Thread: 12 July

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

12 July

What do ye guys think of the Irish flags burning on top of the bonfires?
    Its not really fair as many Derry City fans are not happy!

I find it funny, I guess if thats what they really want to do then thats that.
    But I would imagine if i had a bonfire at the back of the house and had a union jack on the top of it I would imagine I would be getting a call from the local garda.

Is there a law against burning national flags? Isnt there one in America?

tossers will be tossers is my viewpoint on it

85 Posts
    I can't wait for the glorious 12th of July! Dundalk vs. Finn Harps - it's going to be great!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    What do ye guys think of the Irish flags burning on top of the bonfires?
    Its not really fair as many Derry City fans are not happy!

I find it funny, I guess if thats what they really want to do then thats that.
    But I would imagine if i had a bonfire at the back of the house and had a union jack on the top of it I would imagine I would be getting a call from the local garda.

Is there a law against burning national flags? Isnt there one in America?
    The law is its illegal to burn the American flag i think so in the North it would be the official flag and they could burn the tri-colour away

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    The law is its illegal to burn the American flag i think so in the North it would be the official flag and they could burn the tri-colour away
    it very much is not, flag burning is protected under freedom of speech laws in the US.

Aye you free staters don't know what your missing out on

Its not really any sort of culture is it burning flags and effigies of religious leaders, mind you there is a Nationalist bonfire night in August I think it is to comemerate the introduction of Internment its nowhere near as big though!

Interesting story that I came accross the other day about the BNP planning to recruit at parades during the 12th!! I'd say they will probably find a few idiots willing to buy into their racist rhetoric.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6265020.stm

3,315 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post
    Interesting story that I came accross the other day about the BNP planning to recruit at parades during the 12th!! I'd say they will probably find a few idiots willing to buy into their racist rhetoric.

They tried it before with football hooligan firms, and were laughed out of it

Really should be a national holiday down here as well. no feckin bonfires though!!! Enough of that carry on already down here.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Really should be a national holiday down here as well.
    how so

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    how so
    Whatever. A day off is a day off.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

shocking attitude tbh.

hopefully tongue in cheek

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Try joining the rest of us on the dole Dodge, everyday is a potential 12th of July

Quote Originally Posted by [B
    Dodge[/B];722812]Whatever. A day off is a day off.
    Is that where your Handle originates from then?

shocking attitude tbh.

hopefully tongue in cheek
    Not tongue in cheek at all. I'd lick the queen's arse if it meant I got an extra weeks holidays

Mind you I'd probably need more than that

Aye you free staters don't know what your missing out on

Its not really any sort of culture is it burning flags and effigies of religious leaders, mind you there is a Nationalist bonfire night in August I think it is to comemerate the introduction of Internment its nowhere near as big though!

I loved this bit...

Mr Kennedy, the UUP deputy leader, told the assembly the (BNP) party was not welcome. "I have said to them that this isn't the kind of imported hate-mongering that we want or need in Northern Ireland."

And who says it's only the Americans who don't do irony.
    Cogito ergo Bohs

how so
    It commemorates an important event (or sequence of them) in Irish history for starters.

It'd be a handy way to "take back the 12th" from the uber-prods for another.

...and as Dodge said -sure it's a day off ...in July.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man View Post
    Mr Kennedy, the UUP deputy leader, told the assembly the (BNP) party was not welcome. "I have said to them that this isn't the kind of imported hate-mongering that we want or need in Northern Ireland."
    That'd be like Saudi Arabia importing oil.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts

Don't think they'll have got much change out of the members of the Loyal Orange Lodge of Togo that took place in the demonstrations tho.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    Really should be a national holiday down here as well.
    I'd be somewhat in favour of that. It's not like everyone would be forced to go to a parade (more likely we'd all go to the sea-side), but it would be a harmless way of showing a bit of respect for the traditions of the other side, which would go along with LR's other post:
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    It'd be a handy way to "take back the 12th" from the uber-prods

Yep, take the sting out of it.

Seems to have gone off brilliantly peacefully. A Good Thing.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.