Thread: Live TV

Whats stopping the tv companies showing one of our away games???

UCD vs Ramblers at the Belfield Bowl on the 18th July would have been an ideal game to show on TG4. But instead they chose Bray vs Galway!!!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

86 Posts

Question

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Whats stopping the tv companies showing one of our away games???

UCD vs Ramblers at the Belfield Bowl on the 18th July would have been an ideal game to show on TG4. But instead they chose Bray vs Galway!!!
    Wind-up, surely!?
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

not really if your gonna show one, might aswell have a meaning
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

i would embarassed for us to be on telly at mo , people would switch off after 10 mins if last 3 weeks are anything to go by
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

38 Posts
    I've said this quite a few times before - I don't have any sympathy for Cobh not being on TV. Why? Because your club REFUSED to appear on TV on the last day of last season. RTE wanted to show Athlone v Cobh live on RTE, but Cobh REFUSED as they said the pressure of the TV cameras might put them off when they could win the First Division title.

You can't have it both way lads and lassies. When TV came knocking, you refused them. Now when they are staying away, you are complaining.

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    I've said this quite a few times before - I don't have any sympathy for Cobh not being on TV. Why? Because your club REFUSED to appear on TV on the last day of last season. RTE wanted to show Athlone v Cobh live on RTE, but Cobh REFUSED as they said the pressure of the TV cameras might put them off when they could win the First Division title.

You can't have it both way lads and lassies. When TV came knocking, you refused them. Now when they are staying away, you are complaining.
    good point but ye bottled it and we won the league then so how bad
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

They had every right to say no for that reason but they also have every right, as part of the Eircom League and the Premier League to have their fair share of TV. I was glad they chose not to show that game live as after all we did go up as Champions as opposed to runners up.
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

im glad they are staying away to be honest, with the performances of the last few weeks anyway. tv not there dosnt bother me in the slightest.

Perhaps the TV cameras there now would be the very tonic to reignite them back to how we know they can play!

maybe but it could also heap more preesure on an already nervous team

1,524 Posts
    On the TG4 showing Galway thing- the outside broadcast company they use is based in Waterford, so getting to Cobh is actually handier than Galway for them. Which makes their tendency to show GUFC even more pronounced!

yeah but majority of tg4 viewers would be from gaeltacht areas me thinks, ie connemara etc so galway would prob have more of a draw for them IMO

1,524 Posts
    In that case you'd think they'd show Harps the odd time........

you should be happy there not last time they did ye bottled it

Quote Originally Posted by ramsfan View Post
    you should be happy there not last time they did ye bottled it
    Zing!!!!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Nobody seems to have remembered that our game against Sunderland is live on Setanta!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

what did i buy a ticket for so
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.