Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Foot.ie! Clare League 2007/08

Hacker

Did he tell you who your first game is going to be against?

It should be an interesting year, Will any of the promoted teams hold their own in the premier I wonder. .

By all accounts Bunratty seem like they will be serious contenders for the league. I think it will be hard to look past Bridge Celtic again if they play like they did last year.

Formerly: vidic-class
    Lifford U21s struggling to field 11 these days in the Eircom U21 these days with some lads givin up on it...i hear the manager even have to give it a lash and play illegal players too? Arrogant shower of ******* have to try put themselves above all the other Clare clubs by enterin that league in the 1st place. Was it not just 2 months ago when Lifford went to the FAI about a 'technically' illegal player playin for Avenue against them in 15s lge playoff (which they were hammered 4-1 in), where have their morales gone now?

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    jimmy houlihan signed for rineanna 2nite..great signing...and with this weather he probably won't miss any games between now and january...
    Very good signing hacker will bring good creativity to the side. Will he be training as usual until January? Dead right about the weather we'll be lucky to get a league at all this year. Maybe this is the gods way of bringing summer soccer to Clare for next year.....

Hacker just wonderin who have ya sighned from cratloe this year??
    I don't think I'm a kitten, and if I was, I would be a really ugly one with a beard."
    Gennaro Gattuso on Steven Gerrard's claims that he is as scary as a kitten.

I hear Bunny Carr is back training for Newtown A' has he signed and does he look like the bunny of old? Could he still do a job terrorising defences? I also hear Johnny Okoro is back for them, If fit he can score a bag full of goals. 2 good additions to the squad imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Offside View Post
    I hear Bunny Carr is back training for Newtown A' has he signed and does he look like the bunny of old? Could he still do a job terrorising defences? I also hear Johnny Okoro is back for them, If fit he can score a bag full of goals. 2 good additions to the squad imo.
    Bunny still has the skills and can go past people, obviously needs a lot of training since he hasn't played properly for a few years. He has an unbelievable first touch and is already looking fitter than anytime in the last few years.

Johnny looks fit and sharp an with more training will be an excellant addition.

Any news from Avenue / Bridge Celtic / Moher about new players??
    Any fixtures made yet?
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    Bunny still has the skills and can go past people, obviously needs a lot of training since he hasn't played properly for a few years. He has an unbelievable first touch and is already looking fitter than anytime in the last few years.

Johnny looks fit and sharp an with more training will be an excellant addition.

Any news from Avenue / Bridge Celtic / Moher about new players??
    Any fixtures made yet?
    bunny would be a great addation if .. and a big if he gets fit ?and gives you a full season .??. going on his past record i'm not to sure he has promised so much to teams in last few years and always let them down... hopefully ye can get the best out of him .

" football is a simple game "

so lads 1 week to kick off any predictions
    Rineanna to fold

so lads 1 week to kick off any predictions
    I'll predict games will be called off for up to eight weeks due to weather being too bad "mid oct/mid dec" Then backlog of fixtures will have to be played over Christmas, games on St.Stephans day, Newyears day,Then it will get reall bad again for another month or so with a couple of games now and then.Then The Oscar Traynor thing will happen and games will be stopped for 3 weeks before the game.Then there's Paddy's Day fixtures, and until the end of the season there will be 4 games a week until Next August.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 16/08/2007 at 1:34 PM.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    I'll predict games will be called off for up to eight weeks due to weather being too bad "mid oct/mid dec" Then backlog of fixtures will have to be played over Christmas, games on St.Stephans day, Newyears day,Then it will get reall bad again for another month or so with a couple of games now and then.Then The Oscar Traynor thing will happen and games will be stopped for 3 weeks before the game.Then there's Paddy's Day fixtures, and until the end of the season there will be 4 games a week until Next August.

you forgot to mention also moher only playing on a friday or monday .. also fai & munster junior will have priority... i'm sure the clare league will be able to sort it all out !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    Lifford U21s struggling to field 11 these days in the Eircom U21 these days with some lads givin up on it...i hear the manager even have to give it a lash and play illegal players too? Arrogant shower of ******* have to try put themselves above all the other Clare clubs by enterin that league in the 1st place. Was it not just 2 months ago when Lifford went to the FAI about a 'technically' illegal player playin for Avenue against them in 15s lge playoff (which they were hammered 4-1 in), where have their morales gone now?
    vidic-class...ignorance personified

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    what about games on the astro turf on the lees road.... to prevent fixture backlog.... what do ye think??

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    Disappointing to hear lifford struggling.Dont understand why you would be so bitter about them entering eircom league.Its great for clare football that someone did.Dont think it was about putting themselves above anyone.

Anyway how are avenue fixed for a pitch this year? Are they still renting off the council?

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    vidic-class...ignorance personified
    Plasticpitch you took your time. Vidic-class try and show a bit of respect. Lifford have attempted something that Clare teams badly needs , a belief that they can compete at a higher level. This may not be the case in this instance but they should be complimented for their pioneering.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Plasticpitch you took your time. Vidic-class try and show a bit of respect. Lifford have attempted something that Clare teams badly needs , a belief that they can compete at a higher level. This may not be the case in this instance but they should be complimented for their pioneering.
    well it easy knowing when someone like vidic class talks complete ****. little does he know that some players from other clubs in Clare like mikey mahony, Dan aherne played for the lifford u-21 last year as well as a selection of the better youngsters across the county.
    the main beneficaries of this are the players and their clubs. while i'll be the 1st to say that lifford doesnt have enough quality to be competitive in this league on their own, there certainly is enough talent within the county to hold its own. it gives players a chance to showcase their abilities to LOI clubs.

problem

Main problem with this is that the Eircom league Under 21 season stretches until at least October, with the last 16 and subsequent rounds continuing right through into Novemeber. This means that non-Lifford players cannot return to their respective clubs until 7/8 games into the junior league season. Until such time that a Clare League selection is entered into the League of Ireland set up, allowing players to simaultaneously play for their junior club (see Kerry League for details), League of Ireland football in the county is a long way off

Fixtures

Clare soccer website www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures.

fixtures

Sunday 26/08/07

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League

Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United A V Newtown A
    D.McCarthy 11.00
    Ennis Road: Newmarket Celtic A V Lifford A
    A.Murphy 11.00