Thread: Games moved to Friday nights?

47 Posts

Games moved to Friday nights?

Read a bit on the other forum with someone mentioning this, is it going to be the case for all the remaining home games? Friday nights are a bad night imo.

111 Posts
    ah ****e. Friday nights IMO, too much of a rush to get back home from Dublin. If i wanted to catch a game while i come over from London, ive to take an extra day off work, not convenient really. Not sure its gonna work.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I'm not that opposed to Friday night, with an 8pm kick off. With the motorway finished it is now realistic to get down from Dublin, and with this summer football nonsense makes sense not to be going head to head with the gah. It could be coming from the club promotions officer, in which case he should be given his head to make a go of it and do what he's paid for.

However, if games are to be switched there has to be a proper reasoning and a target to be achieved so it can be judged as a success or a failure. It should also be stated as the day and time well in advance.

I actually raised Friday night football during the close season, and iirc the reason why it couldn't even be considered was because the players would be due more money. Has this changed?

So basically, I'm not opposed to it, but it has to be introduced in a proper way, rather than what seems to be game to game on an ad hoc basis.

Im opposed for my own selfish reasons. Wont make Friday games because I work til 9pm.
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

111 Posts
    Heading home on the first weekend in May and hoping to catch a Town game.

Sat, 05 May 2007 Longford Town - Bray Wanderers

Will this be moved to a Friday or are the Friday night kick offs happening next season? thanks....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

539 Posts
    game against bray definitely ko on sat pauro!

111 Posts
    Yes! Im there with bells on. And hopefully I may be bringing along a potential Spanish supporter! If she can get time off that is...

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Yes! Im there with bells on. And hopefully I may be bringing along a potential Spanish supporter! If she can get time off that is...
    Keep her away from the devilish Section O lads....

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maz View Post
    Keep her away from the devilish Section O lads....
    Ah no, they're harmless.. I've told her about my days of following the Town and about Section O. Its not the Bernabeu, but this'll be a bit of an experience for her i reckon!

539 Posts
    and not only that im bringin my galfriend from dublin to her first town match on sat as well. it will b sum experience. i have said to her that there will b sum slaggin goin on but it doesnt bother her! she is well educated on section o and longford town!

the two stapos bringin their birds to a match now thats a first!

and not only that im bringin my galfriend from dublin to her first town match on sat as well. it will b sum experience. i have said to her that there will b sum slaggin goin on but it doesnt bother her! she is well educated on section o and longford town!

the two stapos bringin their birds to a match now thats a first!
    Literally is a first....you both having a girlfriend and bringing them to a game!

47 Posts
    Will we start having to run a "ladys" day?!

539 Posts
    yes ma lady!

111 Posts
    Herself wont be making it looks like, she'll have to throw a sickie to go. Kinda hard when im departing from the same airport she works in! She hates football anyway.

47 Posts
    She hates football anyway.
    Sacrilige!

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Sacrilige!
    Perfect more like. Keep the match for lads nights (when let)

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Perfect more like. Keep the match for lads nights (when let)
    Bringing them to Section O would only turn them off the game

47 Posts
    A nod and a wink from myself and they would turn to utterly butterly

111 Posts
    A bird that doesn't understand a man's need to watch the football, will never understand man. Or something like that. I'm safe so! You can all turn the attention to Marty's mot!

A bird that doesn't understand a man's need to watch the football, will never understand man.
    She only has to understand our need, not feckin tag along!