Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul McGee a disgrace

Paul McGee a disgrace

Show me one club that allows its manager operate without a contract? Show me one club that will be prepared to allow same uncontracted manager to apply for another job with a rival club?

Paul McGee is a disgrace. His antics in getting sent off (and the club fined again) on successive weeks is quite simply unvbelieveable. His behaviour mirrors that of a 12 year old spoilt brat. Why didn't he have the good grace to go and watch the rest of the match with the press boys instead of simply leaping the wall, and trying to be the 'big man' in front of the fans?

Maybe I'm the only one but I think this whole managerial situation has been handled very badly by the club. Nothing for nothing, and I was never his biggest fan, but I'll lay money with anyone that Robbie Kelleher wouldn't be as unfit as he is, nor Tommy Barrett be playing while clearly unfit if the butcher was in charge. O'Connor was a knob of a man manager, but you never saw him disgrace himself in public like this guy McGee.

The club should show some loyalty and respect to its fans and either get this guy on a contract and teach him some etiquette or show him the door. The squad there is whats getting the results...not him!

As for an attendance of 541 the other night...541 my @rse. Around 350-400 max I'd say, with about 200 payers. Slippery slopes ahead.

to be honest theres a lot of negative talk around town about him think the club should act on it we are doin well but cant have him giving us a bad name which he is doin as for applying for another job we should have ****ed him off there and then

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Show me one club that allows its manager operate without a contract?
    Sligo Rovers.

Show me one club that allows its manager operate without a contract? .
    City..

Show me one club that allows its manager operate without a contract? Show me one club that will be prepared to allow same uncontracted manager to apply for another job with a rival club?

Paul McGee is a disgrace. His antics in getting sent off (and the club fined again) on successive weeks is quite simply unvbelieveable. His behaviour mirrors that of a 12 year old spoilt brat. Why didn't he have the good grace to go and watch the rest of the match with the press boys instead of simply leaping the wall, and trying to be the 'big man' in front of the fans?

Maybe I'm the only one but I think this whole managerial situation has been handled very badly by the club. Nothing for nothing, and I was never his biggest fan, but I'll lay money with anyone that Robbie Kelleher wouldn't be as unfit as he is, nor Tommy Barrett be playing while clearly unfit if the butcher was in charge. O'Connor was a knob of a man manager, but you never saw him disgrace himself in public like this guy McGee.

The club should show some loyalty and respect to its fans and either get this guy on a contract and teach him some etiquette or show him the door. The squad there is whats getting the results...not him!
    I presume the reason he wasn't given a contract to start with was because he is essentially a rookie manager. He has no managerial track record of note, save for underage. So not giving him a contract and making him prove himself makes perfect sense to me.

I presume the reason he still doesn't have a contract is because the board aren't exactly convinced by him either. They'd see McGee up close a lot more than we do, so maybe they've been aware for some time regarding his oddities and we're only beginning to see his behaviour now....

You have to ask the question, would McGee be applying for other jobs if he had a contract with us? Is he applying for these jobs to put pressure on L37 to tie him down? My own personal opinion is that he'll be let go at the end of the season- he'd be signed up by now if we intended to keep him. I don't think he has done himself any favours recently either. That said, I do not agree that he should be sacked mid season - we've had enough of that crap in previous years and it would be very bad for the image of the club. He is, after all, perfectly entitled to apply for other jobs as he is not under contract to us. But as I said, he hasn't done himself any favours.....

What job did he apply for?

Athlone Town

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Not being smart but if Limerick got their house in order to would be far bigger than Athlone.
    Spot On.

Is the club in a mess ?
    No to be honest

It smacks of McGee being smalltime IMO

As for an attendance of 541 the other night...541 my @rse. Around 350-400 max I'd say, with about 200 payers. Slippery slopes ahead.

This kind of negative crap is why previous clubs have been messed up. Look and the job Mcgee has done so far this season. How the hell are the players going to get fit without playing matches. They made a huge difference the other night so thats a stupid commnet. Do you have proof that Ski applied for the Athlone job, no you dont. And so what if he did, all that travelling up and down must be getting to him. He is human after all!! and on the attendence i myself can promise you, as I was there when they count the tickets, it was exactly 541!! Thats okay considering it is in the middle of the holiday season. Ski got sent off because he is passionate and shouted at the ref for a poor decision. Its okay when the fans reacted to that decision but when McGee does he is a disgrace, get a grip!! This club has been making huge progress and after a 4-1 win how some people still have something to complain about is sad. its easy to sit on your @rse behind the computer and criticise the manager and the club but then people do nothing to get involved and help the club....
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

I think the issue of the attendance is nul and void as there was in fact 538 tickets sold, in fact i would think as there was no underage game on at half time, freebies and freebie parents that the takings the other night would have been slightly better then previous weeks. I wont comment on Ski and his contract untill i know for sure but i have been told by text just now that he does have one.

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    This kind of negative crap is why previous clubs have been messed up. ....
    It's not negative 'crap'. It's an opinion, and as a fan, and a paying one at that, one which I'm just as entitled to as you are.

Look and the job Mcgee has done so far this season. How the hell are the players going to get fit without playing matches. They made a huge difference the other night so thats a stupid commnet.
    em...proper diets, training regimes and better off the field behaviour goes a long way towards fitness. Ski isn't suitably qualified, and doesn't seem to mind that a few of his squad are glorified p1ssheads.Just visit Flannerys, Nancys or Smyths any weekend night.

Do you have proof that Ski applied for the Athlone job, no you dont. And so what if he did, all that travelling up and down must be getting to him. He is human after all!!
    Don't need any proof. I was told this by a high ranking FAI man that I know who has close ties to Athlone. I defy anybody at the club to publicly deny it.

and on the attendence i myself can promise you, as I was there when they count the tickets, it was exactly 541!!
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    I think the issue of the attendance is nul and void as there was in fact 538 tickets sold,
    Contradiction..small maybe, but contradiction. Either way, I don't care what you say on this either because I know how to approximately head count and there was nowhere near 540 people there.

Ski got sent off because he is passionate and shouted at the ref for a poor decision. Its okay when the fans reacted to that decision but when McGee does he is a disgrace, get a grip!!
    Ski's well paid to behave professionally. He's is a disgrace, and don't mistake passion for ignorance. Because what I heard coming out of his mouth in Cobh and again on Friday night is just that...ignorance! Passion my @rse.

This club has been making huge progress and after a 4-1 win how some people still have something to complain about is sad. its easy to sit on your @rse behind the computer and criticise the manager and the club but then people do nothing to get involved and help the club....
    I am involved...I pay my admission fee every home game, and some 21's ganmes, buy programmes, snacks and merchandise also. I have been doing this at League of Ireland games for over 25 years so don't tell me to get involved!! And as for criticising the manager, I will do so as I please if I feel he merits it. And in my books, the guy is a bluffer, a spoofer and an egomaniac.

It's not negative 'crap'. It's an opinion, and as a fan, and a paying one at that, one which I'm just as entitled to as you are.

em...proper diets, training regimes and better off the field behaviour goes a long way towards fitness. Ski isn't suitably qualified, and doesn't seem to mind that a few of his squad are glorified p1ssheads.Just visit Flannerys, Nancys or Smyths any weekend night.

Don't need any proof. I was told this by a high ranking FAI man that I know who has close ties to Athlone. I defy anybody at the club to publicly deny it.

Contradiction..small maybe, but contradiction. Either way, I don't care what you say on this either because I know how to approximately head count and there was nowhere near 540 people there.

Ski's well paid to behave professionally. He's is a disgrace, and don't mistake passion for ignorance. Because what I heard coming out of his mouth in Cobh and again on Friday night is just that...ignorance! Passion my @rse.

I am involved...I pay my admission fee every home game, and some 21's ganmes, buy programmes, snacks and merchandise also. I have been doing this at League of Ireland games for over 25 years so don't tell me to get involved!! And as for criticising the manager, I will do so as I please if I feel he merits it. And in my books, the guy is a bluffer, a spoofer and an egomaniac.

Well i agree with you on the part of the players being out every weekend. I personally met 3 Limerick players out in town drinking last night and thats partially down to the manager but they are semi-pros and you cannot expect them to give up their social lives!! As for the Contradiction, it was three in the diifference in all fairness and of course you are entitiled to your opinion and so am I and I think Paul Mcgee is doing a great job. ANd go down to summervilles pitch most week days and you will see Colbert and Kelleher training and running trying to get fit, by themselves!!
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

137 Posts
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

What happened?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

I am involved...I pay my admission fee every home game, and some 21's ganmes ......... in my books, the guy is a bluffer, a spoofer and an egomaniac.
    So you pay into 21's games ? Now that is commendable !
    Whats that about bluffers and spoofers
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    no offence but ye seem to always be moanin about something lads

Too true. Theres always been an element in this town who cant wait to see a good thing tainted - they've been waiting for an opporunity and now they've picked up on this "Ski is an embarrassment" thing and and are making the most of it. And for what? So they can look like they know a thing or two "I knew it / told you so / I saw it coming first ". Its such an easy position to take becase they will always be right in the end, all good things come to an end its just a matter of time. I just wish the self serving merchants of doom would have the decency to let the rest of us enjoy the good times while we have them.
    LTID

[QUOTE=L37Ultra;730405]Well i agree with you on the part of the players being out every weekend. I personally met 3 Limerick players out in town drinking last night and thats partially down to the manager but they are semi-pros and you cannot expect them to give up their social lives!! QUOTE]

I think most players in any league in England and Ireland be it full time or Part will go out one night a week and in many cases are even encouraged to do so.I remember when Cork won the league 2 seasons ago a City fan told me that they were all encouraged to socialise after a game with each other and go for a few drinks.I dont think that going out is a big deal in itself as long as the players are responsible and dont do the dog on it which i presume most don't do

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Too true. Theres always been an element in this town who cant wait to see a good thing tainted - they've been waiting for an opporunity and now they've picked up on this "Ski is an embarrassment" thing and and are making the most of it. And for what? So they can look like they know a thing or two "I knew it / told you so / I saw it coming first ". Its such an easy position to take becase they will always be right in the end, all good things come to an end its just a matter of time. I just wish the self serving merchants of doom would have the decency to let the rest of us enjoy the good times while we have them.
    We'll see if you're calling them good times at the end of the season, when it counts. And please don't give me any of this "Oh its all better than last year when we had nothing" crap. Lat year the club was run and owned by a retard. This year, there's a great squad, prpoer structure and seemingly good people running the show. There's no excuses for McGees behaviour full stop. He should be more professional. And why are you writing off the 'good times'...If they're that good then why is McGoo looking for a job elsewhere. Don't give me all the travelling crap either...It's hardly a million miles away.

Quote Originally Posted by clownboy View Post
    I think most players in any league in England and Ireland be it full time or Part will go out one night a week and in many cases are even encouraged to do so.I remember when Cork won the league 2 seasons ago a City fan told me that they were all encouraged to socialise after a game with each other and go for a few drinks.I dont think that going out is a big deal in itself as long as the players are responsible and dont do the dog on it which i presume most don't do[/ .

Robbie Kelleher clearly isn't fit. A lot of that isn't the lads fault. Its his metabolism. He wasn't the size he is now when plwying under O'Connor or Scully. Why? Because they are prepared and qualified in proper training, diet and exercise. Running around the Summerville pitch and drinking like a horse at weekends isn't going to get him fit. Ski should address this, get him off the gargle, seek advice on a diet and proper exercise programme for the lad and help him.

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    So you pay into 21's games ? Now that is commendable !
    Whats that about bluffers and spoofers .
    I have two season tickets, which when I bought them said covered my admission into all league and Under 21's games. I also have shares bought in the club. Commendable enough for you?.....

If this thread is kept objective and doesn't descend into the farcical slagging match it usually does, it could actually be good!! Keep it that way lads, please.

I personally think that the man has a lot to answer for, but so too do the club for standing by and letting him behave like an ass. He is getting well paid, getting very high media profile on a national scale (which is just what he wants it seems) and the least he can do is respect the position he's in. It's pretty obvious to me anyway that he plays to the crowd.

One thing I didn't agree with the other night was the way he needlessly made Joey Maloney travel the whole way from Castlebar to Limerick and back, knowing damn well that he wasn't going to even get a jersey in the match 16. Not a nice thing to do.

30 Posts
    Dunno if its 100% as below but (its what I was told on the night at the game)
    back in April, our previous gaffer rang an U21 player to tell him he was in the
    squad for Mons away. He travelled up to Monaghan from Templemore (he's a
    trainee Gardai) only to be told when he arrived at the front gate that there
    was a change in plan and he wans't needed!

Harsh!

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast