Thread: Birthday presents for partners?

Birthday presents for partners?

Hi lads,

I started a similar thread for Christmas and ye came with some gr8 ideas so I'll give it another go for her birthday.

She's mid 20's and we're going out over 3 years and it's her birthday next week.

I'd spend a fair bit. Got her the nintendo ds for xmas and she loves it. Was thinkin maybe a weekend away in a spa, a fancy jewellery box, dvd box sets............

Any ideas on presents??

Weekend away always works a treat. There's some great places up North if you check online, either that or head out to the islands on the west coast for 3 days, nothing says romance like Achill in a thunderstorm

30 Posts
    Mrs Ash for me tickets to Neil Delemare on Sat in Vicker St for my birthday.
    Better still, she has no interest in stand up comedy so she got me 2 tickets
    so I can bring one of the lads and have a boozy weekend in Dublin

If she enjoyed the DS, theres a good chance she might enjoy the Wii. similar style of games, and good fun with two players or in a group. probably a bit above the planned expenditure but you'd get to play it too
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Hi lads,

I started a similar thread for Christmas and ye came with some gr8 ideas so I'll give it another go for her birthday.

She's mid 20's and we're going out over 3 years and it's her birthday next week.

I'd spend a fair bit. Got her the nintendo ds for xmas and she loves it. Was thinkin maybe a weekend away in a spa, a fancy jewellery box, dvd box sets............

Any ideas on presents??
    One of the other posts suggested getting the Wii. I'd go against that advice. My wife's birthday is about 4 weeks after Xmas which is about 5 weeks after our anniversary, so I intentionally keep the 3 presents completely different.

Some sort of beauty set/voucher always goes down well; music or gig tickets too. What I do is go out for a meal during the week and give presents at home or if its at a weekend go away for it.
    Ps I'd advise if you're going to go away do it foreign; goes down well and its better than wasting your money in this kip of a country.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

20 Posts
    flowers are nice!

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    flowers are nice!
    I always think flowers are nice as an add on, give her the flowers and then her real present...after that you can give her what you bought her for her birthday, boom boom!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I always think flowers are nice as an add on, give her the flowers and then her real present...after that you can give her what you bought her for her birthday, boom boom!
    very good.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    but seriously most women have never even been given flowers.

50 Posts
    Most women have never been given thrush either, doesn't mean they all secretly crave it.....flowers are an odd gift, you but the for people who have passed away so hy buythem for someones birthday???

Weekend away is always good, lots of deals out there right now too because its a traditionally slow period just before summer
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    but seriously most women have never even been given flowers.
    Suppose it depends on the type of girl but sometimes it comes across very first-valentines-day-17-years-old-ish.

I have a policy whereby I buy herself 3 roses after 3 months, 6 after 6 months, 12 after 12 months, 24 after 24 months, and last time, 48 after 48 months. Thats me sorted for a few years til I'm not a student anyway
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wangball View Post
    Most women have never been given thrush either, doesn't mean they all secretly crave it.....flowers are an odd gift, you but the for people who have passed away so hy buythem for someones birthday???
    you lost me there. maybe they are a bit "underwhelming" for a birthday.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Suppose it depends on the type of girl but sometimes it comes across very first-valentines-day-17-years-old-ish.
    dont agree..... obviously!
    If anything comes accross as 17yr old valentines day its equating spending loads of money on something with how good a gift it is....(not sayin that about your roses....you had me had hello ya big charmer)

Definitely, if you can, go for a trip abroad, even for a weekend. Maybe its because we don't live together usually but its really appreciated and its something fun and different that doesn't expire or get tatty or die in a bowl or get lost down the back of a sofa. Even if its to the cheapest hotel on the cheapest destination on ryanair's destination list, there will be a new experience there and it'll be a fun memory rather than a dust gatherer in a few years.

In particular, I dislike giving jewellery: it really is a matter of taste as to whether they'll actually wear it, its completely non-functional and, if she's the sporting type like my own, it will be left in a dressing room or field somewhere up the country, inevitably.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

get her some sexy underwear. most irish women prolly dont know what lingerie is, but trust me, you will like it no seriouslly get her some, they love it, they mightn't admit it but they do.*

*Not that I am speaking from personal experience here.

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    but trust me, you will like it
    Is there something you want to tell us, Paul?

Get her a midweek break in italy April 09 or a long weekend in Sofia June 09
    Last edited by Newryrep; 12/03/2008 at 3:01 PM.

Cheers lads. Some good stuff there. The weekend away idea sounds good - but i got her a trip to london for xmas so would it look like I'd no imagination if I got her a trip again?!

I was checking out some spa places around ireland - they cost around €215 each for 2 nights and one evening meal. I'd pay this but does any know what these spa's are like? Or does anyone know a better deal?

I also saw a fancy jewellery box in a local gift store - looked really nice. Cost €130 though. Would most women like that??

Oh yeah she said something about a massage chair too - might be a bit out of my price range though - anyone know where i could get one and at what price??

Thanks again

51 Posts
    Jewelry. Gold. Not some cheap stuff. Buy expensive stuff and you wont go wrong.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

ya the stuff that gives ye a green mark around the neck.

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post

Was thinkin maybe a weekend away WITH a spa,

so she's taking you with her

There is a spa in clonakilty thats ment to be nice ive never been myself , check out hand made jewlery shops rather than your standard shops. stuff is cheaper and nicer. Silverwood on williams street in Limerick is really good.

DS games if she likes brain training there is BT 2 or eye training.

The jewlery box i would feel would be a add on present and not worth spending that much on ( unless she knows how much it is) but girls like that kind of stuff. All girls like flowers but again not as a main present.