Thread: The Great Air Horn Debate

144 Posts

Angry The Great Air Horn Debate

What was it with the stewards last Sunday trying to stop a young fella in the Shed blowing his air horn after City had scored.

They afraid he might create an atmosphere.

There ain't nuthin in the programme banning air horns.

Whats the deal ?

Another steward told a group holding up a 'Murphy Out' banner to take it down.

Democracy ?, Not at the Cross.

What was it with the stewards last Sunday trying to stop a young fella in the Shed blowing his air horn after City had scored.

air horns are for GAA matches. they're annoying.

Re: The Great Air Horn Debate

Originally posted by razor

Another steward told a group holding up a 'Murphy Out' banner to take it down.

Democracy ?, Not at the Cross.

The Stewards, to be fair, were under instructions from a certain busy body twit who cant keep her nose out of other peoples business.

Re: The Great Air Horn Debate

Originally posted by razor
    They stopped us using an airhorn a few years ago but they said we could use it if we scored. Of course then we got a penalty .

Re: Re: The Great Air Horn Debate

Originally posted by Gone Away
    The Stewards, to be fair, were under instructions from a certain busy body twit who cant keep her nose out of other peoples business.
    If she stuck to keeping hats and scarves in stock in the club shop we'd all be better off. She needs to be taken down a peg or two alright. She honestly thinks it's HER club!

Originally posted by Ref

air horns are for GAA matches. they're annoying.
    so are the young idiots who dont even support the team and there never told stop.if you want ill bring prawn sambos and my suit to the next game instead just to keep you happy
    soccer isn't a matter of life or death its more important than that!!!

The Air horn could be dangerous if in the hand of an idiot, but there was a guy with one a while back in the Shed and nothing was said. It probably has more to do with the cracking down on fans behaviour than anything else at the minute.

As for the banner, Freedom of Speech is guaranteed under our constitution last time I looked.

Originally posted by niamh
    It probably has more to do with the cracking down on fans behaviour than anything else at the minute.
    Yeah, I assume that was what it was.
    It was good to see the way the stewards and Guards positioned themselves around the pitch at full time. Anyone notice if they actually managed to stop people getting on the pitch?

As for the banner, Freedom of Speech is guaranteed under our constituion last time I looked
    Damn right.
    Champions!

144 Posts
    They positioned themselves only at one side of the pitch, I suppose they thought if they could cover the family enclosure then that would do it.

Of course they failed miserably.

and that was with only 1500 at the ground and only about 200 of them were kids... Ridiculous.....

We better not think of getting any drums in the future. They might be confiscated too. Or even the big flags. They both could be taken away because they might be used to incite an atmosphere!!!

Originally posted by mouldymurphy
    so are the young idiots who dont even support the team and there never told stop.if you want ill bring prawn sambos and my suit to the next game instead just to keep you happy
    marks and spencers do quite a nice prawn sandwich actually.

Constitution

As for the banner, Freedom of Speech is guaranteed under our constitution last time I looked.
    Yes true, however so is the Right to Associate and Dissassociate, the right to carry out business and other such rights. No right is an absolute right.

The problem with City as a club is that we have no internial written constitution for the Club. Barca and Bohs to name but a few have written constitutions. If we were to have a club constitution these kind of things would be covered rather than using a crappy code of conduct. A club Constitution would also affirm that a nosey woman would be acting ultra-vires in telling Stewards to clamp down on such things when she should be going to seminars and selling Cork City Sun Glasses.
    Oh no not them again

ahhhh Gwynnie

Naww just saying that people are quick to shout freedom of speach when it doesnt always apply.

As for being Gwynnie, ahh what a ledgend, I wish
    Oh no not them again

So what you are saying SoC is that "herself" is right to do what she is doing trying to p off fans, taking photos of them and making verbal assaluts in pubs when she dont have her facts straight.

If a guy wants to have a flag, then so be it.

Gunther himself said that its part of the job.

The Air horn could be dangerous if in the hand of an idiot
    forgive my ignorance, but how can an airhorn be dangerous?

guessing cos they're loud and might damage someones ears????

or you could also hit someone with it!!

Originally posted by Éanna
    Well I had some dozy ba$tard try to blow one in my ear . Luckily it didn't work.

Originally posted by Éanna
    Generally they are not in the least bit dangerous.
    However, when some idiot has one they can be. Remeber the time some fella put one up next to the flare and it went on fire.

As long as they are in the hands of someone who is somewhat responsible there is no danger whatsoever.
    Champions!

Originally posted by COLM
    However, when some idiot has one they can be. Remeber the time some fella put one up next to the flare and it went on fire.

LOL, this coming from the guy who pretty much burned the jersey of his own back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by Gone Away
    LOL, this coming from the guy who pretty much burned the jersey of his own back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I wasn't the one holding the flare, although maybe it might have been a good idea not to stand directly under it.
    Champions!