Thread: Pre-Season Friendlies?

I would'nt read to much into last nights match, it's the 1st time most of them have kicked a ball in anger in nearly 3 months..... A few positives to be taken from the match but poor oul chopper ! FFS how injury prone can 1 player be, Fractured his ankle, he'll be out for quite some time i reckon. The trialist John Mulholland did'nt really impress me much, anyone know anything about him ? Dissapointed Robbie did'nt really get to play up front, spent most of the match switching from right to left wing with Ryaner, defo not his best position.

Match report here

2-0 to Athlone. I think the Athlone Town boss is putting a good squad together anyway so I wouldn't be too down about it. They'll surprise a few this season I think.

We were probably still the better side, 2 stupid goals, non-exsistant marking for the 1st and the 2nd came from a very poor header back to the keeper, fell well short, keeper came out and brought the striker down for a peno. We'll be grand come the start of the season.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    We'll be grand come the start of the season.
    Have to admire that confidence, but hard to know what it's based on!
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull
    Optimism, which is what I'm basing our season on too.

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull
    It would be based on the pre season that we had last season, absolutey shocking but the time the big kick-off came we found form, as i said most of the lads have'nt kicked a ball in 3 months so it bound to take time to settle back into the swing of things. Hopefully we will see an improvement on Tuesday against Killkenny

It was a bad performance on Friday night but I wouldn't read too much into it. As Roo says it was the first game back after a few months off. The new keeper didn’t impress me much at all. I feel sorry for Chopper, he just has no luck at all. I wish him a speedy recovery.

I thought Masterson looked quite usefull. The only mistake was the peno incident, where he was hardly helped by a very poor back pass. Nearly saved the peno and did nothing else wrong. We'll give them the benefit of the doubt this time with it being first game of pre-season and all , but have to remember that quite a few players didn't feature (Jody, Tarzan, Foxy, Weso) and Daz didn't start and they're all first teamers. Looking forward to Tuesday, anyone else watching the real match on then rather than that Arsenal Real Madrid rubbish .
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

It wasn't a great performance but, imo, the team looked very disorganised as if they were playing for the first time.

I was really impressed with Robbie. It's good thing he's not afraid to run at people, I think that's one thing we missed last season. He's a big attacking threat. Anytime he got the ball I thought we'd create something.

Can't go tomorrow night, I have to babysit.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Anytime he got the ball I thought we'd create something.
    Thought in vain...
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

1 all Vs. Kilkenny last night, bad game in fcuking horrible weather ! twas absolutey freezing, looked like everyone stayed at home to watch there beloved Liverpool and Arsenal instead.

Zayed scored a great header for Bray, Kilkenny's goal was very scrappy, goalkeeping mistake from Young.

Ah well, it was worth standing in the freezing cold to witness the rarity which is a headed goal by Eamo!
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey
    Ah well, it was worth standing in the freezing cold to witness the rarity which is a headed goal by Eamo!
    Yep your right there ! Trying to remember another headed goal by him ?

Fenlon was there aswell, dont think he'll have lost any sleep over that preformance by us

Ryaner played pretty well again, great to see.

Yep your right there ! Trying to remember another headed goal by him ?
    Waterford last season. A free header about two yards out.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Waterford last season. A free header about two yards out.
    I missed that one ! He scored that after 22 mins (making it 2-1). I got to the gound just in time to hear the pa announcement of the goal, and was not in the stand with the rest of you's , and had to watch the game with the sun in my eyes from the railings over the far side cos my mate was too cheap to pay for the stand . Thats the end of my needless off topic rant. Saw it on el weekly though and he still nearly missed it!

Kilkenny game result ??

1 all Vs. Kilkenny last night, bad game in fcuking horrible weather ! twas absolutey freezing, looked like everyone stayed at home to watch there beloved Liverpool and Arsenal instead.

Zayed scored a great header for Bray, Kilkenny's goal was very scrappy, goalkeeping mistake from Young.
    Result above

Bunclody 1-3 Bray Wanderers

Goals came from Tarzan, Lacey and new under 21 signing Faramond (signed from Garda and defo one to watch !)

Saw the result on Teletext and those helpfull lot stated thet K. O' Brien scored . Last time I checked we had two K. O' Briens (not that I thought Kev scored but thats beside the point). Couldn't make it down due to work, anyone go down? What was the team & performance like? Is the new lad a striker?

Bray Vs. Bohs U21

Lads and lassies

Bray are playing Bohs U21 tonight (Tuesday 28th) @7.45 in the CG.