Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Attendances 2024 (Size of away support )

351 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Pats have been given 200 away tickets for Derry on Friday, mainly terrace tickets with some stand ones too. Poor form that it’s only 4 days before the game that this has been sorted
    Does that mean the Pats fans are split up between the 2 sides of the ground?
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    I don’t know but I’d imagine so, I’d say the seats are the same area of the stand that Drogheda got 75 for, with the rest probably being terrace tickets for one of the sides of the Mark Farren stand on the opposite side. That’s all total guess work on my part though, we’ll see on Friday either way, or possibly when they go on sale tonight
    Paaatrick's Agletic

351 Posts
    Bohs fans banned from Drogheda away after the incident on Friday night,innocent Bohs fans and Drogheda seem to be punished the most there….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

271 Posts
    Bohs fans banned from Drogheda away after the incident on Friday night,innocent Bohs fans and Drogheda seem to be punished the most there….
    Like giving Drogheda a fine of ten grand or somewhere in that ballpark. What would Bohs bringing on a Monday night 500 ?

Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Like giving Drogheda a fine of ten grand or somewhere in that ballpark. What would Bohs bringing on a Monday night 500 ?
    It would be whatever the away capacity for Drogheda is. It's not a long trip to make from most Bohs catchment areas. I assume Drogheda will be able to allocate that as a home section now and sell the tickets to their fans so you would hope they won't see much if any drop in Matchday revenue. The only thing that gives me pause with that is that it's a Monday night and those games can be hit and miss with attendance for a lot of clubs.

Pats have just emailed saying it’s 220 uncovered terrace tickets, no seats

All tickets on sale are Terrace Tickets so expect to stand for the duration of the game in an uncovered area.

Other Away Clubs in the Brandywell this Season will only receive 75 tickets in a covered seated, we have secured 220 uncovered Terrace Tickets for the game.
    Sounds like it’ll be a choice of one or the other for away clubs in the Brandywell this season while works are going on
    Paaatrick's Agletic

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post
    It would be whatever the away capacity for Drogheda is. It's not a long trip to make from most Bohs catchment areas. I assume Drogheda will be able to allocate that as a home section now and sell the tickets to their fans so you would hope they won't see much if any drop in Matchday revenue. The only thing that gives me pause with that is that it's a Monday night and those games can be hit and miss with attendance for a lot of clubs.
    The ban on away supporters is hugely financially detrimental to the home club .. imo the away club should be obliged to compensate the home club …. Fairest way way to do that is to take average of away support for two matches last season and that would be the compensation/fine ( with nothing paid to the FAI) so assume Bohs took crowd of 450 then make it a ‘blended’ rate of €14 per ticket ie a total of €6,300.

Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Pats have just emailed saying it’s 220 uncovered terrace tickets, no seats
    Some seats in the MF stand will be available too.
    https://www.derrycityfc.net/2024/02/...ay-allocation/

145 Posts
    I assume Drogheda will be able to allocate that as a home section now and sell the tickets to their fans so you would hope they won't see much if any drop in Matchday revenue.
    Talk about adding a can of petrol to a fire, if Drogheda put tickets on general sale for the usual away stand do you really think that Bohs fans won't be trying to buy them all anyway?
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

539 Posts
    I dont know about you but what purpose is a ban for the bohs away fans do for the game in Drogheda? Its unlikely a flare would be lit in that game.

Really don’t get away fans ban. Potentially hurting the home team in thenpocket

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocklyonhoop View Post
    Its the same way with what happened today with Everton. Fine the club is the only effective way.

365 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocklyonhoop View Post
    If Bohs took 800 to Drogs (small ground), this is a revenue loss of around 12k for the home club if all paid €15, and none of this their fault.

Ridiculous stuff by FAI, should been a large fine to Bohs and or reduced capacity as their next home game.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

2,349 Posts
    Playing a home game behind closed doors is the only outcome that would have sufficed here. No point hitting Drogheda in the pocket for this.

108 Posts
    I suppose the only thing is that the last time this punishment was handed down it was Drogheda who were the guilty party, so swings and roundabouts if they lose out on gate receipts.

It's not ideal but with the way crowds are in the league at the moment you don't really want any game being played behind closed doors. Away fans would generally be the most loyal fans and most likely to know who the culprits are. There will be a lot of Bohs fans ****ed off that they can't go to the game in Drogheda now, so in some ways it's a way of getting the issue sorted out in-house.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Talk about adding a can of petrol to a fire, if Drogheda put tickets on general sale for the usual away stand do you really think that Bohs fans won't be trying to buy them all anyway?
    So if Drogheda have tickets on general sale for the home end of the game what's currently stopping a determined Bohs fan for buying a ticket to said end? If the home end is already sold out to Drogheda ST holders or fans Drogheda likely have a backlog of people looking for tickets already and they should be allowed to use the away end for their home fans for this match. If that's the case the likelihood of a Bohs fan getting one is slim.

Basically what you described could happen regardless of the away end being put on general sale or closed off. I know if it was the other way around Bibs would be easily able to sell the 400 odd tickets in the mono stand to Bohs fans.

145 Posts
    So if Drogheda have tickets on general sale for the home end of the game what's currently stopping a determined Bohs fan for buying a ticket to said end? If the home end is already sold out to Drogheda ST holders or fans Drogheda likely have a backlog of people looking for tickets already and they should be allowed to use the away end for their home fans for this match. If that's the case the likelihood of a Bohs fan getting one is slim.

Basically what you described could happen regardless of the away end being put on general sale or closed off. I know if it was the other way around Bibs would be easily able to sell the 400 odd tickets in the mono stand to Bohs fans.
    Where did I say that determined Bohs wouldn't be able buy any tickets in Drogheda home end?

Your idea wouldn't last two seconds with the Gardai. If you open the Drogheda away end for general Drogheda admission then you drastically increase the amount of Bohs fans dominating attendance in the same away section anyway 1) defeating the entire Bohs 'punishment' and then 2) adding additional security risk mixing by Drogheda with general ticket fans with Bohs fans in the away end with vastly bigger numbers than Bohs fans buying tickets in a limited availability in the Drogheda home section
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

58 Posts
    150-200 Treaty fans spread around Mounthawk.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Playing a home game behind closed doors is the only outcome that would have sufficed here. No point hitting Drogheda in the pocket for this.
    rovers got a closed doors home game after the couple of clowns in Waterford. Successfully appealed

since then, first Drogs at Rovers and now Bohs at Drogs the team who isn’t subject to sanction is being punished? Nonsense. Rovers Drogs and Bohs all,should have had restricted capacity for Home fans

115 Posts
    Sizeable Waterford away support in Terryland Park tonight, 200+ strong at least. Long journey and they played away to Drogheda last week as well, fair play to them.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast