Thread: Ian Daly

Ian Daly

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0630/dalyi.html

It's a slow summer.
    The big question is money, I wonder how much?
    Esse Quam Videri

He'll never get a call up to the Ireland team anyway, but nice move for him. Give me Olympiakos over a random Championship team anyday.

I wonder if he scored a hatful of goals would he be considered?

I think it is a good move for him, he was never gona get a look in at city and he has taken a chance on a foreign league. The Greek league is decent enough and hopefully he will do well over there and if successful may set a precedent for other irish youngsters to move further abroad.

Quote Originally Posted by zackmorris View Post
    I think it is a good move for him, he was never gona get a look in at city and he has taken a chance on a foreign league. The Greek league is decent enough and hopefully he will do well over there and if successful may set a precedent for other irish youngsters to move further abroad.
    Reminds me of something I read on here before. Two lads in a pub discussing Chelsea and one of them asks where is Makelele gone to, the other guy replies 'ah don't know, some foreign team anyway'' Dear oh dear.

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    Reminds me of something I read on here before. Two lads in a pub discussing Chelsea and one of them asks where is Makelele gone to, the other guy replies 'ah don't know, some foreign team anyway'' Dear oh dear.
    did they also say chelsea was not a foreign team?

last time i checked the french league was a foreign league ....so they were right. Unless they were french of course

any way - great move for daly...best of luck to the lad
    Last edited by back of the net; 01/07/2009 at 2:09 PM.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    Maybe zackmorris is English or lives in England. Did you ever consider that possibility smart*rse?
    Last edited by youngirish; 01/07/2009 at 3:24 PM.

200 Posts
    Be interesting to see how he gets on with Hector Cuper as the new coach!

Ian was named to the U-21 team for the first time and will likely get some playing time on March 3rd.
    Officials from Crystal Palace and Luton Town are said to be interested in watching him.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

Has he been playing does anyone know?

285 Posts
    No he isn't near the team. Eddie Johnson, Freddy Adu & the captain Sergio Koke are the main
    strikers. He wasn't on the bench for the last game either. Since we're talking about the Greek
    League, Matt Derbyshire is scoring regularly for Olympiakos (19 games 13 goals so far for them)
    is only going 24 and married to an Irish woman. Wouldn't that make him eligible? We desperately
    need a striker & he's decent enough.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 18/02/2010 at 1:06 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

7 according to Wiki
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Daly

4 according to the official site
    http://www.arisfc.gr/index.cfm?pid=100&id=21485

and they seem to have a lot of strikers......
    "Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
    Sideshow Bob

A lot of competition for places there....

Jesus, he's from Broadford? They were always crap when I played underage soccer.

He's only 19, though - give him a chance to develop.

Just a question, can we not change the title of this thread to: Ian Daly in Greece or some such - I had the Ireland section open and she asked "Is he like, you know, a bit....".

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Just a question, can we not change the title of this thread to: Ian Daly in Greece or some such - I had the Ireland section open and she asked "Is he like, you know, a bit....".
    I don't understand the second part of your post to be honest but the title is better just left as Ian Daly, like it is for all the other Irish players. He won't be in Greece forever.

646 Posts
    Fecking Greeks, They invented gayness.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Jesus, he's from Broadford? They were always crap when I played underage soccer.
    Played for Home Farm.

229 Posts
    Short Interview with him here (starts around 19:50mins) http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2010/pc/p...nwednesday.mp3

Nice little interview,

Talks about how pleased he was to be called up to the U21 squad.

Also talks about being managed by Hector Cuper (a manager who has been to a number of european finals) and also how the team are made up of mainly Argentinians, Brazilians and Spanish as well as Greeks and himself!

Wears the number 99 shirt and they are in line for a spot in the Europa Cup next season.

As has been mentioned many times on this forum, it would be great to have a few more young lads out sampling life and football in different european leagues. Would no doubt make us stronger as an international side in the long run.

By the way Ive never seen Daly play so have no idea if he is any good or not, its just a general observation.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Has now left Cadiz FC by mutual consent ... anyone know where he is - the move to Spain resulted in just one appearance
    Cadiz are a 3rd division team

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Totally off topic but they were, weren't they?! And we weren't great either, but always loved playing them and their pitch was tiny too.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!