Page 16 of 28 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: American Football

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Looks like Gronk is only going to miss a week if that. Brady was so ****ed...I hate him but what a competitor. Giselle recorded this thing on her phone of him in a turkey costume jumping out of a leaf pile and scaring his kids. it was pretty funny. Its on youtube. His little girl invites the Turkey in.

Anyway, some burning questions.

New England is in a weird spot. They don't run the ball at all, the injuries are piling up, can they still continue to win? It's hard to see how.

What about Denver now? If Peyton is Ok at some point do they keep him on the bench? He says he wants to play next season too.

Kansas City had 3 starting OLs go down on Sunday, all 5 guys switched positions and they still beat Buffalo. Ben got another concussion for Pitt. The whole league is hurt.

Its unanimous between everyone...fans, coaches, league brass, players...the officiating is horrid. Sunday may have been a low point. The 49ers got so screwed. These guys cant even get the reviews right. You have the ex director of officials working for Fox telling Jim and Troy Aikman that he doesn't no what to say anymore.

Someone said on the radio yesterday that it would be better for Carolina if they lost a game, as the undefeated thing becomes a distraction. I don't disagree.

And last, I know the Giants are terrible but how about that catch by Odell in the end zone? Is he the best reviever in the NFL? I could do without his BS but he has some hands that guy. Good God. Giants Jets on Sunday. WFAN is promising the world's largest tailgate with some things roasting that are not suitable for vegetarians.
    We're 9-2 now. 7-2 in spite of Peyton.

I think you start him if he's fit. He has the odd game like his show against GB in him. But it's great to have Brock in form too.

I think the Panthers have to attempt the perfect season. You don't want to do a Jim Caldwell on it.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

403 Posts
    Forgot to mention Jimmy Graham is out for the year.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    nom nom nom nom nom

Hate them because they are just thoroughly dislikable. Same with the Cowboys and Washington Professional Team. And the Habs and Rangers while we're at .

Just one thing though - you had lot to say about the officials after the Bills game but not after Sunday night? Some really nigh on incredible calls against the Pats, swings and roundabouts mind you but Brady was reeeeeallly annoyed after it! Looking forward to seeing ye again in Foxborough for AFC champ game.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post

Just one thing though - you had lot to say about the officials after the Bills game but not after Sunday night? Some really nigh on incredible calls against the Pats, swings and roundabouts mind you but Brady was reeeeeallly annoyed after it! Looking forward to seeing ye again in Foxborough for AFC champ game.
    I haven't mentioned anything because I've still not watched the match in full. Recorded on Sky Box for my Thursday afternoon delectation.
    (I finish college at 1pm on a Thursday so I tend to watch whatever game is of interest to me then that I couldn't watch at stupid o'clock the previous weekend)

Any calls in particular that irked you? I've had 2 exams and an assignment due this week so all I have really managed to see is scores on NFL.com and whatever the Broncos throw into my newsfeed on fb.

773 Posts
    Pffft - you haven't seen the game? Call yourself a fan! Pathetic!

1,813 Posts
    Pffft - you haven't seen the game? Call yourself a fan! Pathetic!
    I know. I was actually doing so well avoiding the result up until yesterday afternoon and then a check of an FB notification did me in. *******o!

403 Posts
    Is another missed call on the cover of SI?

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nfl-sh...134646470.html

1,813 Posts
    I watched the game. It was something. some of the calls were poor. But again some of the calls were good. Can't really complain given the opposition.

I will say though, Tom Brady is just something.

I think I finally crossed the line where I've stopped disliking him. Unreal player.

773 Posts
    Gronkowski has 6 OPI calls against him this season. The Rest of the AFC East is 5.

51 Posts
    Hail Mary ...... OMG!

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Hail Mary ...... OMG!
    Watched tr game from start to finish today without knowing the result. Frankly unbelievable stuff.

403 Posts
    Questionable call at the end though no? Rodgers really saved himself from a loooooong 10 days of talking about losing 2 times in one season to the Detroit Lions.

So the half time act for SB 50 is.......Cold Play? Jeez. Nickleback wasn't available? Cold Play. That is a boring idea.

1,813 Posts
    It was touch and go alright. But officials are pretty zero tolerance on hands near the facemask. Mike? Carey the ex ref they have on CBS was pretty much saying that it was the right call.

Even after that he still had a 70 yard throw to make from the line. And someone still had to catch it.

I really like the look of Detroit now though. They've finally got something going and hopefully the nature of the defeat doesn't blow up the rest of the season. 2016 should be a decent year for them. Even in that division which has the look of a nightmare next year I feel.

Coldplay at Super Bowl 50? Ffs... The last 3 ht shows have been so so good that it was inevitable they would have a **** one sooner or later.

I actually assumed it would be Tay-tay.

403 Posts
    I thought it would be Adele. They're saying Mr. Ex-Paltrow will bring out his BFs Jay and Bey. Meh.

Then funny thing about Mike Carey is he did a super bowl and had a long career but is infamous for being a comically bad official. so naturally he got a tv job. It's like how Chris Simms has branched Into NFL analysis for CBS. College maybe but he sucked in the pros.

773 Posts
    Lads - could we please stop discussing the Superbowl halftime show please. That'd be great. I mean who da Fcuk cares ?

Anyhoo.....

Clemson are the ACC Champs and No. 1 seed in the CFP after a bit of an up-and-down win against the Tar Heels last night. Dabo Swinney ripped the punter and then threw him under the bus at half time after a botched attempt at a fake punt - nice way to treat an amateur athlete. I now have a reason to root against them forever. Michigan State had another narrow win in the Big 10 Championship game against Iowa. Iowa ( 75% vowel, 100% awesome apparently ) suffered their first loss of the season to probably fall out of the top 4. Michigan State will probably be Seeded 4 and play Clemson. Although ESPN are projecting that Mich St. will be seeded 3. Oklahoma didn't play and they are the 3. Seed at the moment and will likely play Alabama - the No. 2 seed, wrapped up the SEC Championship game with a 29-15 win over Florida. Stanford seeded 7. won the PAC-10 crown after a comfortable win v. USC but it doesn't look good enough to break into the playoffs.

So here are the ESPN projections for the big 6!

Peach Bowl - New Years Eve 5.00pm - Florida State v Iowa
    Cotton Bowl - New Years Eve: 9.00pm /1.00am CFP Semi Final - Michigan State v Alabama
    Orange Bowl - New Years Eve: 9.00pm /1.0am CFP Semi Final - Clemson v Oklahoma
    Fiesta Bowl - New Years Day: 6.00pm Notre Dame v Houston
    Rose Bowl - New Years Day: 10.00pm Stanford v Ohio State
    Sugar Bowl - New Years Day 1.00am Oklahoma St v Ole Miss

Roll on the holidays!
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 06/12/2015 at 10:25 PM. Reason: Ohio not Iowa

403 Posts
    I'll send you a hundred bucks if ND ends up playing the Houston Cougars.

403 Posts
    Yeah it's ohio state.

773 Posts
    Sorry can't talk now Crosby, busy having f**king kittens at the moment.

1,813 Posts
    Sorry can't talk now Crosby, busy having f**king kittens at the moment.
    This feels like Scott Tenorman.

I thought that the Eagles would go and fupp it up.

51 Posts
    Eagles are right back in it .... and wait ... you see that the cow girls will win tonight to get the hell back into it ..... wait and see......

Pats are now 3rd seeds as it stand ..... that will hurt them!
    Still think it be the Panthers this year (from NFC) .... ok they make the Super Bowl but think whoever comes out of the AFC side will actually win out right!
    Last edited by swinfordfc; 07/12/2015 at 3:53 PM. Reason: spelling

Page 16 of 28 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast