Thread: Best breakthrough player of 2005...

Breakthough....... hhhmmm not sure as I only see whats on TV. But that young lad from Rovers the keeper seems to be a find. I remember the SR v Shels game and he pulled off some saves. The last min point blank save v J Byrne was outsanding, the ball was actually behind him before he got a hand to it

Barry Murphy is an exceptional goalkeeper. If a "world class save" was equal to a goal Barry would be top scorer in the League. Safest pair of hands in the League. Meticulous with his match day preparation. 100% concentration and professionalism on the pitch.
    The find of the season.

1,081 Posts
    He's been good any time I've seen him alright, though I haven't seen enough to judge just how good he is.

70 Posts
    I cannot directly comment but I'd content Quigley is as good as him. Excellent positioning and very clear catcher of the ball, good kicking with both feet and can pull off the obligitary world class saves. Plus he's a year younger and has been called into the U-19s and U-21s.

Mc court
    O'donavan
    Dicker
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    I'd say Stephen Hurley is also up there, a Wicklowman himself. I can't think of any other players that have made a great impact but the Dundalk left back, Grimes(?), does seem very good for a seventeen year old. It's scary though that he's my age and playing First Division football.
    Yeah, Shane Grimes, he is very talented - got man of the match again tonight. He scored a blinder of a free kick in the first half and loves to get down the left wing. Hopefully he won't be poached off us.

70 Posts
    Sounds like just the player we need! Has he done his Leaving Cert?

Pat McCourt and Andrei Georgescu .... cant seperate them.
    Roy O'Donovan has been great at times but really cant put him up with the two lads. He has gone missing in some vital games, he is young and no doubt will be a great player for us, but hes just not the best break through this year.

Lads cant believe nobody has mentioned Marco Van Leecho (mark leech) - natural talent, hopefully we'll see more of him in the final third of this season but i guarantee you'll all be talking about him next season.

MccCourt obviously.

UCD keeper is a must. I hear Shay Kelly will be on his way to ucd next season, where does that leave quigley (off on his travels somehere )

Rovers young keeper also deserves a mention
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

732 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Lads cant believe nobody has mentioned Marco Van Leecho (mark leech) - natural talent, hopefully we'll see more of him in the final third of this season but i guarantee you'll all be talking about him next season.
    Yeah, what little we saw of him at UCD suggested he had plenty of talent. Questions of temperment gone?

UCD keeper is a must. I hear Shay Kelly will be on his way to ucd next season, where does that leave quigley (off on his travels somehere )
    I hadn't heard that. If we get Kelly though, it'll be to replace the then-poached Quigley. That said, if we lose Quigley, Gallagher's a good young keeper too (was first choice for start of last season).

Quote Originally Posted by John83
    Yeah, what little we saw of him at UCD suggested he had plenty of talent. Questions of temperment gone?

I hadn't heard that. If we get Kelly though, it'll be to replace the then-poached Quigley. That said, if we lose Quigley, Gallagher's a good young keeper too (was first choice for start of last season).
    Leechos attitude is spot on.

Heard that rumour about kelly going to ye last weekend
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Leechos attitude is spot on.

Heard that rumour about kelly going to ye last weekend
    Thank god, Cassin the break through player of 2006 then

[QUOTE=gael353]Robbie Kelleher (Limerick)
    QUOTE]

will you shut up gael or he wont be with us next season!!!
    you gowl!

[QUOTE=ThatGuy]
    John-Paul Kelly: Bohemians
    QUOTE]

he has looked really good for bohs but what happened him at liverpool? breach of discipline? they had high hopes for him over there i thought?
    another richie partridge?
    you gowl!

70 Posts

breakthrough

Tony Sheridan
    Mark Kenny

Gary Dicker UCD

164 Posts
    Curtis Fleming?

[QUOTE=declan hide]
    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    John-Paul Kelly: Bohemians
    QUOTE]

he has looked really good for bohs but what happened him at liverpool? breach of discipline? they had high hopes for him over there i thought?
    another richie partridge?
    Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. His departure was even covered in the Liverpool papers.

Official line is he was home-sick or couldn't settle in Liverpool, and apparently Ronnie Whelan was in Dublin trying to persuade him to come-back before he signed for Bohs.

Funny thing is though that Celtic wanted to take him, as other clubs in Britain did too, and he trained with Ipswich. He seems a bit of an eccentric, and that is not just from judging what happens on the pitch.

His deal with Bohs is apparently full of clauses which prevent us from selling him to another British club bar back to Liverpool apparently.

70 Posts
    I can't see any sense to Shay Kelly coming back unless as John said that someone poaches Quigley. I'd say Quigley would come at quite a price. Surely U-19 and U-21 callups would make good arguing for his worth at a tribunal. Only question is, are we entitled to a fee? It's only roughly 1 year since his debut, how long has he been at the club?

[QUOTE=ThatGuy][QUOTE=declan hide]
    Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. QUOTE]

did that google search. bohs were lucy to get him....

"John grew up on a farm just outside of Lloydminster. He played minor hockey in the Lloydminster system and one year of Midget hockey in Marwayne before playing one year of Junior B in Vermilion.

At age sixteen John left home and played Junior A Tier II in Maple Ridge, BC. From there he went to play three years of Major A Junior hockey with the New Westminster Bruins ins winning back to back Memorial Cup Championships. He was drafted by the Los Angeles Kings in 1979 going fiftieth overall in the third round. John played over four hundred games in the seven seasons he was with the Kings"
    you gowl!

[QUOTE=declan hide][QUOTE=ThatGuy]
    Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. QUOTE]

did that google search. bohs were lucy to get him....

"John grew up on a farm just outside of Lloydminster. He played minor hockey in the Lloydminster system and one year of Midget hockey in Marwayne before playing one year of Junior B in Vermilion.

At age sixteen John left home and played Junior A Tier II in Maple Ridge, BC. From there he went to play three years of Major A Junior hockey with the New Westminster Bruins ins winning back to back Memorial Cup Championships. He was drafted by the Los Angeles Kings in 1979 going fiftieth overall in the third round. John played over four hundred games in the seven seasons he was with the Kings"
    Cracker!!!