Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Joe Gamble

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    PP v Joe Gamble with a ball can be arranged. I know who my money is on.

I'll put something to you, PP. If a team is in the conference, can their lack of success be attirbuted to a failure in spotting talent and coaching players? Here's a simple fact for you. Joe Gamble has been called into the senior squad of his national side. PP has never made it out of the conference.
    Ehmm i dont get your point ! PP afaik has never really expressed his dissillusionment at his continued (and of course inexplicable) absence from the Ireland squad .

the call up will mean nothing unless the EL lads get a proper game at the highest level

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    Why are you here then!
    He called Gamble's call up a joke because he plays in the EL - yet mods a forum about Irish football. Do you not see the contradiction? Is there reason to debate with a little boy that knows nothing of the wider world outside his´' bubble?

Ehmm i dont get your point.
    My point is that some people progress and move up from their lowly status. Others don't. Therefore, it's ridiculous to use his past as a reason to deny him an opportunity now.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    What sort of signal does this send out to the likes of Lee Carsley, Rory Delap, Mark Kennedy, Glenn Whelan, Gareth and James O'Connor, etc. Even Willie Boland is of a higher standard to Gamble.
    Classic .... that is pure gold !!

I'm also a mod on the board here and I dont agree with PP on that point but I dont call him a little boy , You can try to influence and maybe peoples opinions by making good debate and elequantly phrasing your point rather than name calling

Gentlemen and ifk101, if you can't see the wind-up for what it is then I suggest you spend some more time out there amongst the people. Honestly! And FWIW I'm shocked that the king of the wind-ups should fall for his own trick. Peadar, I'm genuinely surprised at you.

IFK, spend some time posting here first before you chuck the shît around. Cuss me all you like but I ask that you at least spend some time building up some on-board credibility first.

And as for the rest of you Corkie hot-heads... you should try some self-love before you all start spouting off to a straightforward wind-up. It might save an awful lot of tension! (I bet some sheep are fair copping it down Bandon way the night...)

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 13/05/2006 at 9:52 PM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Presumably then you dont want Kevin Doyle in the squad as he was an EL player not so long ago
    There's a difference. Doyle was hugely impressive when he was in the EL and with the Ireland under-21s. In my opinion, Gamble is a mucker with nothing to offer the Ireland squad.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Peadar, I'm genuinely surprised at you.
    On this forum, the LoI is to me what diaspora is to you.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101
    He called Gamble's call up a joke because he plays in the EL - yet mods a forum about Irish football. Do you not see the contradiction? Is there reason to debate with a little boy that knows nothing of the wider world outside his´' bubble?
    Alright lads ... can you all calm down on the mod thing .... Just because PP is a mod, doesn't mean he isn't entitled to an opinion. To be fair, if you're attacking him with that as part of your argument then it aint much of an argument.

Can we all just keep it football please ..... for the record, PP .... your opinion is cráp !!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    On this forum, the LoI is to me what diaspora is to you.
    Touché! Peadar 1-1 PP (aet). We each win an Intertoto Cup!

PP

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Can we all just keep it football please ..... for the record, PP .... your opinion is cráp !!
    http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475981&postcount=24 (the second part... )

PP

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    There's a difference. Doyle was hugely impressive when he was in the EL and with the Ireland under-21s. In my opinion, Gamble is a mucker with nothing to offer the Ireland squad.
    Are you open minded though ?? ..... if Gamble has a stormer, if he has an unreal game .... with you change your opinion accordingly ??

To be honest, anyone that leads their argument "if he is an eL player ... " ... its complete cráp, if the guy is good enough then he is good enough, no matter where he is. You can do all the comparisons you want but it wont change the fact.

And one question, why is he getting called up so late if it is tokenism?

Fair enough so !!

367 Posts
    Okay. So its a wind-up now. He digged himself too big a hole that is less than normal sized body (formerly called "little") realised that there was no climbing out. Classic!

70 Posts
    No one except me when someone's challenging ma authoritay. Respect ma authoritay!
    As a mod, I don't know why I never thought of using that quote.

Post Staunton gambles on Cork City star

Staunton gambles on Cork City star

Republic of Ireland senior international manger Stephen Staunton has called Cork City's Joe Gamble into his squad for the training camp in Portugal and the friendly international against Chile on May 24.

Gamble will join up with the squad on Sunday May 21 following Cork City's eircom League game against Derry City next Saturday night in the Brandywell.

Read more at www.rte.ie

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Are you open minded though ?? ..... if Gamble has a stormer, if he has an unreal game .... with you change your opinion accordingly ??

To be honest, anyone that leads their argument "if he is an eL player ... " ... its complete cráp, if the guy is good enough then he is good enough, no matter where he is. You can do all the comparisons you want but it wont change the fact.

And one question, why is he getting called up so late if it is tokenism?
    If the lad plays a stormer then fair play to him. Of course I will change my mind. I want the best players playing for Ireland. But that is the reason why I'm not happy with his call-up. I don't think he's good enough.

I didn't say that his call-up can be attributed to tokenism. However, I do think there are better players available to Stan.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101
    Okay. So its a wind-up now. He digged himself too big a hole that is less than normal sized body (formerly called "little") realised that there was no climbing out. Classic!
    To you I concede nothing. You should notice that my concessionary point on Gamble was made before you started this high-horse rodeo.

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 13/05/2006 at 9:56 PM.

Read my previous reply [to Soper] about Gamble. Don't swallow your tongue in apologising for your over-the-top response.
    When I said fair play to Joe he deserves it, it was not a dig at you. Your entitled to your opinion!! You are being a bit over sensitive.

Apoligise? I stand by what I said - who does give a s**t if your a mod?
    Answer: nobody - except for you

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast