• No

147 26.68%
Page 32 of 212 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282132 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

He should come back, but he needs to apologise to all and sundry for being such a clown of a human being first. That said if I were his team mate I wouldn't want him back, and Ireland's crazier than he sounds if he thinks Trap or Brady are going to go to him on bended knee

I really don't think he will be back, sur wan't he attacked by a shark? a really big one too

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    He should come back, but he needs to apologise to all and sundry for being such a clown of a human being first. That said if I were his team mate I wouldn't want him back, and Ireland's crazier than he sounds if he thinks Trap or Brady are going to go to him on bended knee

Ha they already did two wednesdays ago,, it was widely reported in the press,, what rock are you living under

Quote Originally Posted by Manblue View Post
    Ha they already did two wednesdays ago,, it was widely reported in the press,, what rock are you living under

Not quite what ive heard, Brady laid the rules out and he didnt like them
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Yeah thats what I heard too. Brady told him ''its our way, or the highway'' or something alone those lines.

Quote Originally Posted by Manblue View Post
    A well informed one apparantly

Quote Originally Posted by Slaney View Post
    He is a loose cannon. I don't think he should come back, I don't think he will anyway. A lot of the players dislike him.
    It shouldnt really matter if people dont like each other. Playing for your country should be the motivator. I'd love Ireland to come back. Just come back and play well, but I fear that he's another Roy Keane in temperament, and we cant afford that again.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    It shouldnt really matter if people dont like each other. Playing for your country should be the motivator. I'd love Ireland to come back. Just come back and play well, but I fear that he's another Roy Keane in temperament, and we cant afford that again.
    Seriously????
    I wish we had full squad of players with Roy Keanes temperament
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Seriously????
    Completely agree,,

To the lads above if yer so well informed id love to hear what was "really"
    said,, although id say Brady couldnt lay down a table in fairness not to mind the law

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Seriously????
    That walks out on his country before a world cup, surely we don't need that s*** again.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    That walks out on his country before a world cup, surely we don't need that s*** again.

Funny i thaught this forum was about stephen Ireland and his irish career or lack thereof and not that roy keane arguement AGAIN

873 Posts
    Definately not going back into that arguement again

41 Posts
    I dont think it matters too much whether Stephen Ireland comes back or not. He obviously doesnt have the aptitude or mentality to handle the pressure of professinal football. I'd be surprised if he is still playing in the premiership in 2 or 3 years, just like Thomas Butler, Sean Thornton etc

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    I dont think it matters too much whether Stephen Ireland comes back or not. He obviously doesnt have the aptitude or mentality to handle the pressure of professinal football. I'd be surprised if he is still playing in the premiership in 2 or 3 years, just like Thomas Butler, Sean Thornton etc
    So are you basing that on the 80 odd appearances he has already in Man Citys first team ..... or is that not enough proof that he can handle it???

245 Posts
    I don't think it's an issue of whether or not he can handle it.....I think it's an issue of whether or not he wants to do it.

It's a motivation problem, not a mental one.

Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    I have the same feeling. Exept more like Liam Miller he will just plod along picking up his pay cheques and never really achieving what he is capable of. The guy is obviously lacking any serious ambition can't we just let this go and move on. We have players of the same level and in my opinion better than him coming through i.e. Owen Garvan and if the hype is justified, James McCarthy. Why must we as Irish football fans demean ourselves and our national team by going cap in hand to average players who have not got the neccessary heart and desire to represent our proud nation. SOD OFF STEPHEN enjoy what will surely be a middle of the road career capped at the end with a million regrets as you tell your kids and grandkids what could have been if only you had been a little more mature as a youngster.
    Help something bit me!!!

Quote Originally Posted by SilkCut View Post
    I have the same feeling. Exept more like Liam Miller he will just plod along picking up his pay cheques and never really achieving what he is capable of.
    Stephen Ireland has a lot more ability than Liam Miller and I expect him to do more than just "plod along".

At the same age, Miller was showing a lot more than Ireland has now. In fairness I have heard Ireland is meant to have insane levels of skill, but he's too light. He gets knocked off the ball so easy. He doesn't score enough goals.

His best ability is feeding in Petrov with quick one touch passes.

Quote Originally Posted by bohsRap View Post
    Stephen Ireland has a lot more ability than Liam Miller and I expect him to do more than just "plod along".
    he probably has, which makes his attitude all the worse, as previously posted he will regret it in years to come especially if Trap and Co lead us to South Africa

Ye but, as has been said, we don't know the full story and he should, hopefully, be back in the fold shortly.