubs with their commercial activities at this stage. Leeson is only beginning to get into his stride and im sure we will see the benefit of this incredible commercial clout over the next few seasons

is is still true that for the rest of his life Leeson must give 50 cent out of every euro earned to Scotland Yard.

Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    Leeson is only beginning to get into his stride and im sure we will see the benefit of this incredible commercial clout over the next few seasons
    That's what Mr Barrings said shortly before he colapsed in 1995

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    some fundraising idea at the galway races tonight in the spanking brand new "Killanin stand" by gufc, must have been 50 tables at 3k a pop. Ian rush, Half sunderland,Stan, Pat Devlin, hector, Charlie hurley, Martin Keown to mention a few. Must have raised 100k for the club. How times have changed GUFC are operating at a different level than the majority of clubs with their commercial activities at this stage. Leeson is only beginning to get into his stride and im sure we will see the benefit of this incredible commercial clout over the next few seasons
    ya ewen mc gregor thinks he,s the biss as well
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Lads you may take the pi$$ but how many of you would like to have him as your CEO at your club ???????? As we all know the man knows what he is doing at Galway United and the club is on the way up .

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    Lads you may take the pi$$ but how many of you would like to have him as your CEO at your club ?
    oh, yes
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

47 Posts
    What race was Keown running in?
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Credit due, Leeson is dojng things now that the rest of us would love - he probably turned Sunderland game from 100k to 300k. For a club without a moneybags chair it is the way go.

Let's not get carried away.

The revenue from this gig is nowhere near the figures quoted.

Nick Leeson deserves credit for dovetailing the Sunderland visit with the Galway races and making some money for the club into the bargain.

Corporate hospitality at the races is not new. Longford GAA made over €200k at Punchestown in April. The Fianna Fail annual gig is the stuff of legends now, but this was Galway Uniteds first attempt. It may well be a one off, but fair play to Leeson for seeing the opportunity and doing his best to make the most of it and the most out of it.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

As far as i am aware he must only pay over a percentage on money he makes off his Barings episode. Thats why he wanted to get a proper job and how well has he done!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Im getting a bit sick of the preachy attitude coming from Galway, great ye did a fundrasier , whoopty doo. Lads there is events going on up and down the country every day of the week but no-one is running around shouting it from the rooftops just fuppin get on with it, as they say "self praise is no praise"

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    What race was Keown running in?
    He's probably still chasing Van Nistelrooy after that penalty miss.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    He's probably still chasing Van Nistelrooy after that penalty miss.
    Hector started singing Ruud Van Nistelrooy to Keown the whole place was in stiches! Top day well done to all involved.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    Im getting a bit sick of the preachy attitude coming from Galway, great ye did a fundrasier , whoopty doo. Lads there is events going on up and down the country every day of the week but no-one is running around shouting it from the rooftops just fuppin get on with it, as they say "self praise is no praise"
    Geezer is praisin the organisation of the event. Its rare enough anyone gets praise for doing anything in the EL. Its simply a show of appreciation for the work the club is doing to keep the show on the road. There is nothing wrong with that.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

42 Posts
    No way Martin Keown paid his part for a table. That Keown family in galway (martins uncles) are famous for how tight and mayne they are

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post

Nick Leeson deserves credit
    Probably the first time someone who isn't Nick Leeson has said that in manys a year

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    As far as i am aware he must only pay over a percentage on money he makes off his Barings episode. Thats why he wanted to get a proper job and how well has he done!
    Galway probably paying him extra just to cover his losses.

100% incorrect.

As for the Waterford fan getting a bit peeved....grow up.Waterford are making no efforts to get them our of the small club bracket so don't have a go at GUFC for taking strides.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    100% incorrect.

As for the Waterford fan getting a bit peeved....grow up.Waterford are making no efforts to get them our of the small club bracket so don't have a go at GUFC for taking strides.
    Ther is plenty of efforts going on throughout the city, but when we organise things we dont come on forums looking for a backslap, we just get on with it , just because ye were a joke of a club for years and then got yer act together two or three years back you think your a big club, dont make me laugh.

Ok fair enough.

Delusions of grandeur....
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am