Beecher Networks - Web Development, Hosting & Domains

Thread: Overpaid in Work?

Banned
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Overpaid in Work?

As a 3rd level student I work part time, and usually come out with about €500 or €600 a month. This morning I checked my bank balance and noticed that I was paid a whopping €3862.

Not being a thief I rang up work this afternoon and explained the situation to them and my proper pay will replace that sum within a day or two. I wouldn't not say anything as that would be the equivelant of taking money from the till in my opinion and it is dishonest.

As a matter of interest, legally would it count as theft if I didn't report it and spent the money, and in those situations do you have to co-operate with your employer and give the money back? I realise the obvious impications that it would have in you staying in the job etc. Not that I did that or would keep the money, I'm just curious.

First Team
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    I dont think that you would be arrested for being a thief for not reporting it but I think that you do have to give it back alright (I know that my contract says I do anyway).
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    Not being a thief I rang up work this afternoon and explained the situation to them and my proper pay will replace that sum within a day or two.
    Two words, you fool!.
    Life without Rovers, it makes no sense...it's a heartache...nothing but a fools game. S.R.F.C.

First Team
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    79 Posts
    I hope they give you a bonus for being honest at least €100. They could of been down over €3000 if you hadn't reported it
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away