Thread: Hooliganism on TG4!!

Exclamation Hooliganism on TG4!!

Anyone see the programme on football hooliganism last night on TG4?

It was actually quite interesting.I Only caught the last 30 minutes or so. It didn't just look at the violence involved but also the social and cultural backround of the hoolies. They mainly looked at the 'naughty 40' who are a Stoke frim. These hoolies came from poor social backrounds who didn't know the difference from right or wrong.

Just wondering if anyone else seen this and what did yous think of it.

Think it might be repeated on Sunday night.Was at a Stoke game in the mid ninties.Oh Lordy what a place.Makes Derry look civilised.

Was it about violence in the eircom League?

I only caught the last half of it so I don't know if the eL was in it. Although, the gaelic irish presenter was standing in Terryland Park (I think) at the end

Jaysus, lighten up Peadar! Would've liked to have seen it myself, didn't know it was on, what was it called??? If anyone sees it advertised for Sunday, will you post here? Cheers!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Jaysus, lighten up Peadar!
    There's a World Football forum for stuff like this.

Saw the show myself - it was a French TV interview that started off with Tony O'Neill (Man Utd), moved on to Andy Nicholls (Everton) briefly featured an anonymous bloke from Wrexham then finished with Stoke City's "Naughty 40". I think all the hooligans featured are authors of hoolie books, which was why they allowed themselves to filmed so openly.

The only thing I can say about it in relation to the eircom League is we have absolutely ZERO hooligans of that standard following any of our clubs.

I do know two lads living in Cork who were heavily involved with Birmingham City's Zulus and Leeds United's Service Crew in the 80's. I tried to get one of them to come along to a Bohs match at Turner's Cross a few years ago but he refused as he said he couldn't trust himself not to lose it at a match, even though it was over ten years since he was last involved.

Peadar I tried to send it to a different forum but it would only let me put it into this forum so sorry about that one.

As for the name of the programme it was called: Fíorscéal